View Full Version : Playoff game live
Partizan
20/11/2007, 9:12 PM
March, you say?? Do you have the exact date so I can polish my RPG??
We have already a handy striker lined up for next season...
Moqtada al Sadr
pity we couldnt have been there would surely have made a better stab at beating harps<:(
20/11/2007, 9:19 PM
We have already a handy striker lined up for next season...
Moqtada al Sadr
Will be 34 in August
Well past it IMO :ball:
Duffman
20/11/2007, 9:57 PM
No Stu Ballybo is 2hrs 30 at most, Waterford is a good 3 maybe even 4 hours on a good day, all depends on traffic. going through Dublin is just a killer.
Came back in sub 2 hours from Ballybofey at the weekend, the Waterford trip was easily 4 hours at that playoff last year. Still it all balances out when the trip to Cobh is no more! Well done Harps, hope we are back playing ye year after next.
Oh and onephillyhughes, will you now be changing your identity with your namesake signing for Shels? :eek:
onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 10:00 PM
I probably won't be allowed to, out of sheer humiliation :D
I got back from Ballybofey in 1 hr 45mins earlier this year. Saw your little short cut on Orielweb, nice work ;)
20/11/2007, 10:02 PM
Hooray, looking forward to Ballyboffey next year! :)
onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 10:03 PM
Make a weekend of it in Letterkenny!!
20/11/2007, 10:21 PM
Waterford were disasterous tonight. Delighted they're going down, worst Premier team I've seen in ages, even though they cost us a cup run and took 4 points off us:o.
blue til i die
20/11/2007, 10:34 PM
atm, cronin is still in charge, very unprofessional on the radio tho, stupid idea to talk to him directly after the match. but as for Pat Flynn, hope he's never allowed in a blues jersey again.no excuses.he was always a liability!!dope!!
20/11/2007, 10:37 PM
atm, cronin is still in charge, very unprofessional on the radio tho, stupid idea to talk to him directly after the match. but as for Pat Flynn, hope he's never allowed in a blues jersey again.no excuses.he was always a liability!!dope!!Don't forget Hedderman, a walking disaster on that pitch tonight. Harps ran rings around him.
eelmonster
20/11/2007, 10:38 PM
Well done Harps! Hard luck Waterford, looking forward to playing you next season.
blue til i die
20/11/2007, 10:41 PM
Don't forget Hedderman, a walking disaster on that pitch tonight. Harps ran rings around him.
dont even remind me of robbie hedderLESS, thank god he's leaving at the end of the season!!
fair play harps tho, took their chances!
20/11/2007, 11:00 PM
We played some good football tonight, but in fairness, Waterford were poor.
Gethins destroyed their defence, Sheilds and McGowan controlled midfield and the game could easily have been 5/6 nil. Gethins hit the post from a tight angle but, had he squared the ball to Mickey Funston it would have been a tap in to an open net. Parky put the ball over the bar from a yard away, much easier to score. Linesman gave 2 brutal offsides against Gethins and McGowan where both were through with one on ones with the keeper. Overall happy though, Higsy will have the lads focused for Fridays game and I'm sure we will be going into that game with the mentality that the game is still 0-0.
blue til i die
20/11/2007, 11:03 PM
We played some good football tonight, but in fairness, Waterford were poor.
Gethins destroyed their defence, Sheilds and McGowan controlled midfield and the game could easily have been 5/6 nil. Gethins hit the post from a tight angle but, had he squared the ball to Mickey Funston it would have been a tap in to an open net. Parky put the ball over the bar from a yard away, much easier to score. Linesman gave 2 brutal offsides against Gethins and McGowan where both were through with one on ones with the keeper. Overall happy though, Higsy will have the lads focused for Fridays game and I'm sure we will be going into that game with the mentality that the game is still 0-0.
thats probly how our squad will be thinking too............:D
Waterford player sent for a headbutt
I predict some Waterford fans on here will blame the referee for sending the player off - as seems to be the fashion
We only have a cut off the refs when they deserve it. Like pulling back play to give us a free kick on the edge of the box when Davy Mul had just to slot it into one of the corners at 1-0 down. :p
We'll hold judgement on two, em, slightly borderline offside calls given against Harps.
As regards predictions on the sending off, the smart money is on a lynching if Flynn ever shows his face in the RSC again. :D
21/11/2007, 8:21 AM
off to Fallujah, erm Limerick next March
If that's your bag daddio! :D
21/11/2007, 8:31 AM
Heard Cronins resignation wasn't accepted by Waterford. That he has to take charge Friday. Must really want to take over at Shels!
Its stupid what he did its basically saying Waterford are out of it and havn't a chance of staying up. Mind Games? I personally believe that if Waterford score first in the RSC then its game on.
MyTown
21/11/2007, 8:57 AM
Well done Harps.
The Parkhouse strike has sealed it for ye and the consistent run of goals from Gethins and Parkhouse in addition to your 25th "league" win of the season, means ye've more than earned your promotion.
Congratulations and well done.
The balance of power in the North West is surely shifting now with Jim Roddy leaving Derry and Harps on a roll.
No more than our last on-field promotion, ye're last elevation was an unmitigated disaster (I think even Harps die hards will agree) so the challenge will be to compete and I'd say ye're up for it.
The balance of power in the North West is surely shifting now with Jim Roddy leaving Derry and Harps on a roll.
*Dons Tin Hat*
21/11/2007, 9:09 AM
You have a very good manager, and I'm sure you are full of hope for next season but remember that, as always, you live in our shadow and we generally prove this at least once a season.
21/11/2007, 9:29 AM
You have a very good manager, and I'm sure you are full of hope for next season but remember that, as always, you live in our shadow and we generally prove this at least once a season.
Once out of 4 next season? ..................Yeah sure, i'll live with that :p
21/11/2007, 10:56 AM
What price were Harps for the win?
JC_GUFC
21/11/2007, 11:00 AM
6/5 with Boyles earlier in the week, there was a bit of a gamble on them and they went off at 10/11.
21/11/2007, 11:11 AM
atm, cronin is still in charge, very unprofessional on the radio tho, stupid idea to talk to him directly after the match.
Err - that's what always happens after a match that's covered live. The media always speak to the Managers........ :o
The only person who can be blamed for what was said is Cronin.
21/11/2007, 11:15 AM
Stay off the drugs son....... :o
I didn't realise that Jim Roddy played such an important part in our first eleven... :o
MyTown
21/11/2007, 11:31 AM
Stay off the drugs son.......
I didn't realise that Jim Roddy played such an important part in our first eleven...
Failed a bit of a dope test yourself there IMO....
What I meant was that Jim Roddy was acknowledged as a benchmark of stability by all of Derry's opponents. When stability goes, you're inviting instability, no? Or is that a a drug induced form of logic?
In Waterford for our game on November 2nd, the word was the Jim Roddy & John Roberston were gone. One has since been confirmed.
Harps, unless they are total fools, will build on their admirable success this season and present more than a credible threat to DCFC who will be in "re-building" mode.
Maybe Derry will get Paul Jewell or Martin Jol in and a Chariman on a par with Roddy, but that is my Ladybird explanation for you Steve on why I see a possible shift in the balance of power up your way.
21/11/2007, 11:45 AM
Failed a bit of a dope test yourself there IMO....
What I meant was that Jim Roddy was acknowledged as a benchmark of stability by all of Derry's opponents. When stability goes, you're inviting instability, no? Or is that a a drug induced form of logic?
Firstly - when people leave you're not inviting anything. I guess it's true that the first thing drugs do is reduce one's ability to articulate....
Secondly - what's this "benchmark of stability" bullsh!t !?!? Opposition fans can't help leave the Brandywell saying, "That Paddy McCourt has a nice touch, but yer man Roddy - he's a real benchmark of stability...." :D. Especially the UCD fans - they're mad for praising him.
Roddy isn't even our Chairman for feck sake. Board members come and go, he's still involved with 'Brandywell Properties' and the new stadium. These things happen. Jim Roddy is not the lynchpin holding Derry City together.
In Waterford for our game on November 2nd, the word was the Jim Roddy & John Roberston were gone. One has since been confirmed.
So the word on the mean streets of Waterford was only 50% right. Whoppee-do. Robertson was not gone of Nov 2nd.
Harps, unless they are total fools, will build on their admirable success this season and present more than a credible threat to DCFC who will be in "re-building" mode.
I'm not sure where Harps will get the money to build on their admirable success ? We've had manys a false dawn in Ballybofey before, yet their record agaionst Derry City is probably the worst for any main derby opponents in senior football in Western Europe. Time will tell, but I for one will be sleeping soundly for the next 4 months...
Maybe Derry will get Paul Jewell or Martin Jol in and a Chariman on a par with Roddy, but that is my Ladybird explanation for you Steve on why I see a possible shift in the balance of power up your way.
As I stated above, Roddy isn't our Chairman....
Ladybird indeed - is that the name of the 'E' you've just popped.....? :o
blue til i die
21/11/2007, 11:55 AM
Err - that's what always happens after a match that's covered live. The media always speak to the Managers........ :o
The only person who can be blamed for what was said is Cronin.
at least he tells it like it is now,he used to try hide a bad performance, now he tells it straight. i for one,hope he's in charge next yr, somethin tells me he wont be!!:(
cheifo
21/11/2007, 11:56 AM
I refuse to get invovled in Harps/Derry banter until at least two months before our next meeting.:)
23/11/2007, 8:14 PM
just listening to wlr fm. waterford are being hammered 6-2 on aggregate. cronin will surely walk out now... harps good travellin support not a good crowd of 1150.
Well done Harps.
The Parkhouse strike has sealed it for ye and the consistent run of goals from Gethins and Parkhouse in addition to your 25th "league" win of the season, means ye've more than earned your promotion.
Congratulations and well done.
No more than our last on-field promotion, ye're last elevation was an unmitigated disaster (I think even Harps die hards will agree) so the challenge will be to compete and I'd say ye're up for it.
Keep telling yourself that. Even in the midst of our ****eness, we still beat them. As dcfcsteve pointed out, they have one of the worst records for a derby, only a handful of wins against us.
We may well be clouded with uncertainty at the minute but we will overcome it and we will be fired up for a title challenge next season.
Finlay Harp
23/11/2007, 8:49 PM
Keep telling yourself that. Even in the midst of our ****eness, we still beat them. As dcfcsteve pointed out, they have one of the worst records for a derby, only a handful of wins against us.
We may well be clouded with uncertainty at the minute but we will overcome it and we will be fired up for a title challenge next season.
Higgsy's gonna get ya.............
I refuse to get invovled in Harps/Derry banter until at least two months before our next meeting.:)
First game of the League, its a cert.
25/11/2007, 8:15 AM
Well it would be a great way to launch the League either that or Harps/Sligo or Derry/Sligo as the opening fixture. Speaking personally our club having had to visit the Brandywell 4 times this past season, we're looking forward to only playing ye once up there in the League this coming year.
It would be an excellent idea to have the First round of the League a series of Derbies.
Dazzy
26/11/2007, 11:36 AM
It would be an excellent idea to have the First round of the League a series of Derbies.
Did they not do it for the first couple of games this season to boost attendences so they could brag how good of a job they were doing.
Ooooooh Sooooooper Higgsy................
harpstilidie
27/11/2007, 8:24 AM
...he used to be a mucker but he's alright now! :D