View Full Version : So how many away games do you plan to make it to?
soylent green
26/11/2007, 9:49 PM
I'm hoping to go to all the away games bar probably Cyprus. Depends obviously on the fixture dates, double headers and Wednesday games. I hear the fixture meeting is the third week in January either in Italy or Bulgaria.
shaneker
26/11/2007, 10:13 PM
Finances will dictate but I'd say Italy, Bulgaria and Cyprus are definites, I'd love to get to Montenegro but if I'm honest its unlikely, and Georgia is a step too far. That said, looking forward to the few I will make!
citizenerased
27/11/2007, 9:26 AM
Ill try and go them all pending the prices are not too extortionate...
27/11/2007, 9:29 AM
hopefully them all except cyprus but holidays, finance etc may mean one or two not being possible. the more weekend away games for us the better
Battery Rover
27/11/2007, 9:52 AM
Due to circumstances I will only make all the home Saturday fixtures and whatever away trips don't clash with Athlone Towns Eircom League matches but hoping to get to Italy or Montenegro.
Sligo Hornet
27/11/2007, 11:17 AM
I am going ( GOD and wallet willing ) to go to ALL ( especially Georgia and Montenegro ):)
27/11/2007, 11:45 AM
I'm definitely going to Montenegro. Would like to go to Georgia. Can see myself doing the Italy trip as a last minute thing.
Rebel11
27/11/2007, 12:22 PM
Id say i will make it to all of them but the Cyprus away - Just wont have the holidays for that 1.
Babysis
27/11/2007, 12:26 PM
Id like to do them all but it will depend on dates and finances. Of all of them Cyprus is looking least likely at the moment. Myself and GT really want to do Georgia and Montenegro.
RedMick
27/11/2007, 12:53 PM
Montenegro and Bulgaria hopefully Italy maybe, depending on dates and cabbage!!
Myself and GT really want to do Georgia and Montenegro.
:eek: :rolleyes: :D
SuperDave
27/11/2007, 1:06 PM
all of them, though georgia and cyprus are looking like the least likely.
bulgaria montenegro and italy all look feasible, especially if two thereof are part of a double header.
Paulie
27/11/2007, 1:20 PM
I'd say all of them bar Cyprus. I've been there 3 times in the past 6 years, all for Ireland matches, so I'll probably give that one a skip.
Sligo Hornet
27/11/2007, 1:36 PM
Everyone ( not surprisingly ) seems to be avoiding the Cyprus game.....I hope it's one of the last games with Qualification still insight.....then see the mad scramble to get to Ayia Napa!!:D
Ah lads ye have to be up for a return trip to Ayia Napa!!Even if just for old times sake.........
God the memories from the last trip there are not good at all.Involve a lot of puking and a terrible Irish performance!!
Still though hope to make it back this time.There is no better place for a group of lads under the age of 30.Also want to make the more cultural trip to Italy and possibly Bulgaria.
Everyone ( not surprisingly ) seems to be avoiding the Cyprus game.....I hope it's one of the last games with Qualification still insight.....then see the mad scramble to get to Ayia Napa!!:D
Ended up in there by accident the time we were over there
(the game before last)
We were a bit legless and met up with Galway Brian from Mayo outside
the stadium in Nicosea. He convinced us that his bus was going back
to Larnaca so he smuggled us on. ... next thing I remember we were sitting
on a kerb outside an off licence in Ayia Napa drinking manky vodka out of
a plastic bottle!
Met GT and Davros for the 1st time there and ended up meeting a lad from
Athlone I used to play football with years ago. Hadnt seen him in years, the
family moved to London to run a pub when he was in 1st year in school I think.
Chatting to the lads Dad I happened to mention that I'd seen a cool tshirt
in Camden market on the way over (we went via London) that said
"Dont Panic, I'm Islamic"
Next think I know, he's standing on a table in the pub chanting
"Dont Panic, I'm Islamic" ... then Galway Brian joined in and before I knew
it most of the pub was roaring it!
Good times ... :)
take all in bar georgia probably.. must be one of the few who loves going to cyprus..bulgaria dirt cheap but italy will be full of plastic fans
supasparx
27/11/2007, 5:27 PM
Chatting to the lads Dad I happened to mention that I'd seen a cool tshirt
in Camden market on the way over (we went via London) that said
"Dont Panic, I'm Islamic"
Next think I know, he's standing on a table in the pub chanting
"Dont Panic, I'm Islamic" ... then Galway Brian joined in and before I knew
it most of the pub was roaring it!
Good times ... :)
Off topic I know, but saw a lad on the tube with similar t-shirt that read ''Don't Freak I'm A Sikh''.
kingdomkerry
27/11/2007, 5:37 PM
Id love to say id go to them all but when it comes to it fellas will always pull out or say they are going until they have to fork out.
Is there any away supporters club to get in with so you can guarantee you wont be going solo??
Schlooooomp
27/11/2007, 5:54 PM
As there are only the 5 away games over the 2 years and maybe a double header thrown in there I'm pretty confident I will go to all the games. I am actually ready to make a return to Cyprus at this stage, a warm weather trip would be most welcome at some stage.
zenokelly
27/11/2007, 6:02 PM
Depending on dates, hopefully them all. Though with the price of flights to Georgia it mightn't be an easy seller. Ya Italy will be the plastics again. Bulgaria and Montenegro should be the best.
Off topic I know, but saw a lad on the tube with similar t-shirt that read ''Don't Freak I'm A Sikh''.
Thats classic :D
28/11/2007, 12:41 PM
Hope, other factors permitting, to make four anyways. Like schlooooomp, may give Cyprus a second go, but wouldn't be the end of the world if I missed it. Looking forward to Georgia, and want to go to Kyustendil in Bulgaria to arrive about 8 years too late for our InterToto Cup game I never made it to...
Beavis
28/11/2007, 12:51 PM
Met GT and Davros for the 1st time there
Davros, where did he go?his posts were gas, albeit barely legible.
Ya Italy will be the plastics again.
A lad on my team yesterday was saying at least his girlfriend will let him go to the Italy game anyway cos she wants to go herself.
I'm predicting event junkies on the scale of Paris 04.
Hoping to make all, possibly without Cyprus but given they are now far from a walkover, I might have to do it. Georgia is the one most looking forward to at this early stage.
28/11/2007, 1:51 PM
A lad on my team yesterday was saying at least his girlfriend will let him go to the Italy game anyway cos she wants to go herself.
Paris yes fantastic support - 40,000 travelled and 40 made it to Troyes the night before to support the U21s. :(
RogerMilla
28/11/2007, 2:05 PM
will do montenegro , italy and bulgaria , possibly georgia but no chance of me going to cyprus..
Will come home for any games played on a saturday, wednesday games are tough.
28/11/2007, 3:42 PM
Davros, where did he go?his posts were gas, albeit barely legible.
Hoping to make all, possibly without Cyprus but given they are now far from a walkover, I might have to do it. Georgia is the one most looking forward to at this early stage.
Davros was banned :eek::D
Hope to make it to all away games, Bulgaria(went in 1993 and didn't want to come home!), Georgia and Montenegro looking the best. Might even try Cyprus
Paris yes fantastic support - 40,000 travelled and 40 made it to Troyes the night before to support the U21s. :(
Is this not the nature of the Irish fan?95% of them are event junkies or plastics as some are calling them.It's hardly a surprise that they are not seen as 'football fans'.It's easier to watch football in an armchair!
28/11/2007, 4:06 PM
40 made it to Troyes the night before to support the U21s. :(
Was it even that many?
I seem to recall about 20 gendarmes guarding one flag in the away section, with about ten fans underneath and maybe ten more (including, I think, yourself) in the main stand.
28/11/2007, 5:52 PM
Only one defo out is Cyprus.
Between Ireland and Derry out there in the UEFA Cup, I never want to see the place again.
Davros, where did he go?his posts were gas, albeit barely legible.He got banned for mentioning the word 'Pr*d' in a discussion with EG, even though 'erm, I am of that fine tradition.' Sort of last straw with dahamsta. Anyway's he's keeping well. I missed his input on the recent discussions on eligibility and Gibson, Kane et al.
Paris yes fantastic support - 40,000 travelled and 40 made it to Troyes the night before to support the U21s. :(The local brasses were promised an influx by the local Chamber of Commerce and all they could hassle for business was me, Sylvo and you. :D Only pre match sesh I've had purely on champers. Felt like Harry Enfield's Loadsamoney going to the game.
I'm out of the Cyprus trip. That Keogh sh*te almost put me off beer for life.
Curtains
28/11/2007, 9:39 PM
Frik it im going to try and make them all!! Although cyprus just doesnt have the appeal but im sure ill turn up anyway!!
I'm out of the Cyprus trip. That Keogh sh*te almost put me off beer for life.
I was having a bit of a clear out of junk in my house the other day
and found about 5 Keo t-shirts and a couple of baseball hats :D
29/11/2007, 9:08 AM
Was it even that many?
I seem to recall about 20 gendarmes guarding one flag in the away section, with about ten fans underneath and maybe ten more (including, I think, yourself) in the main stand.
There was abus down from the London Irish but actually now that i think about it not too many on it.
On further reflection you are probably right re the numbers. I may have overestimated the 40. :( I was in the main stand. There were a couple of UCD fans there too. I went in the mian stand to try and ensure I got a programme (there wasn't one).
Great night though.
Saint Tom
29/11/2007, 10:37 AM
looking to get to them all but for some reason it appears trickier than the last few campaigns. a double header would certainly ease congestion and it would be ideal if the trips were arranged : Sep 08 (italy), March 09 (cyprus), June 09 (georgia) and double header in october 09 (bulgaria and montenegro). preference in brackets
AidoM
29/11/2007, 11:49 AM
May do them all this time.
Not really certain if I want to go to Cyprus but the timing of when it is might be the clincher in deciding. There are combinations of double headers potentially available but I suppose we'll just have to wait and see.
Saint07
29/11/2007, 12:00 PM
prob only make 2 or 3 depends on funds and when they're on. Will do italy and montenegro maybe bulgaria.
Defo not doin Cyprus again (although if last game with something to play for that could be changed)
I wish they could sort the dates on the day the draw was made would love to know now so could start planning (even get a christmas present out of it)
29/11/2007, 12:28 PM
There was abus down from the London Irish but actually now that i think about it not too many on it.
On further reflection you are probably right re the numbers. I may have overestimated the 40. :( I was in the main stand. There were a couple of UCD fans there too.
Bus was a bit under half full. Myself and Harpo were the UCD fans in the stand, and we got a lift back on the bus. Plenty of room anyway.
jmurphyc
29/11/2007, 1:20 PM
Will probably do them all bar Georgia. I haven't been to Cyprus yet (last time was my first proper campaign) so I hope to go there, but Georgia just seems way too expensive for me to get to, though I'd say that will be one of the best trips.
29/11/2007, 1:40 PM
I would say that you can get Georgia for in and around the same price as Cyprus. Its all personal but I would go for Georgia anytime before Cyprus, but people who have been to both may say different.
Moscow Mule
29/11/2007, 9:29 PM
The aim is to go to them all but will be at the mercy of the fixture list.
Sligo Hornet
30/11/2007, 6:19 AM
The aim is to go to them all but will be at the mercy of the fixture list.
As you are a "near local" for Georgia....will you have any influence in obtaining tickets for the Georgia game?
30/11/2007, 7:57 AM
As you are a "near local" for Georgia....will you have any influence in obtaining tickets for the Georgia game?
The national stadium holds 55,000. I can guarantee you there will be no problem with tickets.
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/middle_east/georgia/tbilisi_paichadze.shtml
In fact all our away games will be OK except maybe Italy. Even then I'd be amazed if that one sold out.
Remember Cyprus ripped us off charging us 3 times the local prices for tickets.
Georgia ripped Scottish fans off on their tickets.
I'm seriously tempted to travel without tickets to all but the Italy game. In these countries you'll probably still get in the away end on a home ticket.
The national stadium holds 55,000. I can guarantee you there will be no problem with tickets.
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/middle_east/georgia/tbilisi_paichadze.shtml
In fact all our away games will be OK except maybe Italy. Even then I'd be amazed if that one sold out.
I'm seriously tempted to travel without tickets to all but the Italy game. In these countries you'll probably still get in the away end on a home ticket.Italy will be dodgy only for all the event junkies. However, I don't think they normally sell out. Problem might be if they play at some minor second division ground. Then again the event junkies only want to say they were at the San Siro etc.
Gary, I don't fancy the home ends of any of our opponents except Wales. I'd pay the extra.
Saint Tom
30/11/2007, 11:46 AM
I'm seriously tempted to travel without tickets to all but the Italy game. In these countries you'll probably still get in the away end on a home ticket.
I have to say that there are very few poor stadia that we have played in recently. San Marino & Faroes granted are small, but not in bad nick. Slovakia and Israel standing out as the poor ones.
30/11/2007, 2:45 PM
Italy will be dodgy only for all the event junkies. However, I don't think they normally sell out. Problem might be if they play at some minor second division ground. Then again the event junkies only want to say they were at the San Siro etc.
Gary, I don't fancy the home ends of any of our opponents except Wales. I'd pay the extra.
Home end in Cyprus would be no problem. They'll send you over to the away end anyway as happened to people I know from the last time.
Wales actually moved fans around too - totally daft but Welsh fans were moved out of our section.
Agree re sitting in the home end but reckon you'll be sent to the away end anyway with home tickets. I just don't like being ripped off. Georgia will have an empty stadium, Cyprus will have an empty stadium especially if Greece are on tv.
Yes Italy will be full of event junkies but they'll probably give the FAI plenty of tickets.
HolylandsMan
30/11/2007, 11:04 PM
Wales actually moved fans around too - totally daft but Welsh fans were moved out of our section.
One thing about Wales was that they wouldn't sell tickets to Ireland fans on the morning of the match. I landed over (unplanned) without a ticket and was lucky enough to get an away ticket as i don't I would have been sold an official ticket.
Was there not a bit of hassle with some of our lads getting hassle in the home end?
01/12/2007, 12:01 PM
Home end in Cyprus would be no problem. They'll send you over to the away end anyway as happened to people I know from the last time.
Agree re sitting in the home end but reckon you'll be sent to the away end anyway with home tickets. I just don't like being ripped off. Georgia will have an empty stadium, Cyprus will have an empty stadium especially if Greece are on tv.
Yes Italy will be full of event junkies but they'll probably give the FAI plenty of tickets.
As the third seeds in the group we would be seen as the third most attractive opposition from their point of you. These games are their cash cow games. And that money is used to run football in remote parts of their respective countries. Even a rip off in some of these countries is usually cheaper than a ticket for home tie.