View Full Version : City fans selection Vs UCD fans

25/05/2003, 11:50 AM
Seeing as you lot love a game, are ye up for one when ye are down in a few weeks? Id assume the game would have to be on a saturday as most of us arent student, frant grabbing, tax dodging waters.

Are ye staying over night? How many would ye have, as im sure we can muster a full 11 (the foot.ie games we have, most will play, even if it does mean an alliance between mods and non mods).

Story feens

City:
1 GWA

25/05/2003, 11:58 AM
City:
1 GWA
2 Neil

I'd say keep it 5-a-side.
Too much running is bad for ya.

25/05/2003, 1:47 PM
City
1. GWA
2. Neil
3. Colm

I very much doubt UCD will be able to get 11 (prove me wrong lads) but if they do where would we play an 11 a side game?

25/05/2003, 5:48 PM
City
1. GWA
2. Neil
3. Colm
4. SÓC

11-a-side would be cool, we could muster 22 players between City fans and UCD fans.

25/05/2003, 6:13 PM
UCD -

Pineapple Stu
@ndy (both will be in Cork around then anyway)
We'll get a few more for yez as well. I'm sure the likes of lefty, Aberdonian Stu, Bald Student and others will be up for it.

25/05/2003, 6:14 PM
Originally posted by Colm
I very much doubt UCD will be able to get 11 (prove me wrong lads) but if they do where would we play an 11 a side game?

And youz had how many for the game v. Longford? :D Borrowing opposition players, I hear!

We'll see what we can get anyway, and keep yez posted.

25/05/2003, 6:16 PM
Originally posted by GWA
[B]most of us arent student, frant grabbing, tax dodging waters.

Are you accusing the Liffey of not paying taxes?!:eek:

What's frant grabbing anyway? :confused: Or do I want to know...:rolleyes:

25/05/2003, 6:20 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
And youz had how many for the game v. Longford? :D Borrowing opposition players, I hear!

That was due to the fact that the game had to be played in the morning as there was an egg chasing match on TV that afternoon. The majority of us arrived about 1pm at which point the game had already been played.

Anyway, if ye can get 11 great but if not five a side will do grand. We were robbed by ye up in Belfield so we will be out for our revenge!:)

25/05/2003, 6:27 PM
Really? I heard 'twas 'cos youz couldn't handle the drink the previous night!:D

25/05/2003, 6:41 PM
Of course what i meant was GRANT GRABBING, student waSters!

And the reason we only had 3 to play against Longford is because the rest of them were to fecking tight to go up on the friday and make a flurking weekend out of it.

I reckon we should have a 6 a side with a player or two rolling every 2 goals or something? Coz i reckon we will have a fairly big team.

Are ye staying down the weekend Stu?

25/05/2003, 9:09 PM
I'm in too

City
1. GWA
2. Neil
3. Colm
4. SÓC
5. Éanna

25/05/2003, 9:10 PM
BTW, I hereby officially table a motion that SÓCCFC be banned from any games against UCD due to his "suspect" allegiances :)

26/05/2003, 6:54 AM
City
1. GWA
2. Neil
3. Colm
4. SÓC
5. Éanna
6: James (yer going to need a goalkeeper that aint biased)

26/05/2003, 3:05 PM
Originally posted by James
City
1. GWA
2. Neil
3. Colm
4. SÓC
5. Éanna
6: James (yer going to need a goalkeeper that aint biased)

Boo hiss and all the rest.

[GUNTHER EXCUSES]I never any thing but 100% I'm an honest player, the pitch was bad, the ref was bad, I looked tired, Im only young, I'll learn from it, if I played 4-5-1 at home there would be nobody at our games, 4-5-1 is an attacking formation. [/GUNTHER EXCUSES]

If it wasnt for my lucky golves James would never had been a super keeper in that game!

Ruairi
27/05/2003, 3:11 PM
I wanna play! We'll have to get someone impartial to pick the team.

Joe perhaps?

Ref
27/05/2003, 3:23 PM
ah ye can't leave ruairi out!

i'll ref if ye'll have me.

i think a contribution of 5 euro per team towards the adam fund is in order.

:cool:

27/05/2003, 3:32 PM
I'd agree with getting Joe to pick the teams, the poor fella has watched every game so far Im sure he could pick out the best of a very bad bunch.

Anyway Id say everyone who wants a game will get to play, our fitness levels leave a bit to be desired so subs will be the order of the day.

Xlex
27/05/2003, 3:35 PM
What's frant grabbing anyway? :confused:

I think it may be front grabbing they be refering to...:eek:

Ref
27/05/2003, 3:36 PM
date & time?

7 a side would be grand in leisureworld.

27/05/2003, 6:40 PM
Originally posted by Ref

i'll ref if ye'll have me.

Yeah we'll need a ref alright. There were a lot of arguments over certain incidents (goals, fouls, hand balls etc.) during our game in Belfield.

Ref
27/05/2003, 8:23 PM
when are ye playing?

27/05/2003, 8:44 PM
Saturday June 14th. As for a time I'd hazard a guess that it will have to be earlyish so as to give the lads time to get back to the Pale.

Ref
28/05/2003, 10:30 AM
see here re city v ucd foot.ie match (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?s=&postid=57447#post57447)

28/05/2003, 12:57 PM
We'll definitely be around on the Saturday anyway, might stay on till the Sunday.

steven17
28/05/2003, 1:08 PM
what is the story ......(im new to this ) when city play away the traveling fans have a game against the home fans ..... or is it even if city play ay home

joe
28/05/2003, 1:12 PM
We'll definitely be around on the Saturday anyway, might stay on till the Sunday.

are you sure your visas will allow you to stay that long? ;)

28/05/2003, 4:36 PM
I've actually been digging a tunnel from Dublin to Cork for the last couple of years - should avoid customs...

Getting rather hard now 'cos I have to go about 100 miles and back just to add a few yards extra...:)

joe
09/06/2003, 6:24 PM
well, is this going ahead or wha?

09/06/2003, 6:32 PM
Originally posted by joe
well, is this going ahead or wha?

Yeah I can't see why not.
We'll defo have a team and after UCD beating Bohs last week their support base will have doubled so they should have a team aswell. :) :)

joe
10/06/2003, 10:09 AM
so, should someone go about booking the pitch???

Ref
10/06/2003, 3:20 PM
right folks see here (http://64.246.46.13/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=59267#post59267)