View Full Version : Then there were two...

The Rebel Ram
03/11/2007, 5:02 PM
It's not over yet............
I think Rams will deff win on Sunday against Monaghan, it will be a lot tougher next week in Athlone but I'm still confident of the win.....
Not counting chickens though, maybe just lining them up to make the count easier.........:rolleyes:

Harps will deff do it against KK next week too

Any objections?????????????:confused:

03/11/2007, 5:20 PM
Nope, sounds perfectly reasonable to me.

03/11/2007, 5:54 PM
With nerves and the finishing line so close there are no easy games in a title race.

I think both sides deserve to go up. However the team that misses out will have it tough in the playoffs.

The Rebel Ram
03/11/2007, 10:34 PM
really hope both teams make it. Plenty of travel for the Jackeens!:p

03/11/2007, 11:19 PM
In my opinion Harps and Ramblers deserve it far more than Dundalk so in that way i really hope Those two are in premier next year.

Claret Murph
04/11/2007, 11:01 AM
I would say a hell of a lot depends on who is in the play offs . If Longford make it next week I would say the any team would be lucky to get past them .

04/11/2007, 12:37 PM
I would say a hell of a lot depends on who is in the play offs . If Longford make it next week I would say the any team would be lucky to get past them .

Been there, done that, lost on peno's :mad: I hate the relegation/promotion play-offs, we have been beaten too many times in extra-time or penalties :o

04/11/2007, 12:54 PM
Been there, done that, lost on peno's :mad:

Oh what a night! :D

The Rebel Ram
04/11/2007, 12:59 PM
Been there, done that, lost on peno's :mad: I hate the relegation/promotion play-offs, we have been beaten too many times in extra-time or penalties :o

Was it '94 we played harps in the playoff?
I'm crap at dates. It was the greatest Ramblers moment I remember. A young fella caled Steven Henderson had a screamer in goals, I was one of those carrying him off the pitch shoulder high after the game.
Lets hope things can get better!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D
1 hour to go to Mon's, I'm brickin it but loving it.................

The Rebel Ram
07/11/2007, 9:45 AM
Is this week ever gonna end................
Can't wait for Saturday!
The pressure and nerves shown in the first half of the Mons game should stand too us on Saturday night.....the team should cope better now....Can't see us loosing, no injuries, no suspensions...............Bring it on.........:)

Gonna be a night of unreal emotions whatever happens...............

Mr_T
07/11/2007, 10:19 AM
Kilkenny better be nice to us considering they are gonna get their biggest gate in many years.

There are 120 booked onto Harps official club overnight trip, including two coachloads. At least two more busses being organised to go down and up the same day. And given the usual rule of thumb that at least as many more go by car as on the buses, and the fact that a lot of Dublin based fans will be down and I'd say there will be 400-500 Harps fans in Buckley Park.

Mad Moose
07/11/2007, 10:28 AM
Its a pity Cobh didn't accept RTE's offer to cover the game. It would have been nice to catch the final round of a pretty dramatic season. Gonna struggle for any decent coverage now on the Saturday night.

I suspect Harps will do the business in Kilkenny and its down to Athlone to do them a favour.

Any other season Cobh or Harps would be champions by now but fair play to both as they have brought it right down to the wire. Got text updates from the game in Monaghan and the impossible looked like it might just happen at 0-0 and Kieran O'Reilly missing a penalty.

Hopefully Harps don't have to face Longford should they get that far. No disrespect to Longford Town but they have had a pretty decent last half of the seaso and but for the points deduction just wouldn't be in this position.

Looking forward to Saturday Night nonetheless.

The Rebel Ram
07/11/2007, 10:29 AM
Latest estimates are for about 800 Cobh fans in Athlone........
We must be way more confident:p

The Rebel Ram
07/11/2007, 10:31 AM
Its a pity Cobh didn't accept RTE's offer to cover the game. It would have been nice to catch the final round of a pretty dramatic season. Gonna struggle for any decent coverage now on the Saturday night.

I suspect Harps will do the business in Kilkenny and its down to Athlone to do them a favour.

Any other season Cobh or Harps would be champions by now but fair play to both as they have brought it right down to the wire. Got text updates from the game in Monaghan and the impossible looked like it might just happen at 0-0 and Kieran O'Reilly missing a penalty.

Hopefully Harps don't have to face Longford should they get that far. No disrespect to Longford Town but they have had a pretty decent last half of the seaso and but for the points deduction just wouldn't be in this position.

Looking forward to Saturday Night nonetheless.

If it is Waterford in the playoff I recon the first div team will come out on top.....
By the way how do Harps feel they will get on against Dundalk if it comes to that???????

harps1954
07/11/2007, 10:51 AM
If it is Waterford in the playoff I recon the first div team will come out on top.....
By the way how do Harps feel they will get on against Dundalk if it comes to that???????

Can't see why anyone from either club would be looking to the play-off final at this stage as Dundalk still have to be beat.

How do I think Harps (or Cobh) would get on against Dundalk? This is a difficult question. Dundalk have failed to beat either Harps or Cobh at Finn Park or St. Colman's Park this season. I'm fairly sure that they have also failed to score at either venue in four games this season. However, this will be a second chance for Dundalk to achieve promotion. They will go into it with a bit more confidence that either Harps or Cobh. Why? Well, if it's Harps or Cobh, Paul Hegarty or Stephen Henderson will have a hell of a job on their hands to pick up a team that has lost out on the first division title, promotion and a setanta cup play-off just six days earlier. Dundalk can go into their game this weekend and rest their entire first eleven if they want and properly prepare for the play-offs. Harps/Cobh don't have that luxury. Just because Harps/Cobh have beaten Dundalk already this season will count for nothing in a one-off game just six days after that side has missed out on automatic promotion.

07/11/2007, 12:25 PM
Would Harps/Cobh get to keep the whole gate in that playoff or is it to be split?

MojoPin
07/11/2007, 1:15 PM

wont it be FUK-IN great

harps1954
07/11/2007, 1:21 PM
Would Harps/Cobh get to keep the whole gate in that playoff or is it to be split?

From what I hear, it's split in the same way as the FAI Cup games.

onephillyhughes
07/11/2007, 3:14 PM
Can't see why anyone from either club would be looking to the play-off final at this stage as Dundalk still have to be beat.

How do I think Harps (or Cobh) would get on against Dundalk? This is a difficult question. Dundalk have failed to beat either Harps or Cobh at Finn Park or St. Colman's Park this season. I'm fairly sure that they have also failed to score at either venue in four games this season. However, this will be a second chance for Dundalk to achieve promotion. They will go into it with a bit more confidence that either Harps or Cobh. Why? Well, if it's Harps or Cobh, Paul Hegarty or Stephen Henderson will have a hell of a job on their hands to pick up a team that has lost out on the first division title, promotion and a setanta cup play-off just six days earlier. Dundalk can go into their game this weekend and rest their entire first eleven if they want and properly prepare for the play-offs. Harps/Cobh don't have that luxury. Just because Harps/Cobh have beaten Dundalk already this season will count for nothing in a one-off game just six days after that side has missed out on automatic promotion.

Very good point that, never thought of it that way. I still wouldn't be at all confident given our horror shows on our travels this year. But we don't lose playoffs ;) We are a club that has a big fanbase and will travel in huge numbers, now its time for our players to repay that support with a performance worthy of it.

btw, not important but we scored in St. Colmans last month, Vaughan. We're missing him and Williams for the playoff, which leaves us in more sh!te!

kev mcq
07/11/2007, 3:48 PM

Not bad considering you had about 10 in Ballybofey for the top of the table clash

Battery Rover
07/11/2007, 5:00 PM

To be honest and this isn't a personal attack on Cobh. Any team that is challenging to win the league on the last day should be bringing at least 1000 minimum to a game

Comic Book Guy
07/11/2007, 5:09 PM
Not bad considering you had about 10 in Ballybofey for the top of the table clash

Not so, there were at least 30, which wasn't bad considering we had to travel the length of the country on a Friday.

07/11/2007, 5:16 PM
Not so, there were at least 30, which wasn't bad considering we had to travel the length of the country on a Friday.

No way were there 30 of ye in Finn Park, unless you count playing staff,etc. There was about 10 maybe less, I only met 4 and they informed us that there was one more car load up at most.
We will have at least 500 in Kilkenny, if it had been in Athlone we would have at least double that. We had at least 800 in Monaghan about 5 weeks ago.
How many was at Cobhs last few home games?

Battery Rover
07/11/2007, 5:26 PM
Wonder how many Harps fans will take a spin down to Athlone to watch the game?

07/11/2007, 5:41 PM
Wonder how many Harps fans will take a spin down to Athlone to watch the game?

There is actually a few heading, we always enjoy going to Athlone, ill be in Kilkenny myself, cheering on Athlone and Harps :cool:

marty
07/11/2007, 8:24 PM
[ How many was at Cobhs last few home games?
[/QUOTE]

Its really not important how many were there we dont have the fanbase you have but one things for sure it is steadily rising,remember goin to Cork City v Harps maybe 2/3 years ago at the cross there was about 5 in the away section bangin a drum though ye were prob bottom or close to it at that stage.

07/11/2007, 10:48 PM
There was 11 of us :)

harpskid
08/11/2007, 8:41 AM

Was that the Monday night trip where we lifted you in Galway? Jesus that was some craic!!:ball:

Mr_T
08/11/2007, 11:48 AM

And it was a midweek cup replay.

And we were sitting in the lashing rain cause Corks stand roof doesn't cover the front few rows of seats.

And oddly, three of the 11 are posting on this thread!! :confused:

The Rebel Ram
09/11/2007, 10:43 PM
Last post before I go to bed and dream about wonderful things..........
lets hope tomorrow I wake to a wonderful world and go to sleep in a better one:D:o:D

10/11/2007, 2:52 PM
I've got a feeling Cobh will blow it against Athlone, don't know why I do, but it's there all the same. Genuinely, hand on heart think they deserve the league this year though

Mad Moose
10/11/2007, 10:57 PM
Congratulations to Cobh Ramblers. Superb season for both sides and made for one of the most exciting end of seasos.

People said Harps blew it against Athlone town but they got a draw and thats just how tight the league was and Harps didn't really blow it so much as miss the boat that night. A slip up.

Well done to both sides and particular congratulations to everyone associated with Cobh Ramblers. Hope you come straight back down.:D

ramsfan
11/11/2007, 10:59 AM
Champions And Come On The Blues, Would Like To See Warren The Mercenary In Cobh Next Season The Scumbag

The Man Himself
11/11/2007, 11:25 AM
Champions And Come On The Blues, Would Like To See Warren The Mercenary In Cobh Next Season The Scumbag

well done. and dont worry about the blues,
we will put dundalk or harps to bed early in the play off no probs.

Mental Man
11/11/2007, 12:42 PM
Dave warren as far as i know has re-signed for the Blues.

michaelguineys
11/11/2007, 2:58 PM
absolutely delighted for ramblers! Bring on the local derby!!

ramblers
11/11/2007, 5:55 PM
Ramsfan Dave warren is not a scumbag and served Cobh well when he played for us.

He is a genuine nice guy and I for one will shake his hand if he is back in colmans park next year.

cheifo
11/11/2007, 7:10 PM
Was it Dave Warren that scored six goals in one match(for Ramblers I think?)

onephillyhughes
11/11/2007, 7:10 PM
Well done Cobh, table never lies, you deserve it. How many went to Athlone?

Mad Moose
11/11/2007, 8:52 PM
Was it Dave Warren that scored six goals in one match(for Ramblers I think?)

Wasn't it against Monaghan Utd I think. I remember that. Didnt Kieran O'Reilly and Graham Cummins both score hattricks in one game this sason as well/

The Rebel Ram
12/11/2007, 5:54 PM
Well done Cobh, table never lies, you deserve it. How many went to Athlone?

I need to dry out after that weekend!!!!!:D

We recon there was at least a thousand, didn't hear the official attendace for the night.

Superb stadium so far up there, well done Athlone