View Full Version : Philly Hughes sacked by Dundalk!

shero
07/11/2007, 1:38 PM
Heard this today not on Dundalk website but it is from a mate at the club. Who would take him now?

07/11/2007, 1:39 PM
John Gill must have the record for sacking players at this stage!

07/11/2007, 1:45 PM
Looks like a few on the Dundalk forum disagree :

http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?t=4845

onephillyhughes
07/11/2007, 2:54 PM
If Wally says it isn't true, then it isn't.

And it bloody well better not be true or my name will look stupid :D

Cici900
07/11/2007, 3:58 PM
Cant believe that.

07/11/2007, 4:00 PM
If Wally says it isn't true, then it isn't.

You might have to ask dahamsta to change it to nophillyhughes.

ramblersnb1
07/11/2007, 4:20 PM
delited hate him !!!!!:D

onephillyhughes
07/11/2007, 4:46 PM
delited hate him !!!!!:D

'delited' at what?

he hasn't been sacked.

onephillyhughes
07/11/2007, 4:49 PM
He definately has not been sacked but I would definately put money on him not being a Dundalk player next season.

07/11/2007, 6:07 PM
Well Philly has a track record of not lasting very long at clubs and I will just leave it at that.

onephillyhughes
07/11/2007, 6:21 PM
He was given the star role this year, and he wished it right up against the wall.

DRDoc
07/11/2007, 7:03 PM
Im surprised a certain monaghan female forum member hasnt posted on this thread yet:D

Battery Rover
07/11/2007, 7:06 PM
Im surprised a certain monaghan female forum member hasnt posted on this thread yet:D

I think she was practising mouth to mouth with the FAI today:D

onephillyhughes
07/11/2007, 7:57 PM
Still at the club but won't play for us again due to 'injury'. Won't be kept next season.

08/11/2007, 8:20 AM

Like it doesnt already??? :p

Oh yeah I was busy in work yesterday then was snogging a dummie in the evening so didnt hear about this possible development until bout 12 last nite.

I think its such a pity that things have gone badly for Philly this year.

Celdrog
08/11/2007, 10:53 PM
Apparently Philly has been suffering from "Faheyitis" since he spilt from his girlfriend over the last few months. Fair play to John Gill (ex-Drog:D) for having the same discipline as Doolin.

Can only confirm this through a friend of Philly I work with. Donl't think he's spoofing me.

onephillyhughes
09/11/2007, 12:17 AM
Whatever the reasons I don't care. He did himself or his club no service with his performances this season. Big time Robbie Doyle even managed more goals in his half a season. Whoever takes on Philly and his baggage (and few pounds), good luck to ya!

JC_GUFC
09/11/2007, 9:52 AM
Robbie Doyle has a nice collection of hats too....

09/11/2007, 10:07 AM
Oh yeah I was busy in work yesterday then was snogging a dummie ...

What were you doing kissing John Delaney :eek:

passerrby
09/11/2007, 10:12 AM
[QUOTE=Magicme;809608]

Oh yeah I was busy in work yesterday then was snogging a dummie QUOTE]

I was watching and the dummie was not best pleased

20/11/2007, 10:04 PM
He signed for Shels today.

onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 10:08 PM
If you get him focussed and fit, fantastic signing. It will be ironic if Hughes and Flood, 2 players Gill seemingly fell out with, fire you to the league. Not happy.

TheBoss
20/11/2007, 10:21 PM
He likes sacking players, thats 3 if you add Hynes.

onephillyhughes
20/11/2007, 10:22 PM
Niall Hudson is another off the top of my head

Flawless
20/11/2007, 10:23 PM
Not impressed by this policy of gills, for god sake if alex ferguson sackerd a player every time they got out of order he would have won nothing. Think Gill has too high of an opinon of himself.

monutdfc
21/11/2007, 7:33 AM
Doran is another, allegedly
(Mutual consent was Gill's explanation, but then Philly Hughes had a groin strain.)

21/11/2007, 8:07 AM
Its would seem to me that Gill and Hughes were on the slippery slope for sometime. How else do you explain going from 21 goals last season to 6 goals this season. No motivation.

Louth4sam
21/11/2007, 10:51 AM
No motivation.

My arse. He was getting paid a lot of money to do a job and he wasnt doing it. He is about 2 stone over weight and didnt try all season. Had a great season last season but im not sorry to see him go.

JC_GUFC
21/11/2007, 10:59 AM
To be fair he was about 3 stone overweight last season!!! What happened to Christy Doran, he looked to be a promising player.

It will be an interesting Division 1 next season. Shels don't look like competing, Waterford will probably lose all their better players, Longford will lose all their better players? How are Dundalk fixed? Ye must be on the brink of bankruptcy again...

It could leave the door open for Limerick or Wexford! :ball:

Louth4sam
21/11/2007, 11:08 AM
To be fair he was about 3 stone overweight last season!!! What happened to Christy Doran, he looked to be a promising player.

It will be an interesting Division 1 next season. Shels don't look like competing, Waterford will probably lose all their better players, Longford will lose all their better players? How are Dundalk fixed? Ye must be on the brink of bankruptcy again...

He seems to have even put on more weight since last year, must be from the lack of running he was doing on the pitch.
I really have no idea what happened with Doran. Always impressed me. Seemed to have problems against more experienced defenders though. We're ok for money id say we will have the same budget as last season plus all the money from the patrons fund (in which there are 120 members so far giving either €20 or €40 a month which will only be spent on players) plus we offloaded Hughes (our highest earner €800-€1000 p/w)

21/11/2007, 11:11 AM
My arse. He was getting paid a lot of money to do a job and he wasnt doing it. He is about 2 stone over weight and didnt try all season. Had a great season last season but im not sorry to see him go.

But do you not wonder why that happened? Might be totally off the mark here but generally speaking players have an ego to protect so dont like to disappoint and usually only do if they are not handled correctly. Philly, god it galls me to say it, is a talented footballer and it is a shame to see that go to waste.

Louth4sam
21/11/2007, 11:19 AM
But do you not wonder why that happened? Might be totally off the mark here but generally speaking players have an ego to protect so dont like to disappoint and usually only do if they are not handled correctly. Philly, god it galls me to say it, is a talented footballer and it is a shame to see that go to waste.

Yeah i agree totally with you magicme but he is the one wasting it. His attitude is completely wrong. He'll probably score tons of goals next season for shels and the season after disappear yet again.

21/11/2007, 11:20 AM
Is it a fatal flaw with him that he will only perform for a manager for a certain amount of time?

Is that why is such a journeyman? Does he constantly need a new challenge to stimulate him?

21/11/2007, 3:38 PM

Don't know what the situation is at Wexford but our budget for the coming season was recently set at 17 old pence per week

I would fully expect Waterford, Shels, Dundalk, Longford, Athlone and possibly Monaghan to be stronger then us :ball:

hoopy
21/11/2007, 4:43 PM
Far be it for me to have anything good to say about John Gill or Dundalk but when a player is out the night before a game on the beer it's not good. When he does it more than once it's inexcusable.

21/11/2007, 10:26 PM
You might have to ask dahamsta to change it to nophillyhughes.

Quality:D

Its would seem to me that Gill and Hughes were on the slippery slope for sometime. .

More Gill if i were dundalk chairman i would sack him, he had everything set up for promotion this year and didnt take it. I dont think he has any excuses, the money players and type of club he was dealing with had champions written all over it at start of season. Thankfully no. But sriously i commented on it here few months back i was astonished when i read the programme and seen the back room staff he had the size of committee etc, nevermind the size squad ad wage budget, i think time for him to go, and possibly Dundalk romp to premier next year.

Far be it for me to have anything good to say about John Gill or Dundalk but when a player is out the night before a game on the beer it's not good. When he does it more than once it's inexcusable.

Agree, disgraceful at that level, first i heard of it regarding Hughes, but should be ****ed out the door, extra 300+ is big money to part time footballers.

onephillyhughes
22/11/2007, 8:52 AM
More Gill if i were dundalk chairman i would sack him, he had everything set up for promotion this year and didnt take it. I dont think he has any excuses, the money players and type of club he was dealing with had champions written all over it at start of season. Thankfully no. But sriously i commented on it here few months back i was astonished when i read the programme and seen the back room staff he had the size of committee etc, nevermind the size squad ad wage budget, i think time for him to go, and possibly Dundalk romp to premier next year.

Have to agree with that. My father sits in the stand every week and in the bar afterwards always says how he can't understand why so many fellas sit in the stand wearing club tracksuits, all getting paid. And he's totally right. Gill should have done his job, he should have got us promoted. Instead we have gone backwards. 3 expensive mid season signings, all released, what does that tell you? And what happens? Rewarded with a new contract. Fair enough I hope he wins it next season, no, I expect him to win it next season, and I'll be fully behind him and whoever is playing, but after the shambles of a second half of the season, bad selections, bad signings and player sackings, I can't say I'm overly happy with things.

22/11/2007, 9:56 AM
I'd sooner have a ELOI club to support paying 17 old pence a week than no club at all.

With regard to Dundalk and why Gill still has a job. Dundalk were shafted by Delaney at the end of 2006, let's not mince words.
Gill stepped up to the plate and defused the Maxi situation preventing an even bigger PR disaster for the club than might otherwise have been. I felt sympathy for Maxi at the time and still do. I understand the very real disappointment he must have felt.
There was talk of my own club being moved to the First Division because of attendances , which would have been pathetic as we were the best Premier Division club off the field according to the Independent body.

Maxi's actions however were way OTT. However minus John Gill's intervention , Maxi might have got him into even greater bother than he eventually did. And the League itself as a whole would have had an even bigger image issue than it presently does.

That's why Giller still has a job I believe. Having said that if you don't win automatic Promotion next season he might well be on his way.

22/11/2007, 11:40 AM
I'd sooner have a ELOI club to support paying 17 old pence a week than no club at all.

Couldn't agree more

I'm in full support of the attitude this season

Try and get things right off the pitch for the first time in at least 25 years in this town

That is, of course, assuming the board are capable of getting things right............

MojoPin
22/11/2007, 11:58 AM
2 things--- philly hughes on 800+ euro a week!!!!! unreal ramblers whole budget was just about triple that.. including managers and the like.

loads of backroom staff????? ramblers had hendo as manager, martin cambridge as a coach and simon burke as another coach... 2 kids as kit men really..... now all of them didnt even get paid!

22/11/2007, 5:45 PM
The €800+ a week figure is nonsense by the way, he was on knowhere near that money.