get on Friday night when Scumgo Rangers travel
to The Stadium Of Tin?

Hopefully I'll be able to make it down to the game,
told work Im leaving in a few weeks so should be able
to bunk off early to get the train without fear of getting
sacked :D

parnell ranger
19/05/2003, 12:42 PM
A.t.f.c. fans have short memories.If he was any good maybe there'd be some reaction.
I dont think he' that badly missed.
I reckon we'll get a result tho,maybe 2-0.
cheers

renegAde
19/05/2003, 12:57 PM
Short memories indeed, I thought he was probably our best player last season. McCann and the other Mullen have done well but we'd still be a much better team with Stephen than we are without him.

I don't think he'll get a bad reception or anything, given that he's served the club well and almost everyone moves on at some stage. Unless he tries his 'diving in the box' tactics against us then I, for one, won't be baying for blood!

Peace,
Ade

19/05/2003, 1:02 PM
For a man played out of position he done well for us, and he
was certainly one of the fastest players we've had in a while.

Scumgo have recently been playing with 3 up front but seeing
as Stephen is best, i.m.h.o., on the wing he may drift out there
as well.

Competitiom for places up front seeing as McTiernan is firing
on all cylinders and Jordan is back from injury too. Watson and
O'Dowd are always an option up front. Not sure whether
Flannery is still around.

There might be some jibing though about the manner in which
he left Athlone. Apparently, he verbally agreeing to sign for Athlone again and Town were just waiting for the new
contracts/registration papers to be sent out
Stephen got work up there so Jimmy organised for him to train
with Scumgo and a week or 2 later he decided to join Scumgo
instead! Dunno if he rang Jimmy to let him know his plans!

Could be rubbish but thats the general jist of what I was told!

parnell ranger
20/05/2003, 4:04 PM
i dont agree Ade,
he was poor for most of the season,scored just a handful of goals.and seemed disinterested.
I think we have better quality players this year and a sounder defence.

Loyalty is a thing of the past.players will stay if they are treated well.Don o riordan is probably the best coach in the country and that can only be good for stephens game.
i just hope the youths are well looked after.
Alan kelly has come through this year and looks an excellent prospect.
There are 3 local lads currently signed to premiership clubs in england.
i doubt if any of them have played in Mels.
this has to change.

cheers :ball:

Rover
22/05/2003, 12:42 PM
yer welcome to him back...he's played about 5 games and got about 6 touches of the ball so far (including one jammy goal). Still if he knocks in a hat trick tomorrow we might hang on to him.

RedHell
22/05/2003, 7:40 PM
Who are you calling us scumgo rangers? Did you ever look around that estate at St Mels, Full of junkie scum, and calling us Rangers were not the ones wearing blue? So learn your history and keep singing your free state/loyalist songs with your blue comrades-Linfield, Rangers, Chelsea and Millwall. No wonder Mullen left you

atfconline
23/05/2003, 12:27 AM
Originally posted by RedHell
Who are you calling us scumgo rangers? Did you ever look around that estate at St Mels, Full of junkie scum, and calling us Rangers were not the ones wearing blue? So learn your history and keep singing your free state/loyalist songs with your blue comrades-Linfield, Rangers, Chelsea and Millwall. No wonder Mullen left you

Stop making an idiot of yourself will ya.

And by the way, the Sligo priest that founded Celtic, was involved in setting up us too, so there ya go.

23/05/2003, 8:52 AM
Originally posted by RedHell
Full of junkie scum, and calling us Rangers were not the ones wearing blue? So learn your history and keep

Temper temper, did you not get your Farleys Rusks yet.

It's always the idiots and morons who lash out with the
"were really a cetlic team and your rangers cos you wear blue".

Funny though, cos I though both Rangers and England come to
think of it have worn ... wait for it ... Red and White ... just like
Scumgo :D (a.f.a.i.k. both Chelsea and Millwall have worn red at
some stage too!)
So that rams that arguement right up your h*le

Anyways if you actually had an ounce of cop on you'd know that
Sligo have been dubbed Scumgo for years, particularly by Town,
for a bit of a wind up and banter, which has always been taken
as part of the rivalry - as with the Rangers part because so many
Sligo people associate the club with Celtic: Bro Walifred, Willie
McStay et al.

Then theres always the, not overly educated, comment:
"and yer all junkies etc".

Well, seeing as I actually lived in Scumgo for 3 years I can say,
without a shadow of a doubt, that Sligo have more than their fair
share of junkies, alcos and total lay abouts!

Take a chill pill (not drugs!) and go back reading your history
book ... or auto trader or whatever the preferred text of the
Sligo Sham is these days!

23/05/2003, 9:45 PM
please excuse my vocabularally challenged friend :D
Good Result for ye tonight!

shakermaker
24/05/2003, 9:56 AM
That argument was very entertaining to read so kudos to all concerned!