View Full Version : Football at Croke Park
Ignoring the lack of atmosphere (lets put that down to general depression about team performances) I must say Croke Park is unbeliveably bad for watching a football match.
I had tickets for the Lower Devitt/Canal & view from near the rear is hopeless. GAA pitch too large for football. Not been to Croke Park for rugby so can't comment on that. It is so bad I look bad fondly on Lansdowne :eek:
citizenerased
26/11/2007, 2:02 PM
dont agree, think its grand, apart from the fact most of the crowd refuse to get behind the team...too many 'neutralS' in such a big stadium makes for a bad atmosphere!! we need a fans section to generate atmosphere!!
Beavis
26/11/2007, 2:26 PM
Dont mind Croker, and the location around the ground is better than Lansdowne. I've never been one of those people to complain about views and general comfort at a game though. As long as I can make out whats going on I'm happy.
we need a fans section to generate atmosphere!!
Okay what are you going to do about it?Not meaning to sound blunt, but people here are always throwing out banal statements such as this as regards atmosphere, maybe you should make a worthwhile suggestion into what can be done and how we should go about it.
We are the fans, if we don't organise something no-one will (unless youre a fan interventions such as the [uh]Carlsberg band).We have nearly a year until competitive internationals,surely we can come up with an arrangement that can be made with the FAI between now and then.
galwayhoop
26/11/2007, 2:33 PM
Ignoring the lack of atmosphere (lets put that down to general depression about team performances) I must say Croke Park is unbeliveably bad for watching a football match.
i'd say it could have something to do with the fact that it is a GAA stadium!!!!!!!!!!!
messing aside it is always the same with any municiple/olympic stadiums ... purpose built football stadia are the way to go.
take the WC02; ibaraki (ireland v germany) was a classic venue, you felt as if you were ON the pitch. compared to yokohama where you wished (nearly) you were watching on TV you were so far away.
from the plas of the new lansdowne it looks as if we will be back close to pitchside, a welcome return. it also helps to create the cauldron of noise on the big occasion.
26/11/2007, 2:38 PM
Definitely too far from the pitch. Atmosphere has been poor but so have the performances. I was at the 2 rugby games there too and the atmosphere was better. I still think Lansdowne road was better still eg England 2001 much better than 2007 IMO but then others disagree.
Lansdowne was rocking for games like Spain 89 and Holland 2001 however it was dead for much of the 90's with too many corporate BBers.
My GAA friends tell me the atmosphere is fantastic for big GAA games at CP however since my only 2 were in 1973 and 1974 I'm not in a position to comment.
Docboy
26/11/2007, 3:26 PM
take the WC02; ibaraki (ireland v germany) was a classic venue, you felt as if you were ON the pitch.
Agree with you there galwayhoop, that stadium was probably the best I've been in for proximity to the pitch. You could almost touch the players. Never forget booing Klose for diving right infront of us only for him to score two minutes later. What a game!
stojkovic
26/11/2007, 3:58 PM
As an aside, Liverpool are keen to ensure that the new 'Anfield' is not only bigger but that all the fans are close to the pitch. Atmosphere is very important and theyve moved away from modern 'bowl' stadium to the old fashioned rectangular/four sided effect.
26/11/2007, 4:07 PM
My GAA friends tell me the atmosphere is fantastic for big GAA games at CP however since my only 2 were in 1973 and 1974 I'm not in a position to comment.
have been there on many's a big day and rarely a bad day and more often than not the atmosphere is excellent. The kerry/Monaghan Limerick/Waterford double header this year was superb.
jmurphyc
26/11/2007, 4:13 PM
I was in the very top row in the Hogan and whilst I had a great view the atmosphere for all of the games bar slovakia was dreadful. Even Slovakia wasn't that great. IMO it's not the stadium that's at fault, it's the crowd. I can't remember seeing seeing anyone who was at any 2 of the 4 games - it was always a totally different crowd. The lower canal end seemed to be the only place to be in terms of atmosphere. Hopefully if the results are better in the next campaign we'll have a better support.
SuperDub
26/11/2007, 8:49 PM
I remember been in Ibaraki and have to agree i was behind the goal robbie keane scored into it was a great stadium to watch football in. I have watched many games from Hill16 in croker and theres always a great athmosphere. We are so unorganised as supporters remember the swiss with their flags in basle or the way the germans called out their team names with the PA guy. I remember been in bursa a few years ago and the stadium was full 3 hours before the start while we were having a meal nearby. another amazing experience. Half the problem is that irish fans only turn up 5 minutes before the start for home games. You cant blame the stadium i blame the fans for not been organised enough
26/11/2007, 8:59 PM
I remember been in bursa a few years ago and the stadium was full 3 hours before the start while we were having a meal nearby. another amazing experience. Half the problem is that irish fans only turn up 5 minutes before the start for home games.
That's one of the problems with all-seater stadia. With terraces, you have to be early into the ground to get the best spot. With all seater, you can stroll in whenever and your seat is guaranteed. "Comfort", it's called. Don't know what that has to do with football, but anyways...
Claret Murph
27/11/2007, 12:15 PM
Look for as long as I can remember I was told that we would never see the day that soccer was played in Croker Park and we all got our day in the sun againist Wales , so been there done that now all I want to do is get back to Lansdowne and as every day passes it gets nearer .
I still find it hard to get my head around the fact that I feel that I am trespassing and long for the day to be back home ......
citizenerased
27/11/2007, 12:20 PM
Dont mind Croker, and the location around the ground is better than Lansdowne. I've never been one of those people to complain about views and general comfort at a game though. As long as I can make out whats going on I'm happy.
Okay what are you going to do about it?Not meaning to sound blunt, but people here are always throwing out banal statements such as this as regards atmosphere, maybe you should make a worthwhile suggestion into what can be done and how we should go about it.
We are the fans, if we don't organise something no-one will (unless youre a fan interventions such as the [uh]Carlsberg band).We have nearly a year until competitive internationals,surely we can come up with an arrangement that can be made with the FAI between now and then.
YBIG.ie are organising a 12th man campaign, which will see a solid proposal being submitted to the FAI....
27/11/2007, 8:00 PM
As long as you're high enough up the view in Croker is top class.
take the WC02; ibaraki (ireland v germany) was a classic venue, you felt as if you were ON the pitch. compared to yokohama where you wished (nearly) you were watching on TV you were so far away.
ibaraki was a class stadium for a soccer match alright and where we were sitting in yokahama stadium at back of lower tier, they did actually have tv units hanging down for fans:eek:
Have been at croker several times for gaa matches and the atmosphere is usually ok but we(donegal) played the dubs in a QF couple years back and the noise coming from the hill was unbelievable that day..wish we could get that noise going for ireland games as that would fairly shake the opposition..
28/11/2007, 12:51 PM
YBIG.ie are organising a 12th man campaign, which will see a solid proposal being submitted to the FAI....
Which they'll "forget about", just like last time.
Still, nothing ventured, nothing gained. Best of luck with it. Let us know what happens.
Beavis
28/11/2007, 12:54 PM
Great to hear,I'll have to check it out. Hope my previous post didn't read as a dig at you.:)
blobbyblob
28/11/2007, 3:38 PM
I had tickets for the Lower Devitt/Canal & view from near the rear is hopeless. GAA pitch too large for football. Not been to Croke Park for rugby so can't comment on that. It is so bad I look bad fondly on Lansdowne :eek:
I've watched five different sports on numerous occasions (pre and post development) from all locations in Croke Park and all viewpoints have been equally bad (post development). Centre of Hogan or Cusask was alright on the lower tier but thats about it. For half an athmosphere it needs to be full to the rafters and everyone in full voice.
From an engineering capacity it is fantastic and one we should be proud of.
Lansdowne for me!
SUB of the day
29/11/2007, 5:09 PM
Bottom line, Croker is an American football stadium in the middle of Beirut, aka northside Dublin.I have been there pre and post development,in its previous guise as an unashamed ****-hole, the place fairly rattled when full.Now it looks and feels like a project that ran out of cash.The hill 16 end is just plain ugly.As a football venue , it just doesn't work.So good to see Lansdowne bang on schedule.50,000 fans in a compact arena, covered on four sides..........just one more campaign in Croker.....thank God!
Croke Park never was and never will be a football stadium!
I really cant wait to see ireland get out of it!! :(
30/11/2007, 9:11 AM
Bottom line, Croker is an American football stadium in the middle of Beirut, aka northside Dublin.I have been there pre and post development,in its previous guise as an unashamed ****-hole, the place fairly rattled when full.Now it looks and feels like a project that ran out of cash.The hill 16 end is just plain ugly.As a football venue , it just doesn't work.So good to see Lansdowne bang on schedule.50,000 fans in a compact arena, covered on four sides..........just one more campaign in Croker.....thank God!
As someone who is a lover of both Association and Gaelic Football I feel as neutral as the next man in comparing Croker to anything.
I don't think there is anything wrong with the Hill. It has retained a bit of tradition and as far as terracing goes it is quite decent. I imagine that when the new and improved Lansdowne is built, while looking like a fine stadium, will look stupid being 3 tiered on 3 sides and a glorified shed on one.
Yep, CP just doesnt feel like home. Drinking in the pubs around the ground before a football match seems weird (just aint the same vibe as LR area) and the ground itself just feels empty.
We all know the negative aspects of the old LR but the atmosphere in it was unique. Songs echoed around the ground and that just doesnt happen in CP.
Lets hope we only have to put up with that place for one more campaign.
DubJohn
30/11/2007, 10:10 AM
I agree.
I love Croke Park for the GAA, not for the soccer or rugby.
Cannot wait to be back in Lansdowne, I feel detatched from the game in Croke Park and the atmosphere is a bit strange.
loscherland
30/11/2007, 11:12 AM
Was there anything wrong with the atmosphere in Croker for the rugby against England!?? :rolleyes:
You can't blame the stadium lads!!
30/11/2007, 12:28 PM
I don't think there is anything wrong with the Hill. It has retained a bit of tradition and as far as terracing goes it is quite decent.There's nothing wrong with it being terraced. The problems are that there's no roof over it and it doesn't fit in with the rest of the stadium. It looks like (and is) a remnant of the old stadium that couldn't be upgraded because of the rail line behind it. There's fantastic terracing behind one goal in Dortmund's stadium that goes as high as the rest of the stadium and is covered under the same roof as the stands around the other three sides.
There was probably nothing that the GAA could do other than leave the hill end in its current configuration because there's no space but it does look out of place with the rest of the stadium.
I imagine that when the new and improved Lansdowne is built, while looking like a fine stadium, will look stupid being 3 tiered on 3 sides and a glorified shed on one.But at least it will fit together and look like it's part of a properly planned stadium. It will be roofed too.
The big problem with Croke Park for football is that the GAA pitch is too big and the football pitch is lost in the middle. Being on the Northside, it's also further away from me but some may not see that as a fundamental problem with the stadium. ;)
I bet everytime foreigners see Croke Park for rugby or football the first thing they will ask is why they did not finish the ground...
Torn-Ado
30/11/2007, 2:06 PM
I bet everything foreigners see Croke Park for rugby or football the first thing they will ask is why they did not finish the ground...
Bet everything eh?
What a gambler.
jmurphyc
30/11/2007, 5:00 PM
Bottom line, Croker is an American football stadium in the middle of Beirut, aka northside Dublin.
Nice. So the whole of North Dublin is a sh*thole. Talk about stereotyping. However, I agree with the sentiment. Can't wait to get back to Lansdowne.
footballplease
30/11/2007, 5:37 PM
''remember the swiss with their flags in basle or the way the germans called out their team names with the PA guy. I remember been in bursa a few years ago and the stadium was full 3 hours before the start''
interesting comment there superdub - my mates and i always maintain that the reason the swiss, german, etc supporters are like this is because they actually participate weekly/fortnightly with their own club sides at games and are well used to the banter and noise needed to make a great atmosphere. Unfortunately most of the event junkies/barstoolers at CP/LR are not really alive to the 'job-description' of a fan. Most seem to be unwilling/unable to make any kind of effort and are more disposed to roaring serious abuse at their own players. I've lost count of the arguments i, and most people on here, have had with t***ers who just want to wander in during the first attack of the game and then sit there, arms crossed, and wait to be entertained! (not unlike being on a barstool really!!) :o
01/12/2007, 12:12 PM
SUB of the day
Are you Ross O'Carroll-Kelly in disguise?
01/12/2007, 3:51 PM
Nice. So the whole of North Dublin is a sh*thole. Talk about stereotyping.
Just take the number 40 from Parnell st to Finglas to blow that steriotype out of the water. Well, you should probably get the stop after Parnell st. ;)
SuperDave
01/12/2007, 4:38 PM
Just take the number 40 from Parnell st to Finglas to blow that steriotype out of the water. Well, you should probably get the stop after Parnell st. ;)
or take the dart between howth and sutton?
try the 77 on the southside :p
01/12/2007, 4:59 PM
Did anyone boycott the games in Croke Park over the Thomas Davis /Tallaght situation?
I was given tickets to the Slovakia game for services rendered doing a voice over for a foreign ad. I paid nothing for tickets in GAA HQ.
HolylandsMan
02/12/2007, 12:29 AM
The problems are that there's no roof over it and it doesn't fit in with the rest of the stadium. It looks like (and is) a remnant of the old stadium that couldn't be upgraded because of the rail line behind it.
Nothing wrong with choosing tradition over architectural beauty.
Torn-Ado
04/12/2007, 10:09 AM
''remember the swiss with their flags in basle or the way the germans called out their team names with the PA guy. I remember been in bursa a few years ago and the stadium was full 3 hours before the start''
interesting comment there superdub - my mates and i always maintain that the reason the swiss, german, etc supporters are like this is because they actually participate weekly/fortnightly with their own club sides at games and are well used to the banter and noise needed to make a great atmosphere. Unfortunately most of the event junkies/barstoolers at CP/LR are not really alive to the 'job-description' of a fan. Most seem to be unwilling/unable to make any kind of effort and are more disposed to roaring serious abuse at their own players. I've lost count of the arguments i, and most people on here, have had with t***ers who just want to wander in during the first attack of the game and then sit there, arms crossed, and wait to be entertained! (not unlike being on a barstool really!!) :o
Or maybe its the fact that we're sh!t. I'd say that has more to do with it.
05/12/2007, 2:18 PM
Only thing wrong with the Hill is that poxy Garda CCTV station, the eyesore that breaks up the terrace. No idea why the guards need a view of the pitch when their supposed to have their backs to it, looking at monitors :rolleyes:
kingdomkerry
07/12/2007, 5:08 PM
What the FAI needs to do is put fill hill 16 with irish fans. That will create some atmosphere (as long as the team is playing well)
SUB of the day
07/12/2007, 6:04 PM
What the FAI needs to do is put fill hill 16 with irish fans. That will create some atmosphere (as long as the team is playing well)
No roof equates to no "real atmosphere".The soccer fans without a team , that populate it during the summer, do their best, but after 20 renditions of boys in blue, it just sounds tired.
SuperDub
07/12/2007, 9:33 PM
No roof equates to no "real atmosphere".The soccer fans without a team , that populate it during the summer, do their best, but after 20 renditions of boys in blue, it just sounds tired.
I have been in many football stadium around europe and would still say the hill is up there with the best for creating athmosphere.
Beggers cant be choosers comes to mind when i hear some of smart comments about the quality of the athmosphere in croker. Excuses about it not been a soccer ground abounds. The reality is the only time irish fans really get behind the team are at away games
SUB of the day
08/12/2007, 8:42 AM
.....where do the throngs on the hill disappear to outside the summer months?....being such fabulous fans.82000 in July, 75000 awol in January:ball:
Billy Lord
08/12/2007, 8:59 AM
Croke Park is a bogball stadium and is therefore unsuitable for internationally-recognised sports such as football. As for the Hill 16 'atmosphere' - that's a laugh. Superdub must have only been to places such as Old Trafford and Camp Nou, where there is no atmosphere.
SuperDub
08/12/2007, 2:02 PM
.....where do the throngs on the hill disappear to outside the summer months?....being such fabulous fans.82000 in July, 75000 awol in January:ball:
I think this is a thread on Football in croker not about supporting any gaa team. I just made a comment about the atmosphere on hill 16 which can be good and bad. We all have our own opinions.
There are constant excuses about the atmosphere in croke park. We have had four games so far and I will admit it hasnt been good but its down to the fans to make a decent atmosphere that the opposition will be intmidated by and that hasnt happened.
SuperDub
08/12/2007, 2:09 PM
Croke Park is a bogball stadium and is therefore unsuitable for internationally-recognised sports such as football. As for the Hill 16 'atmosphere' - that's a laugh. Superdub must have only been to places such as Old Trafford and Camp Nou, where there is no atmosphere.
Having been to Old trafford once i will admit the atmosphere was poor and that was for a champions league game. I have missed 2 irish away games in the last 10 years so i am safe to say i have experienced some stadiums that have had both good and bad atmospheres.
kingdom hoop
08/12/2007, 2:22 PM
Probably hibernate in the pub. Anyway, being such 'fabulous' fans - Irish football supporters - 80,000 in September, 10,000 in December - where did the throngs go?
Point is, on a lot of levels, people tend to be more attracted to their conception of glamour, love is a sorry second. Pretty shameful, and not at all exclusive to Dublin GAA summer match goers. Spice things up for people with a bit of marketing and all of a sudden they become more interested, as evinced by a near full-house at Croker last February for a League match between Dublin agus Tyrone. It was the first floodlit match you see!
Croke Park is a bogball stadium and is therefore unsuitable for internationally-recognised sports such as football.
:D :rolleyes:
Variety really is the spice of life. Thank you.
SUB of the day
10/12/2007, 6:15 PM
size matters.......fair points from superdub and kingdom hoop, but if you take the 2 stadia in Paris as an example, the smaller one Parc Des Princes 50,000 capacity is renowned for passion and atmosphere, the 80,000 seater Stade De France has no such reputation.My point being, that for a French home game 30,000 less of the same fans,create a buzz and energy not readily attainable in the larger venues.
Beavis
11/12/2007, 1:00 PM
I have been in many football stadium around europe and would still say the hill is up there with the best for creating athmosphere.
Have you been there in a while?
I've been on the every Championship year for the hill for the last 7 and whatever buzz there once was is well and truly gone.It is now populated by groups of young lads trying to look tough (or the 'haircuts' as we call them,you know the ones, 13-19 year olds all over Rovers games, diamondie earing optional), 19year old girls dolled up to the nines and 20-35 year olds who have recently realised that its the fashionable thing to say 'I was on the Hill' in work on Monday, all who offer absolutely nothing in terms of vocal support. There is still the odd patch of hardened supporters but they are now in the minority as opposed to the majority when I first started going. I would say that more songs actually came from the stands last year.
The only way anyone could consider it as it as an atmosphere up there with the best in the world is if your your viewing through very dense nostalgia tinted glasses.
11/12/2007, 2:04 PM
agree. hill 16 badly needs to be roofed to finish off the stadium. i honestly believe it would make a huge difference to the atmosphere
11/12/2007, 2:14 PM
19year old girls dolled up to the nines
Are you trying to convince yourself or the judge? ;)
SuperDub
11/12/2007, 8:29 PM
The only way anyone could consider it as it as an atmosphere up there with the best in the world is if your your viewing through very dense nostalgia tinted glasses.
I never said the hill was perfect. I would be the first to admit there are many fair weather fans and muppets supporting the dubs and the irish team. Thats just the way things are. The hill can be good and it can be dire but its no better or worse to some of the stadiums i have visited over the years.
The reality is the only time irish fans really get behind the team are at away games
How many home games have you been to?
Even in one of the worse campaigns in years and one of the worst performances in ages (against Cyprus) the following wed at LR against the Czechs was a great atmosphere - far superior to any at the croker games. No doubt despite the shambles the previous sat that the Irish fans were well behind the team that night.