View Full Version : New A League
barryk
26/11/2007, 8:34 AM
Could anyone give me actual details on the new proposed A league for next season.
Is it compulsory?
Can players who sign play FAI or Munster Junior with Junior clubs?
I read Derek Foleys piece in the Star a couple of weeks ago and my fear is that this league will result in a drop in the goodwill of LDMC teams towards Limerick 37
26/11/2007, 10:04 AM
Well i think the A league would be a great place for juniors to test themsleves for League of Ireland, but the lack of a dual registration is ****ing that up. (u could play for your junior club a and A/under 20 team) The A league runs the exact same time as the senior 1St division so expect under 21 players of last year to be involved thats assuming Limerick enter a team.
26/11/2007, 11:39 AM
Well i think the A league would be a great place for juniors to test themsleves for League of Ireland, but the lack of a dual registration is ****ing that up.
I think if junior players and clubs want to test themselves in the LOI then they should enter the A League to be honest. Dual registration is just an needless complication and another example of senior clubs trying to worm around the cost involved. If the top twelve clubs in this country can't sustain a nationally involved first team and two regionally active sides underneath that then we're wasting our time completely.
barryk
26/11/2007, 12:48 PM
I think if junior players and clubs want to test themselves in the LOI then they should enter the A League to be honest. Dual registration is just an needless complication and another example of senior clubs trying to worm around the cost involved. If the top twelve clubs in this country can't sustain a nationally involved first team and two regionally active sides underneath that then we're wasting our time completely.
Hi Sailorkid,
I think thats the mistake people are making. I do not think there is a queue of Junior players looking to "test themselves".
Most of the Junior players that would be capable of playing in this new league are happy with thier lot. Eager beavers will be youth players and they will be hooked up with Under 20's.
I think it is a disaster in waiting.
26/11/2007, 2:58 PM
Dual registration is just an needless complication and another example of senior clubs trying to worm around the cost involved.
You think worming our way out of cost is needless?!?! :eek:
Madness, I tell you :)
Hi Sailorkid
Yoo Hoo :p
26/11/2007, 3:00 PM
I think thats the mistake people are making. I do not think there is a queue of Junior players looking to "test themselves".
Most of the Junior players that would be capable of playing in this new league are happy with thier lot. Eager beavers will be youth players and they will be hooked up with Under 20's.
Personally I think it's well worth entering if you can get a squad of twenty five to thirty or so players together.
The A League season doesn't overlap with the U-20s anyway to my (admitedly limited) knowledge.
It's compulsary for a Premier team to put their reserves in the A league, but optional for a 1st Division side as well
Green_Hoop
26/11/2007, 7:17 PM
Personally I think it's well worth entering if you can get a squad of twenty five to thirty or so players together.
The A League season doesn't overlap with the U-20s anyway to my (admitedly limited) knowledge.
Name a junior team in Ireland that have 25-30 players in there squad,no mind L37..
26/11/2007, 7:46 PM
Name a junior team in Ireland that have 25-30 players in there squad,no mind L37..
Why name a Junior team??
We're talking about big boy football here
L37Ultra
26/11/2007, 9:27 PM
Name a junior team in Ireland that have 25-30 players in there squad,.
Hella Lumni :p
Fairkop
26/11/2007, 9:34 PM
this A league wont happen.....it has to be about money,clubs can barely afford what they have at present,expect changes to be announced.
26/11/2007, 10:56 PM
Yoo Hoo :p
POTM :D
26/11/2007, 11:02 PM
Dual registration is just an needless complication and another example of senior clubs trying to worm around the cost involved.
No i think the lack of dual reg papers makes it impossible for players to chose to play football when and for who they want to. I think, and i know i dont speak for them that any player might want to play with his junior and also the A team or under 20s. He/she should be allowed do so. Senior and A division runs from march to ???November? under 20s starts later but crosses into the junior season so a player might have to leave one club to join the other, shouldnt happen IMO
KevB76
27/11/2007, 7:53 AM
Summerville (last year anyways, dont know about this year).
27/11/2007, 9:40 AM
this A league wont happen.....it has to be about money,clubs can barely afford what they have at present,expect changes to be announced.
Could well have a point Mr. Kop
It will happen. 100%
If Limerick are involved is another story
27/11/2007, 9:44 AM
Just on that point I'm playing for my junior clubs 3rd team and we have a squad of 24. Overall the club runs 3 junior teams so you could say the club has a squad of 60-70 players.
Should be no great problem to any ambitious senior team to field a first team, reserve and under 20 side.
27/11/2007, 9:45 AM
It will happen. 100%
If Limerick are involved is another story
We're more than capable of bringing the whole thing tumbling down :)
4tothefloor
27/11/2007, 6:18 PM
Hi Sailorkid,
They're trying to change the structure of domestic football for the good of the game in the long term, basically because the junior scene in Ireland is too big and produces......jack s**t. So stop moaning and give it a chance. Christ you'd swear to god junior football was the be all and end all of Irish football :rolleyes:
And as an aside, I think you'll find 'most juniors' are happy with their lot because they like their gargle and nights/days out at the weekend, any move up in standards would mean they'd have to take things a little more seriously and make some sacrifices cos otherwise they'd be exposed. That's why they're happy with their lot, and they're getting paid for it to boot :ball:
Hoops 1967
28/11/2007, 9:46 AM
They're trying to change the structure of domestic football for the good of the game in the long term, basically because the junior scene in Ireland is too big and produces......jack s**t. So stop moaning and give it a chance. Christ you'd swear to god junior football was the be all and end all of Irish football :rolleyes:
And as an aside, I think you'll find 'most juniors' are happy with their lot because they like their gargle and nights/days out at the weekend, any move up in standards would mean they'd have to take things a little more seriously and make some sacrifices cos otherwise they'd be exposed. That's why they're happy with their lot, and they're getting paid for it to boot :ball:
junior games kick off at 10:30 on a sunday morning which means any premiere junior player worth his salt will not drink on a saturday and probably a friday too, so you're above statement about sacrifices and gargle is b******s. and 99% of junior players don't get paid!!
why are L37 supportors always trying to put down junior football, without junior football there would be no L37!!
L37Ultra
28/11/2007, 1:19 PM
junior games kick off at 10:30 on a sunday morning which means any premiere junior player worth his salt will not drink on a saturday and probably a friday too, so you're above statement about sacrifices and gargle is b******s. and 99% of junior players don't get paid!!
why are L37 supportors always trying to put down junior football, without junior football there would be no L37!!
Thats not the point he was making, absolutly nothing got to do with the sacrifices of junior players as they are now. His point was that if a junior play/team wants to step up a level, that many players would find it hard to make the commitments and sacrifices!! Many L37 Supporters play junior football, so whats your point???
Hoops 1967
28/11/2007, 2:42 PM
the junior scene in Ireland is too big and produces......jack s**t.Christ you'd swear to god junior football was the be all and end all of Irish football :rolleyes:
And as an aside, I think you'll find 'most juniors' are happy with their lot because they like their gargle and nights/days out at the weekend
:ball:
My interpretation of the above is that the bloke is trying to put down junior football, from reading the above you would swear that junior footballers don't make sacrifices and go on the lash at the weekends, which they can't due to matches on a sunday morning. (this is premiere players i mean)
Thats not the point he was making, absolutly nothing got to do with the sacrifices of junior players as they are now. His point was that if a junior play/team wants to step up a level, that many players would find it hard to make the commitments and sacrifices!! Many L37 Supporters play junior football, so whats your point???
My point is that some L37 supporters on this site seem to have a problem with junior football when in fact they should be grateful for junior clubs for providing them with players and a ground to play in.
Maybe L37 supporters should look at the LOI setup for reasons for why some top junior players don't want to play LOI.
Don't get me wrong I would love to see L37 do well, it would benifit local soccer at all levels.
manalishi
28/11/2007, 3:33 PM
My interpretation of the above is that the bloke is trying to put down junior football, from reading the above you would swear that junior footballers don't make sacrifices and go on the lash at the weekends, which they can't due to matches on a sunday morning. (this is premiere players i mean)
My point is that some L37 supporters on this site seem to have a problem with junior football when in fact they should be grateful for junior clubs for providing them with players and a ground to play in.
Maybe L37 supporters should look at the LOI setup for reasons for why some top junior players don't want to play LOI.
Don't get me wrong I would love to see L37 do well, it would benifit local soccer at all levels.
Doesn't matter lads, Ski doesn't rate junior players so while he is at L37 there won't be any junior players signing for L37.
28/11/2007, 4:11 PM
Doesn't matter lads, Ski doesn't rate junior players so while he is at L37 there won't be any junior players signing for L37.
Ya but hopefully he might leave with Fossets the next time they're in town
Who does apeman plan on signing with his colossal budget if he isn't having a look around town??
L37Ultra
28/11/2007, 5:26 PM
All players start of at Junior level at some stage!!
L37Ultra
28/11/2007, 5:49 PM
I can guarentee you that 99.9% of L37 fans on this website have no problem what so ever with Junior Soccer. Why would they? Many of them, including myself, play Junior soccer and those who dont are planning on setting up a Junior Club next season, so again, whats your point? :confused:!! Its the people who come on here, putting down L37 who people on here have a problem with, not Junior soccer. If the best players did play in the LOI then then the standard would improve, then the attendances would grow and then setup would get better. Why cant everyone in Limerick get behind our citys team instead of having the same old conversation about Junior soccer, every week!! :ball:
greenandwhite
28/11/2007, 9:03 PM
l37 supporters play junior soccer, so i dont see how they could all be putting it down and anyone who signed a form at any stage in limerick contributed to the ground that included the limerick players on the senior team, the attitudes of my own club would be poor toward l37 cause some of our club think they are better than the senior team. from what i can see and the ldmc told me this, the l37 club have put over €150000.00 into the park this season so would that have happened if they wernt there i dont think it wold
4tothefloor
29/11/2007, 12:24 AM
We're talking about the minority of junior players and clubs that would be able to step up to a higher level. So out of your 99%, about 90% is fodder/rubbish who wouldn't be good enough to go beyond junior level anyway. And a good proportion of that 90% are out drinking every wknd, match or no match. I know the junior scene so you're not talking to an anti-junior L37 head here, not that there are that many around anyway. And of those that could step up, most of them couldn't be @rsed due to a variety of reasons which include their social life, work commitments, Gaa commitments etc, plus whether u like it or not, the better junior players at the bigger clubs in Limerick ARE getting paid.
Christ, does everything have to be explained in great detail on here lately. At least L37Ultra is tuned in for one.....
Roadend
29/11/2007, 10:31 AM
I can guarentee you that 99.9% of L37 fans on this website have no problem what so ever with Junior Soccer. Why would they? Many of them, including myself, play Junior soccer
Ya but ye are brutal:p
manalishi
29/11/2007, 12:21 PM
All players start of at Junior level at some stage!!
Tell that to Ski:cool:
L37Ultra
29/11/2007, 12:25 PM
Christ, does everything have to be explained in great detail on here lately. At least L37Ultra is tuned in for one.....
What he meant to say was "A least L37Ultra is tuned in for once" :D :p
Sunny Jim
29/11/2007, 12:58 PM
Some more details for ye.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/secondtier-strugglers--facing--a-team-battle-1213413.html
4tothefloor
29/11/2007, 11:41 PM
What he meant to say was "A least L37Ultra is tuned in for once" :D :p
Don't be so hard on yourself :D