View Full Version : Open Meeting
outside in
17/11/2007, 9:18 PM
ok lads lets forget about the SC for the moment.. How about a group of fans working with Marco to better the club.. lets call it a Promotions Club made up of six volunteers. This committee could meet every two weeks where ideas and suggestions are looked at and the best ones acted on by the committee.
Marco as the PRO would then request funding from the Supporters Club, the Club itself or if possible get sponsorship in order to transform these ideas into reality.
It is fantastic to see all the great ideas on this forum but if there isn't a group of people willing to take the bull by the horns and work them through then all they'll ever be are great ideas.
Marco if you read this and agree then maybe you could ask would be volunteers to submit their names to you by a certain date. Hopefully you would have more than six names...if so, draw names from a hat... electing people to committees seems to cause division !!!
What do ye think?
another committee wont work.they wont let it happen anyway.to many cooks and all dat.. nice try. keep um coming
17/11/2007, 9:20 PM
ok lads lets forget about the SC for the moment.. How about a group of fans working with Marco to better the club.. lets call it a Promotions Club made up of six volunteers. This committee could meet every two weeks where ideas and suggestions are looked at and the best ones acted on by the committee.
Marco as the PRO would then request funding from the Supporters Club, the Club itself or if possible get sponsorship in order to transform these ideas into reality.
It is fantastic to see all the great ideas on this forum but if there isn't a group of people willing to take the bull by the horns and work them through then all they'll ever be are great ideas.
Marco if you read this and agree then maybe you could ask would be volunteers to submit their names to you by a certain date. Hopefully you would have more than six names...if so, draw names from a hat... electing people to committees seems to cause division !!!
What do ye think?
It's a good idea but you'd have to do it in association with the SC.
rammie
17/11/2007, 9:35 PM
absolutely Ramblers14, this committee would effectively bring the Club and SC committees together "all for one and one for all" the last thing I'd want is another committee working independently. We have to pool all resources it's going to be a real challenge next year.
What do ye think?
I think this is a goood idea, I could do with the help next season. As for the Supporters Club, your opinions are valid, but a breakaway SC will not work as it will not be recognised by anyone. the way to go is simple, get yourself involved with the supporters club now, the SC needs a little overhall, but lets not forget theses lads and ladies give their time on a volentary basis, working with them instead of against them is the way to go. If Limerick can organise 1 at short notice then surely we can.
promo officer should be the full time resource which the sc can liase with to get there ideas into practice he is paid by the club and has the time so use him. there is a two month window available now for all ideas to be put into being. so can we gwet it started:mad:
I agree and it would work if the ideas were usuable and some help was at hand.
17/11/2007, 9:43 PM
I think this is a goood idea, I could do with the help next season. As for the Supporters Club, your opinions are valid, but a breakaway SC will not work as it will not be recognised by anyone. the way to go is simple, get yourself involved with the supporters club now, the SC needs a little overhall, but lets not forget theses lads and ladies give their time on a volentary basis, working with them instead of against them is the way to go. If Limerick can organise 1 at short notice then surely we can.
Exactly new faces= new ideas. I'd gladly volunteer for this comittee. If its a 6man commitee you simply get 3 from the SC and 3 from foot.ie. Possibly Marco chair this commitee.
A breakaway SC will cause too much tension in what will be a huge season for the lads.
6yardpunisha
17/11/2007, 9:50 PM
I posted that 4 a reason. There are fans in this club who think supporting football involves fighting,drinking and other acts of hooliganism. These fans are young. They are the future of Ramblers and they think its ok to go in and rob a garage. It is in my balls!
wats in your balls
17/11/2007, 9:51 PM
wats in your balls
That they think its right to rob garages.
6yardpunisha
17/11/2007, 9:55 PM
wasnt talking about comments about garage they were foolish but we all do it ffrom time to time,was talking about dance i too thought it was sc running it so wrong to attack over that thats what i meant by apology:mad:
i repeat, post fact not fiction, i only stated to rams14 that the SC had nothing at all to do with dinner, but he stated that SC got all the tickets, i corrected him and he came back with b******t, there was no attack only a presentation of the facts. So IMO there is no apology needed as r14 posted heresay and has not got a leg to stand on.
17/11/2007, 9:59 PM
I know. Its just they got most of the tickets that the players didn't take.
Notice how I said that they got most of the tickets the players didn't take. Not once did I say they got all the tickets! I think that gives me 2 legs to stand on.:)
6yardpunisha
17/11/2007, 9:59 PM
That they think its right to rob garages.
in your balls, thats a new one on me rams1.4
17/11/2007, 10:08 PM
R u from Cork? Jesus a corkman who never heard the phrase "it is in my balls!". What about "I will in my balls!" u ever heard that one?
outside in
17/11/2007, 10:09 PM
in your balls, thats a new one on me rams1.4
i think it might catch on:D
6yardpunisha
17/11/2007, 10:14 PM
Notice how I said that they got most of the tickets the players didn't take. Not once did I say they got all the tickets! I think that gives me 2 legs to stand on.:)
but you were still talkin s**t, hope you were standing when you got approached in d rams toilets
18/11/2007, 1:16 AM
Theres what 5 in supporters clu, so how can they have so many tickets. Secopndly my friends and myself got tickets no hassle, same night, its no good having in interest in dinner dance now, two wweeks b4 idea came oiut(1 week after we win the league), myself mojo and others went up months ago booked our tickets we'll be there, simple as. You didnt, you wont simple as. To my knowledge the dinner dance was totally first come first served no preferences bar team and committee, so there should be no discussion IMO.
Onto the supporters club, meetings just dont work IMO. Online one good idea though.
And in regards to "hiding behind keyboard" business... Grow up, we all know nearly everybody on this and if something so bad is said to some1 you didnt know it would be easy to find out.
why dont they make themselves known here
I think it's quite obvious, if you read between the lines
hillman
18/11/2007, 5:20 AM
hello everyone new boy in take it easy on me:) its good that this meeting is coming its all fine talking here about sc but action and hard work is whats needed:ball:
MojoPin
18/11/2007, 6:58 AM
ok lads lets forget about the SC for the moment.. How about a group of fans working with Marco to better the club.. lets call it a Promotions Club made up of six volunteers.
What do ye think?
not being smart and im prob wrong but why should 6 of us work for free doing a job that someone else is paid very well to do?
MojoPin
18/11/2007, 7:02 AM
i think not. if ya wanted a ticket when they were on sale do ya think they would of turned you down because your not a player?
u missed out tuff luck
18/11/2007, 9:57 AM
i think not. if ya wanted a ticket when they were on sale do ya think they would of turned you down because your not a player?
u missed out tuff luck
I know its my own fault
18/11/2007, 10:05 AM
but you were still talkin s**t, hope you were standing when you got approached in d rams toilets
It was as I left I was approached not when I was in there.
chimpster
18/11/2007, 10:16 AM
A couple of points...
1. Please can be keep stuff ON TOPIC, the rest of us are bored stupid with all the handbags flyin around this thread over a bloody dinner dance.
2. My thoughts on the SC. The fundamental problems here is that the SC has become a vehicle for fundraising for the club. Ok, so one of the SC's functions is to raise a few quid from time to time, but I think most fundraising should be arranged by a sub-commttee of the main club, leaving the SC for the supporters. Ideas for the SC:
- Buses to away games.
- Quiz/race nights.
- Membership packs.
- Junior Rams section.
- Volunteer rota to help prepare the gound on matchdays and spruce the place up in the close season.
- Monthly fanzine.
- A Ramblers SC XI to play matches either in a local league or against other SCs.
- A private army to weed out the troublemakers who have started turning up (wishful thinking).
Keep adding ideas!
Oh...........b0llocks. I forgot all about it. I had two tickets put away and hadn't yet paid for them. I suppose thery're gone by now.
18/11/2007, 10:51 AM
A couple of points...
1. Please can be keep stuff ON TOPIC, the rest of us are bored stupid with all the handbags flyin around this thread over a bloody dinner dance.
2. My thoughts on the SC. The fundamental problems here is that the SC has become a vehicle for fundraising for the club. Ok, so one of the SC's functions is to raise a few quid from time to time, but I think most fundraising should be arranged by a sub-commttee of the main club, leaving the SC for the supporters. Ideas for the SC:
- Buses to away games.
- Quiz/race nights.
- Membership packs.
- Junior Rams section.
- Volunteer rota to help prepare the gound on matchdays and spruce the place up in the close season.
- Monthly fanzine.
- A Ramblers SC XI to play matches either in a local league or against other SCs.
- A private army to weed out the troublemakers who have started turning up (wishful thinking).
Keep adding ideas!
I've always wanted Cobh to set up a radio station so that we could listen to ramblers matches live. Then have dedicated shows to Rams during the schedule.
If not that how about we try to get a "Ramblers hour" on Red Fm!
Would it be possibly for members of the SC to try and set this up?
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 10:54 AM
I've always wanted Cobh to set up a radio station so that we could listen to ramblers matches live. Then have dedicated shows to Rams during the schedule.
If not that how about we try to get a "Ramblers hour" on Red Fm!
Would it be possibly for members of the SC to try and set this up?
think the club is doing something with 96fm, red fm are tied with cork city
18/11/2007, 10:57 AM
think the club is doing something with 96fm, red fm are tied with cork city
Ah thats just the street fleet thing and that charity match. Red FM go to all Ramblers matches. 96 Fm don't even send anyone to report on our matches. 96 are very poor for coverage of the Ramblers they are very reluctant to announce scores in our matches on the news even.
Rams-07
18/11/2007, 11:04 AM
Hey lads are ye not going a bit OTT regarding the Supporters Club.People have got to remember that these people do this on a voluntary basis and if the get into a match free so what,they deserve it.I know most of them are season ticket holders.
People have been invited to an information meeteing soon,so they can put their views (and cribs)to the SC and their been lambasted here.
Remember these people have been running the SC for years when the club was winning nothing,when the club had only a few hundred at the matches and morale was low.They kept at it and raised alot of money for the club through hard work when no one else would do it,remember they gave 100k towards the new stand which is a huge amount of money by anyone standards.
Now we have had our best ever saeson in LOI football and ye want to get rid of them,IMO I think that is very wrong,these people deserve credit not s**t thrown at them.
Cant see any reason for not going along to this meeting and airing yere views,dont think airing them on a public forum will help.
Comic Book Guy
18/11/2007, 11:19 AM
Hey lads are ye not going a bit OTT regarding the Supporters Club.People have got to remember that these people do this on a voluntary basis and if the get into a match free so what,they deserve it.I know most of them are season ticket holders.
People have been invited to an information meeteing soon,so they can put their views (and cribs)to the SC and their been lambasted here.
Remember these people have been running the SC for years when the club was winning nothing,when the club had only a few hundred at the matches and morale was low.They kept at it and raised alot of money for the club through hard work when no one else would do it,remember they gave 100k towards the new stand which is a huge amount of money by anyone standards.
Now we have had our best ever saeson in LOI football and ye want to get rid of them,IMO I think that is very wrong,these people deserve credit not s**t thrown at them.
Cant see any reason for not going along to this meeting and airing yere views,dont think airing them on a public forum will help.
Well said Rams 07, I have defended the SC on this before and will always do so, I am not a member nor ever have been but these guys did the hard yards for the club when we were mid table going no where, they deserve every bit of credit going and will still be behind the club come what may. They propose an open meeting and some of you jump down their throats:rolleyes:
Next season is going to be tough and that's when we need every one pulling together.
18/11/2007, 11:47 AM
Well done. I totally agree with u but be prepared to take some flack over the next few hours. People won't like what u said.
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 11:54 AM
fair play to them, they have done some work but most people here just seem to want to get more involved with the SC,as someone commented earlier they dont even know who the SC are. This meeting seems to be a step in the right direction. In terms of airing views on a public forum i seem to remember you airing fairly strong views with regard to the committee
Rams-07
18/11/2007, 12:02 PM
Yep I did and in hindsight I probably went over the top at times,still have strong views but will keep them to myself cos I was been blemt for things I didnt say.Legs were been put on them by certain people (particularly one person)
Getting back to the SC,I know who they are but Im not going to name them here.Agree with you there thats its a step in the right direction having this meeting.Anyone who really has an interest in helping out should attend and not knock them here.
ramsfan
18/11/2007, 12:08 PM
forgetting the fundamental here, take commando 84 (think thats the name) cork city sc they are there for supporters number not club, rams sc have priorities wrong that is what people are trying to say
not here to slag individuals who give time to sc, but come on how hard is it to focus on supporters ie junior rams etc
if the supporters club made membership a visible thing easy to get then you would find the club will benefit as people will have more affinity with club and will feel a greater need to help with things ie posters, fundraisers
an open meeting will never really work as rams is such a clicky club if anybody goes to meeting and causes a fuss then it will be all over town by morning with about 15 versions doing the rounds, that is why online is the job,marco sc and foot forum members log on at certain times we brainstorm ideas and sc/marco give them merit or not and decide if possible to put into action
we again are going around in circles nothing concrete being done next week this will be forgotten about which is a shame:mad:
18/11/2007, 12:13 PM
fair play to them, they have done some work but most people here just seem to want to get more involved with the SC,as someone commented earlier they dont even know who the SC are. This meeting seems to be a step in the right direction. In terms of airing views on a public forum i seem to remember you airing fairly strong views with regard to the committee
You've had a bit of a change of heart.
Rams-07
18/11/2007, 12:13 PM
fair point but would it not be better if everyone attended he meetin and aired their views first.I think the SC would welcome suggestions (and help)from people as they are genuine Ramblers people who have been therein the bad times and notjumping on the band wagon.
Just a thought...If we hadnt been promoted this year would this thread have been posted:rolleyes:
18/11/2007, 12:15 PM
fair point but would it not be better if everyone attended he meetin and aired their views first.I think the SC would welcome suggestions (and help)from people as they are genuine Ramblers people who have been therein the bad times and notjumping on the band wagon.
Just a thought...If we hadnt been promoted this year would this thread have been posted:rolleyes:
Your right its easier to attend the meeting despite the age of technology we are in not everyone has the internet.
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 12:16 PM
You've had a bit of a change of heart.
when people make sensible comments on a subject i agree, my rant last night was over the dinner dance
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 12:17 PM
go back to start, it was the SC that asked for this thread to be started
18/11/2007, 12:19 PM
go back to start, it was the SC that asked for this thread to be started
yeah. I was asked to start it by an SC commitee member.
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 12:21 PM
yeah. I was asked to start it by an SC commitee member.
see now, we are agreeing with each other
18/11/2007, 12:22 PM
see now, we are agreeing with each other
We are on the same page now are we:D
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 12:27 PM
We are on the same page now are we:D
we are now, but if my post goes to page 6 then were nothttp://foot.ie/images/icons/icon10.gif
ramsfan
18/11/2007, 1:51 PM
i think it still would have started even without promotion as we have a promotions officer people are getting interested in rams and even if we were bottom of league football as a whole in ireland has to become more affiliated to the supporter as it is and has to an entertainment industryso to say we are only bringing this up because in premier is totally wrong ,also 95 of people who write here have years of experience as rams supporters been through ten times more bad times than good
outside in
18/11/2007, 2:16 PM
Your right its easier to attend the meeting despite the age of technology we are in not everyone has the internet.
we all have user names for a reason... so we can speek our mind and not deal wit da people who have different views face to face . no one wil say it as it is at a meeting..imo online is da way to go
don ramo
18/11/2007, 2:53 PM
id say half the club knows who i am, so my user name is fcuked, remember in athlone a young fella came up celebrting with me, and called me don ramo i was shocked, but i dont care people at the club, and some users on here, have known who i am for over a year,
so are we going to attend this meeting or what i will go if i can, but im shy so wont be standin up and speakin, ill be nodin away standing by the bar:D
we must get involved in some way with the SC club, even if were in charge of buses, let the poeple who want to fundraise concentrate on that, and people who want to get the word out do that, not everyone has be involved with one specific agenda (which i think the SC is fundraising) so others can come in and start buses and other ideas give the SC some arms and legs,
dont start again, but whoever organised the dinner dance did a bad job, it wasn't public knowledge until it was sold out, so they advertised it first time publicly, with sold out writen on it, very bad must say
outside in
18/11/2007, 3:00 PM
u say dont start and then post dat crap..200 tickets sold in about 2 weeks and u say they did a bad job...its SOLD OUT dat means a job well done in my book
outside in
18/11/2007, 3:03 PM
u say u wont stand up and talk at a meeting dats y it should b on line most people feel da same imo
don ramo
18/11/2007, 3:04 PM
u say dont start and then post dat crap..200 tickets sold in about 2 weeks and u say they did a bad job...its SOLD OUT dat means a job well done in my book
its great it sold out, superb stuff, was just sayin it wasnt advertised till after it was sold out, so what was point of advertising it, thats what i thought was poor, keep it within the club by all means, but dont bother advertising it if its sold out, thats all,
im not sayin any more about the dance so no point replyin this thread is SC and i shouldnt have mentioned it, you either understand or dont sorry if you dont,
don ramo
18/11/2007, 3:06 PM
u say u wont stand up and talk at a meeting dats y it should b on line most people feel da same imo
some will though, all we have to do is turn up, and someone spit out an idea, and take it from there, no point shootin it out of the sky before it even flies,
6yardpunisha
18/11/2007, 3:08 PM
its great it sold out, superb stuff, was just sayin it wasnt advertised till after it was sold out, so what was point of advertising it, thats what i thought was poor, keep it within the club by all means, but dont bother advertising it if its sold out, thats all,
im not sayin any more about the dance so no point replyin this thread is SC and i shouldnt have mentioned it, you either understand or dont sorry if you dont,
it was advertised in the matchday program and the inside cobh and on the website before it was sold out
outside in
18/11/2007, 3:13 PM
some will though, all we have to do is turn up, and someone spit out an idea, and take it from there, no point shootin it out of the sky before it even flies,
very true.hope it works out for ye