View Full Version : Feedback on Prices
14/11/2007, 10:48 PM
A bit of Market Research here,wwhich i'm sure those at the Club will be interested to read as much as the rest of us.
How do people in general think the prices have been perceived?It's often difficult to gauge in these circumstances because E250/E20/E25 doesn't mean the same to everybody.
To be honest i haven't heard to much complaints about the season ticket prices,bar the expected moan and groan that they've increased dramtically.Having said that i think E250 is good value myself.
However at least 5 people who i've spoken to feel the general admission prices are to high.Some guy on the .net forum received the same reaction-except his "casual" freinds won't be coming back and the rest(Non casual) won't be renewing their season tickets.
The E25 is possibly a smoke screen and the new stand will still have plenty of people in it but it will be dissapointing if come March there's more people in the old stand than new one.
With the galway public you can never guess what will happen.We might,once again,get 3000 on the opening day in March or we may pay the price,pardon the pun,and be back to 1700.
Hopefully it's not the latter.I just keep spinning off the"building to succeed"line.I think we all have to convince as many people as possible to keep with UTD.It's as much our responsiblity as nick's,Daniel's etc.
Anyone who believes in UTD and our ethos has a duty to ensure people don't neglect us now.:)
Tir Oilean
15/11/2007, 7:33 AM
I think its inevitable that people will moan about the prices simply because our season ticket was the cheapest around last year. Maybe we should have played more on the fact that it was the cheapest around or shouldve have gone for a €200 price last year. The jump wouldn't have looked as big then. Still I think if we get off to a good start the crowds will come. Will there be the usual vouchers with the season ticket?
The few I have talked too are taken aback by the increase but didnt say no to buying a season ticket outright.
Claret Murph
15/11/2007, 8:39 AM
As I have said on the pub thread Conor i am the only one in my department out of the four of us who is renewing their season ticket next season.
One lad has given up all together and the other two are just cherry picking the best games to see .
Now four friends of one and 3 of another said that they are not getting another ticket this season .
Most have said that 200 Euro would have been fair jump up until Xmas and a bit more after that .
Bottom line we are going to lose the fans we had last season over this and that means less money for the club :(:(:(
Maroon 7
15/11/2007, 11:18 AM
Had two lads ringing me last night complaining about the price increase. One said he'd probably still get a season ticket. The other wasn't sure yet.
15/11/2007, 11:42 AM
There is four Months before the season starts and considering there is the direct debit option of 3 payments and you are saving approx €70 on the league games alone I think peoples attitudes will soften.
Our biggest problem is the majority of Season Tickets last year were sold at €150 which was a give away and easily the cheapest in the premier so people are shocked to have to pay €100 more. We always buy 2 as do most of the volunteer workers at the club and we will be doing likewise this year even though we dont have to.
Claret Murph
15/11/2007, 12:00 PM
Just a quick question Gufct , so are you saying that volunteers will get in free of charge this season ?
And if so fair play to the club ......
Eire06
15/11/2007, 12:18 PM
We always buy 2 as do most of the volunteer workers at the club and we will be doing likewise this year even though we dont have to.
Well aren't you great - you should be nominated for a noble prize.
Volunteering and buying 2 tickets - legend,
you should look into getting the new stand named after your good self
WoodquayBoy
15/11/2007, 12:51 PM
Really no need for that smart a*se comment
15/11/2007, 12:58 PM
Im saying the majority of the volunteers workers always buy a season ticket not looking for praise just stating a fact.
Tir Oilean
15/11/2007, 1:04 PM
Well aren't you great - you should be nominated for a noble prize.
Volunteering and buying 2 tickets - legend,
you should look into getting the new stand named after your good self
The attitude of some people is unbelievable. I think its a great thing that the directors and people involved in runing the club buy season tickets. They don't do it to look good they do it as they believe in the club. If they didnt see it worthwhile buying them it would be hard for them to go out and sell them to the public in fairness.
Volunteering for a club truely is a thankless job when you see the likes of the comment above.
Eire06
15/11/2007, 1:19 PM
Ah will ye ever get over yourselves.
The price has gone up a lot people are allowed to voice their opinions on the matter, a lot of people especially with children now will be paying much more to go to matches and a lot cannot afford to be paying it every second week.
They don't need to hear well I'm great I'm not just buying 1 I'm buying 2 - possibly 1 for me and the other for my ego.
GUFCT if you didn't mean it like that so be it, but thats the way it reads to me.
ShamTalk
15/11/2007, 1:29 PM
The following figures are based on an attendance of 2,200 adult supporters per home league game made up of 700 Season Ticket Holders for 2008 plus 1,500 adult supporters at 17 homes games in a season.
Nick Leeson states that turnover for 2007 was €1,000,000 with an expected increase in turnover of 20% in 2008 to a total of €1,200,000.
1) By cherry picking matches and attending no more than 12 home league games (70% of home games) then you save on the price of a season ticket.
2) Season Ticket prices increase is 42.86% on 2007 prices
3) Match day ticket increase is 33.33% on 2007 prices.
4) Selling 700 season tickets at €250 will give an increased revenue of €52,500 or will contribute 4.4% to the 2008 projected turnover
5) Having 1,500 adults pay at the turnstiles for 17 home league matches will increase revenue by €127,500 or will contribute 10.63% to the 2008 projected turnover.
By these figures, 75% of the proposed increased turnover to €1,200,000 will be garnered from increases in ticket prices.
With an increased profile of Galway United FC, it should be hoped and expected that the local business community would row in behind the club to help them achieve their ambitions for 2008.
Ah will ye ever get over yourselves.
The price has gone up a lot people are allowed to voice their opinions on the matter, a lot of people especially with children now will be paying much more to go to matches and a lot cannot afford to be paying it every second week.
They don't need to hear well I'm great I'm not just buying 1 I'm buying 2 - possibly 1 for me and the other for my ego.
GUFCT if you didn't mean it like that so be it, but thats the way it reads to me.
Eire get over yourself I said we not I and anyone who knows me doesnt need everything spelt out for them. :(
Eire06
15/11/2007, 2:00 PM
Eire get over yourself I said we not I and anyone who knows me doesnt need everything spelt out for them. :(
Does we not include you as well, it does not state who the other(s) in the 'we' were so I just replied to you.
And this is a public forum sorry but not everyone knows you, so sometimes you do need to spell it out.
ShamTalk, it would be great for the club if those proposed figures do work out, but I think unless the performances on the pitch dramatically improve a lot of the 'pay on the gate' fans won't fork out €20\€25 to go
The following figures are based on an attendance of 2,200 adult supporters per home league game made up of 700 Season Ticket Holders for 2008 plus 1,500 adult supporters at 17 homes games in a season.
Nick Leeson states that turnover for 2007 was €1,000,000 with an expected increase in turnover of 20% in 2008 to a total of €1,200,000.
1) By cherry picking matches and attending no more than 12 home league games (70% of home games) then you save on the price of a season ticket.
2) Season Ticket prices increase is 42.86% on 2007 prices
3) Match day ticket increase is 33.33% on 2007 prices.
4) Selling 700 season tickets at €250 will give an increased revenue of €52,500 or will contribute 4.4% to the 2008 projected turnover
5) Having 1,500 adults pay at the turnstiles for 17 home league matches will increase revenue by €127,500 or will contribute 10.63% to the 2008 projected turnover.
By these figures, 75% of the proposed increased turnover to €1,200,000 will be garnered from increases in ticket prices.
With an increased profile of Galway United FC, it should be hoped and expected that the local business community would row in behind the club to help them achieve their ambitions for 2008.
1500 paying customers on averages would be 1/3 adults 1/3 students/oap
1/3 children which totals alot less that 1500 adults
thats a general figure based on attendances at all games in league
galwayhoop
15/11/2007, 2:20 PM
imo even without the increase in prices the attendances for the season just gone would have been hard to replicate without the performance on the pitch/league position improving radically.
i'm sure a lot of people bought season tickets last season for novelty value (i personally know at least 4 people who would never had bought one before) and would need to be pushed to buy again this year (even at last years prices) - the increase in price has tipped the scale unfortunately.
gloryglorygufc
15/11/2007, 4:54 PM
There is four Months before the season starts and considering there is the direct debit option of 3 payments and you are saving approx €70 on the league games alone I think peoples attitudes will soften.
Buy a season ticket at €250, miss more than 3 games over the course of the summer (not inconcievable) then the value of the ticket is gone.
If the club are adamant about this pricing structure, what about some kind of ticket exchange scheme, so if you are a season ticket holder and you miss a game you can sell your "seat" for that game for a % of the value. Don't know hpw it would be implemented but there are people paid to come up with those bits;)
corbyeire
15/11/2007, 5:10 PM
there are two ways of looking at it in relation to season tickets anyway
one is the value for money - if thats the case well then youll have to make sure you make all home games
the other is supporting the club through your purchase - and i think that is the point that is being laboured by nick leeson or at least should be the focus of it
you had better believe when i say there are plenty of supporters looking for value for money and this new price regieme has people thinking about it - from those ive been talking to at least
personally i dont think of the season ticket as a means to financially show my support the club (i know full well it is) - if i want to do that there is the lotto etc.
the main thing is get punters through the gates and im not so sure about this price structure
Patrick Dunne
15/11/2007, 5:11 PM
At the very least, 17 home games in the Premier Division.
17 x E25 = E425
Season ticket = E250
Cost saving = E175 (Seven matches)
corbyeire
15/11/2007, 5:13 PM
personally i think the numbers will drop off and it will be a combination of price, novelty wearing off and the standard of hoofball fresh in the mind!
gloryglorygufc
15/11/2007, 5:52 PM
At the very least, 17 home games in the Premier Division.
17 x E25 = E425
Season ticket = E250
Cost saving = E175 (Seven matches)
Or 17 x E20 = E340
Season ticket = E250
Cost saving = E90 (4.5 matches)
If you aren't bothered about the new stand.
And this could be reduced further if we only get 16 home games (33/2 =16.5)
gloryglorygufc
15/11/2007, 5:57 PM
there are two ways of looking at it in relation to season tickets anyway
one is the value for money - if thats the case well then youll have to make sure you make all home games
the other is supporting the club through your purchase - and i think that is the point that is being laboured by nick leeson or at least should be the focus of it
you had better believe when i say there are plenty of supporters looking for value for money and this new price regieme has people thinking about it - from those ive been talking to at least
personally i dont think of the season ticket as a means to financially show my support the club (i know full well it is) - if i want to do that there is the lotto etc.
the main thing is get punters through the gates and im not so sure about this price structure
What was served up this past season could in no way be termed value for money - only 4 home wins.
Showing support should be a two way street, we can show ours in the obvious way of buying tix etc, but in what way has the club shown support to existing ticket holders with this announcement?
And in what way are they showing their support to the other 1000 or so regular visitors to Terryland who didn't shell out for a season ticket last year?
Yes E250 is not a huge sum in the grand scheme of things, but the way that this has been done and the poor justification for it just doesn't sit well with me.
Paddyfield
15/11/2007, 6:19 PM
Can you do a Poll -
Will you buy a 2008 season ticket?
I reckon one or two high profile signings would boost sales. Bobby Ryan? Hawkins?
Also, the Club should strike a deal with Connacht Rugby to avoid playing on the same night.
PS Is BaileBan (still?) banned from this site? I'd be interested to hear his view
15/11/2007, 7:01 PM
His views can be seen on the other forum.
He's on the same page as Eire 06-not happy with gufct.
Agree with those who are questioning the value for money.No way is E25-value for money.
To be honest a poll on this forum would be pointless.Most of us are going to buy a season ticket anyway.
It's the other 1000.....what will they do?To be honest at this moment in time....i think there's alot of discontent out there and this move may just be a step to far.You can't finish 8th,win 4 games all year and not expect people to question having to pay E25 into Terryland.
E20 would be fair enough......there shouldn't be any extra charge for the new stand IMO.
galwaygooner
15/11/2007, 7:20 PM
[quote=Conor H;815868]His views can be seen on the other forum.
He's on the same page as Eire 06-not happy with gufct.
What is the other forum
Demoshield
15/11/2007, 9:54 PM
We have a group of 10 adults, 6 of us bring 9 children between us, to games.
Varying levels of Interest in GUFC.
4 adults are season ticket holders since the start.
2 adults bought season tickets for the first time last year.
3 adults would attend on average half home games, pay as you go.
Reaction to the new pricing as follows:
Four die hards no problem with the €250 for season ticket. All attend 99% of home games, and are happy to shell out.
2 first time buyers, 1 will be renewing as he has gotten the bug, 1 will not as he wasn’t impressed with what was on offer on the pitch, and is not sure how often he will visit Terryland next season. Will not shell out €250 on the chance that things might improve. Will go to a couple of games and see what’s on offer.
3 adults who go to some games, really ****ed off. These people would be of the “older” generation, like new stand not to fond of all the noise in the old one. Have no intention of paying €25 eight times a year, say the will cut back and go the bigger games only.
All have no real problem with scrapping the kids go free as it was a pain in the butt when kids were let run amok. All thought it could be reduced for more kids €5, 2 for €8, 3 for €10. One man brings 3 kids, €25 plus €15, not to mention chips, programme etc. Expensive 90min.
All are thoroughly opposed to €25 for new stand. All feel it is just too expensive to watch a match on a regular basis, €20 max. People will say the GAA charge it or rugby charge it. GAA charge it, how many times a year is Pearse stadium even half full? Once or twice. Deserted for league games, and if they had 16 home games a season there would be even less in it. Rugby draw a fair % from those who don’t have to look at their bank balance, to see if the can afford something and also get crap attendances except for a few big games per season.
All feel the greatest insult of all is charging someone who buys a season ticket at any time extra to go into new stand.
All also feel the pricing policy will be impossible to enforce, and will make stewards life a misery, a lot of irate people. Very large signs will be needed to inform people what ticket will let you go where in the ground. Can see it being abandoned after a few games when the shiny new stand is half empty every game.
Those of us who use the old stand also ****ed off at having to march around the ground to get to your seat, especially with the visiting team taking pot shots at you. Only matter of time ‘till someone is hurt. Mentioned it to a steward said he would pass it on to the club.
Sorry it took so long, but hey are the opinions of our little group for what they are worth. Alot of casual supporters remain to be convinced about the merits of €25 to see a game. Don’t all shoot the messenger!!
Galwaygooner: the other forum is http://www.galwayunitedfc.net
Square Heir
15/11/2007, 10:06 PM
Guys, this sickens me.
The general feeling amongst ordinary punters seems to be 'it would be great to have a successful team playing good football as long as someone else pays for it?!'
Does this annoy anyone else?
exiled_gufc_fan
15/11/2007, 10:20 PM
Also, the Club should strike a deal with Connacht Rugby to avoid playing on the same night.
Agreed - both clubs are shooting themselves in the foot if they don't work together on this one.
The seasons overlap only at the start and end of the season.
Connacht giver their fixture list to United, United ask FAI to not have home fixture clash.
Then United pass their fixtures to Connacht for new season Connacht return the favour.
Should not be too difficult. Especially given the ties the GUFC Chairman has to Connacht Rugby!
Such an arrangement would benefit the coffers of both teams, and would benefit those fans who would like to see both teams fixtures. It would have to be done if we were ground sharing, so why not??
Demoshield
15/11/2007, 10:40 PM
Guys, this sickens me.
The general feeling amongst ordinary punters seems to be 'it would be great to have a successful team playing good football as long as someone else pays for it?!'
Does this annoy anyone else?
Yep, but IMO I think it's the concept of watching you team play 20 times a year that most don't grasp. In Ireland the definition of being a real sports fan, until recently was going to watch your county GAA team play in a provincial final, all Ireland semi & final. Or for the rugby set it was a couple of interprovincials a year. Since expanding their competitions both rugby & GAA are regularly played in front of near empty grounds apart from the few big games a year. Thats why GUFC supporters think €250 for a season ticket is grand & the less dedicated supporter thinks €25 is a rip off every second week. The club have to work on getting more people to go regularly and eventually they will cough up for a season ticket because they are good value. Could they possibility of a half season ticket be looked at? €125 for 8game something like that, to get them into the habit.
eamo1
15/11/2007, 11:45 PM
i thought that if you bought a season ticket before christmas you get guarenteed access to the new stand,yes?my mum has bought a season ticket every year for the last few seasons and will most likely buy one but she said if she was guarenteed a seat in new stand then she will def buy one before christmas.
a student ticket going up 20euros,not bad at all,120-id pay triple that:).
16/11/2007, 12:00 AM
120-id pay triple that:).Buy an adult one so;)
gilberto_eire
16/11/2007, 12:05 AM
i thought that if you bought a season ticket before christmas you get guarenteed access to the new stand,yes?my mum has bought a season ticket every year for the last few seasons and will most likely buy one but she said if she was guarenteed a seat in new stand then she will def buy one before christmas.
a student ticket going up 20euros,not bad at all,120-id pay triple that:).
actually was 80 odd euro last time!!
galwaygooner
16/11/2007, 6:29 AM
Four die hards no problem with the €250 for season ticket. All attend 99% of home games, and are happy to shell out.
2 first time buyers, 1 will be renewing as he has gotten the bug, 1 will not as he wasn’t impressed with what was on offer on the pitch, and is not sure how often he will visit Terryland next season. Will not shell out €250 on the chance that things might improve. Will go to a couple of games and see what’s on offer.
3 adults who go to some games, really ****ed off. These people would be of the “older” generation, like new stand not to fond of all the noise in the old one. Have no intention of paying €25 eight times a year, say the will cut back and go the bigger games only.
All have no real problem with scrapping the kids go free as it was a pain in the butt when kids were let run amok. All thought it could be reduced for more kids €5, 2 for €8, 3 for €10. One man brings 3 kids, €25 plus €15, not to mention chips, programme etc. Expensive 90min.
All are thoroughly opposed to €25 for new stand. All feel it is just too expensive to watch a match on a regular basis, €20 max. People will say the GAA charge it or rugby charge it. GAA charge it, how many times a year is Pearse stadium even half full? Once or twice. Deserted for league games, and if they had 16 home games a season there would be even less in it. Rugby draw a fair % from those who don’t have to look at their bank balance, to see if the can afford something and also get crap attendances except for a few big games per season.
All feel the greatest insult of all is charging someone who buys a season ticket at any time extra to go into new stand.
All also feel the pricing policy will be impossible to enforce, and will make stewards life a misery, a lot of irate people. Very large signs will be needed to inform people what ticket will let you go where in the ground. Can see it being abandoned after a few games when the shiny new stand is half empty every game.
Those of us who use the old stand also ****ed off at having to march around the ground to get to your seat, especially with the visiting team taking pot shots at you. Only matter of time ‘till someone is hurt. Mentioned it to a steward said he would pass it on to the club.
Sorry it took so long, but hey are the opinions of our little group for what they are worth. Alot of casual supporters remain to be convinced about the merits of €25 to see a game. Don’t all shoot the messenger!!
Cheers Demoshield
Claret Murph
16/11/2007, 6:57 AM
I can see them scraping the new stand idea to tell you the truth , which reminds me of the Celtic game last season when they just opened the new stand for everyone as not too many wanted or did pay the extra to sit there .
Now it looks like I will have to give up my seat in the middle section as this has been set aside for gold and silver and corporate season ticket holder , will this last if they only fill 20 or 30 seats ?
The section C boys don't want to move from the old stand so wants in it for them ?
The club should have done a two teir ticket price and have scraped the 25 Euro for the new stand , again one price before Xmas and another after .
corbyeire
16/11/2007, 9:19 AM
i think they will reassess the whole structure when the uptake starts looking very low - should have definitely have the 2 tier structure again this year
there is absolutely no point in having the new stand half empty
All season tickets will be barcoded and each category will be a different colour(Likewise matchday tickets).
Its strange the amount of uproar over the price of tickets but no one has come up with a solution to the problem the club has. The supporters want us to be pushing for honours,playing attractive football but dont want to fund the expenditure to make this happen.
Our season tickets were seriously underpriced last season with the majority being bought for €150 which makes the price hike seem massive now. So anyone any ideas rather than just knocking the price rise.
GuisaSaigon
16/11/2007, 9:44 AM
Im not a big fan of the two tier Pricing system but €250 a season ticket is OK by me. If the club is to move forward as supporters we need to invest in it. I also find it a bit worrying that our most of the ideas that helped make last years season ticket drive the most successful ever have been ignored this year.
A seat in the new stand is probably not going to entice me into spending €250 of my much needed Christmas shopping money. A Pre-Christmas discount would have made me think about it.
Although the only vouchers I used all year got me a free Bagel and a meal in Fat Freddys, I think the vouchers helped sell season tickets to people who normally wouldn't buy one. It might have been a little shortsighted to scrap the voucher scheme. It only needed to be revamped, Businesses offering decent vouchers could have been given an ad in the programme.
The bottom line though is, if you want a Premier Division Club in Galway, buy a season ticket. Galway United might never have a better chance of being up there with the best in the country, we all know what the alternative is.
I'd imagine that this price raise may be related to the fact that the Sunderland Friendly was hugely lucrative this year, and there may be no guarantee (there might of course, I'm speculating) of a similarly big bonanza next year. Harps of course face a similar scenario having had a big boost from the Celtic game this year. To raise the budget to even a modest degree next year, both clubs will have to substantially increase gate receipts and/or commercial income.
16/11/2007, 10:33 AM
There will a list of businesses offering discounts to season ticket holders rather than vouchers and this will be announced later.I would have thought a pre christmas reduction of €25 for existing season ticket holders but the problem with that was that last year the majority of people refused to pay the full price €175 even after the deadline was past.
JC_GUFC
16/11/2007, 10:45 AM
So anyone any ideas rather than just knocking the price rise.
I thought you of all people would have learned by now... NO!
16/11/2007, 11:04 AM
Cheers Julian any word from Alan Cawley. Reckon we will have our strongest squad starting off a season in a long long while in march.
JC_GUFC
16/11/2007, 11:22 AM
No, he's actually left the world of gambling and is now apparently selling glasses frames around the country!
One of the lads he used to work with promised me his number so when I'm back in tomorrow I'll see what he's up to, maybe I can work as his agent! :D
Napoleon
16/11/2007, 12:06 PM
If we want to move forward it's going to cost more money. Simple as that. I never go to the new stand but that is my choice so i don't mind paying for it.
And fair play to all the volunteers it's a thankless job. I do some work for Connacht and i wouldn't dream of buying a season ticket. F**k them!:)
Gaillimh Al
16/11/2007, 4:47 PM
Here's my tuppence worth on this emotive issue:
A friend of mine from Dundalk who lives in Galway bought a season ticket last year for 150euro, excited at the prospect of watching Premier Division football every week. He has no emotional atachment to the club but was hoping to see some good football every 2nd Friday. We may have achieved our ultimate goal this season of staying up, but a lot of the football on display has been wretched, and not just from Utd. I haven't had the chance to ask him if he'll be renewing or not, but I would very much doubt it.
It's well and good saying the club needs more money to progress and all Utd's hardcore support will agree with this, but it's a big leap of faith to ask the ordinary punter for more money "because hopefully it will get better". A bigger budget is not a guarantee of success or that standards will improve. The ordinary punter wants a guarantee of value for money., which I don't think is in place at present.
The club is in a perilous position in that it is in an unusual situation where 3 teams are to be relegated, thus funds are needed for players fast. I think we need to force home how bad it would be to go back to First Divison football when marketing the season tickets. Who wants to go back to playing Kilkenny and Monaghan, that sort of thing. Compare it with the dream of some day having European Football at Terryland. Why aren't the ads in the papers already? Get a promo video done for City Channel.
An idea for the new stand. Have a season's pass for the stand. Charge 30 euro for it and it gives you access(provided there's a seat) for the season. Or a free programme for your extra fiver per game. Probably crap idea but there you go.
gloryglorygufc
16/11/2007, 6:17 PM
So anyone any ideas rather than just knocking the price rise.
The club didn't deem the loyal supporters important enough to consult before this decision so why should they now?
What can be done? for a start
1.Reward all renewals of season tickets with a discounted price.
2. I personally had expected a two tier pricing structure for new stand vs general admission, so was disappointed in that.
3. Closer entrance for season ticket holders - its a farce making us walk the whole way around the ground to get to our preferred vantage points.
The big issue is selling a E20 + E5 match ticket to the "floating voters". Need to be very creative here.
gloryglorygufc
16/11/2007, 6:19 PM
Tremendous post - well thought out, logical and sensible.
Well done that man