View Full Version : Cup Final Match Thread

02/12/2007, 2:32 PM
Conditions are shocking again for the second year running - hope the FAI are pleased with themselves for moving the Final so they can go on their nice junket to S.Africa

Teams:

Cork

devine
lordan
o'callaghan
murray
woods
mcsweeney
gamble
healey
kearney
o'flynn
behan

Longford

kelly
sullivan
doherty
brennan
prunty
duffy
doyle
martin
rutherford
mooney
baker

Officials:
d. mckeon
d. mcgrath
f. cunningham

p. whelan

SunnySweeney
02/12/2007, 2:34 PM
Hiya - greetings from New York. I'm watching the game on the RTE web site.

Pity about the weather in Dublin today. I'm sure a lot of nuetrals decided to stay at home.

All I can say is "C'mon City"

02/12/2007, 2:41 PM
First impressions...

Goals look great, Cork's crest is H>U>G>E

harpstilidie
02/12/2007, 2:41 PM
Pitch looks excellent! Any ideas about attendence yet?

harpstilidie
02/12/2007, 2:42 PM
First impressions...

Goals look great, Cork's crest is H>U>G>E

Don't like it at all! :)

Boo_Boy
02/12/2007, 2:50 PM
i was very suprised to see their is a FAI cup final highlight show on SkySpts tonight at midnight!

02/12/2007, 3:03 PM
i was very suprised to see their is a FAI cup final highlight show on SkySpts tonight at midnight!

they always tend to show one.

started with the Dundalk - Bohs final a few years back

02/12/2007, 3:46 PM
Pitch looks excellent! Any ideas about attendence yet?Darragh called it as 11-12k, looks more like 6-7k max to me and I have a view of the whole ground.

Really is very, very cold and blowy.

As said above, well done FAI, did they learn nothing from last year?:mad:

SunnySweeney
02/12/2007, 3:47 PM
City have started the second half nicely.

Longford have one or two crocked players and their goalkeeper looks nervous.

This is surely City's for the taking now.

C'mon lads !!

SunnySweeney
02/12/2007, 3:53 PM
giddy up

One Nil

02/12/2007, 4:26 PM
Deserved win for Cork.

02/12/2007, 4:34 PM
Yeah fair play Cork, good win. Conditions were terrible.

Dave77
02/12/2007, 4:46 PM
Not a great game but conditions were shocking. According to radio the attendance was 10000.

Fair play to city

02/12/2007, 4:47 PM
Dan Murray clearly v angry with board in post-match interview.

Interesting that it seems like it will be both managers last game in charge.

onceahoop
02/12/2007, 4:53 PM
Dreadful conditions for the game. Cork deserved winners.

FAI shown up for moving the game back. Always a chance of deteriorating weather the later the year went on.

02/12/2007, 5:11 PM
Poor game - I feel asleep during second half.....! :o

What's the new Cork crest ? Couldn't get a look at it properly at all - looks mad.

What was all the backroom stuff this week at Cork that they kept mentioning?

Well done the Langers anyway - best team won.

02/12/2007, 5:27 PM
What's the new Cork crest ? Couldn't get a look at it properly at all - looks mad.

Reminded me of THIS (http://www.wellredusa.com/images/hammer_sickle_b_r.jpg)

half_full
02/12/2007, 5:34 PM
Well done Cork, hard luck to Longford, ye did very well this year.

Pity faiLURE moved the match as IMO it kept neutrals away.

P.S. Corks crest is part of their franchising with their new owners I think:rolleyes:

Celdrog
02/12/2007, 6:07 PM
Difficult for any football to be played but Cork deserved it. Ricos last game ????

02/12/2007, 6:22 PM
Well done to cork!

Apparently Ricos last match - very hard done by imo as hes done well since taking over (and did ok this season under all the circumstances - farrelly/ healy, losing odonovan,etc)

Dan murray giving the 2 fingers to the board too? A club in turmoil? :eek:

what was the official attendance?

Blue-Army
02/12/2007, 6:23 PM
Well done to cork!

Apparently Ricos last match - very hard done by imo as hes done well since taking over (and did ok this season under all the circumstances - farrelly/ healy, losing odonovan,etc)

Dan murray giving the 2 fingers to the board too? A club in turmoil? :eek:

what was the official attendance?
Under 10,000 according to Aertel...:o

02/12/2007, 6:26 PM
Under 10,000 according to Aertel...:o

Oh dear :o

harry crumb
02/12/2007, 6:43 PM
I thought the attendance was good considering the conditions.

I wonder what the ticket sales were cause Id say there was a good few people that looked out the window and said. No way!

pixiehead
02/12/2007, 6:52 PM
Did anyone hear Kevin Doyles comment on the success and comercialisim of cork and their popularity in the city " their in all the local papers and radio stations down there, their nearly like a PROPER team in England" What the hells all that that about. Too big for his boots now!! Quickly forgotten where he came from :mad::mad::mad:

02/12/2007, 7:47 PM
Pity faiLURE moved the match as IMO it kept neutrals away.

How's that....? :confused:

P.S. Corks crest is part of their franchising with their new owners I think:rolleyes:

Franchise...? Either you know something the rest of us don't, or you're just letting your dislike of Cork overwhelm you here. I suspect the latter... :)

half_full
02/12/2007, 8:24 PM
1) I think that a lot of Greater Dublin neutrals stayed away because of the weather.

2) I have no dislike of Cork, why would I? In actual fact I feel sorry for them now because of what from what I've seen and heard. Arkaga are trying to turn Cork into a soulless franchise type business based around sport. New crest, new colours (red btw), strict ground regulations etc. The very fact its an equity investment firm should ring alarm bells.

spaceghost
02/12/2007, 8:33 PM
stupid idea havin the game this late in the year.terrible conditions for any match let alone the blue riband, feckin freezin, although we had the relative cover of the stand
well done to city though , the better team won

Kildare Lad
02/12/2007, 8:52 PM
Poor first half, second half much better. Cork should have won by a goal or two more they played all the football. Hard Luck to Longford though.

I would have guessed about 12,000 to be honest and my friend thinks 13? Doubt it was under 10 anyway.

niallsparky
02/12/2007, 9:15 PM
Darragh Hamilton said about 12,000. You never know with him though.

02/12/2007, 9:16 PM
1) I think that a lot of Greater Dublin neutrals stayed away because of the weather.

2) I have no dislike of Cork, why would I? In actual fact I feel sorry for them now because of what from what I've seen and heard. Arkaga are trying to turn Cork into a soulless franchise type business based around sport. New crest, new colours (red btw), strict ground regulations etc. The very fact its an equity investment firm should ring alarm bells.

i think Franchising is the wrong term here.

"Rebranding" is more appropriate

02/12/2007, 10:50 PM
First up id put it at just over 10,000 but ud never know as the scanners at the gates wernt working properly so they were just leaving everyone they saw wave a ticket at them in willie nillie. What is the idea of holding thousands of people outside far too long in the cold and rain? it was the same a few years ago in landsdown Drogs/Cork. Crest is shocking but i think thats a Hummll issue, crest is crap too IMO. COrk were the better team overall and deserved to win but the wind was the big factor. 2:30 the gates opened btw, far too late, and some guards in my area were bitching about it

Sam Savic
02/12/2007, 11:21 PM
I thought it was a decent crowd considering the conditions.
It was Rico's last game.

02/12/2007, 11:46 PM
i think Franchising is the wrong term here.

"Rebranding" is more appropriate

Why? Club is only a franchise. Set up in 1984 for direct election to the league. Have had 3 seperate home colours ( and many variations and combinations of those) too.

02/12/2007, 11:57 PM

The FAI are rightly blamed for a lot of things, but the weather should not be one of them.

The weather in Ireland does not differ perceptively between the last weekend in November and the first weekend in December. Therefore - whilst they can be criticised on a host of levels for moving the game, the unpredictable vagaries of the Irish weather is not one of them.

Unless you were prepared to laud the FAI's infinite wisdom had today turned out to be a grand aul' day for football meteorologically, then you likewise shouldn't criticse them for the weather on one or other of 2 adjacent Sundays at this time of year.

1]2) I have no dislike of Cork, why would I?

Forgive my presumptiveness. If you did, you wouldn't be the first Waterford Fan to do so.... :)

1] Arkaga are trying to turn Cork into a soulless franchise type business based around sport. New crest, new colours (red btw), strict ground regulations etc. The very fact its an equity investment firm should ring alarm bells.

A 'brand' yes - but not a franchise. The fundamental premise of a franchise is that it can be moved at the whim of the highest bidder like any unrooted institution (i.e. American sports franchises). Do you honestly think Arkaga will move Cork City out of Cork ?

As for changing colour to red - Cork City played in red and white for a couple of seasons in the mid-to-late 90's (from memory).

03/12/2007, 12:02 AM
Why? Club is only a franchise. Set up in 1984 for direct election to the league. Have had 3 seperate home colours ( and many variations and combinations of those) too.

All clubs have to get set up at some point in-time, and many change colour, stadiums etc etc. My own club have changed colours 3 times, for example.

The main difference between a franchise systemn of sport and that which we have inn Europe is that the license to participate can be bought, sold and moved by the same people. Arkaga bought Cork City FC as a company. They didn't buy a license to have a team in the EL. Therefore, they can't move that license form Cork to any other place to set-up a different team if they wanted to (as happens in franchised sports structures like in America, and as Pete Winkleman did with Wimbledon).

sonofstan
03/12/2007, 12:39 AM
Did anyone hear Kevin Doyles comment on the success and comercialisim of cork and their popularity in the city " their in all the local papers and radio stations down there, their nearly like a PROPER team in England" What the hells all that that about. Too big for his boots now!! Quickly forgotten where he came from :mad::mad::mad:

A sort of related anecdote - I was working at the Interpol gig yesterday and was having lunch when one of the security guys asked one of my colleagues 'what time is the match at?' thinking he meant the cup final - taiking place about a 100yrds away- I butted in with '3.30' guy looks at me indulgently (they know I'm mad and follow local football) and says 'no,no, I mean our football, the United match' ........

03/12/2007, 2:54 AM
Well done Cork.....good first half but better team won no denying that!

cocaighboy
03/12/2007, 3:42 AM
Another 1-0 cup final, although I can hardly complain about the result. Kind of odd seeing a cup final played in a gale. Thought City would blow it given all the talk in the week leading up to the game was about contracts and the like. That usually signals minds are elsewhere and a loss is on the cards.

03/12/2007, 4:14 AM
1) you clearly dont know what a franchise means. i think you mean "a brand". a good brand is something recognisable and easy to sell to people. a franchise is something completely different altogether. For an example of a franchise, see american football or Shamrock rovers: teams/clubs/brands which up sticks and move somewhere else entirely to exploit a market.
2) we're not changing our colours. our new home jersey is green and our (lovely) new away jersey is black: the same as the last few years.
3) our new crest incorporates all the features of our previous crests, in a trademarkable logo.
4) how many company's place "soulless" as one of their goals?
5) its not an equity investment firm. do some research. what equity? we dont own anything.
6) dont be bitter. as a "proper" munster team its now your duty to replace cobh ramblers as the ones making limerick look sh'te next year. best of luck!

03/12/2007, 7:59 AM
RTÉ's institutionalised minnowism to the fore again in yesterday's coverage. It sickens me to see them practically spunking over Kevin Doyle when half their sports department couldn't have picked him out of a line-up three years ago. And reading out the FA Cup Third Round fixtures at half-time in a domestic cup final? Who gives a ****? Not half the teams that play in it!

amaccann
03/12/2007, 8:14 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong,but aren't Longford in Europe anyway as Cork finished 4th in the league?

Confused of Tunbridge Wells.

Flume
03/12/2007, 8:22 AM
RTÉ's institutionalised minnowism to the fore again in yesterday's coverage. It sickens me to see them practically spunking over Kevin Doyle when half their sports department couldn't have picked him out of a line-up three years ago. And reading out the FA Cup Third Round fixtures at half-time in a domestic cup final? Who gives a ****? Not half the teams that play in it!

Thought it was ridiculous alright. All 3 of the other lads falling all over him.It was cringeworthy! And as for the english fixtures...:rolleyes:

Thought the game was a decent game. Longfod flew out of the traps but couldn't get the goal when they were on top. Baker going off seemed to be the turning point and in the end it was a deserved cork win.

As for the cork jersey...:eek: Its horrible!!The crest is MASSIVE!!!!

03/12/2007, 9:00 AM
wasnt a great game, cork shouldve won by more but considering the attendance was down abotu 50% on the last time Cork played in the final, the FAI really need to consider scheduling the game earlier in the year. The rds is a good venue but the conditions were very poor yesterday and there's no doubt people looked out their window yesterday morning and decided against going.

rebelarmyexile
03/12/2007, 9:04 AM
Whats happening with Rico??? Very confuddedled

WoodquayBoy
03/12/2007, 9:20 AM
Congrats Cork, and a nice goal to win the thing with

03/12/2007, 9:59 AM
All clubs have to get set up at some point in-time, and many change colour, stadiums etc etc. My own club have changed colours 3 times, for example.
The majority of clubs in our league worked theuir way up to league standard. Cork City wa sset up as the league wanted a club in cork. Thats my definition of a franchise.

The main difference between a franchise systemn of sport and that which we have inn Europe is that the license to participate can be bought, sold and moved by the same people. Arkaga bought Cork City FC as a company. They didn't buy a license to have a team in the EL. Therefore, they can't move that license form Cork to any other place to set-up a different team if they wanted to (as happens in franchised sports structures like in America, and as Pete Winkleman did with Wimbledon).
You've obviously no clue about US sports. For a team to move they need the full backing of every other team in the league, and the league itself. They can't just decide to do it. And your point about Arkaga not moving Cork is ridiculous too. Do you think the Yankees will ever leave New York? Have you forgotten that the new FAI rules mean the holder of the club license is the holding company and not the club?

read the cork forum is you want more details on far fast Cork is moving away form a club and into a franchise

sonofstan
03/12/2007, 10:29 AM
Whats happening with Rico??? Very confuddedled
Second this: can someone post up what's meant to be going on....

MyTown
03/12/2007, 10:44 AM
Aertel's use of the word 'just' whne referring to the crowd took away from their report and their general service to the League over the season IMO. As others have posted, I thought 10k was a great turnout for the day that was in it, with both the weather and Christmas Shopping being negative factors.

Criticising the FAI is a daily pastitme for many posters here, but criticising them for the scheudling shows how one sided most of the debate has become.

Are they now also responsible for apalling weather conditions on top of all their other faults?:confused:

The big gripe I'd have is leaving the paying punters outside up to 2.30. Whoever was in charge of Facilities Management has a lot to answer for there IMO...but then again, I always like to be in time for a game.

Well done Cork, Well done Rico, Hard Luck Longford.

Partizan
03/12/2007, 11:02 AM

Nothing new here. Up to the early 1960s we predominantly played in white jerseys and blue shorts before adopting the present playing format of all blue for the 1964-65 season. Call it a rebranding but it sure worked. Hence the nickname, "the Blues" which comes from this time. Clubs do it the whole time.

It is not the franchise that Arkaga have bought into but as steve said, the licence, that licence to run senior football in Cork. Arkaga can rebrand CCFC (crest, colours etc.) but it will still be the same club, just a change of marketing and business direction.

03/12/2007, 11:02 AM
The majority of clubs in our league worked theuir way up to league standard. Cork City wa sset up as the league wanted a club in cork. Thats my definition of a franchise.

You could say exactly the same about Limerick 37. Also with Institute in the north, as the IFA/Irish League wanted a club from Derry.

And then there's Wexford Youths and Kildare County. Teams with roots/links into junior/intermediate sides, but who were set-up as new clubs with new names to fill a league space. But I don't see you bandying the term 'franchise' any further than at Cork City's door step... :confused:

Anyways - so what if the FAI/League wanted a club in Cork. Of course they should feckin do so. Everyone on this site spends reams of times on threads about where we should ideally have the next EL teams based. What most reasonable people would call common sense, you have to deride as franchising.

If it makes you feel happier to call Cork City a franchise, then knock yourself out fella.

You've obviously no clue about US sports. For a team to move they need the full backing of every other team in the league, and the league itself. They can't just decide to do it. And your point about Arkaga not moving Cork is ridiculous too. Do you think the Yankees will ever leave New York? Have you forgotten that the new FAI rules mean the holder of the club license is the holding company and not the club?

The wise old sage has spoken..... :rolleyes:

As you're the self-proclaimed expert, please tell me the last time a team that wanted to move franchise in the US was prevented from doing so (and not just temporarily) by the governing body and/or other teams ?

As for do I think the Yankess will ever leave New York :

Yeah - like a major American sports team has never left New York before....!

Do you think the Jets and/or Giants wil ever leave New York Dodge ??
Or more aptly, do you think the Dodgers will ever leave Brooklyn.

Whilst I'm at it :

Do you ever think the Redskins will leave Boston ? No, wait.....!

Do you think the Colts will ever leave Baltimore ? No, wait...!

Do you think the Oilers will ever leave Houston. No wait....!

Do you think the Rams will ever leave Cleveland. No, wait...!

Or do you think the Rams will then ever leave their new home in LA ? No, wait again..!

Do you think the Cardinals will ever leave Chicago. No wait...!

Or do you think the Cardinals will then ever leave their new home in St Louis ? No, wait again.....!

That doesn't even scratch the surface of the type of club promiscuity that happens under a franchise-based sports system. And you claim I'm the one who knows nothing about US sport...... :o

We do not have a franchise system in Irish football. Your dislike of Cork City and/or the way in which the club is changing does not magically turn our system of sports administration into a franchise-based one. And especially not just because you say it is.