View Full Version : Who we Want?
Patrick Dunne
07/11/2007, 2:41 PM
Suggesting that supporters have a personal hatred for the manager and want him out regardless of results is ridiculous.
I am no longer posting on any football related topics on these fora, its a complete waste of time. My last words are :
COUSINS MUST STAY !
MyTown
07/11/2007, 3:19 PM
Suggesting that supporters have a personal hatred for the manager and want him out regardless of results is ridiculous.
I am no longer posting on any football related topics on these fora, its a complete waste of time. My last words are :
COUSINS MUST STAY !
Ah Pa, I don't know whether to congratulate you for taking the honourable course or to remind you that Pa Dunne might have been a lot of things, but he was never a quitter. :D
Paddyfield
07/11/2007, 6:22 PM
Ah Pa, I don't know whether to congratulate you for taking the honourable course or to remind you that Pa Dunne might have been a lot of things, but he was never a quitter. :D
Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
The original Pa Dunne is a postman in Tuam
eamo1
08/11/2007, 12:38 PM
to get this thread back on topic and end the childish bickering between people,here are my transfer targets.
Gethins-if harps dont go up.
O.Dowd-if he could rediscover his form of last season.
i dont think theres alot wrong with our defence,we do need a right winger and maybe a creative centre midfielder too.we definatly need strikers though.
Will Cousins splash the cash for Gethins though? I very much doubt it....
Depends on what you think a proven goalscorer is worth.
So Mr. A. have you thrown in the towel already or what. Conor signed a new contract with ye so I doubt if Tony would pay big bucks for him. O'Flynn & Glynn are a good combination but we need back up for both.
Hell no, just pointing out that there's no point chasing Gethins if you're only willing to pay buttons.
WoodquayBoy
08/11/2007, 1:38 PM
Hell no, just pointing out that there's no point chasing Gethins if you're only willing to pay buttons.
You know what they say, pay Buttons and you get a poor Christmas pantomime character. (Sorry if is it too early to mention Christmas)
It's always too early to mention pantomimes, which are pure evil and should be banned by international treaty.
Tir Oilean
08/11/2007, 2:09 PM
Back on topic again. Dont think we'll see Gethins and definitely not Dowdy, if Tony didnt want him this season he's hardly goin to change his mind after all Dowdy has not featured too regularly for de town AFAIK. I cant see us making any big name signings tbh cos Nick is gonna be tight with the budget (and rightly so). I think there is a few names on Tony's list already but he aint gonna tell us!
Maroon 7
08/11/2007, 2:37 PM
So Mr. A. have you thrown in the towel already or what. Conor signed a new contract with ye so I doubt if Tony would pay big bucks for him. O'Flynn & Glynn are a good combination but we need back up for both.
To be fair I think we need more than back-up for those two up front. We need a goalscorer.
O'Flynn is a willing workhorse who'll chip in every now and then but that's about it. Glynn took the league by storm in his first couple of months but once defenders copped onto the fact that his pace has his major asset he hasn't found it so easy.
Glynn and Flynn were the perfect comination and any game they played together one of them usually scored but then Stevo got injured and missed a ****load of games. A fully fit injury free Stephen O'Flynn next season would be like a new signing.
harps1954
08/11/2007, 3:20 PM
He wasn't worth what Harps were asking for him last year anyways.
He sure as hell was worth a lot more than the few euros Mr. Leeson offered for him. Anyhow, he signed a new contract with us a couple of months ago so will be going nowhere.
08/11/2007, 6:25 PM
Pa or el Mullo the playing Budget is almost half the entire budget so you are being very selective and for our Famous UCD Fan I will pm you the players name and boy werent we lucky we missed him.
The player you named is on loan to us so you're obviously talking crap as usual as loan players are contracted to the club they are being loaned from.
so who paid his wages while he was playing for you hardly the club he was contracted with??
This came from a very reliable source who i would believe before yourself.
JC_GUFC
08/11/2007, 7:55 PM
You're obviously talking about Peter Hynes.
I'm seriously worried if we were looking to sign him.
It was when O'Flynn,Mensah & Armstrong were all injured just before the transfer deadline
pixiehead
08/11/2007, 8:40 PM
I agree with Gethins. I was big fan when he was with us but i doubt we will get him Back. One to watch is Ronan O Boyle. On the Under 21 side. From Castlebar. You'll see him coming into the side this year hopefully and theres a few more of them young lads that mite be an addition:)
gilberto_eire
08/11/2007, 8:50 PM
I agree with Gethins. I was big fan when he was with us but i doubt we will get him Back. One to watch is Ronan O Boyle. On the Under 21 side. From Castlebar. You'll see him coming into the side this year hopefully and theres a few more of them young lads that mite be an addition:)
he only has one game to do that;)
08/11/2007, 8:51 PM
so who paid his wages while he was playing for you hardly the club he was contracted with??
This came from a very reliable source who i would believe before yourself.
I'm sure Peter Hynes chose UCD over Galway because Derry would have to pay a slightly smaller contribution to his wages. If he wanted to move to Galway on loan he would insisted as Derry were desperate to get rid of him.
galwaygooner
08/11/2007, 9:32 PM
Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.
He scores an odd Goal but he will never scare a decent defence,for a start he is 2 slight...
Paddyfield
08/11/2007, 9:38 PM
.He scores an odd Goal but he will never scare a decent defence,for a start he is 2 slight...
Slight? So was Tommy Keane, What both of them lacked in bulkiness they made up in speed. I'd have Gethins back in the morning.
08/11/2007, 9:40 PM
Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.Are Galway planning for a top four finish next season?
08/11/2007, 10:33 PM
Top 6.
We've met our targets every year for the last 3 or 4 years-we will again next year.
08/11/2007, 10:55 PM
I'm sure Peter Hynes chose UCD over Galway because Derry would have to pay a slightly smaller contribution to his wages. If he wanted to move to Galway on loan he would insisted as Derry were desperate to get rid of him.
???????????????????? Never said he wanted to move here we were interested because we were desperate for a striker but werent willing to pay what he was looking for in wages .
Claret Murph
09/11/2007, 6:33 AM
Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.
He scores an odd Goal but he will never scare a decent defence,for a start he is 2 slight...
I think you are right about Gethins Gooner , but as for finishing in the top four next season , i would love to see it but a lot will depend on the players TC can bring to the club as the the players we have at the moment would not be good enough IMO ......
Tir Oilean
09/11/2007, 7:41 AM
[QUOTE=galwaygooner;810400]Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.
QUOTE]
Dont know where you heard those ambitions! It's more like a move to the comfortable midtable positions i'd say
JC_GUFC
09/11/2007, 9:04 AM
Did we not have a comfortable midtable finish this season?! :p
As for Peter Hynes he was a poor Division 1 striker last season, he was kicked out of Dundalk for going out on the lash and for some bizarre reason Pat Fenlon signed him for Derry. Unless it was like United signing Bobby Byrne when Mad dog was in charge I'll never understand that.
I know we had injury problems but the only thing Peter Hynes had going for him was that he was available.
GuisaSaigon
09/11/2007, 9:06 AM
At the start of the season all TC was talking about was survival. All Pat Scully was talking about was challenging for the title. We have survived, and Rovers were competitive at the top end of the table for most of the season. I want to hear TC talking like Scully next season, the attitude has to be right from the start, none of this mid table sh!tetalk!
Tir Oilean
09/11/2007, 9:43 AM
Spot on! Positive Mental Attitude is what is needed!
09/11/2007, 10:10 AM
if Rovers lose tonight its 1 point out of a possible 18 and a complete clearout of the playing staff.They also have the advantage of picking up all the best players in Dublin who want to stay Part Time.
Tir Oilean
09/11/2007, 10:35 AM
[QUOTE=gufct;810672]if Rovers lose tonight its 1 point out of a possible 18 QUOTE]
And still finish well ahead of us:eek:
Demoshield
09/11/2007, 10:48 AM
if Rovers lose tonight its 1 point out of a possible 18 and a complete clearout of the playing staff.They also have the advantage of picking up all the best players in Dublin who want to stay Part Time.
They will finish with a record of
W 14 - L 11 - D 8 - Pts 50 - Goal Diff +10 Scored 36 (aprox)
compared to if we loose tonight
W 6 - L 13 - D 14 - Pts 32 - Goal Diff -10 Scored 26 (aprox)
Everybody expected the part time squad to fall away towards the end of the season. And they are having a complete clearout of the playing staff because I presume this was not an acceptable performance over the course of the season. We will be doing very well to finish with 50 pts next season if we don't have a major clear out also. Their budget I would guess would be similar to our own.
Patrick Dunne
09/11/2007, 11:03 AM
Our annual budget is E1.2million. Shamrock Rovers budget would be nowhere near that figure. Their main source of income is approx E15,000 per month from the former "400 club".
MyTown
09/11/2007, 11:07 AM
Welcome Back Pa, I hoped your self imposed exile from Foot would last about as long as the journey from Galway to Newbridge.:p
Demoshield
09/11/2007, 11:21 AM
Our annual budget is E1.2million. Shamrock Rovers budget would be nowhere near that figure. Their main source of income is approx E15,000 per month from the former "400 club".
I presume our budget for playing staff would be similar to Rovers, not entire budget
I don't believe for one second that Rovers are running on a budget of 200K per year, does anybody?
09/11/2007, 11:33 AM
I have pointed that out here before but Pa sticks with the €1.2m and believes Rovers are paying peanuts which is very hard to believe. Its playing budgets that matter Pa when your trying to attract players .
Patrick Dunne
09/11/2007, 11:37 AM
The "400 club" is their main source of income, not their only source.
Clubs like Rovers, Sligo, Harps rely far heavier (% wise) on revenue streams
from supporters than the likes of ourselves. I would estimate that 25% of our
revenue comes directly from the support base.
This puts these clubs at a disadvantage, in the long term, and with increased commercialisation of the EL, they will find it increasingly difficult to challenge for European placings.
We have a far bigger budget than Rovers. The non-playing element includes support staff, Premiership training facilities, meals after training, pre-season trips, etc. All these elements should mean a more competitve team on the pitch.
My Town, I don't intend to engage in pointless debate, only to introduce facts as an anti-spoofing mechanism from time to time.
Rovers don't own anything either, so I'd say their non-playing expenses are pretty high as well.
They have an arrangement with Tallaght IT i think which probably lowers them a small bit.But the budget that determines the quality and strength of your squad is the actual playing budget and ours would be the smallest of the full time teams by a long way and unless Rovers are paying peanuts they woulnt be far off ours.
Patrick Dunne
09/11/2007, 2:06 PM
There is no point comparing our budget with the likes of Sligo and Rovers, or any of the other full-time clubs. At no stage this season have we been remotely near them in the league.
The teams that we have slugged it out with this season are Waterford, Bray
and Longford.