View Full Version : FAI move to stamp out dodgy betting patterns
19/11/2007, 10:16 AM
A much missed Irish pop combo from the mid 90s.
You can still see them in the Red Cow this Christmas if you really miss them...
Anyway the really big potential coup on the beat the bookies thread was Wexford Youths at 9/2 to beat Shels. It was always likely, just sorry I didn't put a few Euro on it myself.
19/11/2007, 10:52 AM
Paddy Power PR spin, nothing more
19/11/2007, 11:00 AM
In a weird way it legitimizes the league in the public eye too. People don't bet on park football.
This year I've had 4 massive (in my terms) LOI bets. All won. This wasn't one of them.
Boyles is usually the slowest to respond to team news.
I've spotted a few Asian lads in Dalymount from time to time on the blower giving a running commentary on the game for the full 90mins. I presume it is for some 'in running' website.
Its for the bookies afaik as I know so they can adjust the odds as the game
goes on. German guy I know used to do it for Athlone's home games last
season for some crowd and a Chineese lad I work with was asked if he'd do
it for some other crowd this season.
19/11/2007, 11:47 AM
Its for the bookies afaik as I know so they can adjust the odds as the game
goes on. German guy I know used to do it for Athlone's home games last
season for some crowd and a Chineese lad I work with was asked if he'd do
it for some other crowd this season.
Its not so they can adjust their odds as they wouldn't be betting in running. its more for general info so they know whaat they're betting on next game.
Jaime
19/11/2007, 12:33 PM
Christ can you imagine if they were relying on Aertel to clarify the scores?
I layed Drogheda away to Bray over the bank holiday weekend earlier in the season, Aertel went up 1-1 FT, futbol24 went up 1-1 FT, then a full 15 minutes later (betfair settled on 1-1 in the meantime) the score went 1-2 as Drogs had scored one of their injury time specials. :(
Battery Rover
19/11/2007, 12:38 PM
Its not so they can adjust their odds as they wouldn't be betting in running. its more for general info so they know whaat they're betting on next game.
It is for betting in running. I know a guy that does it for a web site from the Athlone Town press box every match
Jaime
19/11/2007, 12:39 PM
It is for betting in running. I know a guy that does it for a web site from the Athlone Town press box every match
Fair enough, you find us an online bookmaker who bets on First Division games in-running.
neville neville
19/11/2007, 12:52 PM
If ever a man had a face that deserved financial ruin it would be this man
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40773000/jpg/_40773456_paddy1203.jpg
"Paddy Power" doesnt own the company just works for them by chance has the same name as the company, worked out well for him though didnt it
19/11/2007, 12:56 PM
If you believe thats his actual name...
dcfc_1928
19/11/2007, 1:05 PM
Do they use a PDA for this?
There's a guy in the press box at the Brandywell, who is always tapping on a PDA during the game. Had a nosey at the screen and its some custom application running on it and when either team attack or have a corner etc, he taps the relevant button.
Always wondered what it was for, and yes I am a nosey fecker lol
harpskid
19/11/2007, 1:09 PM
Do they use a PDA for this?
There's a guy in the press box at the Brandywell, who is always tapping on a PDA during the game. Had a nosey at the screen and its some custom application running on it and when either team attack or have a corner etc, he taps the relevant button.
Always wondered what it was for, and yes I am a nosey fecker lol
Yeah they do. I know the guy that does it from Finn Park and he was saying it's for some German site
Its an info site. No bookmakers offers in running betting for first division games (or non TV premier games for that matter)
Battery Rover
19/11/2007, 1:18 PM
Fair enough, you find us an online bookmaker who bets on First Division games in-running.
By in running I meant betting before match and at half time not minute by minute
if I can see himat the Under 21 international tomorrow I will ask him the full detail of it
19/11/2007, 2:49 PM
I know of a certain Eircom League player and manager who had quite alot on Bray to win. Won't mention names as i've no proof but the manager in question had a whooping 10000euro on it.
19/11/2007, 3:02 PM
I know of a certain Eircom League player and manager who had quite alot on Bray to win. Won't mention names as i've no proof but the manager in question had a whooping 10000euro on it.
Player and manager? Player-manager? Or 2 different people?
10,000 euros........are you sure?
19/11/2007, 3:09 PM
If you have no proof then its idle speculation
no bookmaker would have laid 10000 on an Eircom game that one side desperately need a result in and the other side it was meaningless match.
19/11/2007, 3:16 PM
Player and manager? Player-manager? Or 2 different people?
10,000 euros........are you sure?
Manager had 10 grand and player had 3 grand. Very good source!
There have been whispers that players from a few clubs have been placing bets that they really shouldn't have. Very hard to prove though.
el punter
19/11/2007, 3:23 PM
Its an info site. No bookmakers offers in running betting for first division games (or non TV premier games for that matter)
Oddly enough, the bookmakers in Asia DO bet in running on First Division games, friendlies, U21 matches and anything else they can get someone with a phone to. The guy with the phone just tells the Asian bookie when there has been a goal or there is a chance of a goal, then the in-running betting is suspended until the danger is clear.
I couldn't believe myself till I saw the odds with my own eyes.
There was a guy on the forum here last year asking people to volunteer to relay the match "commentaries" to the bookies. He paid £50 a game.
You can't just open an account out of nowhere with these bookies though, you have to be referred to them by an existing account holder and then its all on a credit basis.
19/11/2007, 4:16 PM
There have been whispers that players from a few clubs have been placing bets that they really shouldn't have. Very hard to prove though.Not if the bookies have a two-way flow of information with the FAI (see start of thread) it isn't!
Any sport where sums to be made from gambling are signficantly higher than the players wages (as is the case for most EL players) are ripe for abuse.
Although it is good to hear Powers getting hit!
A few seasons ago Ladbrokes got hammered for six figures on a handicap League title bet (handicapped Derry to finish 7th in SK's first full season) and I believe don't cover the EL anymore or at least don't offer that bet.
They did last year. And cover the league every week.
And all it takes is for the players' wife/brother to place the bet.
Ceirtlis
19/11/2007, 8:48 PM
Paddy Power and the rest were happy to lay Bray at the odds available, they were far from a giveaway. They started at 4/5 and were down to 2/7 in some places not what i would call punting material anyways. The hit taken on Rovers drogs was much more unexpected though i think that started somewhere around the 5/2-3/1 mark. Its a non story anyways from the mirror who seem to be in a league of their own for this ****e.
There was a case in the northern ireland league a few seasons ago though where some team got hammered 4-0 cant remember who was playing but the ifa signed one of them agreements with betfair soon after and ni prem league mathces have only recently become available again on that website.
19/11/2007, 9:26 PM
I just don't see the issue. Why do the bookies have to be bullet proof and any time they actually take a relatively small hit is it some sort of issue? It seems to be taken as given that there's some sort of problem if they get caught in a situation where they can't deter everyone from betting on the right outcome.:confused:
19/11/2007, 9:28 PM
I just don't see the issue. Why do the bookies have to be bullet proof and any time they actually take a relatively small hit is it some sort of issue? It seems to be taken as given that there's some sort of problem if they get caught in a situation where they can't deter everyone from betting on the right outcome.:confused:As long as those gambling (and winning) aren't players or closely associated with either team I think most people would agree with that sentiment.
20/11/2007, 9:10 AM
now that i check, i had an accumulator and foolishly thought shels would beat wexford at home (that result a bit stinky now that i think of it)
It was indeed, and I caught Wexford :cool:. Plenty of first division players backing against themselves towards the end of the season in meaningless games!
Just for the record Wexford were 9/2 with boyles to win that game ;):p
bholg
20/11/2007, 11:40 AM
Hmm. It appears i was a little naive regarding the shels/wexford game. :(
looking forward to the end of next season already- bargain betting.
What about tomorrow night for the euro's - countries to field weak teams/not bother their arses because tables are already decided?
Wales for a miraculous win in Germany anyone? 10/1 on boyles. (5/1 - Draw)
Cyprus at home to czech 7/2 ??
cheifo
20/11/2007, 12:04 PM
There have been whispers that players from a few clubs have been placing bets that they really shouldn't have. Very hard to prove though.
Yeh lets be honest its not even whispers anymore.A lot of people naming players/teams backing themselves to lose in particular matches.Mischevious gossip?I hope so, its difficult to imagine a whole team agreeing to not try in a game without it leaking out.In any situation shirley there would be at least one player who would object.In a few years a film will be made about this one man who refuses to dirty his bib starring Russell Crowe.:D
20/11/2007, 12:28 PM
If true this is lifetime ban stuff for those involved, as it cuts right into the heart of the integrity of the game.
Given the FAI can't seem to organise a Cup Final, I'd be very surprised if they can shed much light on this.
Are bookies allowed divulge details of accounts/individual bets?
20/11/2007, 1:17 PM
Are bookies allowed divulge details of accounts/individual bets?Unless they have a prior agreement with FAI, I would think it would require a Production Order from the guards.
If true this is lifetime ban stuff for those involved, as it cuts right into the heart of the integrity of the game
I think people on this thread are getting carried away (not you specifically ORA)
The sligo thing was a number of enforced changes and Breay fighting for their lives.
probably.. but everyone loves a good conspiracy theory, otherwise how would that ****** who wrote the da vinci code have sold a zillion copies of his book despite it being written in the style of a foundation english junior cert essay?
I think people on this thread are getting carried away (not you specifically ORA)
The sligo thing was a number of enforced changes and Breay fighting for their lives.
I believe you are missing the point Dodge, the one Mr A and others are trying to subtly make without making unfounded accusations.
Nobody is crying for the poor bookies, however if, IF, IF players, management or backroom from a team heavily back against themselves and make a killing when they subsequently lose then it is a very serious issue indeed. Its all the more suspicious when it happens when, as Ceirtlis pointed out, the odds were far from "tempting" even if you did suspect an upset or a weakened team line up for one team or other.