View Full Version : Hotels in New York City
07/11/2007, 11:40 AM
Anyone know of any good hotels in NYC, reasonable prices, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera !!
07/11/2007, 12:38 PM
hmmmm reasonably priced hotels, i dont think i do!!!
NY_HOOP is the fella to talk too, though he is a little confused really as depending on waht i posted perviously he might change his mind...oh ya and he is banned.
look up hotels.com, all depends when ye want to go. Thing is trains are so good there you can stay out of the downtown area. Id even think of staying somewhere "authentic" like the bronx or something like that. its the only real way you'll get to sample anything of the city other than the village and downtown.
07/11/2007, 12:42 PM
Thing is trains are so good there you can stay out of the downtown area.
Can you name a few areas, i haven't a clue about the place.
07/11/2007, 12:50 PM
What you going for a face and who's going? (No need for specifics but girlfriend/mates/family?)
If you're a first timer going as a tourist anything in midtown manhattan is where you want to be. All of midtown is pretty much walkable, and what ever isn't the subway will bring you. The cheapest hotel in midtown is the Pennsylvania which is right opposit Madison Square gardens and macys. You'll read horror stories from some who stayed there but I stayed a couple of nights there with no problem. its important to ask for a renovated room. If more than a couple are going maybe look at some of the suites available. We stayed in the Shelbourne Murray Hill which slept 4 comfortbaly.
Oh and hotel rooms in NYC are probably the most expensive around
dcfc_1928
07/11/2007, 12:57 PM
I stayed here:
http://www.newyorkhelmsley.com/
Its very close to Grand Central, Bryant Park, Times Square. Breakfast wasn't included in their room rate, but there was a great spot next door for a breakfast.
Oh and I booked it through here and got a decent price.
http://www.octopustravel.com/IntlHome.jsp
shedite
07/11/2007, 1:10 PM
This place is very basic and very cheap in Manhatten. It's in Chinatown and is cheaper than any hostels you'll find in Manhatten.
http://www.worldhotelinc.com
Chinatown is in manhatten
07/11/2007, 4:01 PM
What you going for a face and who's going? (No need for specifics but girlfriend/mates/family?)
Jsut myself and herself
If you're a first timer going as a tourist anything in midtown manhattan is where you want to be. All of midtown is pretty much walkable, and what ever isn't the subway will bring you. The cheapest hotel in midtown is the Pennsylvania which is right opposit Madison Square gardens and macys. You'll read horror stories from some who stayed there but I stayed a couple of nights there with no problem. its important to ask for a renovated room. If more than a couple are going maybe look at some of the suites available. We stayed in the Shelbourne Murray Hill which slept 4 comfortbaly.
Good stuff, some good advice there Dodge
I'd aim for midtown so. Anthing between 34/35th street and 59th street, between 3rd Avenue and Madison Avenue and you're laughing. I'll PM you later with some stuff.
6yardpunisha
07/11/2007, 4:09 PM
Jsut myself and herself
Good stuff, some good advice there Dodge
try the affinia hotel in Manhattan, just opposite Madison Square garden, 2 mins from Macys and 5 mins from Times Square, just down from the Pennsylvania which was mentioned already(its a kip). Affinia has a bar/restaraunt run by an Irish guy, its called Niles, great food and staff are great craic, ive stayed there for last 5 years running
DaveyCakes
07/11/2007, 4:16 PM
Now, now, don't be trying to frighten the poor chap, everyone knows its only the second most expensive city, after Moscow:
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/main.jhtml?xml=/travel/2007/09/01/et-moscow-hotels-101.xml
stiofain
07/11/2007, 7:33 PM
try the affinia hotel in Manhattan, just opposite Madison Square garden, 2 mins from Macys and 5 mins from Times Square, just down from the Pennsylvania which was mentioned already(its a kip). Affinia has a bar/restaraunt run by an Irish guy, its called Niles, great food and staff are great craic, ive stayed there for last 5 years running
Great hotel, i'd thoroughly recommend it. Stayed there for St.Patricks day in 2006 and the service couldnt be faulted, plus its location is perfect. Even bumped into Gerry Adams in the lift (as you do) so its also a faviourte of the ahem... rich and famous. We got it at an affordable price as part of a package so i dont know how much staying there would set you back but if its within your price range, you cant go far wrong.