View Full Version : Mick McCarthy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

09/01/2008, 2:47 PM
Jesus I Hope not, cant tolerate the prat, and not just because of Saipan,
He'd be just the Yes man the FAI are Looking for

Dr. Ogba
09/01/2008, 3:27 PM
I see Mick McCarthy has been cut to 5-2 with Ladbrokes and 7-1 with Paddy Power. Also, there has been a move for him on the exchanges. Daniel McDonnell's piece in the Indo today suggests that he is hot on the heels of Houllier for the job. If the Magic Sign go 5-2 they miust know something!

I will not make a comment on this! :) :p

Greenforever
09/01/2008, 6:04 PM

A yes man? if he was a yes man, Saipan would never have happened as he would have done things Roys way! Mick is probably the best qualified of all names bandied about due to his experience in the job and reasonable level of success BUT his appointment would cause more problems than it would solve.

09/01/2008, 7:16 PM

100% agree.

People tend to forget how many campaigns it took him to get us to a major championship. Christ Stan only got one shot at it.

Greenforever
09/01/2008, 7:48 PM
100% agree.

People tend to forget how many campaigns it took him to get us to a major championship. Christ Stan only got one shot at it.

Mick McCarthy
1998 Lost to Belguim play offs
2000 Lost to Turkey play offs
2002 last 16 world cup finals

Steve Staunton
2008 Our worst finish in how many years? Mathematically out of it with 3 games left

09/01/2008, 7:57 PM
It still took him 3 attempts and then managed to fall out with the man who got us to the world cup in the first place. I hope he stays at Wolves and does well with them but I don't want him anywhere near the national side again.

Drumcondra 69er
09/01/2008, 8:15 PM
It still took him 3 attempts and then managed to fall out with the man who got us to the world cup in the first place. I hope he stays at Wolves and does well with them but I don't want him anywhere near the national side again.

Who, Jason McAteer???

****s sake, you do realise we've only ever topped one group 20 years ago and relied on a Scot to do that for us?

3 2nd place finishes is more then acceptable, especially considering the rebuild required after Jack and the last 2 groups we were drawn in for 2000 and 2002 . We've been 3rd, 4th and 3rd since he left, we'd all be happy to have McCarthy's results these days.

Who do you want, you don't seem to like the look of anyone realistic....

Greenforever
09/01/2008, 8:16 PM

I'm not advocating his return, but in fairness ive yet to see a serious contender indicate an interest in the job, and while I like everyone else want to qualify for wc and ec finals the facts speak for themselves that he was our most successful manager ever after big Jack. The man he fell out with is finding it tough being a manager now too!

Noelys Guitar
09/01/2008, 8:23 PM
If I was part of the 3-amigos and the choices are McCarthy, Hoddle or Brady then it has to be McCarthy.

Greenforever
09/01/2008, 8:34 PM

Yes man??

Just remembering meeting Mick after the FAI cup final in Lansdowne Rd in May 1996, he had just had his first run in with the FAI since his appointment. He wanted Evans as his assistant the FAI wanted to appoint his assistant for him and his back room staff. A senior FAI suit said to Mick "I supose you think we are like the 57 old farts" referring to the English Rugby Union and comments made by I think Will Carling (i stand to be corrected) Mick assured me he bit his tounge and didnt agree out loud! Mick may be many thinks but not a yes man!

irishfan86
09/01/2008, 9:32 PM
Say whatever you like about Mick, but making the playoffs with the squad we have is NOT a failure.

During his reign we were always competitive, well organized, and motivated.

Yes we had Roy Keane, but he proved in 2002 that he could keep us competitive even without our star player.

dr_peepee
09/01/2008, 10:08 PM
I tried to tell yiz weeks ago... I'm on a gravy train with biscuit wheels 33-1 people.... (The oul lad got him at 50-1)

10/01/2008, 7:53 AM
Who, Jason McAteer???

****s sake, you do realise we've only ever topped one group 20 years ago and relied on a Scot to do that for us?

3 2nd place finishes is more then acceptable, especially considering the rebuild required after Jack and the last 2 groups we were drawn in for 2000 and 2002 . We've been 3rd, 4th and 3rd since he left, we'd all be happy to have McCarthy's results these days.

Who'd I like ahead of McCarthy? Houllier, Jol, Deschamps. Hell I'd probably take Venables over Mick.

Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 8:40 AM

But Stan pointed the gun in his mouth & managed to shoot himself in the arse.

Beavis
10/01/2008, 9:20 AM
Who, Jason McAteer???

Please have the strength not to rise to the bait.
Keanites get more annoyed when you dont bother trying to argue, thereby denying them the pleasure of another rant about 'the greatest player to ever play for Ireland' (and the irrelevancy that is the ManU - Juve CL semi-final which is usually thrown in for good measure).

God they're are annoying.

10/01/2008, 10:05 AM
Please have the strength not to rise to the bait.
Keanites get more annoyed when you dont bother trying to argue, thereby denying them the pleasure of another rant about 'the greatest player to ever play for Ireland' (and the irrelevancy that is the ManU - Juve CL semi-final which is usually thrown in for good measure).

God they're are annoying.

This isn't a Keane/McCarthy debate. Jesus that is nearly 6 years ago and the two culprits have even kissed and made up. What the hell has Keane's ability as a player (which cannot be questioned surely?) have to do with the debate? We are talking about McCarthy's management abilities - nothing else.

The fact of the matter is that Mick McCarthy had his chance (3 and a bit campaigns) and is now at Wolves. The only reason he's being mentioned as a potential candidate on here is because Wolves are rumoured to be on the verge of sacking him. Why? because he isn't doing a good enough job. So why would we want him to take the reigns? To reminisce about the good old days?

Drumcondra 69er
10/01/2008, 10:36 AM
Who'd I like ahead of McCarthy? Houllier, Jol, Deschamps. Hell I'd probably take Venables over Mick.

Then sir, you are an idiot. Championship clubs won't even consider a has been like Venables at this stage.

I'd take Dechamps or Jol over McCarthy in a heartbeat but are they really realistic candidates? Houllier doesn't seem to want the job...

As for McCarthy's job at Wolves, he performed a miracle getting them to the play offs last season which has cretaed unrealistic expectations, he's done a far better job there then Hoddle managed.

Drumcondra 69er
10/01/2008, 10:38 AM
This isn't a Keane/McCarthy debate.

:D It was you who brought Saipan into it!!

10/01/2008, 12:37 PM
****s sake, you do realise we've only ever topped one group 20 years ago and relied on a Scot to do that for us?...

We topped our group because we got more points than anyone else. Unless other teams drop points you can't top a group. We got more points than the Bulgarians. End of story.

There was never a chance in hell of Mick coming back to the job as I said earlier. He left with yobs chasing the team bus spitting at him. As someone once said "They haven't gone away you know".

Hibernian
10/01/2008, 12:50 PM
We topped our group because we got more points than anyone else. Unless other teams drop points you can't top a group. We got more points than the Bulgarians. End of story.

There was never a chance in hell of Mick coming back to the job as I said earlier. He left with yobs chasing the team bus spitting at him. As someone once said "They haven't gone away you know".

what you said is true. If Sctoland had played them in there first game with the same outcome then we would never have brought that Scotland got us there. ROI got there on merit cause they won there group they got no favours of nobody

Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 1:00 PM
they got no favours of nobody

Exactly, thank God for Gary Mckay (or whatever his name was).

Drumcondra 69er
10/01/2008, 1:05 PM

FFS, it was said to reinforce a point and isn't really relevant to this argument.

As already said I don't t hink he should come back but for people to trot out that 3 campaigns to qualify BS when we finished top 2 in every one of them annoys me. The point is that had the qualification criteria been the same for WC 98 as it was for WC 90 and WC 94 we'd have qualified, ditto for EC 2000 if it had been the same as it was for EC96 for example. 3 consecutive top 2 finishes in groups is a credible record for any Ireland manager to have.

SUB of the day
10/01/2008, 1:06 PM
Whatever the rights or wrongs, appointing a man who a substantial % of the support can't abide, hate( take your pick) would be doomed from the outset.Please, anyone but Mick.

Hibernian
10/01/2008, 1:07 PM
Micko wont get the job end of story.

If he does its RIP Irish Football.

I'm not saying that he did bad job in his role as Irish Manager, dont like talking about "IF's" but he was unlucky not to get us to Euro 2000 to be fair.

I just think we need to look at soemone fresh and someone with different ideas would love to see an outsider basically a different approach from what we have been used to.

10/01/2008, 1:17 PM
Then sir, you are an idiot. Championship clubs won't even consider a has been like Venables at this stage.

I'd take Dechamps or Jol over McCarthy in a heartbeat but are they really realistic candidates? Houllier doesn't seem to want the job...

As for McCarthy's job at Wolves, he performed a miracle getting them to the play offs last season which has cretaed unrealistic expectations, he's done a far better job there then Hoddle managed.

I think it's Venables wage demands that put clubs off him. Also at this stage of his career why would he want to manage at that level?

I'm sorry but I would take El Tel over Mick. I don't want him but his CV is more impressive than Mick's and players have always been complimentary about his training sessions wherever he has managed or assisted.

Drumcondra 69er
10/01/2008, 1:45 PM
I think it's Venables wage demands that put clubs off him. Also at this stage of his career why would he want to manage at that level?

I'm sorry but I would take El Tel over Mick. I don't want him but his CV is more impressive than Mick's and players have always been complimentary about his training sessions wherever he has managed or assisted.

I think it's his abysmal record in his last 6 jobs (Australia, Pompey, Palace, Boro (same win ratio as Allardyce's at Newcastle, one is hailed a hero and one sacked :confused:), Leeds and assistant at England) that puts them off personally.

No need to be sorry mate, it's all about opinions! Players always talk sh1te about their managers in my opinion, Venables reputation is only kept alive by the media at this stage, he;s as much yesterday's man as Howard Wilkinson or Big Ron.

10/01/2008, 3:46 PM
Whatever the rights or wrongs, appointing a man who a substantial % of the support can't abide, hate( take your pick) would be doomed from the outset.Please, anyone but Mick.

that would apply to just about every canditate touted for the job

how anyone with the good interests of Irish football in mind could hate mick is beyond words and sums up the kind of eejits that follow our team. as a player and manager his contribution to Irish football over the last 20 yrs has arguably been as big if not bigger than anyone else in that time. anything to the contrary is just pure propaganda

Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 4:22 PM
I think it's his abysmal record in his last 6 jobs (Australia, Pompey, Palace, Boro (same win ratio as Allardyce's at Newcastle, one is hailed a hero and one sacked :confused:), Leeds and assistant at England) that puts them off personally.

It's for this reason that I would not want Tel. I don't care too much about the other stuff.

However if it was a toss up between Tel & Brady, then at least Tel has had some success.

Greenforever
10/01/2008, 4:27 PM

how anyone with the good interests of Irish football in mind could hate mick is beyond words and sums up the kind of eejits that follow our team. as a player and manager his contribution to Irish football over the last 20 yrs has arguably been as big if not bigger than anyone else in that time. anything to the contrary is just pure propaganda

Couldnt agree more

beautifulrock
10/01/2008, 4:45 PM

spot on JB.

colster
10/01/2008, 5:08 PM

spot on.

SUB of the day
10/01/2008, 6:17 PM
that would apply to just about every canditate touted for the job......TRIPE!........none of the people mentioned could possibly be as devisive among the support as "were Spain down to 10 men?" Mick.

how anyone with the good interests of Irish football in mind could hate mick is beyond words and sums up the kind of eejits that follow our team. as a player and manager his contribution to Irish football over the last 20 yrs has arguably been as big if not bigger than anyone else in that time. anything to the contrary is just pure propaganda......Would the good interests be served were Roy to take the helm?......In my opinion , no, for the exact same reason as outlined re " I don't believe in practicing penalties " mick

Greenforever
10/01/2008, 6:26 PM
......Would the good interests be served were Roy to take the helm?......In my opinion , no, for the exact same reason as outlined re " I don't believe in practicing penalties " mick

So your arguments are based on

1 Mick didnt cop Spain were down to 10 players, well neither did most of the fans in the stadium, BUT what we did notice is that Ireland threw everything we had at the Spaniards in extra time and it just wasnt good enough, we didnt sit back and play for penalties, unless of course i was at a different match :confused:

2 He didnt practice penalties, so what, penalties are a lottery we all know that

SUB of the day
10/01/2008, 6:33 PM
So your arguments are based on

1 Mick didnt cop Spain were down to 10 players, well neither did most of the fans in the stadium, BUT what we did notice is that Ireland threw everything we had at the Spaniards in extra time and it just wasnt good enough, we didnt sit back and play for penalties, unless of course i was at a different match :confused:

2 He didnt practice penalties, so what, penalties are a lottery we all know that
Obviously, thats not the argument( bitchy swipe yes).The point is , both Saipan protagonists still retain the ability to divide the support, this thread 6 years on is a prime example.

DotTV
10/01/2008, 6:48 PM
Mick coming back would drag up all sorts of Saipan **** again. He did well with us and was a great servant on the pitch but we need someone new.

Noelys Guitar
10/01/2008, 6:50 PM
According to Newstalk Steve Morgan is going to bring in Big Sam at Wolves.

SUB of the day
10/01/2008, 6:53 PM
Mick coming back would drag up all sorts of Saipan **** again. He did well with us and was a great servant on the pitch but we need someone new.
Good post.........kofi!

SUB of the day
10/01/2008, 6:56 PM
According to Newstalk Steve Morgan is going to bring in Big Sam at Wolves.
Jesus!!!!! just when I thought the whole Saipan, Mick,Roy, crap was put to bed:(

Greenforever
10/01/2008, 9:21 PM
Obviously, thats not the argument( bitchy swipe yes).The point is , both Saipan protagonists still retain the ability to divide the support, this thread 6 years on is a prime example.

Well I am very much Anti Roy Keane but I still supported him 100% when Kerr brought him back.

All I want is for Ireland to start winning again and if that means Mick and Roy working together so be it..anyway Roy has changed his attitude since becoming a manager

eekers
10/01/2008, 9:30 PM
All I want is for Ireland to start winning again and if that means Mick and Roy working together so be it

neither have got anything to do with ireland anymore.

what has the two of them working together got to do with anything????????????????????????????

irishfan86
10/01/2008, 10:49 PM

what has the two of them working together got to do with anything????????????????????????????

Didn't you hear the latest rumour?

Mick with Roy assisting. Stan will be the consultant.

Agree with that post on the other page, it's a pity Saipan happened- if he was judged purely on his footballing results, achieving no lower than 2nd place cannot be second guessed.

He was a fantastic manager for us before, and I believe he could do the job again.

Greenforever
10/01/2008, 10:59 PM

My point was i dontgive a s*** about personalities all i want is to have the best person in the job and if we are realistic and look at Mick's results ignoring 1 incident which can never be changed, we didnt do too bad.

And if he gets the job he will have to have dealings with Roy if he wants Sunderland players released.

Keane and Quinn have kissed and madde up

Keane and McCarthy have shaken hands!

So if the only problem is supporters who cant put their personal feeling to one side to support the team we'd be better off without them as supporters.

If the devil could play soccer and was good enough to be on the team id welcome him with open arms

eekers
11/01/2008, 12:29 AM
If the devil could play soccer and was good enough to be on the team id welcome him with open arms

how exactly does a fictional supernatural being qualify for ireland these days?

ramondo
11/01/2008, 1:08 AM
Coz he's got an Irish granny - Grandmother from Wanderley Wagon.

Sheesh...

11/01/2008, 7:35 AM
Well I am very much Anti Roy Keane but I still supported him 100% when Kerr brought him back.

All I want is for Ireland to start winning again and if that means Mick and Roy working together so be it..anyway Roy has changed his attitude since becoming a manager

couldnt agree more. if our "fans" constantly let something that happened six years ago affect their opinions on our team and who manages it then maybe they deserve someone like stan to manage the team. roy and mick have got over it so why cant everyone else? please please can we please move on from saipan

you just cant keep roy out of the news....

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/africa/kibaki-invites-rival-to-talks-as-unrest-spreads-1259893.html

Drumcondra 69er
11/01/2008, 8:31 AM
couldnt agree more. if our "fans" constantly let something that happened six years ago affect their opinions on our team and who manages it then maybe they deserve someone like stan to manage the team. roy and mick have got over it so why cant everyone else? please please can we please move on from saipan

you just cant keep roy out of the news....

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/africa/kibaki-invites-rival-to-talks-as-unrest-spreads-1259893.html

Is that picture not Andy Cole after Roy had started booting chairs around and thrown that derssing room tantrum that Clive Clarke mentioned last weekend??? ;)

Billsthoughts
11/01/2008, 8:46 AM
Bring back macarthy......bring back one win in four games meaning a succesful world cup....bring back going a goal down to andorra at home....bring back denis irwin having to prove him wrong....bring back hammering malta 3-2 away....bring back "I had two Macedonias"...bring back ian harte in central defence....bring back only picking premiership players....bring back the wing back system....bring back send your best player home from the world cup:rolleyes:.....bring back cathal dervan .....bring back Mark Kennedy......bring back kevin kilbane keeping Damien Duff out of the team......bring back the farce that was the Russia away game...bring back Mick Byrne.....oh wait a minute:eek:

11/01/2008, 8:51 AM
Bring back macarthy......bring back one win in four games meaning a succesful world cup....bring back going a goal down to andorra at home....bring back denis irwin having to prove him wrong....bring back hammering malta 3-2 away....bring back "I had two Macedonias"...bring back ian harte in central defence....bring back only picking premiership players....bring back the wing back system....bring back send your best player home from the world cup:rolleyes:.....bring back cathal dervan .....bring back Mark Kennedy......bring back kevin kilbane keeping Damien Duff out of the team......bring back the farce that was the Russia away game...bring back Mick Byrne.....oh wait a minute:eek:

Don't. You will upset big Mick's loyal fans.

11/01/2008, 9:26 AM
Bring back macarthy......bring back one win in four games meaning a succesful world cup.:

..or no defeat in 4 games except on penos, including draws with two world powers (Spain and Germany) in 90 minutes.

...bring back going a goal down to andorra at home..

Think we won that game.

......bring back denis irwin having to prove him wrong...

No one, even if he plays for MANCHESTER UNITED, is entitled to automatic selection even if he is about to be released from Man U in his mid thirties apart from the fact Mick didn't say that. WHat he said was "go and prove me wrong" and that is a very different thing than telling him to go out and prove himself.

........bring back hammering malta 3-2 away....

I'll take that hammering anytime for an Irish team notoriously dodgy on its travels.

..........bring back "I had two Macedonias".......

Quite a funny expression really.

..........bring back ian harte in central defence.....

Needs must and I say that as a non-Harte fan.

....bring back only picking premiership players......

That's a criticism?

.......bring back the wing back system.........

Nothing ventured.....

.......bring back send your best player home from the world cup:rolleyes:..............

If he doesn't want to be there in the first place and already had spit the dummy twice, why not?

etc etc

Bring back "fans" running after the team bus and spitting at him. Bring back players calling him English. Bring back the second manager only to qualify us for the World Cup. Bring back the only manager who cared enough to shed tears when his country lost in a play off. Bring back an upright and honourable person.

Anyway, all academic because it won't happen in a month of Sundays. I am not a huge McCarthy fan and Mick is not and was not perfect but no one can deny that 2 play-offs and a WC qualification in 7 years with a patchy team is by no means bad. Every manager makes mistakes and he did too - I recall a fairly windy approach to playing a so-so Croatian team in Zagreb and losing 0-1 to a last-minute goal - but the good definitley outweighed the bad. His record with English clubs is, overall, a good one too. Don’t forget that his fairly mediocre Sunderland team walked away with the Championship. His experience with that team in the Premiership wasn’t good but, unlike the present incumbent, he didn’t have much dosh.

11/01/2008, 9:57 AM
Not to mention leaving his father on his deathbed to take charge out in Cyprus in March '01. How people (not suggesting Bill here) can "hate him" is beyond me.

Curate's egg of a manager first time around. A lot more that can be said about Stan.

Bringing him back would be way too divisive & would immediately and constantly distract attention from the real issues: performances & qualification.

A different approach is needed.