View Full Version : Who will you be supporting in this year's cup final?

28/11/2007, 9:03 PM
Simple question. Neutrals only to vote please as I know Longford/Cork fans will be supporting there own.

28/11/2007, 9:07 PM
Longford, of course

28/11/2007, 9:13 PM
I have an idea who you'll be going for sligoman. ;)

I'm a neutral "neutral" really, I'd just like to see a good match of football.

I guess it'd be nice for Longford to do it as they were relegated for matters out of the players' control and they did put up a fight. Also, having met and interviewed Shay Kelly I hope he does well as he's a genuine nice chap.

On the other hand, Cork earnt their final place when they really showed Bohs up in the semi. It was really an outstanding performance, the best I've seen from them in a long time. It'd be a joy just to see that kind of show again.

I don't know.

28/11/2007, 9:17 PM
Longford, although I'm not their biggest fan either

28/11/2007, 9:19 PM
Congrats to A face for being the first non-neutral to vote for their team:o.

dortie
28/11/2007, 9:23 PM
Cork City

28/11/2007, 9:24 PM
I voted too I couldnt resist

28/11/2007, 9:25 PM
i voted cork, but the buck stops there, end of loving relationship

28/11/2007, 9:40 PM
Cork, mainly because I don't fancy Longford representing the league in Europe. If Europe wasn't on offer id be all for the under-dog.
Lets hope its as exciting as last years final.

historynut
28/11/2007, 9:45 PM
Do not be offended midlanders- but I love an underdog ! So Longford for me.
Remember commenting on forum back in the spring (think it was a thread re club/county colours) recalling tv footage of a previous FAI Cup final involving LTFC when they wore yellow/blue - some wag replied "and the crowd wore straw stetsons and were chewing straw" - someone else replied funniest thing they'd read for a while.
Win or not trust money earned will give good footing to a swift return to Prem (hopefully with thier elder rivals (and traditional midland reps in senior division) Athlone). Now will that be a derby for next season or not !

28/11/2007, 10:01 PM
Longford for sure.

28/11/2007, 10:04 PM
Longford, even though it'll screw us over in Europe next season.

28/11/2007, 11:18 PM
Cork.

28/11/2007, 11:29 PM
Eh, let me think!

fbtn
28/11/2007, 11:58 PM
Longford Town.

29/11/2007, 12:39 AM
The Ref and assistants...... :D

Seriously - I'm unsure. Don't care really, so long as it's a good spectacle.

Would worry for our European record if Longford won it though....! :eek:

kingdom hoop
29/11/2007, 2:55 AM
Went for a bit of south-western solidarity. Have to support Tralee man Seán Kelly as well.

29/11/2007, 6:37 AM
Can't openly follow Cork, but Longford Town?????????

Muck football (before the Blues bashing starts, remember this is as a neutral), and the damage they have done in Europe, and would continue to do if given the chance, means we'd have to win the damn thing to get out of the minnows pool.

Therefore, rather than support either team, I'm going to follow the ref (not support him, now, mind) and cheer on football.

Flume
29/11/2007, 8:13 AM
Would love longford to beat cork.

But think of what they'd do in europe??It would really damage the league.

29/11/2007, 8:35 AM
Muck football (before the Blues bashing starts, remember this is as a neutral)
Yeah, because that comment is really neutral. And from a team that needed a 6 point start to finish above us too! As a neutral obviously... :rolleyes:

cesc
29/11/2007, 8:42 AM
i will have a right laugh if Longford win, but ya have to look at the bigger picture, we cant have longford in europe next season, so hopefully cork win it but its a decent game

btid1
29/11/2007, 8:51 AM
Couldnt care a less once its a good game!!!

But again as has been said its probably better Cork win in the longer term.

WoodquayBoy
29/11/2007, 9:50 AM
Cork for me. I think a lot of people would agree they have been the best footballing side this season, and I think they deserve to be rewarded for that. Oh, and I stuck a few quid on them to do the biz as well, so that might sway my support too

29/11/2007, 10:04 AM
Cork

The better team should win.

Port Saint
29/11/2007, 10:14 AM
Would love longford to beat cork.

But think of what they'd do in europe??It would really damage the league.

Don't think we did the league any favours ourselves this year...But for the same reasons I went with Cork

derm02
29/11/2007, 11:09 AM
Ooh , almost neck and neck! I guess this is the closest we'll get to a Cork love-in on this site :D

Ronnie
29/11/2007, 11:20 AM
Or the anti Longford bias, jaysus I beginning to get a complex, must head south for some treatment!

lowroadrover
29/11/2007, 11:29 AM
Has to be Cork .Imagine longford in europe???

Scatman
29/11/2007, 12:04 PM
Cork, more entertaining to watch. But on the other hand if they lost Rico's interview would be hilarious. No has to be Cork.

michaelguineys
29/11/2007, 1:00 PM
Whilst I actually dont mind Longball, i think it would be awful for the league if we dont win.
Carmarthen Town anyone???

L37Ultra
29/11/2007, 1:26 PM
Longford. Just to be able to say we were knocked out by the winners and if the draw went our way we would be in the final :D

braysnumber1
29/11/2007, 1:27 PM
cork to win. dont need another embarassement in europe

29/11/2007, 1:51 PM
Does an embarrassment in Europe really matter at this stage? Aren't we miles away from automatic qualification for the second qualifying rounds and safe enough from losing the seeding? Would Longford losing in Europe really make that negative an impact on the league's image, considering they have a built in excuse of being in the lower division?

I think we obsess about Euro performances way too much.

stann
29/11/2007, 2:02 PM
I hope they both lose.

The Lilywhites
29/11/2007, 2:24 PM
Longford.

29/11/2007, 2:31 PM
Longford :D

29/11/2007, 2:43 PM
Longford.

Blue-Army
29/11/2007, 2:45 PM
I hope that Cork win , put Longford out of business ....and blues walk the first division next year...

29/11/2007, 2:49 PM
Longford.

Despise Cork fans. Longer term they're more of a threat to Pats so the less they have going for them the better.

I know a Longford player and I'd like to see him do well. I know a couple of their fans and they're sound too.

Don't care how Longford perform in Europe and playing them in Setanta on a Monday night is far more appealing than Cork

29/11/2007, 2:58 PM
Despise Cork fans.Surely not all of us Dodge :(

29/11/2007, 4:55 PM
Surely not all of us Dodge :(

Every single last one of us i'd say .... So young, yet so so bitter :p

ndrog
29/11/2007, 5:11 PM
Longford .would take pleasure in seeing cork loose another final :D feck europe cmon longford ....

Flawless
29/11/2007, 6:04 PM
I'm for Cork!

sligored
29/11/2007, 8:25 PM
longford .... the players deserve it after the season they put in. never gave up

neutrino
30/11/2007, 12:46 PM
Cork becuase Longford would be a disgrace in Europe.Plus despite Longford coming from the depths of the first division to becoming a regular prem divison, fai cup winning, outfit, I feel their own fans have let them down. All that early succes yet their supporters dwindled away. Now I dont know why, but on the face of it seems that supporters werent too interested. Real pity they got relegated.

Keen2win
30/11/2007, 1:06 PM
The sunshiners didnt really care but the hardcore fans that we do have are among the best in the country.

30/11/2007, 1:18 PM
Every single last one of us i'd say .... So young, yet so so bitter :p

Ah one or two of you (thats ye in corkie) are tolerable...

Sonic
30/11/2007, 1:26 PM
Longford :D

Ah boy Joffy;) We would be unlikely to get a uefa licence so it woudnt matter a damn wheter we won we wouldnt get uefa cup next year.

cesc
30/11/2007, 2:58 PM
Ah boy Joffy;) We would be unlikely to get a uefa licence so it woudnt matter a damn wheter we won we wouldnt get uefa cup next year.

If that was th ecase then yeah, longford all the way

Buller
30/11/2007, 3:05 PM
Although I'd love to see Longford win as some reconsiliation for the FAI sending them down; you cannot deny the fact that Cork are a lot more equiped for Europe/Setanta than a first division club would be...
Sending Longford into europe would not do this league the justice. Therefore I have to be up for cork. (That's my reasoning anyway)