View Full Version : Players released?

WoodquayBoy
08/11/2007, 10:13 AM
Anyone hear of players having been released? Met someone on the street this morning who asked me if I heard that Barry and Murphy were released this week, they heard it yesterday and mentioned it being on Errortel?

Tir Oilean
08/11/2007, 10:45 AM
Sounds like a load of B*llocks to me. The season aint finished yet and I dont think errortel would deem that kind of story worthy of posting on the day of Champions League fixtures!

08/11/2007, 10:55 AM
Its not on Aertel.Its going to be a hard time for a lot of players especially those who depend on Soccer to put the bread on the table so I hope people take that into account when their posting on here and anywhere else.

galwaygirl
08/11/2007, 10:58 AM
i heard that nothing is going to be done until next week. supposedly the team are goin to be called in one by one and either be offered their contract or shown the door. I dont know if this is a good or bad idea....
good - because whoever starts tomorrow nite will play with the determination of trying to seal a new contract.

bad - because as from after half 9 tomorrow nite most of them will be free agents

08/11/2007, 11:14 AM
Its unfortunately what happens every season and its a job I wouldnt like to have to do.

MyTown
08/11/2007, 11:16 AM
Tabloidism at its best - float a story, cite Aertel and then fail to provide any back up.Why don't you ask Dodge to put up a poll as to who should be sacked?:rolleyes:

It'll all come out in the wash early next week. Can you wait 'till then?

I'd say you're right GG. IIRC the call them in one-at-a-time approach was what the manager did at the end of last season.

WoodquayBoy
08/11/2007, 1:15 PM
Tabloidism at its best - float a story, cite Aertel and then fail to provide any back up.Why don't you ask Dodge to put up a poll as to who should be sacked? It'll all come out in the wash early next week. Can you wait 'till then?
Jaysus wept, I only asked - who soiled your cornflakes?

08/11/2007, 1:33 PM
I think what he was trying to do was add a bit of sarcasm. Hehas a point leave talk about this for after tomorrow night as we owe it too all the other teams involved to remained focused on beating those annoying students.

Demoshield
08/11/2007, 2:15 PM
& don't forget we are obliged to field a team in the "A" league next season so we are going to need a bigger pool of players, so many of those players that people are shouting to have released, might in fact have be re-signed. We will field an U-20 team also, I presume.

08/11/2007, 2:27 PM
Yes we are fielding teams in all three which will mean a bigger drain on reources with an extra teams costs.

galwayhoop
08/11/2007, 3:14 PM
some players were told this week that their time is up.

all players were called in to talk to TC and he told them if being kept on next year or not. very strange timing with UCD game to come.

08/11/2007, 4:02 PM
But its not being announced thats why it would be better leave this until next week.

galwayhoop
09/11/2007, 9:23 AM
But its not being announced thats why it would be better leave this until next week.

i understand that and thats why people aren't being named here although the names are floating around. it has to be said that it is a very strange time to let them know though. why not wait until next monday?? :confused:

GuisaSaigon
09/11/2007, 9:32 AM
Only guessing, but I'd imagine that like any other job employees would be given a bit of notice before they are let go.

galwayhoop
09/11/2007, 11:03 AM
Only guessing, but I'd imagine that like any other job employees would be given a bit of notice before they are let go.

football is not like 'any other job' though. people get bombed like a shot all the time.

i appreciate that some of the dead wood needs to be cleared out (and from the names i heard they seem to be pretty much those most people expected). i just wonder why it was done running up to the last game of the season and not after it. only wondering not having a go.

JC_GUFC
09/11/2007, 11:09 AM
I'd imagine that none of them will be involved tonight anyway so it probably doesn't make any difference to them.

I know Slab was mentioned but I think it would be crazy to get rid of him. He's one of our most talented players!

Demoshield
09/11/2007, 11:24 AM
I know Slab was mentioned but I think it would be crazy to get rid of him. He's one of our most talented players![/QUOTE]

Agreed. With proper coaching and a full time contract next season we will see a very different Slab!

corbyeire
09/11/2007, 11:29 AM
I know Slab was mentioned but I think it would be crazy to get rid of him. He's one of our most talented players!

Agreed. With proper coaching and a full time contract next season we will see a very different Slab![/QUOTE]

weve heard that before :rolleyes:

GuisaSaigon
09/11/2007, 11:57 AM

Was he not arrested by the CAB the other day?:D

corbyeire
09/11/2007, 12:00 PM
good work saigon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111

09/11/2007, 1:50 PM
Was he not arrested by the CAB the other day?:D

he looked pretty rough too barely recognisable from the player he once was.

Demoshield
09/11/2007, 2:10 PM
I'd imagine that none of them will be involved tonight anyway so it probably doesn't make any difference to them.

Well apparently not!!! Two regulars are off. How this was decided before the last game of the season is redicolous

09/11/2007, 2:24 PM
The players taht are out of contract are most probably free to go after tonights game or early next week so Tony and Nick I would presume would have to try and sign up the players they want to retain ASAP.

galwayhoop
12/11/2007, 8:23 AM
The players taht are out of contract are most probably free to go after tonights game or early next week so Tony and Nick I would presume would have to try and sign up the players they want to retain ASAP.

correct. the one year contracts would expire after the last game so they would need to be signed up before that or else risk losing them.

Tir Oilean
12/11/2007, 10:23 AM
Any idea how soon we will be getting official word from the club about players released/re-signed

12/11/2007, 10:41 AM
the one year contracts would expire after the last game so they would need to be signed up before that or else risk losing them.

I doubt there's much of a rush. Other clubs could have approached these players any time in the last 6 months. Also, the longer before you give out new contracts the longer before you have to start paying them again.

12/11/2007, 11:23 AM
i know that our running costs for the off season will be higher than they evere were now.

Maroon 7
12/11/2007, 11:38 AM
Heard Foley was offered a new contract anyway. Some turnaround for him.

corbyeire
12/11/2007, 12:33 PM
deserved if this is the case - what was tony thinking in the first place

Tir Oilean
12/11/2007, 2:14 PM
Heard Foley was offered a new contract anyway. Some turnaround for him.

Some turnaround for TC more like. He wanted foley out to make way for the new signings who in turn didnt work out. Glad to see him get a contract. Hope its not a rumour.

GuisaSaigon
12/11/2007, 2:45 PM
Foley should definitely be given a new contract. He's proven his worth this season.

snookerloopy
12/11/2007, 4:01 PM
in the interest of debate why not put up yere own lists of keep and release?

gilberto_eire
12/11/2007, 4:03 PM
Foley should definitely be given a new contract. He's proven his worth this season.

if we want to progress we need someone who can also pass the ball the one dimensional players belong in the 1st division thats how we picked them up, we wont challenge the likes of Bohs,Cork with players like Wes and Foley in the team, compare them to there counter-parts who can do a lot more then just tackle/header

eamo1
12/11/2007, 6:15 PM
any chance we can get andy myler whos been released by rovers?

Battery Rover
12/11/2007, 6:57 PM
Some turnaround for TC more like. He wanted foley out to make way for the new signings who in turn didnt work out. Glad to see him get a contract. Hope its not a rumour.

There was rumour down Athlone way he was coming to us

Paddyfield
12/11/2007, 9:36 PM
There was rumour down Athlone way he was coming to us

Did he play for ATFC before?

Are ye holding on to Lavine?

GuisaSaigon
13/11/2007, 9:22 AM
Foley is a good squad player for a Premier Division team as is Wes, we need strength in depth next season. Both players have had their ups and downs this season but I'd be holding on to them if I was TC.
I would keep:
* Keepers: Rogers, Banana!
* Defenders: Keano, Fitzy, Lester, Wes, Reggie.
* Midfielders: Foley, Robson, Russell, O'Brien
* Strikers:Glynn, Stevo
Get rid of the rest with Vinny Faherty a maybe.

13/11/2007, 9:38 AM
Shane Tracey as far as I know is on a 2 year .Didnt play badly the last night and is still only 20. Molloy and Keane can be added as well.

galwayhoop
13/11/2007, 9:44 AM
Molloy and Keane can be added as well.

can't see the 2 lads being anything more than fringe players to be honest. great to see progression from the under 21s all the same. i thought cathal fahy might get the call up too.

GuisaSaigon
13/11/2007, 9:46 AM
Yeah, forgot about Tracy, needs to start to make a dent in the 1st team next season, but he has looked promising. Haven't seen too much of the U-21's but looking at Vinny Fah I'd say it'll be a big step up for the two lads coming in, they'll have to be up for it big time.

Battery Rover
13/11/2007, 12:02 PM
Did he play for ATFC before?

Don't think so. I think it was Sligo and Limerick

Are ye holding on to Lavine?

At the moment we don't even have a manager appointed for next season. Had a beer or two with Eric in the hotel he was staying Saturday night and he really likes it here and would stay if offered a contract. He was our Supporters Player of the Year by a mile.

eamo1
13/11/2007, 12:26 PM
i just caught the last bit of it on the radio there,they are the only 2 names i heard but i assume theres more.
those 2 were great the year we got to the playoff final,pity they have faded a bit since then.

Ceirtlis
13/11/2007, 12:34 PM
any chance we can get andy myler whos been released by rovers?

Dont think so. I saw an interview where he said that he wouldnt commit to full-time because he had a job as an accountant and he found it hard to even commit to part-time. He is a journeyman anyways even if he did play well towards the end of the season.

corbyeire
13/11/2007, 12:47 PM
those 5 needed to go

13/11/2007, 1:10 PM
one to all concerned on getting this sorted so Professionally and Quickly http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/squad/suqad-update.html .

galwayhoop
13/11/2007, 1:21 PM
firstly let me say i am absolutely delighted DOB is back on board - i thought we might lose him.

i have to agree with most of those kept on and released except treacy, but i think it was a 2 year contract anyway. sad to see murph go but he did very little this season anyway and it is probably time, i really thought he could have excelled but if he didn't this year with full time set up he never will i suppose.

as a person who is not too slow to criticise TC i must admit he has got this about right this time!

13/11/2007, 1:29 PM
Murph has been a great servant to Galway United but he has never regained the old spark since he came back from Derry and id say he wouldnt have gone full time this year as he has a very good job.

Thanks Alan and your always welcome back in Terryland Park whatever you chose to do from now on .

Demoshield
13/11/2007, 1:46 PM
DOB I heard turned down a far better deal from Derry to stay in Galway.
Fair play to him.
Sorry to see Slab go, one of uniteds most talented players ever.
It's only good to let someone like that go if you replace him with some one better. We shall wait & see.
Don't think Wes will be much value to the squad, at best he is now fourth choice CB and most definitely is not a Lb and can't play anywhere else. Can't see any of our strikers getting 19 goals a season.
We need, IMO at least, LB, attacking centre mid, right wing,& two strikers

Patrick Dunne
13/11/2007, 1:59 PM
In years to come, supporters will remember Slab as a United legend, possibly our best player of the 1997-2007 era. At the moment, his reputation is soiled because of the "two jobs" saga and his poor performances this season. TC made the right call - in full time football, you have to be clinical.

Slab is like De Valera, historians will rehabilitate him. I have no doubt some professor of history in NUIG will write a boring treatise (without pictures) on his life. He will be featured on Hidden History in 2057, a capitalist Che Guevara for our times.

He remains an iconic figure. Farewell, El Slab !

13/11/2007, 2:17 PM
I also forgot to say thanks and best wishes to the other 6 players who all have been with us for a long time Barry who also was a gifted goalscorer in his time and came back from 2 horrific Injuries,Philly,Cookie, Iarla,Liam and Shaun. Professional Football is a cruel game but all these lads gave it their best shot and hopefully they will bounce back.