View Full Version : Sanctions & Suspensions, Director's Cut
Sniffer
01/11/2007, 2:54 PM
It's all here (http://walkthechalk.com/extras.php?cid=19)
Paul McGee (Manager, Limerick 37) suspended for THREE (3) competitive matches with immediate effect, fined €2,000 and severely warned as to his future conduct as a result of being reported by the referee v KildareCounty (29.09.07). For this three match suspension, Mr McGee is to remain at least 50 metres away from the dressing room, technical area and pitch for at least two hours before the matches as well as during the matches and for one hour after the matches. Decision under appeal to FAI.
Wow, that's quite a fine! Something tells me it may have been deserved though- can anyone tell us what happened?
01/11/2007, 3:50 PM
Sniffer - will there be an end of season boxset of all the Sanctions & Ssuspensions out in time for Christmas?
Wow, that's quite a fine! Something tells me it may have been deserved though- can anyone tell us what happened?
Was that the game where he was shouting abuse at the ref for having a fairly standard game, and then dragged one of our lads away and started bollocking him out of it for daring to be a sportsman and shake the hand of the ref? Honestly it's hard to keep up with what McGee should be fined for
Shamrock Roverswere fined €500 and severely warned as a result of verbal abuse by supporters towards a match official v Cork City (05.10.07).
Was it that bad??
damien
01/11/2007, 6:26 PM
all these fines are going towards stans severance pay the fai make a balls up and the eircom league pays for it
01/11/2007, 6:29 PM
Was it that bad??
Are you implying that there's something wrong with fining a club if some of their fans disagree with a decision:confused: Because there's another fine on the way if you are.
All part of the brave new world of John "doin' a great job" Delaney.
01/11/2007, 7:46 PM
Was that the game where he was shouting abuse at the ref for having a fairly standard game, and then dragged one of our lads away and started bollocking him out of it for daring to be a sportsman and shake the hand of the ref? Honestly it's hard to keep up with what McGee should be fined for
The very one.
Disgusting carry on.
Not to be confused with the various other sendings off/faeces throwing/calls to injure the opposition/chimp impressions this season.
Two grand!! :mad:
Would have paid our highest paid player for nearly seven weeks. Or our pet monkey for three and a bit......... :rolleyes:
01/11/2007, 8:31 PM
Would have paid our highest paid player for nearly seven weeks.
So the equivalent of Chelsea getting hit with a £1million sterling fine. Fran Gavin is earning the hefty bonus John has surely lined up for him.
If indeed the figures are accurate - re paying top paid player for seven weeks - then this fine is far far far to high
Obviously there is a need to punish where appropriate - but when its hard cash penalties that are used to punish - there must be some view of the big picture and some sort of balancing done
01/11/2007, 9:05 PM
So the equivalent of Chelsea getting hit with a £1million sterling fine. Fran Gavin is earning the hefty bonus John has surely lined up for him.
Actually never thought of it like that :eek:
If indeed the figures are accurate - re paying top paid player for seven weeks - then this fine is far far far to high
Our top paid player is on no more than €350 a week. Haven't had this rumour confirmed so was going by the €300 a week lads I know about.
BUT, In fairness to the FAI ( :eek: ) Ski has spent most of the season on thin ice and his antics are the stuff of legend down in the First Division this season
Yeah I have seen a good few of Lims away games and - he is a character to say the least!
Ye brought a nice crowd to Athlone earlier in the week - fair play - was speaking to a few of your fans also - a sound bunch of lads I must say
01/11/2007, 9:23 PM
Yeah I have seen a good few of Lims away games and - he is a character to say the least!
He's a fcuking moron to say a bit more ;)
Ye brought a nice crowd to Athlone earlier in the week - fair play - was speaking to a few of your fans also - a sound bunch of lads I must say
We're a mixed bag :)
02/11/2007, 12:13 AM
Surely Ski pays his own fines and not the club? In that case then it's not affecting the wage bill in Limerick
Yeah thats the one Kildare County were fined 250 yoyos as well appearently because in the referees own words ' he was afraid for his life'
I'm not joking.
Surely Ski pays his own fines and not the club? In that case then it's not affecting the wage bill in Limerick
Surely you jest, a superstar like Ski paying out of his own pocket?! AFAIK we have paid his previous fines this year and will probably do so again for this one
Yeah thats the one Kildare County were fined 250 yoyos as well appearently because in the referees own words ' he was afraid for his life'
I'm not joking.
That's another fine, nice move steno, don't you know these pages have ears :p
Fining fans for daring to abuse a ref, with the standards in this league, is progress? Yeah, Delaney doing great things for the league as his apologists say... :rolleyes:
el punter
02/11/2007, 8:32 AM
I've never been to an adult football match at any level where the ref hasn't been abused to some degree by the spectators. What is the tipping point for it becoming a fineable offence?
These suspensions really are something to behold, they seem to be from a different era, like when you read local court reports and see the judges' bizarre out of touch comments on society and those before them.
The league is undermined every week that these supensions come out. Yokeldom.
Shamrock Rovers were fined €500 and severely warned as a result of verbal abuse by supporters towards a match official v Cork City (05.10.07).
This smacks of minnowism..........I just despair at this league for 95% of the time I think about it!!
half_full
02/11/2007, 9:18 AM
Time supporters and clubs took a stand on these fines:mad:
02/11/2007, 9:30 AM
Time supporters and clubs took a stand on these fines:mad:
Isn't that (part of) what's happening at Merrion Square today? Of course some people would say that supporters shouldn't take a stand because it brings bad publicity on the league and we should all just bend over and take whatever punishment Mr. Gavin and Mr. Delaney think is appropriate.
We also have the ridiculous situation where, if the clubs complain about this treatment, they are likely to face even heavier fines.