View Full Version : City v City... Update

15/05/2003, 7:41 PM
0-0 at half time.

James is at the game and according to him "we're doing ok", oh and we're playing in Navy (why? I don't know!)

15/05/2003, 8:36 PM
Originally posted by Colm
0-0 at half time.

James is at the game and according to him "we're doing ok", oh and we're playing in Navy (why? I don't know!)
Fair play to him !
Anyone else from Cork make it up?

Oh yeah, another nil all draw..:(

15/05/2003, 8:52 PM
1-0 Derry '89 minute! Beckett scored it.

aaahh feic

15/05/2003, 8:55 PM
suppose its a point away from home

15/05/2003, 8:58 PM
Apparantly the goal was a great strike, fcuk sake!

We're on a bit of a bad run so by the looks of it. Lost to Rovers, drew with Waterford and lost to Derry. We've now got to beat Shels next week, nothing else will do. I'd be hoping for a draw between Bohs and Shels tomorrow now.

C'mon City, we know we're good enough.

15/05/2003, 9:12 PM
It sounds as if Derry were poor but City were even more so.
James: "We played just like we did all last year away"
That doesn't sound too good, hopefully Dolan will sort it out and we'll against Shels we'll play like we did against UCD/Bohs/Longford.
Poor crowd tonight of only 1500.

15/05/2003, 9:18 PM
Oh Jebus.
I was p*ssed off with the nil all, but this is a disaster.

15/05/2003, 9:21 PM
Yeah lads,

Youse had a navy rig on with Guinness as the sponsor except Flynny and George didn't have any sponsors on their shirts?
Teetotallers?

Full report to follow

15/05/2003, 9:53 PM
Wouldnt be too worried. The Brandywell is a graveyard for us, we all know that. I mean, it really would have been asking too much for 3 wins from Belfield, Flansiro AND Brandywell.

Just peed off that the goal came so late.

And lets be fair, we are punching above our weight at the mo, so to speak, considering our midfield needs a major facelift.

Still though, we need 3 points aginst Shels, for good attendances if nothing else.

dejan
15/05/2003, 10:07 PM
well it looks like the away form bogey has returned to haunt :)

cfcgirl
15/05/2003, 10:28 PM
PITY THE GOAL came so late in the game. it was only a matter of time before derrys poor results would continue unlucky for city that derry are starting to pick up.

15/05/2003, 10:31 PM
Derry City claimed a well deserved three points against a poor Cork City side at the Brandywell this evening and so continue their climb up the table.

In truth the 1-0 scoreline was scarce justice for a City side who had dominated the second half but had to rely on a late, late Gary Beckett strike that was to prove the difference between the sides.

City were boosted before the game with the news that defensive duo McCrystal and McCallion had recovered from groin problems and returned to the starting eleven.

There was a gusting wind which made play difficult in the opening stages with visitors, have the advantage to theirs backs having the better of the game without really creating any clear cuts chances. Indeed George O’Callaghan spurned their only real opportunity when he shot well wide after a goal run. The physical build of the Cork side meant that they proved dangerous at set pieces but the Derry defence dealt admirably with any danger.

Indeed it was the latter stages of the first half before Derry seemed to get to grips with the conditions and create any moves of their own. Padraig Moran ran on to a Martyn pass and shot early past an advancing Devine, only to see the ball roll agonisingly wide. Moran also was involved in a tangle with the Cork stopper where he appeared to push the ball round Devine and seemed to be impeded as he tried to hurdle the keeper. Referee Kelly didn’t see it that way, a decision which caused a flood of protests from the home side.

As the first period drew to a close Derry came into the game and a series of corners created a number of chances. The pick of these was a worked corner which saw Sean Friars run onto the ball in the box and fire a shot which Devine did well to get a hand to, the ball spinning just past Eamonn Doherty’s outstretched leg.

The wind, which had been such and influence in the first half seemed to slacken during the break and the second half was a much better spectacle for those on the terrace.

Derry really took the game to their opponents with Ciaran Martyn and Eamonn Doherty winning the midfield duel with Doyle and O’Halloran. It was from this platform that Derry crafted the chances of the second period.

McGlynn and Fiars, Derry’s wingers were tormenting the Cork backline as they produced a collection of dangerous crosses. Ciaran Martyn headed across the goal and Eamonn Doherty just failed to connect. Doherty then saw a header of his own hit the base of the post and roll wide. Sean Friars was set up by Eddie McCallion and he dropped the shoulder and powered into the area, firing a low shot which hit the post and rebounded into the grateful hands of Devine. Murray was also forced to clear a ball of the line from a corner as Derry searched for the breakthrough.

O’Flynn and O’Callaghan, the hottest pairing in the league right now with 12 goals became increasingly frustrated with the trickle of balls that they were receiving. They began to drop deeper and deeper into their own half to pick up the ball, but there was to be no respite for the Leesiders.

Indeed their best chance almost came from a mistake by Forde in the City nets. He chose to pass a ball from a throw back to Paddy McLaughlin and was nearly caught out by O’Flynn. Indeed Cork seemed to be restricted to long punts up the field for their attackers to chase and it was from one of this that O’Callaghan found himself clear on the edge of the box. He sent his effort soaring over the bar, much to the chagrin of his partner who gesticulated his distaste that he had not chosen to square the ball to the unmarked number nine.

City used this as a wake up call and drove forward for the remaining moments of the game. However as the assistant produced his board to signal additional time City fans must have though this was the one that had “got away” and wishing that signature of Eddie Annand had been secured for this fixture. Cork players must have though they had escaped with a share of the spoils when only one minute of additional time was indicated.

However Gary Beckett was to provide his own perfect ending to the night in stoppage time. He got the ball 25 yards out and swivelled goal wards instantly. He cut infield and let fly a scorching effort which flew past Devine and into the top corner. This sent the home fans into delirium and the player’s celebrations matched the levels of joy on the terraces.

15/05/2003, 10:31 PM
another nil-nil is kind of depressing though, we have ability up front in John and george but it hasn't taken teams long to figure if you can shut them down then we'll struggle for goals from elsewhere. i don't like the sound of the long ball creeping into our play. while it's not the end of the world, but one point in three games is not the form you want heading up to shels.

15/05/2003, 10:34 PM
Bias I know lads but seriously youse were poor tonight
Punching above your weight is right, just like we are punching below ours

Soko
15/05/2003, 10:48 PM
We have $hels at home and will probably be played off the park again if we don't improve. No one could have honestly thought we have been superb so far and it is impossible to carry players like billy and the ever useless O' Grady.

Dr.Nightdub
16/05/2003, 1:11 AM
It's starting, it's starting...

Wanna buy a second-hand "Dolan Out" banner? :D

TommyT
16/05/2003, 1:23 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
Oh yeah, another nil all draw..:(

Thanks, I enjoyed that.

Soko
16/05/2003, 1:44 AM
Were fine for banners at the moment thanks. Would'nt mind some baseball bats thought to break O' Gradys legs though. Tommy T, your kind specialise in this kind of area, any chance you could help us out?

16/05/2003, 7:38 AM
New Book available in the club shop

"How to sh*t the bed away at Derry in the last minute every shagging time."

We are now officially a club in crisis.

16/05/2003, 8:50 AM
Originally posted by razor

Christ and I thought Bohs fans were over reacting... Mind you if we win tonight we're ahead of you :)

Dricky
16/05/2003, 9:06 AM
Originally posted by razor

Why has the coffee run out or something???

Long season left, theres the June 1st transfers around the corner so getting a mid feilder is important as we just don''t have the strength or skill there.

Could we clone a Dave Barry????

Dricky
16/05/2003, 9:08 AM
By all accounts we deserved to lose and by the accounts I read the goal was class.

dcfc89
16/05/2003, 9:23 AM
Aye but it was for the Derry City website, so we know what City he was talking about..............

16/05/2003, 9:47 AM
Originally posted by Conor74
Let's all calm down.

We lost to last minute goals at Rovers and Derry.
true but you also got a last minute winner at home to Bohs, if you had drawn all three you'd still have only 3 points

16/05/2003, 10:44 AM
The game was ****e.
Five City fans there.
The goal was class.
Devine was a v busy man.

Verdict: Midfield non existant again. Three bad league games in a row with only one goal from play + one penalty in those games.

Shels will be v important.

16/05/2003, 12:14 PM
It's in midfield the squad needs to be strengthened. O'Grady isn't the same since his bad injury last year.

Greg is a great battler but you need somebody to be passing to George & JohnO.

A few goals from midfield would also help. Nobody but the 2 O's has scored in the League.

How about trying Doyle in centre midfield?

Dolan hasn't really increased the squad yet so we're probably optimistic to expect massive improvements on last year so soon.

I'd say wait until the end of the first round of games before coming to any conclusions.

16/05/2003, 2:35 PM
just like to point out the reason we lost and its nothing to do with the wonderful stike from 25yards right at the v end of the game

its cause Mr troy mclure uttering the following sentence
"they're gona score now"

and low and behold 6 seconds later they score

game over

well done troy... ya langar

16/05/2003, 4:11 PM
Originally posted by GWA
Wouldnt be too worried. The Brandywell is a graveyard for us, we all know that. I mean, it really would have been asking too much for 3 wins from Belfield, Flansiro AND Brandywell.

Just peed off that the goal came so late.

And lets be fair, we are punching above our weight at the mo, so to speak, considering our midfield needs a major facelift.

Still though, we need 3 points aginst Shels, for good attendances if nothing else.

well er um yeah and no
we did well there last year 0-0 but we should have won it
derry were and still are no great shakes
why cant we get / expect 3 away wins from such poor teams as derry ucd and longford, bohs and shels wud
the not expecting too much attitude is reminiscent of the gunther ****e from last year, the boys are an honest bunch of lads etc etc we cant expect to be as dominant away from home blah blah the ref was against us, we always have problems playing in ground x blah blah

Cork City shud always beat the likes of those teams around the bottom of the table and derry included the way they are playing this season so far

that said its very hard to win games WHEN YPU HAVE NO MIDFIELD
bar greg to speak of.. doyler was poor, billy was billy and conor is nothing remotely like what he was before the injury.

Sort it out Pat please..

16/05/2003, 4:16 PM
Oh and least i forget
Derry City have the cutest Stewards i've seen in eircom league football
2 tastey blondes watched over us the whole of the second half :)

16/05/2003, 4:28 PM
Originally posted by James

why cant we get / expect 3 away wins from such poor teams as derry ucd and longford, bohs and shels wud
the expecting too much attitude is reminiscent of the gunther ****e from last year, the boys are an honest bunch of lads etc etc we cant expect to be as dominant away from home blah blah the ref was against us, we always have problems playing in ground x blah blah

Cork City shud always beat the likes of those teams around the bottom of the table and derry included the way they are playing this season so far

Agreed, we've got to expect to win EVERY game and especially games against teams who we know are far inferior to us. We can't accept defeat just because we haven't got much at any given ground in the past.
We've got to act like we're the best, even if we're not, a small time attitude will get us nowhere.
Anyway, Dolan is a motivator and will pick the players up and have them really geared up for the game against Shels. It's nowhere near a crisis yet folks, don't panic.

16/05/2003, 5:41 PM
1. Agreed, we've got to expect to win EVERY game and especially games against teams who we know are far inferior to us. We can't accept defeat just because we haven't got much at any given ground in the past.
We've got to act like we're the best, even if we're not, a small time attitude will get us nowhere.
2. Anyway, Dolan is a motivator and will pick the players up and have them really geared up for the game against Shels.
3.It's nowhere near a crisis yet folks, don't panic.
1. Spot on.
2. Motivation is all very well, but if we do not have the players....
Thers no point in playing Conor next week, somebody else must be put in there. He is in a terrible patch of form at the moment, and Dave Warren, C T, Buckley or someone else must play. Playing Conor is like starting with ten men.
3. Agreed.

brandywellpride
16/05/2003, 5:44 PM
Agreed, we've got to expect to win EVERY game and especially games against teams who we know are far inferior to us.

Well last night Cork were very much the "inferior" team.

For the five Cork fans there, they didn't see much action down there end of the pitch in the 2nd half!

Derry hit the post twice and Devine made numerous excelent saves to kepp Cork in it while City surged foward creating chance after chance.

Our place in the table was a false one which Cork found to their cost last night.

Cork came for a point and went home lucky they never got a proper hammerring!

16/05/2003, 7:45 PM
Lads,

Alright Derry had a terrible start to the season but we should have at least taken a draw and a win from the four we lost on the trot.

We drew against Bohs when we could have scored three in first half

We are not a bad team

goalside
16/05/2003, 8:20 PM
dead right. city can still win the league.

16/05/2003, 9:22 PM
I have to say that we have got a bit of a break with the results tonight. We have lost two games, we are still in third and only 4 points behind the team we must play next week. A very competitve league, a long way to go and we are still in with as good a chance as anyone.

19/05/2003, 12:39 PM
Derry might not be as bad as their position suggests, but it was a very poor game from both teams.

19/05/2003, 12:55 PM
Originally posted by James
Oh and least i forget
Derry City have the cutest Stewards i've seen in eircom league football
2 tastey blondes watched over us the whole of the second half :)

I'll have to agree with you on that one :D

In fairness to Conor, he did save a goal with a bicycle kick off the goal line when it was going in, but he still isnt upto scratch :(

PS I accept full responcibility for the goal, but we should have been hammered! (and yes, it was a scorcher).

dalo
19/05/2003, 1:01 PM
bad results in the last 3 games. we should have loking to take maximum points against derry and waterford and shams and instead we fall apart.

funny enough when this hapening when gunther was manager the more "reasoned" people on this chatboard were calling for murph's head.

anyway I don't think we really have the squad to challenge for the league and dolan is well aware of this. motivation and guts will only carry city so far and when they fail to display any of that against the likes of waterford and derry then we are in trouble.

what we need are better players : woods, bennett, o'callaghan, grady are not up to it while greg is out of position and doyle doesn't impose himself enough. j o'flynn, horgan and dan murray can only do so much on their own

george is a vainglorious player he expects the team to play around him rather than the other way round. why don't he look for the simple pass rather than heading out to the corner flag where he generally messes up. if he left and we got a real stiker in his place then i wouldn't miss him one bit. what was all that crap he spouted about his focus not being right?

as i say the honeymoon is over for dolan. i think secretly he would be happy with a european spot

19/05/2003, 5:32 PM
Originally posted by dalo
bad results in the last 3 games. we should have loking to take maximum points against derry and waterford and shams and instead we fall apart.

funny enough when this hapening when gunther was manager the more "reasoned" people on this chatboard were calling for murph's head.

anyway I don't think we really have the squad to challenge for the league and dolan is well aware of this. motivation and guts will only carry city so far and when they fail to display any of that against the likes of waterford and derry then we are in trouble.

what we need are better players : woods, bennett, o'callaghan, grady are not up to it while greg is out of position and doyle doesn't impose himself enough. j o'flynn, horgan and dan murray can only do so much on their own

george is a vainglorious player he expects the team to play around him rather than the other way round. why don't he look for the simple pass rather than heading out to the corner flag where he generally messes up. if he left and we got a real stiker in his place then i wouldn't miss him one bit. what was all that crap he spouted about his focus not being right?

as i say the honeymoon is over for dolan. i think secretly he would be happy with a european spot

Dalo, it's nice to see that you're as positive and optimistic about things as ever!:rolleyes: :D

Eric
20/05/2003, 3:07 PM
I have to agree with the other city fans who I met at the Derry match, Derry deserved the win and yes those stewards were pretty darn cute alright

20/05/2003, 6:32 PM
look on the bright side,

our home form looks good and our away is better than it was at this stage last season. take any small comfort, and bring on shels.

20/05/2003, 7:04 PM

We rarely get anything at the brandywell. We were robbed against Shams (funny that), and Waterford played with 9 men behinfd the ball at all times.

No Dalo, wrong again. People were complaining about Gunther because of Heartless, gutless performances. At least this time, the City players are showing some pride in the colours.

Bennet is playing some of the best football of his short career. George was outstanding against Bohs, UCD and Lonfgord. Wasnt bad against waterford and Shams. Woods, and O Grady, well, fair cop.

What honeymoon period. That ended the minute the whistle blew in the Pats game. I dont think he would secretly be happy with a euro spot. I reckon he would be delighted, as would most realistic City fans. I think winning the league is a bit ambitious THIS season.

So Dalo, go back to wherever you were and stop annoying eveeyrone.

20/05/2003, 8:07 PM
while greg is out of position

From what I've heard Greg was always a midfielder, he was put in at ring back against CSKA and played there for a good while after that. He'd be wasted at ring back now.

20/05/2003, 8:33 PM
Originally posted by GWA
George was outstanding against Bohs, UCD and Lonfgord. Wasnt bad against waterford and Shams. I agree but sure don't ya know that there are a few people who love to criticise George, even when that criticism is totally unjustified.