View Full Version : No Wii's left in Ireland.
eamo1
28/11/2007, 12:05 PM
Nintendo really dropped the ball on this one,been talking to people in england and in the u.s too and they are very scarce there aswell.I bought a D.S the last day instead as i think id be searching in vain for a Wii before christmas.You just know however that people will have them on eBay on christmas day like last year at double the price and just got them to rip people off.ok my bitter rant is over now.
28/11/2007, 1:18 PM
Try www.komplett.ie. I ordered one there last week. Not sure if they have any left. It will cost you a little extra though.
28/11/2007, 2:17 PM
Isn't this usually just spin, shere Smyths only take 100 names but get 5,000 consoles in 10 days before Christmas to cash in on all the parents thinking that they're Europes coolest mother/father?
anto1208
28/11/2007, 2:19 PM
This happens every year the company release stories about how you cant get them anywhere to create panic buying.
Playstation and xbox did the same thing every year yet walk into the shops and they have plenty of them.
Pre book it and they will have it by xmas.
i find it hard to believe nintendo are missing a trick here there are very good at marketing.
nui-harp
28/11/2007, 4:56 PM
Definitly none left in the UK and Ireland....i work in Argos and we have been given a date in Dec for them coming back in to stores. Ireland will actually be getting a larger amount of them as in UK due to not being able to buy online here.
gilberto_eire
28/11/2007, 6:29 PM
who cares only a 2nd generation console anyway, they wont be able to shift them next xmas!!:D
anto1208
29/11/2007, 12:20 PM
who cares only a 2nd generation console anyway, they wont be able to shift them next xmas!!:D
I dont really understand the wii , poor concole with novelty controllers buy a PS3 and a tennis racket way better
29/11/2007, 3:56 PM
I dont really understand the wii , poor concole with novelty controllers buy a PS3 and a tennis racket way better
great craic after a night on the beer, its not about the graphics. Had many after session sessions in recent months and always great fun. We played wii sports last friday night as a drinking game with the loser drinkin a shot of vodka !!!
They were sold out like this last year as well.
Torn-Ado
29/11/2007, 4:43 PM
I'll export them from Sweden if you want.
It'll cost you though. Im doing it for a friend of mine back home.
got one yesterday in HMV,
They have been getting them in once a week but as you can imagine they disapear just as quick as they arrive. One thing HMV should look at though is a one per customer quota. The flower women on Grafton street bought three of them so you know there's at last three in Dublin that are on ebay by now
soccerc
05/12/2007, 9:01 PM
got one yesterday in HMV,
They have been getting them in once a week but as you can imagine they disapear just as quick as they arrive. One thing HMV should look at though is a one per customer quota. The flower women on Grafton street bought three of them so you know there's at last three in Dublin that are on ebay by now
Gamestop and Argos have stock on sale from 9am Thursday
06/12/2007, 7:34 PM
The flower women on Grafton street bought three of them so you know there's at last three in Dublin that are on ebay by now
I doubt pretty much any of those ladies are on ebay :D
nui-harp
06/12/2007, 7:55 PM
Gamestop and Argos have stock on sale from 9am Thursday
how'd u kno that?? I work deliveries an i seen none this mornin!
For anybody looking for a Wii from Ebay.
Be warned a number of the consoles that have been advertised as being available in Dublin and Ireland on the site are turning out to be fraudulent adds. I have heard of a least five cases where people have paid for the machine and have received nothing in return.
Just be very carefull before you buy, e-mail the seller etc
anto1208
07/12/2007, 8:48 AM
Check there feedback but also check what they bought/sold sometimes around this time of year they will set up 21 accounts. 1 sells something stupid for 1 cent then the other 20 leave good feedback. people just read that 20 people are happy with this seller and pay over the money.
Gamestop, Game etc get a new batch in every thursday up to xmas just go to the shop and put a deposit on it or buy from a real website ( play.com, play-asia.com amazon etc )
gamestop were on Newstalk this morning saying that they're getting deliveries every few days - basically as often as they can.
07/12/2007, 12:49 PM
Is this a case then of
:ball:No
:ball:Wii
:ball:'Til Brooklyn?
Lads if you want to get your hands on one before Christmas get yourself onto
www.amazon.de (http://www.amazon.de)
They have them in stock and are shipping within four days and all you need to but is a plug adaptor
07/12/2007, 11:40 PM
Or if you're in Cork, just pop in to any Gamestop.
gilberto_eire
09/12/2007, 4:15 PM
Check there feedback but also check what they bought/sold sometimes around this time of year they will set up 21 accounts. 1 sells something stupid for 1 cent then the other 20 leave good feedback. people just read that 20 people are happy with this seller and pay over the money.
Gamestop, Game etc get a new batch in every thursday up to xmas just go to the shop and put a deposit on it or buy from a real website ( play.com, play-asia.com amazon etc )
....or buy a REAL console!!.;)
friend has one, barely plays it, the novelty of swinging the controller for the sports games wore out after about 1 minute when he gave me ago
anto1208
10/12/2007, 8:50 AM
....or buy a REAL console!!.;)
friend has one, barely plays it, the novelty of swinging the controller for the sports games wore out after about 1 minute when he gave me ago
Same here few of my mates got them and had a great laugh for about a week or two then once the novelty wore off it sat there collecting dust.
The problem is that it isnt a console for serious gaming so you cant sit in hung over on a sunday and play for hours. As all the games involve swinging the controller around the place.
nui-harp
18/12/2007, 2:56 PM
Just to let anyone interested kno, Argos stores WILL be getting Wii's in 2moro Wed and Thurs in big amounts....around 50 to each store but it will be 1 per person!
Aberdonian Stu
19/12/2007, 12:50 PM
Gamestop are also due to get a few in today.
SPXcyan
21/12/2007, 9:01 PM
I heard all the wii's in gamestop have been sold out before they reached the store?! thats madness! :p no wii for me this christmas now :( PS3 it is :( lool
Resident Evil will be fantastic for the Wii tho! more than acceptable graphics.
21/12/2007, 9:08 PM
I heard there's a load of wii's available now and that it was all just a "con".
22/12/2007, 12:49 AM
yeah, because playing the same damn world war 2 FPS, Soccer sim and need-for-speed XIV that you've been playing since 1999 except with hi-def graphics is exactly what most people want from video games.
The problem is that it isnt a console for serious gaming so you cant sit in hung over on a sunday and play for hours. As all the games involve swinging the controller around the place.Not that you actually need to swing it around the place (its an accelerometer, it works just as well if you just flick your wrist), but the majority of games will come with a "classic" control scheme too.
Anyone who's got their hands on a console and wants some games for stocking fillers, heres my reviews:
Zelda - fantastic. will take you a good month at least to get through it, very interesting and challenging. Nintendo at its best.
Mario Strikers - good fun. Does for football, what Mario Kart did for racing. One of the only games my very anti-gaming girlfriend will willing play. online mode is good too once you find your feet.
Warioware - a little annoying that you have to complete most of the game before you unlock multiplayer, but take it in turns. Brilliant for making whoevers playing it feel like a right **** :D
Tiger Woods 2008 - good, a bit in depth for me but my father loves it. I particularly like the open ended challenge mode.
Wii Sports - the one most people will want to have a crack off first. Good fun in groups but once you've mastered each sport you'll have little reason to keep playing other than to take on your friends, who you are now far too good for :/ anyway, for a free game, its class.
22/12/2007, 8:13 PM
we got 36 in the other day where i work in virgin megastore in sligo...only sold about 10 on the first day, think word got round though and there all gone now, not sure if we got more today because i was off....sure the price will drop straigt after xmas!
Rovers fan
22/12/2007, 9:00 PM
we got 36 in the other day where i work in virgin megastore in sligo...only sold about 10 on the first day, think word got round though and there all gone now, not sure if we got more today because i was off....sure the price will drop straigt after xmas!
Off topic but feo do ye have football manager 08 in virgin megastore?
22/12/2007, 9:03 PM
Off topic but feo do ye have football manager 08 in virgin megastore?They do, 40euro.
22/12/2007, 11:09 PM
we do, call in store and view some of our other great low low prices ;)
Rovers fan
22/12/2007, 11:31 PM
we do, call in store and view some of our other great low low prices ;)
Santa will call in and get it for me!
24/12/2007, 1:45 PM
No Wii's left. A lot of people will be pi**ed off.... I'll get my coat :D
harpstilidie
24/12/2007, 1:56 PM
No Wii's left. A lot of people will be pi**ed off.... I'll get my coat :D
:D:D hehe