Longford Town 6000
Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
St Patrick's Athletic
UCD
Waterford United
Athlone Town
Bray Wanderers
Cobh Ramblers was there for U19 international between Ireland and Croatia and there were 5000 apparently!
Dublin City
Dundalk
Finn Harps
Galway United
Kildare County 1,300
Kilkenny City
Limerick
Monaghan United
Sligo Rovers

Estar
20/05/2003, 7:43 PM
Cork City 7,000 (I think!):p

eamoss
20/05/2003, 8:10 PM
Bohemians
Cork City officially 8000
Derry City
Drogheda United
Longford Town 6000
Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
St Patrick's Athletic
UCD
Waterford United
Athlone Town
Bray Wanderers
Cobh Ramblers was there for U19 international between Ireland and Croatia and there were 5000 apparently!
Dublin City
Dundalk 12,200
Finn Harps
Galway United
Kildare County 1,300
Kilkenny City
Limerick
Monaghan United
Sligo Rovers

Cobh Ramblers
21/05/2003, 12:48 PM
ramblers can hold 9'000

21/05/2003, 1:07 PM
it should be said that longford town's ground is 6000, all seater.

21/05/2003, 2:10 PM
afaik cork city's is 7,800 :)

Tom Peppers
21/05/2003, 2:51 PM
Shelbourne can hold just over 12,000

21/05/2003, 3:10 PM
No it can't - officially Tolka is just under 10,000

21/05/2003, 4:32 PM
UCD 1,200 seats, with another 3,000/4,000 standing maybe. Depends on how much you like personal space! New stand at the end of the season to bring seated capacity up to 2,500.

Estar
21/05/2003, 10:27 PM
Bohemians
Cork City 8000
Derry City
Drogheda United
Longford Town 6000
Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne 10000-12000?
St Patrick's Athletic
UCD 3000
Waterford United
Athlone Town
Bray Wanderers
Cobh Ramblers 5000-9000?
Dublin City
Dundalk 12200
Finn Harps
Galway United
Kildare County 1300
Kilkenny City
Limerick
Monaghan United
Sligo Rovers

Story so far, has anyone else a ground capacity smaller than Kildare or bigger than Dundalk.:confused:

TommyT
21/05/2003, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by Estar
Story so far, has anyone else a ground capacity smaller than Kildare or bigger than Dundalk.:confused:

To answer your question, Dublin City and/or Limerick might have smaller capacities than Kildare. Oriel has the highest capacity in the league since Dalyer went all seater.

22/05/2003, 9:13 AM
Originally posted by TommyT
To answer your question, Dublin City and/or Limerick might have smaller capacities than Kildare. Oriel has the highest capacity in the league since Dalyer went all seater.

I dunno what kinda capacity Pike Rovers Sports Ground really has... I'd say you'd probably squeeze in 2,000 or so at the moment though... We had about 2,000 in The Jacks a couple of times too.

The Sheliban
22/05/2003, 10:07 AM
Originally posted by Macy
No it can't - officially Tolka is just under 10,000

Tolkas capacityis 10,600 with the New Stand.

Richmond Park holds 50,000 and they fill it every week.

22/05/2003, 10:31 AM
Nah ours is about 7,000 and we average 3,000 a week. New stand, when built will bring capacity up to 9,000

22/05/2003, 10:53 AM
are we talking about FIFA regulations on grounds or just how many people you can stuff into the place, if you talking FIFA then Tolka is the Biggest, Turners Cross is Next and then Flancare after that its over to the rest of you

martinho
22/05/2003, 12:27 PM
I have last years Eircom League annual so I will be able to find out the capacitys for ye. Kildares is not in it but I am sure some bright spark knows the capacity of Kildare.

22/05/2003, 7:37 PM
There may have been 12,000 people at Oreil Park once & because they not done any renovations since the middle ages i presume thats why they still sticking with 12k?

I'd be amazed if Oriel was still capable/allowed hold 12k people.

22/05/2003, 8:38 PM
Originally posted by martinho
I am sure some bright spark knows the capacity of Kildare.

They have 200 seats anyway, according to Dermot Keely in an exclusive interview with STIG, the UCD fanzine (says I, not plugging us at all!;) )

Seriously, though (so I don't get banned), 200 seats plus standers.

Estar
26/05/2003, 7:41 PM
1. Dundalk 11,000
2. Shelbourne 9,681
3. Cobh Ramblers 9,000
4. Derry City 8,500
5.Waterford United 8,000
5.Finn Harps 8,000
7.Drogheda United 7,667
7.Bohemians 7,667
9.Cork City 7,500
10.Longford Town 6,000
10.Sligo Rovers 6,000
12.St Patrick's Athletic 5,900
12.Shamrock Rovers 5,900
14.Monaghan United 5,000
14.Galway United 5,000
14.Bray Wanderers 5,000
17.Kilkenny City 4,500
18.Dublin City 3,000
18.Limerick 3,000
18.Athlone Town 3,000
18.UCD 3,000
22.Kildare County 2,500

Bad reading for Kildare County IMHO, I think they should move to a green field site like Athlone are going to do.

The Sheliban
27/05/2003, 7:28 AM
Shels is about 10,400. The figure of 9681 is before the new stand went up.

27/05/2003, 8:18 AM
And Limerick are 'planning' to develop the Pike SC up to about 5500. Someday.

27/05/2003, 9:56 AM
Bad reading for Kildare County IMHO, I think they should move to a green field site like Athlone are going to do.
LOL, couldn't get much more green field!?! You've plenty of room to develop there - a decent stand could go up the far side of the pitch from the existing stand, which could also be extended full length....

27/05/2003, 3:30 PM
:confused: In fairness they don't need it any bigger at the moment so there's not much point in extending it yet.

RedX
29/05/2003, 10:16 PM
I have been in St Colmans park(Cobh Ramblers) many times and from whet i can see there is no way a crowd of more than 4,500 to 5,000 would get in there.Anyone saying anything else is talking silly....

30/05/2003, 11:07 AM

1. Dundalk 11,000

3. Cobh Ramblers 9,000

5.Finn Harps 8,000
7.Drogheda United 7,667

These are highly questionable.
No way can you get 11,000 into Oriel park.
As for Ramblers, 4,000 might be nearer the mark.
As for Finn Park, are you still allowed to call a mudbank a viewing area ?
(the area behind one of the goals)
O2 Park is a virtually two-sided ground, and can't see that many people there.

drummer boy
30/05/2003, 1:12 PM
have to agree. when we got promoted in cobh there was about 5 or 6oo town supporters there and about the same for cobh and there wasant much space left after that maybe 1500 more could get into it. but theres only about 500 seats. flancare is almost 6500. would you not get more into dalymount if the whole thing was open.

30/05/2003, 1:14 PM
Originally posted by drummer boy
would you not get more into dalymount if the whole thing was open. Don't think they're allowed to open the end to the right of the Jodi stand.

30/05/2003, 2:13 PM
1. Dundalk 11,000
2. Shelbourne 9,681
3. Cobh Ramblers 9,000
4. Derry City 8,500
5.Waterford United 8,000
5.Finn Harps 8,000
7.Drogheda United 7,667
7.Bohemians 7,667
9.Cork City 7,500
10.Longford Town 6,000
10.Sligo Rovers 6,000
12.St Patrick's Athletic 5,900
12.Shamrock Rovers 5,900
14.Monaghan United 5,000
14.Galway United 5,000
14.Bray Wanderers 5,000
17.Kilkenny City 4,500
18.Dublin City 3,000
18.Limerick 3,000
18.Athlone Town 3,000
18.UCD 3,000
22.Kildare County 2,500

Dundalk - no way could 11,000 fit in that ground now....
Shels - yeah, might even be more
Cobh - half it and you'd still be overestimating
Derry - probably about right
Waterford, way over the top
Finn Harps, Ditto
Drogheda, there is no way that holds more than Richmond Park...
Bohs, I'd say its about right
Cork, Longford about right,
Pats is at least 7,000 (believe me....)
Homeless Rovers (got to get them in while it lasts)
Monaghan (unless you're counting the fields) holds about 2,000
The rest are about right
Limerick's the only ground I've never been in....

boynesider
31/05/2003, 9:22 PM
O2 Park will take 5588, thats the highest attendance,the 7667 looks like a cut n paste typo, remenber there is a high full pitch lenght covered terrerce and bytheway the capacity from the 6 storey Lourdes Hospital overlooking the ground brings in another
627 dedicated if not unwell specators.

brandywellpride
02/06/2003, 2:00 PM
The Brandywell's capacity is, since the Taylor report been reduced to 8,500 although we did have around 12,000 for the Celtic game a few seasons ago and 9,500 for the Manu game there shortly afterwards.

Dalymount going by what everyone else is going by IE: actual capacity is by far the biggest ground with the Brandywell 2nd and Tolka 3rd as they have no tce's.

As for Finn Pk holding that many..........they have about 100 seats and only one tce behind the net. Surley the rest of the ground shouldn't be allowed to be open as it's not safe.

Blue Muff
03/06/2003, 8:46 AM
Originally posted by Dodge

Waterford, way over the top
Finn Harps, Ditto

What are you basing this on ? There was 8,000 in the RSC for the cup semi final in 1998. This was an all ticket match so its not an estimate figure.

I'm also sure that Bally Biooijfoffdifvfdg has held crowds of similar sizes

03/06/2003, 11:44 AM
I'm basing it on having been to the grounds. Waterford has the small stands behind 1 goal and along the side as well as the main stand (which isn't that big anyway) The Running track shouldn't count as at best there'll be a line of people. Finn Park, as pointed out above, has 200 seats, a bit of a covered terrace and an open small terrace behind one goal...

BobtheDrog
03/06/2003, 6:56 PM
O2 holds more than you might think you would be suprised but about 6000 sounds right best way to find out would be to get the attendence for the galway game

drummer boy
03/06/2003, 7:25 PM
ballyboffey would hold that much but they shouldn be allowed to the year we were in the play off they had around 7000 at it. it was packed to the rafters though.

Estar
03/06/2003, 9:09 PM
Originally posted by Macy
LOL, couldn't get much more green field!?! You've plenty of room to develop there - a decent stand could go up the far side of the pitch from the existing stand, which could also be extended full length....

Station Road has been re zoned for housing, why build a stand, only to knock it next year?:(

Estar
03/06/2003, 9:14 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
In fairness they don't need it any bigger at the moment so there's not much point in extending it yet.

What if we draw someone like Shamrock Rovers in the Cup, it will have to be an all ticket match. I've never got a seat yet at a match, got ****ed wet a few times too!:mad:

Countyman
06/06/2003, 3:58 PM
I dont think there is a seat in our stand where you are safe from the elements. The roof doesn't come out far enough.

Station Road will never be developed after the re-zoning.

And Newbridge Town FC dont give a **** about County.
They could sell in the morning and we'd be gone.

Plenty of greenfields opportunities exist though in Kildare. Just need the money.:(

ramsie
08/06/2003, 10:48 PM
Cobh Ramblers can fit in 9,000 remember its nearly all standing The seats we have are broken so most people stand there too.
In 1986 when we played Celtic our attandence was 8,300 and thats a fact
Not much has changed since then

Cobh Ramblers
09/06/2003, 1:52 PM
they had aload,about 7,000 at the irish games and there was still some room left!

09/06/2003, 2:30 PM
Originally posted by ramsie

In 1986 when we played Celtic our attandence was 8,300 and thats a fact
Not much has changed since then
Surely there have been some improvements to the ground since 1986 ?

09/06/2003, 3:03 PM
Might be but in Ireland ground improvement usually mean a smaller capacity (swapping a lump of clay for a new stand)

09/06/2003, 3:32 PM
yeah, turner's cross has had it's capacity reduced in the last few years but there's no doubting it's a better venue now. we might have been able to squeeze three thousand extra in before, but they would have been scrambling over mud and uneven ground.

eamoss
09/06/2003, 5:41 PM
Dundalk are hoping to add 600 - 700 new seat into Oriel.

TheRealRovers
20/06/2003, 8:50 PM
We have a new state of the art 2,000 seater stand, The Jinks Ave. stand holds 900 seated and the railway end and Shed hold about 1,500 each standing. So thats a capacity of 5,900 in the Showgrounds. But Finn Park 8,000 no way

21/06/2003, 6:14 PM
www.fussballtempel.net (http://)

Fairly comprehensive website I stumbled upon looking for info for a programme article - probably on the high side, but interesting anyway.

I'm sure some mad smart moderator can sort out why the link isn't working, but if you type it into the address box, it'll work grand...:o

UCD_4_Life
21/06/2003, 8:20 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
www.fussballtempel.net (http://)

Fairly comprehensive website I stumbled upon looking for info for a programme article - probably on the high side, but interesting anyway.

I'm sure some mad smart moderator can sort out why the link isn't working, but if you type it into the address box, it'll work grand...:o

www.fussballtempel.net

21/06/2003, 8:55 PM
Sure aren't you only a genius!:)

Any idea what I was doing wrong? I just copied the address from the address bar and put it into the http:// insertion with the box on the control panel.

UCD_4_Life
21/06/2003, 9:55 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
Sure aren't you only a genius!:)

Any idea what I was doing wrong? I just copied the address from the address bar and put it into the http:// insertion with the box on the control panel.

Just type the address in and the board automatically "parses" the address.

So I just typed www. the address. com and the board did the rest when I pressed "reply". If you get my meaning.

22/06/2003, 1:38 PM
Thought that's what I did...

Ah well, the link's there now.