View Full Version : Freedom of Speech revoked by Gardai in Cardiff
citizenerased
20/11/2007, 12:18 PM
From www.YBIG.IE 20/11/07
An Irish fan (name withheld) was held for questioning by two plain-clothes Gardai after the Wales versus Ireland game on Saturday in the Millennium Stadium. The Irish fan brought a banner with ‘Delaney you're a Muppet’ to the Millennium Stadium and hung it out at half time. A Cardiff steward was forced to take the banner down and then informed the Irish fan he could collect the banner after the game. When the fan went to collect it he was in for a surprise as two detectives were waiting to interrogate him.
The shocked fan said: “Yeah it's hard to believe but it's true. Two undercover Gardai interrogated me in a small room in the stadium after the game in relation to my banner. Freedom of speech? Who would have thought you'd get questioned by Irish Gardai in Cardiff over a poxy banner?
The disgusted Irish fan, aware that the detectives had no jurisdiction or authority in Wales, refused to give his name when quizzed about it.
He added: “They tried to take my name about three times in five minutes but I refused - they had no right and they knew it. The Two detectives also told me as we were leaving to pretend ‘that the whole conversation never occurred’ and that they'd turn a blind eye if they ever seen me in Croker, fantastic - I wont have to go to the brazil game.”
This raises serious questions. What are two detectives doing questioning fans in a foreign country? Who authorised it? The banner could hardly be described as highly offensive so whatever happened to a right to a peaceful protest? Did detectives question the Sun editor when they called Delaney a muppet and printed it on the front of 130,000 newspapers?
Sligo Hornet
20/11/2007, 12:28 PM
This is disgraceful and embarrassing for Ireland!:mad:
20/11/2007, 12:53 PM
This is disgraceful and embarrassing for Ireland!:mad:
its not embaressing for Ireland as I'd guess no more than 20 welsh blokes know about it outside of the country
Maybe the Gardai were acting on behalf of the Jim Henson Company for the slanderous allegations comparing his creations to the head of the FAI
20/11/2007, 1:23 PM
The headline is misleading (and misspelled).
However, I doubt you'll find anyone to condone this. The practice of suppressing inoffensive but dissenting banners at games seems to have entered the FAI's standard operating procedure. It should be opposed at every turn.
20/11/2007, 5:11 PM
The headline is misleading (and misspelled).
However, I doubt you'll find anyone to condone this. The practice of suppressing inoffensive but dissenting banners at games seems to have entered the FAI's standard operating procedure. It should be opposed at every turn.
Sounds like another urban myth to me!
20/11/2007, 5:30 PM
Get a haircut, John. ;)
Cowboy
20/11/2007, 5:35 PM
Why is the guy not suing for illegal detention?
citizenerased
20/11/2007, 6:54 PM
ha..yeah good one,, why would he bother his backside in fairness
I can confirm it aint an urban myth
20/11/2007, 9:20 PM
Have you any basis for this? Or are you just supposin' again?
supasparx
20/11/2007, 9:39 PM
Before the Cyprus away game last year, I got talking to 2 Gardai officers in the stadium.
They told me that they were there as part of a FIFA initiative stating that all travelling countries have 3 'liason officers' in attendance to assist the local authorities with any supporter related matters.
They also told me that basically they got a free trip to all the games, and it was considered a very privilaged posting.
I would imagine that under these circumstances they actually do have some rights to detain and question travelling supporters from their own country.
Having said all this I find it absolutely pathetic the reason this guy was brought in for questioning.
20/11/2007, 10:18 PM
The guards have no rights whatsoever outside the jurisdiction, but then again rights rarely impacts how your average meathead from Templemore undertakes their role.
Illegal detention, acting as Delaney's own private Pinkerton guards, supression of free speech, thats what you get when you combine two of the state's institutions who primary attributes seem to be breathtaking arrogance and gross incompetence.
The FAI and the Gardai, a match made in heaven.......:mad:
co. down green
20/11/2007, 11:43 PM
Managed to get a pic of banner before it was removed.
Delaney you're a muppet (http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x15/oneteaminireland/Wales%20v%20Ireland%20November%202007/?action=view¤t=P1030968.jpg)
co. down green
20/11/2007, 11:45 PM
Few more pics here (http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x15/oneteaminireland/Wales%20v%20Ireland%20November%202007/?start=all)
Sligo Hornet
21/11/2007, 11:28 AM
Few more pics here (http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x15/oneteaminireland/Wales%20v%20Ireland%20November%202007/?start=all)
Nice to see my flag made an appearance in your very good collection!;)
Cowboy
21/11/2007, 11:49 AM
ha..yeah good one,, why would he bother his backside in fairness
a pile of cash for starters
Cowboy
21/11/2007, 11:52 AM
I would imagine that under these circumstances they actually do have some rights to detain and question travelling supporters from their own country.
They have no rights whatsoever to detain anybody, once they leave Ireland they are just plain citizens unless they are on UN duty.
shaneker
21/11/2007, 3:44 PM
This strikes me as very sinister, especially the fact that they seemed eager to get his name out of him. Would his name have then been fed back to the FAI and 'blacklisted' as far as tickets etc are concerned? And what if this had happened in Ireland where the Gardai do have jurisdiction?
Not happy about this one bit. Can't recall any coverage of any other country doing it for such an inoffensive statement.
Delaney. What a muppet.
Cowboy
21/11/2007, 3:50 PM
Indeed it is sinister and a formal complaint should be made by the guy if what has been reported actually happened.
21/11/2007, 4:27 PM
Have you any basis for this? Or are you just supposin' again?
No basis at all.
However, unless I have missed something over the last 2 days, I would have thought this story would have been exactly the type of thing the red tops would have majored on, as would Tony Donoghue of RTE.
If it did happen, it deserves full exposure as it would involved not just the FAI and the Gardai but also the FAW and/or the Millenium Stadium authorities and South Wales Police.
Cowboy
21/11/2007, 4:47 PM
No basis at all.
However, unless I have missed something over the last 2 days, I would have thought this story would have been exactly the type of thing the red tops would have majored on, as would Tony Donoghue of RTE.
If it did happen, it deserves full exposure as it would involved not just the FAI and the Gardai but also the FAW and/or the Millenium Stadium authorities and South Wales Police.
I fully agree
21/11/2007, 5:35 PM
No basis at all.
Whatever about the police questioning (which can be very easily blown out of proportion), similar banners were removed from Croke Park and San Marino this campaign without barely a mention in the papers, so that part I have no problems believing. It's quite possible the person reacted a bit too aggressively to get his banner back.
Cowboy
21/11/2007, 5:49 PM
Its one thing stewards removing banners but Gardai are another matter, exactly what law is being broken by displaying a banner?
21/11/2007, 5:51 PM
As I noted, it's possible yer man reacted over aggressively to the removal of the banner. Which could include refusing to leave the ground.
Cowboy
21/11/2007, 5:53 PM
As I noted, it's possible yer man reacted over aggressively to the removal of the banner. Which could include refusing to leave the ground.
But surely thats a matter for the SW police and stewards? I guess we wont know either way as its hard to be sure exactly what happened
I know the person it happened to.
He is reluctant to bring it much further for fear of reprecussions for future tickets etc.
There was no fuss at all when he was told to remove the banner, just that he had to collect it after the game.
A journo rang him yesterday but the story did not appear in the papers, he doesn't know why.
Journo obvioulsy had to get comments from the FAI and the cops. Maybe it will run on another day
21/11/2007, 6:41 PM
Whatever about the police questioning (which can be very easily blown out of proportion), similar banners were removed from Croke Park and San Marino this campaign without barely a mention in the papers, so that part I have no problems believing. It's quite possible the person reacted a bit too aggressively to get his banner back.
I seem to remember there being a big 'Delaney Out' banner in San Marino that was on display for all the game, no one tried to remove it. The only banner anyone tried to remove in San Marino was the Chelsea Irish tricolour which some of our own fans tried to remove.
I also seem to remember there being a big half page spread about the Delaney Out banner in the Star the following day.
21/11/2007, 9:59 PM
You remember wrong. It was removed by security (granted, they were far more lax and threw it back), and was only on display for a short while in the ground.
I think that one half page in one paper is about the only publicity any of the banners has gotten.
21/11/2007, 10:11 PM
Are we living in an FAI run Police State?
onenilgameover
21/11/2007, 10:18 PM
my name was in the papers a few years ago over a protest and i was never taken off the block booking list although im sure it was more due to the fai not reading the papers than their good will...
Bondvillain
21/11/2007, 10:18 PM
Are we living in an FAI run Police State?
Jaysus, could you imagine?
Croker would be a howl : "None of your cheering and clapping there lads. Bit of quiet for the two sets of teams there doing their jobs", we'd all have to wear yello hi-viz as colours, and The only criteria to be minister for Finance would be to have previously been the tea boy in The National Irish Bank in Stillorgan...
lopez
22/11/2007, 11:12 AM
What a disgracefull thread this. The guardians of our country deserve respect. I'm not standing by and letting Ireland's finest being slagged off. Get real you bunch of low lifes (I notice a number of 'stoodents' amongst ye). Watch this clip from Youtube to understand the high levels of professionalism amongst the Irish police. :mad:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=z8wHsoGeuH8&mode=related&search=
22/11/2007, 11:14 AM
Jaysus, could you imagine?
Croker would be a howl : "None of your cheering and clapping there lads. Bit of quiet for the two sets of teams there doing their jobs", we'd all have to wear yello hi-viz as colours, and The only criteria to be minister for Finance would be to have previously been the tea boy in The National Irish Bank in Stillorgan...
Beverly Flynn has recently rejoined FF and she used to work that self same organisation......
22/11/2007, 12:21 PM
cant see the link so not sure if your quote is supposed to be sarcastic! but if its not, wot the hell are you on about, your auld fella is hardly a cop is he...
the beauty of freedom of speech is one can express and form whatever opinions they like. Whats wrong with students? You seem to have an inferiority complex towards them, like you are threathened by the educated, or maybe like you were denied the same opportunities as them...get over it!
You shouldn't really comment on it without seeing the link...
lopez
22/11/2007, 12:24 PM
cant see the link so not sure if your quote is supposed to be sarcastic! but if its not, wot the hell are you on about, your auld fella is hardly a cop is he...
the beauty of freedom of speech is one can express and form whatever opinions they like. Whats wrong with students? You seem to have an inferiority complex towards them, like you are threathened by the educated, or maybe like you were denied the same opportunities as them...get over it!:D:D:D
You need to see the link to see if I'm being sarcastic or not. Type in 'best gardai templemore' in Youtube and you should get it. Not offended in the least by your outburst and you'll see what I'm getting at.
citizenerased
22/11/2007, 12:26 PM
its blocked out at work....sorry, seen it before...funny....apologies lopez!!!!!!!!!
22/11/2007, 1:08 PM
You need to see the link to see if I'm being sarcastic or not. Type in 'best gardai templemore' in Youtube and you should get it. Not offended in the least by your outburst and you'll see what I'm getting at.
LOL :D
22/11/2007, 1:10 PM
RTE & The Indo are too preoccupied plugging Venables.
Cowboy
22/11/2007, 1:24 PM
:D:D:D
Amigo that video is offensive, it shows the horse in a very bad light consorting with idiots.
Babysis
22/11/2007, 1:26 PM
RTE & The Indo are too preoccupied plugging Venables.
The journalist from the Indo and a fella from RTE that we drank with in Wales certainly seemed sure it was Venables.
citizenerased
22/11/2007, 2:08 PM
Tony O D and Dion Fanning.....Jaysus the way fanning goes on youd wswear he wants venables babies...suppose he cant really support Houllier considering the slagging he used to give him when he liverpool manager
The journalist from the Indo and a fella from RTE that we drank with in Wales certainly seemed sure it was Venables.
RTE person did not mention El Tel to me and I remember cos I was sober :p :D
billybunter
23/11/2007, 1:11 AM
jaysus, were there not enough fans to share a drink with that you had to resort to drinking with journalists and RTE staff? (only kidding - in fact only last week I had a drink with a lawyer.........
Sligo Hornet
23/11/2007, 8:11 AM
jaysus, were there not enough fans to share a drink with that you had to resort to drinking with journalists and RTE staff? (only kidding - in fact only last week I had a drink with a lawyer.........
Good luck....we hope you get off!:D
Babysis
23/11/2007, 8:13 AM
RTE person did not mention El Tel to me and I remember cos I was sober
Tony Tony probably didn't mention El Tel because you were too busy telling him about the flag:p:D
I asked Tony O D and the indo journalist who they thought the next manager would be and also who they wanted to get in the draw (cant remember the answer to that one as I was locked).:o
23/11/2007, 10:06 AM
Tony Tony probably didn't mention El Tel because you were too busy telling him about the flag
I asked Tony O D and the indo journalist who they thought the next manager would be and also who they wanted to get in the draw (cant remember the answer to that one as I was locked).:o
We were not locked on Saturday night at all ;), just seem to be getting flashbacks of it all this week :eek:
SuperDave
24/11/2007, 5:04 PM
i'm not a lawyer... yet.
01/12/2007, 12:14 PM
- in fact only last week I had a drink with a lawyer.........
You what?.... UNCLEAN ... UNCLEAN :D