View Full Version : FAI to enforce no standing?

20/11/2007, 7:41 PM
A rumour that's been on our forum for a while but someone(trustworthy) just added this

FAI heads in Cardiff were telling anyone who'd listen that they should enjoy standing at the match because they wont be standing in any seated section at any level of football in Ireland from now on. Some thing to do with a new insurance contract. With the FAI now running the league they can be sued as the organisers.

In the UK Manchester City Council have said in the past that they'd close sections of Old Trafford if the fans continue to stand up in an all seater stadium
Anyone else hear it?
Reaction?

Aaron
20/11/2007, 7:42 PM
Another can of worms that didnt need opened. :o:mad:

20/11/2007, 7:44 PM

:D We need something to discuss in the off season.

20/11/2007, 7:48 PM
All Hail the FAI

20/11/2007, 7:50 PM
All Kill the FAI

It's an option but I'd go with peaceful protests first :D

20/11/2007, 7:53 PM
It's an option but I'd go with peaceful protests first :D

Limp wristed leftism never gets anywhere, we need action not words. It's why I love the FAI so much. :)

20/11/2007, 8:01 PM
Ha, Jackman Park aint looking so shabby now is it??

Look at you fools with your fancy seats

:p

20/11/2007, 8:01 PM
I'd like to see the Gardaí / Stewards trying to get a few hundred fans to "please sit down pretty please" in the Jodi at Dalymount next season.

(More the Guards than the stewards tbh)

20/11/2007, 8:02 PM

Sit on the cold cold floor or we'll throw you out the league

HA!

20/11/2007, 8:04 PM
Sit on the cold cold floor or we'll throw you out the league

HA!

I'll have you know a combination of Dutch Gold and pi$$ (could possibly be one and the same, haven't checked) renders the floor of our Shed rather warm

Double HA!

Aaron
20/11/2007, 8:05 PM

You lot will have to bring a crate!!!:D

20/11/2007, 8:05 PM
I'll have you know a combination of Dutch Gold and pi$$ (could possibly be one and the same, haven't checked) renders the floor of our Shed rather warm

Double HA!

Pi$$ on the terraces, sh!te on the pitch

HA to the power of 10

20/11/2007, 8:10 PM
Pi$$ on the terraces, sh!te on the pitch

712 straight years in the First Division and I'm not really bothered about the standard anymore, facilities or otherwise

However, should see a huge upturn in our fortunes next season with the 1000s of football tourists coming across the water for that authentic, standing at games experience.

Things are finally looking up

Quardruple mega HA!!

You lot will have to bring a crate!!!

We shall not, We shall NOT be moved :p

20/11/2007, 8:46 PM
Well if they stop people standing then everyone will have to sit down!
So, in light of that, why don't they make everyone sit in the area in front of the cameras at all ELOI venues so the places look a bit more populated, a bit more like their actual attendances rather than the cliched handful of punters ?

20/11/2007, 9:19 PM
We'll just set Maxi loose there again...

20/11/2007, 9:21 PM
Make you play in Dalymount?

Anyway, it says no standing in seated areas.

20/11/2007, 9:22 PM
We'll just set Maxi loose there again...

I'm getting sick and tired of this cult of Maxi

He's a bottler

Should be propping for Leinster

onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 9:22 PM
If only people would read things...

onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 9:26 PM
I don't think it will be a problem in places like United Park and Oriel. But when we travel to the likes of Tolka and Athlone, we stand in seated areas. Remains to be seen if it will be actively enforced. Not likely in my book.

20/11/2007, 9:36 PM
He's a bottler

More of a cannister IMO.

half_full
20/11/2007, 9:44 PM
Complete BS, not even faiLURE would try this one. I'd say those suits in Cardiff had a little too much to drink.

BS or not, supporters should not take these things lying down:ball:

20/11/2007, 9:47 PM
take these things lying down:ball:

Or sitting down.

half_full
20/11/2007, 9:52 PM
As long as we are given our rights;)

20/11/2007, 10:44 PM

We'll be grand. We'll use our normal "dual status" to get a way out of it.

21/11/2007, 11:00 AM
sitting down has killed atmospheres in england though i understand completely why it was brought in.
I didn't/ don't understand it all - it was a kneejerk over reaction designed to sanitise football.

If they do try and enforce this I think they may finally succeed in fooking me off enough to not bother supporting any FAI football. Various clubs in the UK have gotten around this by having a reduced capacity in the seated areas that allow standing. This really isn't a problem in the League of Ireland.

21/11/2007, 11:04 AM

Thank Buddha for third level education.....!! :D

Titan
21/11/2007, 11:19 AM
So, in light of that, why don't they make everyone sit in the area in front of the cameras at all ELOI venues so the places look a bit more populated, a bit more like their actual attendances rather than the cliched handful of punters ?

Thats the plan anyway!
No standing at the UCD Bowl next year

(Ducks for cover!)

21/11/2007, 5:15 PM
Best of luck with that...

21/11/2007, 6:30 PM
If its only no standing in seated areas, thats fine if there is standing room available. I'm fine though, i stand on the steps! ;)