View Full Version : eL and opinions about it

Pages : 1 [2] 3

21/11/2007, 12:34 PM
If they had half a brain they'd know that if Sligo were getting 15,000-20,000 at each game they wouldn't have to pay €15

Do you think Sligo would drop prices?

21/11/2007, 12:37 PM
Do any of you think, if the stadiums were of the highest order in terms facilities and they were all seater stadiums, maybe 5-10 thousand capacity, would that make more fans go to the games ?
I thnik it would to be honest really .

21/11/2007, 12:53 PM

Well its a chicken and egg thing. I don't think they would've raised them in the first place...

And of course better facilities helps, but then clubs can't afford to do anything to the grounds because not enough money is coming through the turnstiles

21/11/2007, 12:55 PM
I thnik it would to be honest really .

Agreed. People don't go (initially at least) for the football only. They want to have an enjoyable time.

Good facilities, 7,500 seater stadiums, a bit of decent food.......will all enhance the quality of the occasion, regardless of the quality of the football.

21/11/2007, 1:01 PM
Good facilities, 7,500 seater stadiums, a bit of decent food.......will all enhance the quality of the occasion, regardless of the quality of the football.

Yep. All we need to do now is pay for it...

21/11/2007, 1:03 PM
Yep. All we need to do now is pay for it...

It was a hypothetical question......no mention of funds, all I did was answer it.

btid1
21/11/2007, 1:36 PM
I agree with all of that, but I still don't see how UCD mid tabling the Premier most season would bring in people who see football purely as a form of escapism, which a lot do, over say Chelsea who will be challenging for the Champions League this season

Wouldn't it be a very boring world if we all supported the same 2 or 3 teams?Who the hell would those teams play?

The whole idea of the Champions League is that you have to qualify for it therefore it is an exclusive competition.

I have to thank you though because you have just confirmed what I have always thought of the Irish public and that is that they are simply a glory hunting bunch of bandwagon jumpers!

On an aside though how do your combat 18 mates at Chelsea take to an Irish person following their beloved BRTISH team?

Remember Landsdowne Road in 1993?

exiled_gufc_fan
21/11/2007, 1:38 PM

Most London-based League One and Two clubs in England charge £20 for a seat (£15 or so standing), which is more like €30. I don't see how people can complain about €15 going to Sligo Rovers or even €20 to Galway United etc

21/11/2007, 1:45 PM
Wouldn't it be a very boring world if we all supported the same 2 or 3 teams?Who the hell would those teams play?

The whole idea of the Champions League is that you have to qualify for it therefore it is an exclusive competition.

I have to thank you though because you have just confirmed what I have always thought of the Irish public and that is that they are simply a glory hunting bunch of bandwagon jumpers!

On an aside though how do your combat 18 mates at Chelsea take to an Irish person following their beloved BRTISH team?

You clown. He's a Limerick 37 fan. And, for some unclear reason, a Sheffield Wednesday fan.

He was making a point in relation to a post earlier in this thread. Which you clearly didnt bother to read.

You've confirmed what I've thought about you, too.

btid1
21/11/2007, 1:49 PM
You clown. He's a Limerick 37 fan. And, for some unclear reason, a Sheffield Wednesday fan.

He was making a point in relation to a post earlier in this thread. Which you clearly didnt bother to read.

You've confirmed what I've thought about you, too.

Wrong end of the stick then.But my point remains valid as it is quite clear that the Irish public are only interested in something if it is successful or seen as "cool" by their mates!

Good to see that your Stephen Ireland obsession has spread to EL bashing.

Can I ask you a question.Who do you support?

21/11/2007, 1:56 PM
What you try and do is take away the excuses. Weve being trying to do that since 1994 when the first stage of the redvelopment of Terryland took place and we have been adding something to the Product (Galway United and the Matchday experience) as often as we can afford it in conjunction with The GDSL who own the ground.

Weve done a lot in 13 years and its starting to pay off at the gate but we are still only getinng crowds of between 2% to 4% of the population of Galway City and County.Its no good sitting on your hands and waiting for the FAI to sort everything out the clubs have to become far more pro active in promotion and advertising their games especially to their local community .

21/11/2007, 1:57 PM
Wrong end of the stick then.But my point remains valid as it is quite clear that the Irish public are only interested in something if it is successful or seen as "cool" by their mates!

:D at trying to hit back at Osarusan for showing up as a clown

Most London-based League One and Two clubs in England charge £20 for a seat (£15 or so standing), which is more like €30. I don't see how people can complain about €15 going to Sligo Rovers or even €20 to Galway United etc

In fairness the points on F365 were talking about Irish prices in relation to those of the continent, not the obviously ridiculous sums being charge in England nowadays. The Bordeaux guy for example compared going to a Irish Premier game to that of a Ligue 1, where the standard is far superior but the prices are lower, someone also made the point about going to Bohs games is sometimes more expensive than watching Juve

21/11/2007, 1:59 PM
Wrong end of the stick then.
More like you didnt bother to read the thread.

Limerick 37. I was a Limerick FC suporter, and now I support Limerick 37, as they continue the tradition of senior football in Limerick.

And again, if you bothered to actually read the thread, or any of my eL related posts, you'd know I'm an eL fan, not an eL basher.

But you didn't bother.

btid1
21/11/2007, 2:03 PM
More like you didnt bother to read the thread.

Limerick 37. I was a Limerick FC suporter, and now I support Limerick 37, as they continue the tradition of senior football in Limerick.

And again, if you bothered to actually read the thread, or any of my eL related posts, you'd know I'm an eL fan, not an eL basher.

But you didn't bother.

To be honest it is difficult to stomach reading some of the tripe you come out with in fairness so the other posters will have to forgive my inability to read your drivel.

A regular attendee at L 37 games that cant see the attraction of the EL.Its an interesting dicotony you must admit?!

How is your mate Stephen these days anyway?Still working through his 'problems' no doubt?

21/11/2007, 2:10 PM
To be honest it is difficult to stomach reading some of the tripe you come out with in fairness so the other posters will have to forgive my inability to read your drivel.

A regular attendee at L 37 games that cant see the attraction of the EL.Its an interesting dicotony you must admit?!

How is your mate Stephen these days anyway?Still working through his 'problems' no doubt?
How can you argue with someone who's posts you say you dont read it seems pointless.

btid1
21/11/2007, 2:13 PM
How can you argue with someone who's posts you say you dont read it seems pointless.

I wasnt arguing with his posts in the first place he felt the need to get involved following a post I made and throw his two pennies worth in.

I simply dont engage him at all.

21/11/2007, 2:25 PM

Not a regular attendee anymore sadly, but on the subject of the eL, I did say post this comment in this very thread-

I fully agree with the opinion that once people have actually gone to a few games, seen the atmosphere, and the fact that the football is much better than they had expected/been led to believe, and generally had a good time, a large percentage will want to go again, and again.

regarding Ireland, I have no problem admitting that he made serious mistakes regarding his choices about joining/leaving Irish squads, however, your quotes from the relevant threads -

Stephen Ireland you are an absolute tosser and a disgrace to your country!

Dont think he would have the brains to operate a computer!

I don't understand your hate, and don't share it.

21/11/2007, 2:26 PM
To be honest it is difficult to stomach reading some of the tripe you come out with in fairness so the other posters will have to forgive my inability to read your drivel
examples please. I find osaruson to be one of the best posters on here

And you did engage him...

21/11/2007, 2:27 PM
I wasnt arguing with his posts in the first place he felt the need to get involved following a post I made and throw his two pennies worth in.

Because your post was wrong and insulting to another poster. Which you have since admitted.

21/11/2007, 2:38 PM

Easily the stupidest post of all time.

Jebus has been to Monaghan following Limerick - MONAGHAN FFS

Still, suppose he would be a much bigger fan were he an ostrich

L37Ultra
21/11/2007, 2:43 PM
About 12 years ago, I went to a Limerick FC game in Rathbane, but this time I took a friend of mine, a guy who had moved home from London when he was about 12, and was a big Spurs fan, but more than that he was a big football fan, playing and watching.

I remember noticing that day, I was watching the game from a different point of view. When I went to games by myself, or with my LFC-loving family, I just thought about the game, hoped we'd win.

But that day I became aware of how the ground looked, how the fans sounded, what the skill level was like, because I was concerned about how my friend would react to the experience, and I guess I felt responsible for his enjoyment (or lack of). As it turns out, he liked it, but being a UCG student at the time, he ended up being more of a Galway fan.

Looking at the situation through the eyes of a first-time, tentatively interested visitor, what do they need to see to bring them back again, and how much of that does the eL actually provide?

I realise that the main problem is getting people to go in the first place, but I think the factors involved in answering the above question would help address that problem also.

I totally agree with you on this one. I had a similar experience this season when I brought one of my close friends to a L37 game. While, in my opinion, things have improved greatly since we were in Rathbane, I still felt some what worried about his impression on the game and the ground. It was probably the worst game to bring him to (0-2 loss to Monaghan). It was the feeling you get when someone walks into your home and you want them to like it. This guy is a massize rugby fan and funnily enough he spent the next week or so talking about the great time he had at the match. He said everyone at the match was like a big family. Thats what I find about Eircom League matches, well especially in Limerick anyways, everyone knows everyone and its very welcoming. But of course facilities and the standard of football needs to improve before the barstoolers take notice. Its a vicious circle though. Without the money coming through from people paying at the gate, then the clubs will not have the money to improve players and facilities. Saying that money does not buy success. Look at Athlone Town this year for example!! Their attendances have improved with the new stadium though. People look at Lissywollen and other new grounds and start to take the Eircom League seriously!! The supporters are the best PR people that you need, in my opinion!!

21/11/2007, 2:44 PM

Absolutely. The clubs simpky don't market themselves enough to ostriches, and indeed long neck birds of all kinds. Those that make the effort to go should be applauded

btid1
21/11/2007, 2:53 PM
examples please. I find osaruson to be one of the best posters on here
Not going to start listing them as most of them stem back to the S Ireland thread on the Irish forum but I am entitled to my opinion.

And you did engage him...
In what way?Was my initial conversation not with jebus in which I admit I got the wrong end of the stick?

btid1
21/11/2007, 2:55 PM
Easily the stupidest post of all time.

Jebus has been to Monaghan following Limerick - MONAGHAN FFS

Good to see the Limerick mafia out to support their own;)

Did you not read the post in which I said I got the wrong end of the stick?

The point is still relevant to most armchair supporters in this country however and is that not repsect not at all "the stupidest post of all time".

21/11/2007, 2:57 PM
Actually while I have you here, I've only just noticed now, but what happened in Landsdowne in 1993? Did Gavin Peacock rob some biscuits or something?

21/11/2007, 2:59 PM
Did you not read the post in which I said I got the wrong end of the stick?

Oh dear, I mustn't have read all of the thread

Can make you look silly sometimes, can that ;)

21/11/2007, 3:00 PM
Absolutely. The clubs simpky don't market themselves enough to ostriches, and indeed long neck birds of all kinds. Those that make the effort to go should be applauded

Sorry did I type "bigger fan"??

Meant "taller fan"

Did you ever see a fully grown ostrich??

Massive cnuts

21/11/2007, 3:05 PM
In what way?Was my initial conversation not with jebus in which I admit I got the wrong end of the stick?

Conversations are for PM. This is an open forum.

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:07 PM
Can make you look silly sometimes, can that ;)

Oh how good it must be to be infallable;)

what happened in Landsdowne in 1993
A little matter of those nice Chelsea boys wrecking the place.Were you not there?Oh what I would have given to be a cop that day!

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:08 PM
Conversations are for PM. This is an open forum.

Pedantic as ever Dodge!You know what I meant.He added his thoughts on my post I didnt ask him to therefore he engaged me.......

21/11/2007, 3:09 PM

Massive cnuts
Moving on from sheep down the country now?

21/11/2007, 3:10 PM
A little matter of those nice Chelsea boys wrecking the place.Were you not there?Oh what I would have given to be a cop that day!

1995 surely :confused:

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:11 PM
1995 surely :confused:

Apologies typo there.1995 it was.

21/11/2007, 3:15 PM
Moving on from sheep down the country now?

Being from Limerick I am of course far more interested in feuding, guns, knives, robbery and heroin then pursuit of the fairer species

However one of the rural lads assures me sheep are still the way to go if that's your sort of thing

Giant Rats are also a growing niche in Limerick City as i'm sure you can imagine

21/11/2007, 3:17 PM
Apologies typo there.1995 it was.

Indeed and it was. Why would Combat 18 having a punch up in Dublin put people off supporting a British club that has driven that element out by the way?

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:20 PM
Indeed and it was. Why would Combat 18 having a punch up in Dublin put people off supporting a British club that has driven that element out by the way?

Driven that element out now thats a good one.......They may have barring orders from Stamford Bridge but that doesnt stop them following them all over Europe.Trust me I have experienced the nice Chelsea fans abroad as well as the other pleasant followers of English clubs and the three lions.

If you had seen these guys in action it would be enough to put you off supporting a British club believe me!

21/11/2007, 3:22 PM
Driven that element out now thats a good one.......They may have barring orders from Stamford Bridge but that doesnt stop them following them all over Europe.Trust me I have experienced the nice Chelsea fans abroad as well as the other pleasant followers of English clubs and the three lions.

If you had seen these guys in action it would be enough to put you off supporting a British club believe me!

I'd say if you compared the size of crowds Bohs have a bigger hoolie element than Chelsea FFS

"Someone shouldn't follow an English club because some hooligans follow them too" is one of the crapper arguments you've made tbh

21/11/2007, 3:23 PM

I have seen them in action champ, doesn't put me off Britain or it's football at all. As for Stamford Bridge, name me one relevant flair up at the ground in the last ten years?

21/11/2007, 3:24 PM
Pedantic as ever Dodge!You know what I meant.He added his thoughts on my post I didnt ask him to therefore he engaged me.......
Just because you don't talk directly to somebody doesn't mean you odn't engage them

Oh and LOL @ Jebus and Chelsea ridding themselves of hoolies.

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:25 PM
I have seen them in action champ, doesn't put me off Britain or it's football at all. As for Stamford Bridge, name me one relevant flair up at the ground in the last ten years?

They may have barring orders from Stamford Bridge.............kind of explains that doesnt it?

Maybe not you but it does me.Whatever your into I suppose.....

21/11/2007, 3:27 PM
They may have barring orders from Stamford Bridge.............kind of explains that doesnt it?

Maybe not you but it does me.Whatever your into I suppose.....

Explains why people wouldn't support Chelsea? Nope it kinda doesn't, unless people aren't into barring orders maybe

Oh and LOL @ Jebus and Chelsea ridding themselves of hoolies.

Obviously some have slipped through the net, but if he's comparing it back to the days when Combat 18 roamed the terraces of Stamford Bridge then yes, by and large they have kicked that sort out. Why you barely even hear any Jewish references when Spurs play there these days

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:28 PM
I'd say if you compared the size of crowds Bohs have a bigger hoolie element than Chelsea FFS

Ah now come on dont be crediting the Bohs casuals as some sort of super firm you will only give them big heads.

Bohs hollie problem is laughable compared to that of English clubs and in fairness the Welsh hooligans also laugh at the thought of the Irish claiming to have "firms" as I found out at the weekend!!!!

btid1
21/11/2007, 3:29 PM
Explains why people wouldn't support Chelsea? Nope it kinda doesn't, unless people aren't into barring orders maybe

Nope doesnt explain why people may not support Chelsea but does explains the lack of flare ups as you call them.

21/11/2007, 3:33 PM
Ah now come on dont be crediting the Bohs casuals as some sort of super firm you will only give them big heads.

Saying nothing of the kind

The BSC, like the vast majority of Chelseas Headhunters are cowardly tossbags

But comparing numbers I'm right

Also the fact remains that you're far more likely to get hassle at a Bohs game then a Chelsea game.

Given the numbers involved that's pathetic

Bohs hollie problem is laughable compared to that of English clubs

All hoolies on these islands are laughable

and in fairness the Welsh hooligans also laugh at the thought of the Irish claiming to have "firms" as I found out at the weekend!!

Especially the Welsh :D

I've seen the Wrexham "Chav Squadron" or whatever they call themselves

They'll be grand once they shake off puberty

btid1
21/11/2007, 4:16 PM
I've seen the Wrexham "Chav Squadron" or whatever they call themselves

They'll be grand once they shake off puberty

Ye they are almost as pathetic as the casuals in this country!

The Soul Crew are however a different proposition!

21/11/2007, 4:24 PM

Massive cnuts

You're a sick man LTID. A very sick man. :D

Cymro
21/11/2007, 4:28 PM
Ye they are almost as pathetic as the casuals in this country!

The Soul Crew are however a different proposition!

I agree. Not having a stupid thug element is precisely what makes Swansea better than other Welsh clubs.

That and Roberto Martinez, anyway. :)

21/11/2007, 4:34 PM
You're a sick man LTID. A very sick man. :D

I admit it.

My choice of swear word was poor :)

21/11/2007, 4:36 PM
I agree. Not having a stupid thug element is precisely what makes Swansea better than other Welsh clubs.

That and Roberto Martinez, anyway. :)

Swanseas loyalist element isn't very hip though.

Don't get the big kerfuffle about the Soul Crew either.

Beating up other tossers only makes you kings of the tossers

Give me continental hooligans any day :)

Cymro
21/11/2007, 10:24 PM
Our 'loyalist element' is pretty small proportionately. You get a couple of UJ's if it's a big game, otherwise it's Welsh flags, St. David's crosses and SCFC flags.

Newport have a much larger 'loyalist' following, to be honest. Long tradition of opposition to Welsh nationalism there.