View Full Version : Dublin AUL 2007/08

Jayk69
01/12/2007, 12:13 AM
I just seen thats theirs loads of threads up and running from country leagues, is there any around for the AUL?

Leveller
01/12/2007, 2:18 PM
I just seen thats theirs loads of threads up and running from country leagues, is there any around for the AUL?

Well you have made the first step, this is how it starts by setting up a thread, I think there is plenty of interest by the posters for all leagues in the country, I always have a look at all the threads for the other leagues, to keep up to date with all the top teams.

Who do you support? How are Killester doing this year, have they lost or made new signings? I

Dr Mad
03/12/2007, 6:00 PM
Not many dubs on here unfortunately as its a great site.

most of the AUL action happens on Kilbarrack or Ballymuns Guestbook (when they arent censoring it) :eek:

Leveller
03/12/2007, 10:19 PM
Not many dubs on here unfortunately as its a great site.

most of the AUL action happens on Kilbarrack or Ballymuns Guestbook (when they arent censoring it) :eek:

Thanks for that I will check it out.:)

04/12/2007, 7:54 AM
The Leinster Senior League have their own unofficial uncensored forum http://www.freeforum101.com/forum/index.php?mforum=lsl. There are plenty of people who post on foot.ie and LSL.

sliced pan
04/12/2007, 3:18 PM
Killester seem to be doin well on top of saturday league and premier A haven't heard how their playin no local teams up in them divisions

Jayk69
04/12/2007, 4:30 PM
Killester are always strong and main rivils Portmarnock are looking a bit slack this season, LSL contenders Malahide have serious talent down in their 2nd and 3rds team and could really do with bumpin them up to senior, some smashing players going to waste. Hopefully this thread will take off. Im currently playing AUL senior Sunday Division myself.....

sliced pan
05/12/2007, 8:10 AM
Yeah it would be good to see this thread take off. I know Killester always a good side never really had much run ins with them though, can't play anymore but dabbled in managing some teams but the council always shafted us. Is this thread just AUL or does it include UCFL, AFL, LSL and the LFL.

west awake
05/12/2007, 4:46 PM
what are howth celtic like?my local team(west united) have them in the next round of the fai junior cup,west knocked out wfta up in finglas last year in the last 32,very food side wfta,they really should have beaten west that day!!!how would howtha nd wfta compare standard wise,i know there in the same division!

Jayk69
05/12/2007, 8:35 PM
what are howth celtic like?my local team(west united) have them in the next round of the fai junior cup,west knocked out wfta up in finglas last year in the last 32,very food side wfta,they really should have beaten west that day!!!how would howtha nd wfta compare standard wise,i know there in the same division!

WFTA have alot of great yrs behind them around the northside of Dublin, they aren't what they use to be tho. some good ballers in the centre of the park but haven't heard much from howth celtic, never really reconized as a great them either. I dont live too far from them and they certainly arent making any waves. But cup games are different, they always seem to bring the best out in the players!!! best of luck against them!!!

Jayk69
05/12/2007, 8:37 PM
Wouldn't mind this thread being just bout the Aul league, but all welcome i suppose, there is not much on here for the dublin leagues at all!!!!

sliced pan
06/12/2007, 8:32 AM
Don't know much about Howth Celtic but they lost at home to Belgard Athletic recently and Belgard aren't great I think it was their only win this season, but as jayk69 said cup games are different especially the Junior Cup

Dr Mad
06/12/2007, 4:52 PM
WFTA are one of the top teams in Premier A right now, they were beaten narrowly in extra time 2 weeks ago in the Junior Cup by a last minute Killester goal, and they will push killester all the way in Premier A.

Howth are a Premier B team, relegated 2 seasons ago and failed to come back up after miserable end to season. they are a 1-man team, little Centre Forward Garrett Murphy who was on the books with Man United at one time, scores 25 goals per year for fun. Lightning pace and great finisher, would be in the Junior International side except he's too fond of the Guinness up in Howth. Mark him and you will win, fail to contain him and he will beat you on his own.

Leveller
07/12/2007, 8:05 AM
Killester are always strong and main rivils Portmarnock are looking a bit slack this season, LSL contenders Malahide have serious talent down in their 2nd and 3rds team and could really do with bumpin them up to senior, some smashing players going to waste. Hopefully this thread will take off. Im currently playing AUL senior Sunday Division myself.....

Have Killester lost any players?

Dr Mad
07/12/2007, 1:33 PM
Killester lost one or two fringe / squad players but are as strong as ever.
Excellent team and will be the ones to beat in the FAI junior this year.

bogwarrior
07/12/2007, 2:06 PM
Any info on Balally Celtic? I fink they're from Dundrum? My local side have them in the next rd of the FAI... We're at home though:D Nice trip down to Kinsale for ye!

Jayk69
09/12/2007, 6:33 PM
Any info on Balally Celtic? I fink they're from Dundrum? My local side have them in the next rd of the FAI... We're at home though:D Nice trip down to Kinsale for ye!

Balally Celtic, arent having a great enough start to the season, not sure how your getting on in your league but Balally Celtic are third last playing 8, winning 2 drawing 3. I've played against some of the teams in their league, Clontarf are a decent enough side, shalke are good but i dont really rate the league that they're playing in to be honest. Sorry if i offend anyone!! Alot of 2nd string teams playing in the league and they're third form bottom!

sliced pan
10/12/2007, 9:48 AM
Have Killester United played Marks Celtic yet in Senior Saturday if so how did Marks do.

Tallanted
10/12/2007, 6:37 PM
Yes Howth Celtic were relgated two years ago but finished 2nd behind Sheriff United in prem B last year, currently lie 4th bottom of prem A. They have played 7 won 2 drew 2 lost 3

bogwarrior
10/12/2007, 9:33 PM
Balally Celtic, arent having a great enough start to the season, not sure how your getting on in your league but Balally Celtic are third last playing 8, winning 2 drawing 3. I've played against some of the teams in their league, Clontarf are a decent enough side, shalke are good but i dont really rate the league that they're playing in to be honest. Sorry if i offend anyone!! Alot of 2nd string teams playing in the league and they're third form bottom!

No probs my man - cheers for the info!

sliced pan
13/12/2007, 7:24 AM
AUL teams involved in Junior Cup this weekend if games go ahead
Leinster 4th round
Clara Town vs Raheny United
Killree Celtic vs Sheriff United
FAI 4th round
Killester United vs Dunboyne
Ballymun United vs Albion Rovers
FAI 5th round
St Patricks vs Corduff
Baldoyle United vs Everton
St John Bosco vs St Kevins Boys
Pike Rovers vs Portmarnock
West United vs Howth Celtic
Milford United vs Green Park

I might drop down to Bosco's and Kevins as usual all local teams take early exits.

le tizz
13/12/2007, 7:42 AM
alright toasty
wondering can you point me in the right direction for league tables for the junior lsl teams
had a look on lsl.ie but you'd need a guidebook to work out all the leagues major this minor that saturday sunday, seems awfully complicated to us bogmen from outside the pale

who looks good in the fai cup ?? we're playing balally celtic at the w/e in the 5th round, any local team news so we can beat them with insider knowledge would be appreciated

g'man

sliced pan
13/12/2007, 11:15 AM
Le Tizz
The LSL league runs Senior, Senior 1,1a and 1b they are all intermediate.
Saturday and Sunday top division is Major then work your way down it is confusing.
Balally Celtic are in the United Churches league Div 1(it has a decent site) if ye want to look them up, the league wouldn't be as good as the AUL, they use to be a strong enough team haven't heard much about them recently. They use to have a few tough f*****s in the team as well.
I assume you play for Kinsale I heard their a good team.

le tizz
14/12/2007, 11:26 AM
Le Tizz
The LSL league runs Senior, Senior 1,1a and 1b they are all intermediate.
Saturday and Sunday top division is Major then work your way down it is confusing.
Balally Celtic are in the United Churches league Div 1(it has a decent site) if ye want to look them up, the league wouldn't be as good as the AUL, they use to be a strong enough team haven't heard much about them recently. They use to have a few tough f*****s in the team as well.
I assume you play for Kinsale I heard their a good team.

we normally get to the open rounds of the fai & mjc and 1/4 was our best show a few years back in the fai, tight enuf pitch in cork and some windy weather cause it overlooks the sea (will try to upload a scenic shot of our grounds) makes it difficult for travelling teams, we'll be hoping for a result on sat seeing as we're at home but its all about bottle and not being complacent in the fai, any team can provide an upset on the day so hopefully we'll come thru to take on some bigger fish in the next round, dont want to give us a kiss of death so wont say anymore

thanks for the heads up tho, will have to spend christmas trying to work out the aul leagues, could be difficult when recovering from festivities

are ye still in the cup ? gotta decent home draw i hope

will pass on any match report (if we win) will be bitter and in a huff if we get dumped out
keepin an eye out for some tough lads from the capital, ye lads hate gettin beat by country teams so we'll have a battle on our hands either way

have a good un
tizz

Jayk69
19/12/2007, 10:31 AM
Anyone know much about castleknock celtic, got them in the next round of the cup. I know that they're AUL Sunday division 1 but they've only played three games!! bit odd considering all other teams have played 8 or 9.
Any one got some information on them??

duffbeer
19/12/2007, 3:35 PM
Anyone know much about castleknock celtic, got them in the next round of the cup. I know that they're AUL Sunday division 1 but they've only played three games!! bit odd considering all other teams have played 8 or 9.
Any one got some information on them??

You will find the teams that have very few league games are doing well in cups and castleknock are young but their decent. Pushed Sherrif YC very close last season.

AlwaysAHoop
02/01/2008, 6:59 PM
Was wondering does anyone no much about corduff fc or has anyone played them this year..

Tallanted
04/01/2008, 11:42 AM
Ye they are from blanchardstown and there 1st team play in Aul prem b, very good footballing side, got a fella called robbie burke playin upfront, he is there main danger going forward.

chopper harris
08/01/2008, 4:53 PM
FAI 5th round.......Anyone know if St Patricks and Corduff going ahead this week? Time and Venue. Cheers

duffbeer
08/01/2008, 4:57 PM
FAI 5th round.......Anyone know if St Patricks and Corduff going ahead this week? Time and Venue. Cheers

im from corduff but id be fairly sure it would be off unless patricks have terryland on standbye?

chopper harris
09/01/2008, 6:53 PM
I believe they have. Are Pats not from Tuam though? That'd be like you lads getting the Carlisle grounds on standby if you know what I mean. By the way I have connections with the lads who await the winners of your tie so best of luck at the weekend.

duffbeer
10/01/2008, 9:15 AM
I believe they have. Are Pats not from Tuam though? That'd be like you lads getting the Carlisle grounds on standby if you know what I mean. By the way I have connections with the lads who await the winners of your tie so best of luck at the weekend.

I believe by all accounts we will need that thanks, I think anyone would be a fool to look at pats position in their league. Beating Salthill and galway hibs is not something you would take lightly, even it was on penos.

But its bonus football for us, win lose or draw, the league has to be our aim.

do you know anything abouts pats? even seasoned people who live in dublin who originate from galway know very little about them.

Would love to invite a club or your standing to blanchardstown, it would be a cracker believe me.

chopper harris
11/01/2008, 8:18 PM
Well hopefully you guys get thrugh. I don't know a thing about them other than the are from a village called Caherlistrane. This place isn't even a village but a church, National school (no Pub except for a place on a corner out of the 60s that is seldom open) and of course a GAA pitch. I know that they a very physical and play to simple system of get the ball back when we don't have it and when we do have it play in the opposition box. If you play football you have a chance as I believe the game could be played in Salthill (can you confirm) if Pats is unplayable.

A couple of our lads are on about heading down, won't go myself.

Jayk69
14/01/2008, 4:55 PM
Anyone know anything about Orchard United, they are a new team in our league and never played or heard about them before, their results so far seem respectable but anyone know bout the actual players???

stooge
15/01/2008, 2:27 PM
Thought I might post in this thread first of all in case I caused any hassle.

Was wondering what the interest would be in a Leinster Senior League (LSL) thread on here?

I've been posting on www.lslforum.com but its always good to get opinions and views elsewhere!

If theres no real interest I'l probably just lurk away here ;)

inexile
15/01/2008, 3:52 PM
i think that would be a very good idea id certainly be interested in it

sliced pan
23/01/2008, 3:41 PM
yeah that would be good

Jayk69
20/02/2008, 11:00 PM
Just wondering really if theres anyone out there looking for a challenage in the AUL league. Looking for a striker that can put the ball in the back of the net. Anyone unattached and interested, please reply, we're in dire needs of an out and out goal scorer!!!

sliced pan
21/02/2008, 7:46 AM
I take it your northside, what area I might know someone he just moved up to Kilmore he is lightning quick and a good finish but he is only about 5 foot tall so no good as a target man.

Jayk69
21/02/2008, 6:25 PM
any area, if he's good enough i'll organise lifts for him, we're based around malahide and swords!!! dont care what size once the lad puts the ball in the net!!! if he's interested or wants to give it a shot brilliant stuff.

Jayk69
03/03/2008, 12:02 PM
tried to get this up and running before but i really hope it kicks off this time. It would be very benifical to the teams playing within the Dublin AUL League. Anyway lets hope this gets the ball rolling.

Dub-Boy
03/03/2008, 1:05 PM
Fair play to you, Jayk, i'm in the UCFL, but i'll contribute where-ever i can

Norm
03/03/2008, 1:59 PM
tried to get this up and running before but i really hope it kicks off this time. It would be very benifical to the teams playing within the Dublin AUL League. Anyway lets hope this gets the ball rolling.

Alright Jayk69, Just wondering if you or anyone else could give me the names of any soccer clubs in the inchicore or surrounding areas. I've just moved to dublin and would be interested in doing some training if there were any clubs willing to accomodate me! P.M me with any info. cheers.:ball:

sliced pan
05/03/2008, 9:33 AM
Their is Inchicore FC and St. John Bosco in Drimnagh their both AUL clubs you will find contact numbers in the AUL site I think Bosco's are in the Prem B and Inchicore im sure are just a saturday team that will make your search easier. Their is also St. Pats

Dub-Boy
06/03/2008, 11:09 AM
I'm sure that the Easter weekend has no fixtures, but what about St Patricks weekend, it falls on monday this year, but i'm sure that the parade etc will be hosted on the 15th, so does that stop any games going ahead???:confused:

Jayk69
07/03/2008, 12:03 PM
Concerning the fixutres, i have been in touch with one of the lads in the AUL, believe or not but fixtures are going ahead both next weekend (Paddys Wkend) and also Easter Weekend. Its a shame if ya ask me but thats what they said to me when i rang.

Dub-Boy
10/03/2008, 11:06 AM
Cheers Jayk69, I have'nt heard if the UCFL is on yet, it could be a decisive few weeks for teams who are involved with promotion, relegation, with players away at Easter.

Dub-Boy
10/03/2008, 11:29 AM
I checked the AFL website, they have some leagues idle on the 15th of march but the entire fixture list is suspended for the Easter weekend

10/03/2008, 1:01 PM
I checked the AFL website, they have some leagues idle on the 15th of march but the entire fixture list is suspended for the Easter weekend

Amateur League is usually off an on all bank holidays weekends. If you want a league that takes its football seriously then its the Leinster Senior League. The LSL club who play in inchicore are Lisadell Utd.

duffbeer
10/03/2008, 1:06 PM
Amateur League is usually off an on all bank holidays weekends. If you want a league that takes its football seriously then its the Leinster Senior League. The LSL club who play in inchicore are Lisadell Utd.

Yes you are correct, the AFL, the UCFL and the LFL as well as the AUL do not take football seriously. We are all just having the craic and seeing where it takes us.

We are all pretenders.