View Full Version : Cup Final Match Thread
03/12/2007, 11:24 AM
You could say exactly the same about Limerick 37. Also with Institute in the north, as the IFA/Irish League wanted a club from Derry.
And then there's Wexford Youths and Kildare County. Teams with roots/links into junior/intermediate sides, but who were set-up as new clubs with new names to fill a league space. But I don't see you bandying the term 'franchise' any further than at Cork City's door step... :confused:
Only because we're not taking about those teams. Every example you use is a franchise. Kildare at least formed form Newbridge but I'd still class them as a franchise.
Anyways - so what if the FAI/League wanted a club in Cork. Of course they should feckin do so. Everyone on this site spends reams of times on threads about where we should ideally have the next EL teams based. What most reasonable people would call common sense, you have to deride as franchising.No, you inferred that I look down on franchises. I couldn't give a toss if they were set up to join the league or whether they came up through the MSl
If it makes you feel happier to call Cork City a franchise, then knock yourself out fella.Again, i don't care one way or another, I was just pointing out the facts
The wise old sage has spoken..... :rolleyes:
yep, and once again you've totally missed my point as you look to argue. i stated the facts, you somehow thought I gave an opinion on it. and you decided, as usual, to spout reams and reams about something.
As you're the self-proclaimed expert, please tell me the last time a team that wanted to move franchise in the US was prevented from doing so (and not just temporarily) by the governing body and/or other teams ?
Buffalo have wanted to move to Toronto for years. Houston texans wanted to move to LA but were denied. The Texas Rangers were stopped from moving to San Antonio.
Whilst I'm at it ...
please give an example of a succesful club moving eithout the backing of their governing body please
And you claim I'm the one who knows nothing about US sport...... Yes, as proven by your pathetic attempts to discredit my point about teams not being able to move without the backing of their league. Unless you still think that to be the case?
We do not have a franchise system in Irish football. [quote]
Agreed. Some clubs are set up to fill a need for the FAi to have aa club in that geographical area. I call that a franchise. You yourself used the MK Dons as an example of a franchise. Are you saying that the English ffotball league operate a franchise system? or do you agree that franchises exist in a non Franchise system?
[quote]Your dislike of Cork City and/or the way in which the club is changing does not magically turn our system of sports administration into a franchise-based one. And especially not just because you say it is.
My dislike of cork has nothing got to do with the fact that they were set up as a franchise and have been bought by a management company who within months have changed the club's crest and home colours. Once agin you've inferred that I'm against the use of franchises in this country. Which I'm not, but then you only ever read what you want to read steve.
As I don't want this to end up in yet another one of your 8 page arguments, this will be my last post on this topic.
03/12/2007, 11:56 AM
Criticising the FAI is a daily pastitme for many posters here, but criticising them for the scheudling shows how one sided most of the debate has become.
Are they now also responsible for apalling weather conditions on top of all their other faults?:confused:By dint of scheduling the Cup Final when poor weather is almost guaranteed, yes, they are responsible. Look at the last two years to see what I mean.
Who says the cup has to be at the end of the season?!
In mitigation, thought the RDS was a good venue. Pitch held up very well.
03/12/2007, 12:01 PM
By dint of scheduling the Cup Final when poor weather is almost guaranteed, yes, they are responsible. Look at the last two years to see what I mean.
Who says the cup has to be at the end of the season?!
October weekend :)
In mitigation, thought the RDS was a good venue. Pitch held up very well.
Pitch held up well but too big, and too open. Disaster for atmosphere.
Honestly would have preferred Tolka or Dalymount. At least then there might have been a bit of buzz, scramble for tickets etc.
The fact it was in the RDS turned a good few sunshiners off
03/12/2007, 12:14 PM
A sort of related anecdote - I was working at the Interpol gig yesterday and was having lunch when one of the security guys asked one of my colleagues 'what time is the match at?' thinking he meant the cup final - taiking place about a 100yrds away- I butted in with '3.30' guy looks at me indulgently (they know I'm mad and follow local football) and says 'no,no, I mean our football, the United match' ........
Was he English?
If not he needed to be taken outside and given a good seeing to
03/12/2007, 12:16 PM
Honestly would have preferred Tolka or Dalymount. At least then there might have been a bit of buzz, scramble for tickets etc.
The fact it was in the RDS turned a good few sunshiners off
You think Tolka or Dalymount is a more attractive option? Seriously? Have you seen the state of those grounds recently (bar the excellent Jodi)? not to mention that the RDS will only be visited for cup finals unlike multiple trips to dalymount/Tolka
03/12/2007, 12:20 PM
You think Tolka or Dalymount is a more attractive option? Seriously? Have you seen the state of those grounds recently (bar the excellent Jodi)? not to mention that the RDS will only be visited for cup finals unlike multiple trips to dalymount/Tolka
Yes Ive been in both this season and would have preferred either. As would a lot of the people I was discussing it with yesterday. A full ground creates a buzz a good atmosphere and a better build up.
03/12/2007, 12:25 PM
But presumably they were people who all went to the game. I just can't see how it would be more attractive to floating voters (while accepting your point that a tighter ground helps atmosphere0
03/12/2007, 12:30 PM
But presumably they were people who all went to the game. I just can't see how it would be more attractive to floating voters (while accepting your point that a tighter ground helps atmosphere0
Imo there would have been more of a buzz around the city leading up to the game.As it was never going to be a sell out people werent too bothered.
Cork people anyway love to be able to say I was there that night, when there seems to be a shortage of tickets.
It would have been roughly the same crowd, a better atmosphere and roofed...
03/12/2007, 12:32 PM
It looked about half full to me, the people behind the Longford goal and along the uncovered side would probably have filled the gaps behind the Cork goal and in the roofed stand. Is that 9,000?
The problem with the RDS is the lack of a roof anywhere but the Anglesea Stand. I bought tickets for the 'Grandstand' thinking they were for the Anglesea Stand. Had I known, I wouldn't have bought them because there's no roof over there. As it happened, I just walked into the Anglesea Stand before kick off anyway so it didn't matter but I'm sure lots of people were put off by the rain because most of the ground has no roof. I thought more tickets would have been sold beforehand though.
03/12/2007, 12:33 PM
My dislike of cork has nothing got to do with the fact that they were set up as a franchise and have been bought by a management company who within months have changed the club's crest and home colours.
I doubt the vast majority of posters on here would be willing to agree with what you call a Franchise. It's a question of semantics and definitions, so we'll agree to leave it there.
03/12/2007, 12:34 PM
It would have been ... roofed
Unless cork fans were put on the Connaught St side or in the ballybough end...
Philly
03/12/2007, 12:36 PM
I thought the RDS was an was a bit rubbish to be honest, not really suited to soccer crowds. You felt distant to the pitch, no atmosphere, no over for most people, walking through mud to get to/from the stand etc. Anyway, what's done is done, hopfully the FAI won't have it so late next year (ie, in December), as I can see why they were stuck for venues.
Well done Cork. Myself and a few KCFC fans were in the middle of the Cork crowd, good times. See you in Station Road next year Longford (muahahaha)...
03/12/2007, 12:39 PM
Unless cork fans were put on the Connaught St side or in the ballybough end...
Could have shared the uncovered stand. There still would have been a lot more than 2 sections each of covered stand.
03/12/2007, 2:19 PM
Another 1-0 cup final, although I can hardly complain about the result. Kind of odd seeing a cup final played in a gale. Thought City would blow it given all the talk in the week leading up to the game was about contracts and the like. That usually signals minds are elsewhere and a loss is on the cards.
Did you deliberately leave the "r" out of your user name? :)
sonofstan
03/12/2007, 6:02 PM
Was he English?
Ballyfermot
Is there a You Tube of the post match interview?
03/12/2007, 9:22 PM
_KpBtLFcouY
Here's another one for ya aswell.
V4ywrxduV_g
Cheers man.
eircom League end of season interviews becoming something to look forward to the last few years!
sullanefc
03/12/2007, 11:46 PM
Why? Club is only a franchise. Set up in 1984 for direct election to the league. Have had 3 seperate home colours ( and many variations and combinations of those) too.
I'm not saying Cork City are a franchise, but if they were (by your definition of a franchise) what is wrong with that??? So long as the people of Cork have a club to follow??
On changing colours and crests, are Arsenal a franchise?
04/12/2007, 2:31 AM
I'm not saying Cork City are a franchise, but if they were (by your definition of a franchise) what is wrong with that??? So long as the people of Cork have a club to follow??
I think Dodge made it clear he wasn't against franchises in this post (my editing)-
No, you inferred that I look down on franchises. I couldn't give a toss if they were set up to join the league or whether they came up through the MSl
My dislike of cork has nothing got to do with the fact that they were set up as a franchise and have been bought by a management company who within months have changed the club's crest and home colours.
Once agin you've inferred that I'm against the use of franchises in this country. Which I'm not, but then you only ever read what you want to read
I think Dodge's dislike of Cork City derived from.....eh......other reasons.
04/12/2007, 8:58 AM
I think Dodge's dislike of Cork City derived from.....eh......other reasons.
That's fair enough but what is Dan Murray's hatred of Cork City derived from:confused:
This is all about the players today. We decided during the week that if we win the cup final it's for ourselves. This is what it's all about for the players, winning medals. We've done it for ourselves today, no one else, and we're gonna enjoy tonight now.
Although, if Murray does end up staying in Cork, here's the edited version of what he meant to say
This is all about the fans today. We decided during the week that if we win the cup final it's for our great supporters. This is what it's all about for the fans, watching us winning medals. We've done it for de Rebel Army today, no one else, and we're sure they'll enjoy tonight now like, biy. Up de Rebellllls!
04/12/2007, 10:25 AM
Fair play to Cork for winning it.
The conditions made the match pathetic to watch but Cork just had enough quality to see them through.
btid1
04/12/2007, 11:01 AM
I think Murray's rant was very selfish!!
Not even a mention for the supporters who travelled from Cork, paid in,stood out in the the rain all for the love of City.
All he could focus on was himself and his players.Has he not noticed that he is paid to do what he does??
Wouldn't be happy if Kevin Hunt went on that sort of a rant but we all know he would never do that because he respects the followers of Bohemian FC.
The Good Son
04/12/2007, 11:24 AM
I think Murray's rant was very selfish!!
Not even a mention for the supporters who travelled from Cork, paid in,stood out in the the rain all for the love of City.
All he could focus on was himself and his players.Has he not noticed that he is paid to do what he does??
Wouldn't be happy if Kevin Hunt went on that sort of a rant would we all know he would never do that because he respects the followers of Bohemian FC.
While I'd agree, it came out as very selfish, to be fair to Murray it's not his usual form. He normally is one of the more accommodating of the City players when it comes to making appearances at various City fans events.
The FAI are rightly blamed for a lot of things, but the weather should not be one of them.
The weather in Ireland does not differ perceptively between the last weekend in November and the first weekend in December. Therefore - whilst they can be criticised on a host of levels for moving the game, the unpredictable vagaries of the Irish weather is not one of them.
Unless you were prepared to laud the FAI's infinite wisdom had today turned out to be a grand aul' day for football meteorologically, then you likewise shouldn't criticse them for the weather on one or other of 2 adjacent Sundays at this time of year.
No reason why the Cup final has to be in November or December. I know playing it mid season creates it's own problems, but with so many play off's at the end of the season, it could be scheduled earlier - October Bank Holiday or August Bank Holiday. It's been in December three times now, and the weather's been brutal in two of those. I don't think even the proponents of summer football ever envisaged the end of the season, and therefore the key games, being so bloody late in the year anyway.
05/12/2007, 1:20 PM
If they started the season a month earlier, the cup final could be at the end of the season at the start of November. A February to November season would be better than current set-up IMO.
That makes a lot of sense.
05/12/2007, 2:18 PM
That makes a lot of sense.
So it will never happen. And you and Schumi will be "disappeared" for suggesting and supporting it.
05/12/2007, 2:41 PM
No reason why the Cup final has to be in November or December. I know playing it mid season creates it's own problems, but with so many play off's at the end of the season, it could be scheduled earlier - October Bank Holiday or August Bank Holiday. It's been in December three times now, and the weather's been brutal in two of those. I don't think even the proponents of summer football ever envisaged the end of the season, and therefore the key games, being so bloody late in the year anyway.
That's a sensible suggestion, and very different from criticising the FAI for not having it 7 days earlier because of the weather, which is what a lot of people have been doing.
wexfordned
05/12/2007, 3:23 PM
According to Mick Wallace in the local paper Dolan has been offered
a minimum of €200,000 + expenses per year to take Cork job. New owners willing to allow him to continue with setanta if he feels he can do both jobs
According to Mick Wallace in the local paper Dolan has been offered
a minimum of €200,000 + expenses per year to take Cork job. New owners willing to allow him to continue with setanta if he feels he can do both jobs
Not a clue about the figures but the rumoured job he was offered was director of football not manager.
05/12/2007, 4:37 PM
Not a clue about the figures but the rumoured job he was offered was director of football not manager.
€200,000 plus extras for any job in Irish football - bar building a brand new stadium single-handedly - is just crazy.....! :eek:
Id agree. But as I said, I dunno what the figures are. Seems inflated.
sonofstan
05/12/2007, 4:43 PM
Seems inflated.
Much like Dolan used to.
That's a sensible suggestion, and very different from criticising the FAI for not having it 7 days earlier because of the weather, which is what a lot of people have been doing.
In 2003 it was the October bank holiday weekend(Pats v Longford) After Pats defeat the arse just fell out of the rest of our season (and there were lots of complaints at the time if I remember about the showpiece game not being at the end of the season. So I've some sympathy with the FAI on this one :eek:)
The June or August Bank Holiday might be a better solution, have the cup nearer the start of the season. That would mean theres too much of the season left to just peter out aimlessly for the losers (mind you, it also takes away the consolation of a good cup run for teams struggling in the league after mid season.) There's no easy answer really.
sonofstan
05/12/2007, 9:58 PM
I agree it should be at the end of the season, but a cup final a week or two before the end of the league campaign wouldn't have any material effect on anything much and there would at least be the chance of halfway decent weather in mid- october. The league cup should be over by July and should probably start a week or two before the league proper
06/12/2007, 1:05 AM
In 2003 it was the October bank holiday weekend(Pats v Longford) After Pats defeat the arse just fell out of the rest of our season (and there were lots of complaints at the time if I remember about the showpiece game not being at the end of the season. So I've some sympathy with the FAI on this one :eek:)
The June or August Bank Holiday might be a better solution, have the cup nearer the start of the season. That would mean theres too much of the season left to just peter out aimlessly for the losers (mind you, it also takes away the consolation of a good cup run for teams struggling in the league after mid season.) There's no easy answer really.
The suggestion was to shunt the league forward into February - enabling the Cup Final to be both at the end of the season and at a genuinely earlier time (e.g. late October/Early November).
A February start would also help teams with their match readiness for the Setanta Cup. If February is good enough weather-wise for the Setanta tournament, why not the Eircom League ?
08/12/2007, 2:23 PM
The suggestion was to shunt the league forward into February - enabling the Cup Final to be both at the end of the season and at a genuinely earlier time (e.g. late October/Early November).
A February start would also help teams with their match readiness for the Setanta Cup. If February is good enough weather-wise for the Setanta tournament, why not the Eircom League ?
Very wise Ob1 :D