View Full Version : Relegation

09/11/2007, 8:44 PM
Heard the game on the radio. What an effort. We went down fighting and in style. So proud but absolutely gutted, it hurts. We're in the Cup Final at least but this absolutely cuts. Well done Town, a mighty effort to give us a fighting chance, we went down off the pitch rather than on. Roll on the Cup Final. But we'll be back. :(

09/11/2007, 9:18 PM
Hero & Memories.

Thanks.

09/11/2007, 11:36 PM
im to sick to drink. Left the pub early. Gutted. Gutted. Gutted.

To Alan, Trevor and the players thankyou so much for the effort put in. Hopefully we can upset the langers in the final.

09/11/2007, 11:40 PM
I don't really know why but I'm gutted too. Hard luck lads, hate to see clubs go down when they've earned enough points. Even the FAI took the points off at the end ye'd be safe.

Forgot to mention it at the time but I haven't seen better support in Belfield for a long time (league game), not even taking into account your position in the table. Keep the faith lads, fair play.

09/11/2007, 11:42 PM
Cheers man. Appreciated.

10/11/2007, 2:24 AM
With the change to a ten team league next seasons-end, it's a good year to go down and a bad year to be promoted in.
Longford should have enough to top that division, even if ye lose a player or two.

10/11/2007, 8:21 AM
Over the last 8 years, we've have had players come and go who were far better footballers then the squad we have today, but not one of those footballers had any sort of heart and determination like our current squad do. I've never seen a team work so hard week in week out and I would like to thank them for that. Absolute legends to me, every one of them.

10/11/2007, 11:07 AM
I have only seen a few games this year but the fight we put up when most teams would have just lay over and died, it was amazing. Quite down about it, but the Town's battle has inspired me. Hard luck lads.

10/11/2007, 11:26 AM
The fight has been amazing....could never fault Alan and the players. Sheer devastation at going for those lads. It was so emotional in Flancare last night

6points taken by FAI...were the difference but were taken for a reason albeit harsh all the same.

Lets get our house in order to make sure this never happens again!

10/11/2007, 2:19 PM
absolutely heartbroken. went on the lash with the sect o lads still doesnt numb the pain. the best squad we have ever had for honesty and commitment it has being a pleasure supporting these lads. its goin to be big changes for next season. to hell with it we will win the fai cup for these players we deserve to and it was some performance to beat derry last night.

its goin to take a long while to get over this..

10/11/2007, 3:17 PM
So who's going or staying? Anyone in for Mooney? Will Deego head off? Not sure half the squad will want to stick around to be honest. Mathews will probably wait for the next vacancy to pop up or do his whole 'housewives favourite' thing on the telly. Any local players coming up through the ranks?

10/11/2007, 3:21 PM
So who's going or staying? Anyone in for Mooney? Will Deego head off? Not sure half the squad will want to stick around to be honest. Mathews will probably wait for the next vacancy to pop up or do his whole 'housewives favourite' thing on the telly. Any local players coming up through the ranks?

according to am last night pauro practically the whole squad are out of contract. it was mentioned last night that a lot of the big clubs are sniffin around our players as well...

paul kelly is back playing with the under 21s hes a mostrim lad mousies brother is also with the under 21s as well stephen a really good prospect.. mooney has a good few of the uk lower league clubs eating out of his hand...
not sure what matthews will do next.. maybe to shels ?

10/11/2007, 3:25 PM
Longford should have enough to top that division, even if ye lose a player or two.
Without wanting to rub things into the Longford lads, I think the next couple of years will be about regrouping. Can see them losing more than a player or two - with their reported financial problems, they really have to be looking to get rid of all their more experienced players and getting in some cheaper, younger, players. Can see next year for Longford being like Shels' 2007 season.

10/11/2007, 3:33 PM
agree with u on that pineapple. its an end of an era ere at flansiro I can see us spending the next good couple of years trying to get out this division like galway or sligo!

10/11/2007, 3:51 PM
agree with u on that pineapple. its an end of an era ere at flansiro I can see us spending the next good couple of years trying to get out this division like galway or sligo!

In fairness, its not as if Galway grafted their way out of the division. More like gifted. But its a tough league to get out of. We spent the best part of 15 years getting out!

10/11/2007, 5:37 PM
Wouldn't be so sure of ye going straight back up lads, I have a feeling Shelbourne are going come back strong next year. That said a lot of people tipped Athlone to win it this year!

Like one of the UCD lads said though, it's probably the best year ye could have picked to be relegated, given whats coming next year

12/11/2007, 9:17 AM
Wouldn't be so sure of ye going straight back up lads,
I wouldn't think there's any genuine expectation of getting straight back up at this stage, given it'll be a totally new team with most likely a new manager.

Sonic
12/11/2007, 9:51 AM
David Cassidy robbie clarke dave mcgill ian ryan jamie duffy paulk shiels alan reynolds john mcguiness dave o connor and andy myler have all been released from rovers. Surprising that Cassidy is released I thought he was decent. Maybe we could grab one or two for next season no??

12/11/2007, 9:59 AM
Wouldn't be so sure of ye going straight back up lads, I have a feeling Shelbourne are going come back strong next year.

Shels rumoured to be spending big for the new season.

We tried that, we managed to spend big but unfortunately
we spent it on wasters! :mad:

atfconline
12/11/2007, 1:30 PM
Shels rumoured to be spending big for the new season.

We tried that, we managed to spend big but unfortunately
we spent it on wasters! :mad:

According to a statement from them, they may not even have the budget they had this season, next season. They had to go drawing down more money from their developer friend this season.