View Full Version : Next Fixture List

29/10/2007, 3:54 AM
In 4 weeks time, the draw for World Cup 2010 is made, so how should we go about negotiating the fixture list for it, as it's important to play the right games at the right times.

Here's a look at the last 4 qualifiers:

WC 2002:
In a 10-match group, the strategy was to play the top 2 seeds away early on, which we did, and brought home 2 vital away points in our first two games. We ended up with 4 of the first 5 away, and finished our away qualifying campaign in June. Leaving the home game with Holland until the second last game of the series, was a big gamble taken by Mick. Holland and Portugal's remaining games were against the minnows, and defeat in Lansdowne, would put us almost certainly out of the competition, but winning it guaranteed us a play-off place at worst. Only GD separated us from Portugal in the group. The scheduling of the play-off meant it was vital, that we took a healthy lead to Iran for the return leg. The 2-0 win was enough to put us into the finals.

EC 2004:
The fixture meeting was held in Dublin, and they were thrashed out in 45 minutes. The policy was to go to one of the heavyweights early on again, in order to catch the home side on a WC hangover, except nobody does that in Moscow. Instead, without Roy Keane, we were the ones to suffer the post-WC withdrawal symptoms, conceding 4 goals in a qualifier for the first time since the home defeat by Denmark in '85. With defeat following in our next match, new manager Kerr was given a blunt task: win in Georgia and Albania at Easter. Victory was achieved in Tbilisi, but the 0-0 draw in Albania was seen as 2 points dropped. With 4 points going into the next 3 games, all at home, 6 points were required from the June double header. The return against Albania, saw the FAI in their wisdom force the players, most of whom hadn't played a game for weeks beforehand, to play at 3.00pm on a balmy Saturday afternoon. The lethargic performance that followed was inevitable. We just about scraped through in injury time. With other teams taking points off each other, two wins from the last 2 games would put us in the finals, while a 2-0 home win over the Russians would guarantee us a play-off spot. The failure to do that, meant having to win in Switzerland was one miracle too much to achieve. The strategy had failed.

WC 2006:
Kerr chose a different strategy at the meeting in Dublin, which was not to play a double header home and away. So no convenient trips to Cyprus and Israel in the same week, but 6 months apart. However, he did borrow a McCarthy tactic, get the trips to the rivals over with as early as possible, but sweetened with a confidence booster at home to Cyprus. A marathon meeting, almost ended in collapse, and the prospect of the last two games being in Paris and Basle as a result. But with 95% of the targets achieved, and France and Switzerland at home in the last month, everything was going to plan until the 90th minute in Israel. The disasterous 2-0 throwaway lead in Lansdowne, and the defeat at home to France, meant that we hadn't taken advantage of the points won away from home. With France leading in Geneva, all we needed was a draw against the Swiss to qualify, but Switzerland levelled against France, and the tables were turned for the last match, as in they only needed a point to qualify. 93 frustrating minutes later, despite having home advantage, we couldn't score the goal that would have put us into the play-off, and we finished 4th. With the first and last games at home, you couldn't have asked for a better fixture list, and yet we still couldn't qualify, despite having the odds stacked in our favour for most of it.

EC 2008:
Again, the strategy was to go to one of the heavies away from home, to take advantage of their WC comedown, except we were in no position to do so in Germany, and played poorly. The agreement at the meeting in Frankfurt, was to play Germany and the Czechs in the first 3 games, and in 2 of the last 4, and twin the trips to the Czechs and Slovaks. With the boss not wanting to play in June, and finishing our campaign first, points had to be accumulated in advance. The throwaway of 2 points in Slovakia and the disaster in Cyprus, combined with defeats to ordinary German and Czech teams away, led to our elimination by September, and our worst qualifying campaign in 22 years.

Personally, I think we should go for a rough model of the WC 2006 list, and we should return to playing qualifiers in June. But I would prefer one change from that system, that would be to play home and away double headers, as it's better to play a team when they're out of form, on a hangover, or have injuries, than when they're firing on all cylinders, with a full-strength squad, while from a fan point of view, it's the best and cheapest solution.

You can't get everything you want, but a fixture list can give you a decisive advantage in a qualifying campaign, as demonstrated best by Germany in this one.

If it was your call, how would you go about it? :)

SuperDave
29/10/2007, 4:33 AM
In 4 weeks time, the draw for World Cup 2010 is made, so how should we go about negotiating the fixture list for it, as it's important to play the right games at the right times.

Here's a look at the last 4 qualifiers:

WC 2002:
In a 10-match group, the strategy was to play the top 2 seeds away early on, which we did, and brought home 2 vital away points in our first two games. We ended up with 4 of the first 5 away, and finished our away qualifying campaign in June. Leaving the home game with Holland until the second last game of the series, was a big gamble taken by Mick. Holland and Portugal's remaining games were against the minnows, and defeat in Lansdowne, would put us almost certainly out of the competition, but winning it guaranteed us a play-off place at worst. Only GD separated us from Portugal in the group. The scheduling of the play-off meant it was vital, that we took a healthy lead to Iran for the return leg. The 2-0 win was enough to put us into the finals.

EC 2004:
The fixture meeting was held in Dublin, and they were thrashed out in 45 minutes. The policy was to go to one of the heavyweights early on again, in order to catch the home side on a WC hangover, except nobody does that in Moscow. Instead, without Roy Keane, we were the ones to suffer the post-WC withdrawal symptoms, conceding 4 goals in a qualifier for the first time since the home defeat by Denmark in '85. With defeat following in our next match, new manager Kerr was given a blunt task: win in Georgia and Albania at Easter. Victory was achieved in Tbilisi, but the 0-0 draw in Albania was seen as 2 points dropped. With 4 points going into the next 3 games, all at home, 6 points were required from the June double header. The return against Albania, saw the FAI in their wisdom force the players, most of whom hadn't played a game for weeks beforehand, to play at 3.00pm on a balmy Saturday afternoon. The lethargic performance that followed was inevitable. We just about scraped through in injury time. With other teams taking points off each other, two wins from the last 2 games would put us in the finals, while a 2-0 home win over the Russians would guarantee us a play-off spot. The failure to do that, meant having to win in Switzerland was one miracle too much to achieve. The strategy had failed.

WC 2006:
Kerr chose a different strategy at the meeting in Dublin, which was not to play a double header home and away. So no convenient trips to Cyprus and Israel in the same week, but 6 months apart. However, he did borrow a McCarthy tactic, get the trips to the rivals over with as early as possible, but sweetened with a confidence booster at home to Cyprus. A marathon meeting, almost ended in collapse, and the prospect of the last two games being in Paris and Basle as a result. But with 95% of the targets achieved, and France and Switzerland at home in the last month, everything was going to plan until the 90th minute in Israel. The disasterous 2-0 throwaway lead in Lansdowne, and the defeat at home to France, meant that we hadn't taken advantage of the points won away from home. With France leading in Geneva, all we needed was a draw against the Swiss to qualify, but Switzerland levelled against France, and the tables were turned for the last match, as in they only needed a point to qualify. 93 frustrating minutes later, despite having home advantage, we couldn't score the goal that would have put us into the play-off, and we finished 4th. With the first and last games at home, you couldn't have asked for a better fixture list, and yet we still couldn't qualify, despite having the odds stacked in our favour for most of it.

EC 2008:
Again, the strategy was to go to one of the heavies away from home, to take advantage of their WC comedown, except we were in no position to do so in Germany, and played poorly. The agreement at the meeting in Frankfurt, was to play Germany and the Czechs in the first 3 games, and in 2 of the last 4, and twin the trips to the Czechs and Slovaks. With the boss not wanting to play in June, and finishing our campaign first, points had to be accumulated in advance. The throwaway of 2 points in Slovakia and the disaster in Cyprus, combined with defeats to ordinary German and Czech teams away, led to our elimination by September, and our worst qualifying campaign in 22 years.

Personally, I think we should go for a rough model of the WC 2006 list, and we should return to playing qualifiers in June. But I would prefer one change from that system, that would be to play home and away double headers, as it's better to play a team when they're out of form, on a hangover, or have injuries, than when they're firing on all cylinders, with a full-strength squad, while from a fan point of view, it's the best and cheapest solution.

You can't get everything you want, but a fixture list can give you a decisive advantage in a qualifying campaign, as demonstrated best by Germany in this one.

If it was your call, how would you go about it? :)

I'd play one of the big two away first and the other third last if you can get it, with the last game at home to second seeds. I really can't see the second seed, whoever that may be, wanting to come to dublin on the last day, unless they are supremely confident that they can beat us. Maybe secondlast game at home to second seed with last game against a minnow, be it home or away. I think you need a crunch possible must win or must draw at home with the second seed at such stage that if you won that game, you'd have it in your own hands. heading away late to the second and third seeds (a la czech rep and slovaks in this series) is a bad bad idea, cos it leaves you with absolutely no comeback.

on another note, the world cup seedings are decided on the basis of fifa rankings and ireland are currently 21st in europe. i dunno how hard it would be to hit 18th (but i's guess slim) but even defeat in cardiff is unlikely to hurt us that bad in world rankings.

note: what could be a massive plus is last at home to the top seeds, not the second seeds, in that chances are it'll be a nothing game for them. certainly big games at home late on is a plus, but not to pair the two hardest away games.

30/10/2007, 4:48 PM
I'd play one of the big two away first and the other third last if you can get it, with the last game at home to second seeds. I really can't see the second seed, whoever that may be, wanting to come to dublin on the last day, unless they are supremely confident that they can beat us. Maybe secondlast game at home to second seed with last game against a minnow, be it home or away. I think you need a crunch possible must win or must draw at home with the second seed at such stage that if you won that game, you'd have it in your own hands. heading away late to the second and third seeds (a la czech rep and slovaks in this series) is a bad bad idea, cos it leaves you with absolutely no comeback.

note: what could be a massive plus is last at home to the top seeds, not the second seeds, in that chances are it'll be a nothing game for them. certainly big games at home late on is a plus, but not to pair the two hardest away games.

Well we had the second seeds at home last for the '06 campaign. It was great to have it at home, but we couldn't take advantage of it. To come to within a goal of a play-off spot was heart-breaking.

I don't think we should play away to the heavies until we have a game or two on the board, preferably comfortable wins to get confidence up beforehand, and allow the new boss to settle in ok. Visiting the heavies first is a big gamble, one that worked for '02, but failed in '04 and '08. The Germans and the Czechs were way ahead of us by the time we got our first point in the last campaign. It could be a 5-team, 8-match group next time, and we can't afford to lose 2 games in it, if we hope to make the play-off or qualification.

SuperDave
30/10/2007, 4:56 PM
Well we had the second seeds at home last for the '06 campaign. It was great to have it at home, but we couldn't take advantage of it. To come to within a goal of a play-off spot was heart-breaking.

I don't think we should play away to the heavies until we have a game or two on the board, preferably comfortable wins to get confidence up beforehand, and allow the new boss to settle in ok. Visiting the heavies first is a big gamble, one that worked for '02, but failed in '04 and '08. The Germans and the Czechs were way ahead of us by the time we got our first point in the last campaign. It could be a 5-team, 8-match group next time, and we can't afford to lose 2 games in it, if we hope to make the play-off or qualification.

in all likelihood it will be a six team group. 9 groups, 8 of six, one of 5. nine winners qualify + 8 best runners up into playoffs.

galwayhoop
31/10/2007, 9:18 AM
But I would prefer one change from that system, that would be to play home and away double headers, as it's better to play a team when they're out of form, on a hangover, or have injuries, than when they're firing on all cylinders, with a full-strength squad,
unfortunately it is impossible to predict these things!!!

isn't it disheartening how many tournaments we have missed out on in recent years.

Ireland4ever
31/10/2007, 11:44 AM
I'd

Think this shows haw far we have regressed as a footballing nation. Before the group has even been decided we have resigned to the fact that we wont be contesting to win it. :(

jmurphyc
31/10/2007, 3:59 PM
I'd say try to get the away games against the two top seeds anytime in the first half of '09. That way our new manager will have time to work out his best team and let the players get used to his system before they play a big game. Then ideally we could play these two sides in the final few games of the campaign at home.

citizenerased
31/10/2007, 5:51 PM
i think we should deffo start off with a home game to one of the big teams, as they will be knackered from euro 2008...then try to get an easy away game..we deffo have to be playing in the last round of games aswell...

01/11/2007, 2:06 AM
unfortunately it is impossible to predict these things!!!

Well it is, but going on trends, we tend to get one of the teams that we faced in the previous campaign. For the current one, it was Cyprus, for the one before then, it was Switzerland.

In about 3 weeks time, before the draw is made, we'll know 8 other teams that will be in our pot, and therefore we cannot face in the qualifiers. It should be easy to know some of them, (going by European rankings) before the draw is made. At the moment, we could draw Wales again, with England and Scotland in the same group.

Personally, I'd prefer a wide variety of teams, and not "the Balkan group", that we got for the EC 2000 qualifiers. :rolleyes:

01/11/2007, 7:51 PM
The FAI are taking this draw very seriously. They even postponed the Cup Final because of it. :D

danonion
01/11/2007, 8:57 PM
Well it is, but going on trends, we tend to get one of the teams that we faced in the previous campaign. For the current one, it was Cyprus, for the one before then, it was Switzerland.

Yes and we usually play well in March.

macdermesser
02/11/2007, 7:31 AM
Yes and we usually play well in March.

hehe .. I have to pinch myself sometimes to make me believe that the last year supporting the Irish team and the bizarre statements and actions of Team Stan really happened.

02/11/2007, 9:59 AM
hehe .. I have to pinch myself sometimes to make me believe that the last year supporting the Irish team and the bizarre statements and actions of Team Stan really happened.

Christ ya forgot that quote, I think the longer time passes on this campaign the more ridiculous its going to look. In fairness both the McCarthy and Kerr era had low points etc but nothing compares to the last 18 months or so. We really shouldve known what was ahead after that trouncing we got of Holland at the start of the campaign.

02/11/2007, 10:06 AM
We really shouldve known what was ahead after that trouncing we got of Holland at the start of the campaign.Pedantism: it was before the start of the campaign.

Chile & Holland were shockers alright but we could tentatively cling to the Sweden game as a positive. Hindsight is a great thing. Could any of us have foreseen a 25 game unbeaten run and WC qualification after back-to-back home defeats to Scotland & Greece? Or have I got my dates mixed up?

03/11/2007, 12:48 PM

Apparantly, the effects of the Christmas English fixture pile-up, was blamed for the "performance" in Serraville. :confused::rolleyes::D

SuperDave
04/11/2007, 12:10 AM
Apparantly, the effects of the Christmas English fixture pile-up, was blamed for the "performance" in Serraville. :confused::rolleyes:

that, and the fact san marino are going to prove a handful as the group goes on.:rolleyes:

wales 3-0 san marino
germany 6-0 san marino
san marino 0-1 cyprus
san marino 0-3 czech rep
cyprus 3-0 san marino
slovakia 7-0 san marino
san marino 1-2 wales

so that's one goal scored, 25 conceded and seven straight defeats. definitely handful material.

19/11/2007, 11:07 AM
Regardless of who we get I think we should try and get a good start by playing lesser teams first and trying to have a "Cup Final" style finish at home to a bigger team. I think we need to build momentum and a feelgood factor and we also need to give the younger fringe players as long as possible to get up to the standard.

We were out of this campaign after the first 3 games for all intents and purposes.

galwayhoop
19/11/2007, 11:18 AM
Regardless of who we get I think we should try and get a good start by playing lesser teams first and trying to have a "Cup Final" style finish at home to a bigger team. I think we need to build momentum and a feelgood factor and we also need to give the younger fringe players as long as possible to get up to the standard.

We were out of this campaign after the first 3 games for all intents and purposes.

not a bad idea at all.

in the recent campaigns we have gone after the big guns early. why not get some of the smaller teams first and build up a head of steam. especially as it will involve a new manager and him familarising himself with the squad!! why not get points on the board and let the top seeds face each other if they want.

SuperDave
19/11/2007, 6:32 PM
not a bad idea at all.

in the recent campaigns we have gone after the big guns early. why not get some of the smaller teams first and build up a head of steam. especially as it will involve a new manager and him familarising himself with the squad!! why not get points on the board and let the top seeds face each other if they want.

yes. ever since the 02 campaign there has been this idea that to play the big guns away early is a good thing, but that was only cos of our luck in those two particular games. for a new manager and relatively inexperienced squad, we need to space those games out. assuming a six team group (there are 8 of six and one of five), we'd probably be looking to play the first seeds at home early on and the second seeds at home last day, with the away trips in between, but not too close together.

the one thing we really need, the thing that propelled us to the 2002 world cup, is to beat every team below us home and away. that would be 18 points, and is 80 % of the work towards at least making a playoff place.

19/11/2007, 6:44 PM

I would have said we were out of this campaign after 2 games, 0 points from 6 and even though both games were away we still had to play the second seeds twice.

carloz
19/11/2007, 8:00 PM
I would complatly avoid the big two for the first couple of games. It only ever worked once for us. Get points on the board and work from there. We have played catch up recently in groups. Lets get some points on the board against the wipping boys first i say

19/11/2007, 9:24 PM
Agree with nearly all of the posts so far. We should be aiming to get the bankable (!) games out early doors, for confidence, momentum, points on the board.
To even think about qualifying we have to take maximum points from the countries ranked 4,5, and 6.
Not sure how the wrangling goes over the fixture list but do the higher seeds not have more sway over who and when they play.
One thing to remember about the fixtures for the next group. Its unlikely we'll have a home game in Aug 08, Sept 08, May 09, June 09, July 09, Aug 09 or Sept 09. Due to the Championship being on. So its likely we'll have a few home double headers squashed into next October, and the following October with a randomer in Feb 09 perhaps.

21/11/2007, 4:00 AM
I would complatly avoid the big two for the first couple of games. It only ever worked once for us.

It worked for us in the last WC campaign, and we had 8 points from 4 games. We just screwed it all up by not taking advantage at home. :( :rolleyes:

23/11/2007, 1:06 AM
Not sure how the wrangling goes over the fixture list but do the higher seeds not have more sway over who and when they play.
One thing to remember about the fixtures for the next group.

At the start of the negotiating, everyone gets to state if there's any dates they can't play. When we negotiated the last fixtures, we told the other countries reps, that we couldn't play the heavies at home early, due to Lansdowne renovations. :confused: Which only began this year. :rolleyes: Israel said that they couldn't play on the last day, October 12th. Apart from that, everyone thrashes out the games between themselves, with a fair bit of give and take going on.

However, if the meeting breaks up without agreement, the list is handed over to FIFA to draw up, and they do it according to the seedings in the group. Therefore as third seeds, we would have to play the heavies away very late in the group, possibly even the last two games. :(

25/11/2007, 9:45 PM
Alright lads, all fixture predictions in here. :)

Italy,
Bulgaria,
Cyprus,
Georgia
Montenegro

The ideal list would be imo:

With no chance of a home game to start the group, let's try and get the far east (Cyprus/Georgia) away games out of the way in September next year. If we do that, it's going to be hard to see where we fit in the Italy away game, as we will probably have a home double header in March. Hopefully, visits to Montenegro and Bulgaria will be in the one trip, as they're close enough in September '09. Hoping for a home game with Bulgaria last, as in '87. ;)

Curtains
25/11/2007, 9:55 PM
Alright lads, all fixture predictions in here. :)

Italy,
Bulgaria,
Cyprus,
Georgia
Montenegro

The ideal list would be imo:

With no chance of a home game to start the group, let's try and get the far east (Cyprus/Georgia) away games out of the way in September next year. If we do that, it's going to be hard to see where we fit in the Italy away game, as we will probably have a home double header in March. Hopefully, visits to Montenegro and Bulgaria will be in the one trip, as they're close enough in September '09. Hoping for a home game with Bulgaria last, as in '87. ;)

I think with croke unavailable it would be best to have only the one game in september, my thinking either away to georgia or cyprus. I agree with the above that having montenegro and bulgaria in the same week away from home would make sense but i feel that is too much (see prague and slovakia this year). Play the smaller teams first and get points on the board, avoid our usual playing of the big teams first, they just dent confidence.

Its gonna be hard but if we cant beat the likes of bulgaria at least once we dont deserve to be at a world cup!

Lets go!!:D

26/11/2007, 4:41 AM
Italy, Bulgaria, and the knife-wielding Georgians will be 3 very, very hostile trips. :(

26/11/2007, 1:27 PM
I'd say (judging from the dates available for the last few yrs) the fixtures will go something like this:

Sept 08: Cyprus away
Oct 08: Bulgaria Home , Georgia Home (double header)
Nov 08: Cyprus Home, Italy Away

Mar 09: Montenegro Home
June 09 Montenegro Away

Sept 09 Georgia Away, Bulgaria Away
Oct 09 Italy Home.

26/11/2007, 2:22 PM
need to avoid montenegro for their first ever competitive match. will make it twice as hard especially if away. the faroe islands beat austria 1 nil in their first ever competitive match and have hardly won since

26/11/2007, 7:55 PM
Montenegro in June away fabulous destination for a holiday. Getting a Hotel then will be difficult cause it is a tourist destination and Serbs go on their holidays there and there are almost 8 million of them :D

26/11/2007, 8:18 PM
I'd say (judging from the dates available for the last few yrs) the fixtures will go something like this:

Sept 08: Cyprus away
Oct 08: Bulgaria Home , Georgia Home (double header)
Nov 08: Cyprus Home, Italy Away

Mar 09: Montenegro Home
June 09 Montenegro Away

Sept 09 Georgia Away, Bulgaria Away
Oct 09 Italy Home.
I'd be surprised if we only played one game early in 2009 and 5 games late in 2008. I think they will be spread out more evenly. Not sure I'd want to be going into the last game against Italy wanting a point or a win. Your fixtures gives us a very hard finish.

27/11/2007, 10:52 AM
I'd be surprised if we only played one game early in 2009 and 5 games late in 2008. I think they will be spread out more evenly. Not sure I'd want to be going into the last game against Italy wanting a point or a win. Your fixtures gives us a very hard finish.

I'm not saying thats the way I'd have the fixtures, I just think with the dates we'd traditionally have home games, Sept 08&09, and the start and end of the summer 09, we have no scope for home matches. Plus I'd imagine we'll have to factor in either one or two home matches in 2009 for the Celtic cup, which will reduce or options further.
Given that we were pretty much out of contention after 3 games in the last campaign I can't see them going after either of the top seeds in the first game (which has to be away because of Croker).

16/12/2007, 1:37 AM
Scotland arranged their fixtures. Whoever represented them at the meeting got a great list, with 3 of their last 4 at home. But they finish their campaign in September, which could count against them, as I'm assuming there will be WCQ's in October, and the other countries in their group, will know what they have to do to beat them to qualification.

Our meeting in Sofia is still a month away.

03/01/2008, 12:05 AM
2 weeks to go to the meeting now, and it looks as though Don Givens will have to negotiate the games again for us, like he did for the '06 WC group.

Tbh, I find it hard to fit in where we can play a 5th away game, given that 4 of them in both Septembers are already allocated. I'm sure an extra trip in June won't go down well with anyone here, given player fatigue and heat reasons. Unlike previous years, we'll go in with conditions attached, with non-negotiable home dates as well, and I don't know how we'll be able to fit all the games around them.

I hope the list won't go to FIFA to draw lots, as then it's simply (un)lucky dip. :o

03/01/2008, 12:14 AM
are u sure givens did it for the 06 group. As far as I know Fran Rooney and a few others went in and Kerr sat outside on purpose but all decisions had to go through Kerr

03/01/2008, 12:16 AM
2 weeks to go to the meeting now, and it looks as though Don Givens will have to negotiate the games again for us, like he did for the '06 WC group.

Tbh, I find it hard to fit in where we can play a 5th away game, given that 4 of them in both Septembers are already allocated. I'm sure an extra trip in June won't go down well with anyone here, given player fatigue and heat reasons. Unlike previous years, we'll go in with conditions attached, with non-negotiable home dates as well, and I don't know how we'll be able to fit all the games around them.

I hope the list won't go to FIFA to draw lots, as then it's simply (un)lucky dip. :o

As I said before our 5 away dates have basically the 2 Septembers and the June which is six dates and possibly one other date. So that is 5 out of a possible 7

03/01/2008, 5:35 AM
Givens negotiated for us, as apparantly he is popular in Switzerland. Kerr was briefed on what he was offered.

March and October are "set" home dates, while June and September are "set" away dates. That would allocate 9 fixtures. But certain countries won't play ball, so it won't turn out like that. There is an option of playing in November, but very few countries are willing to play then. This list could see lots drawn.

03/01/2008, 10:18 AM
whats the exact date for this fixture arrangement?

03/01/2008, 11:53 AM
16th January.

03/01/2008, 12:55 PM
Givens negotiated for us, as apparantly he is popular in Switzerland. Kerr was briefed on what he was offered.
From http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/gerry-mcdermott-french-fury-as-fai-win-fixtures-battle-183085.html:

Instead, he [Kerr] waited in another room in the hotel while FAI Chief Executive Fran Rooney, Honorary Treasurer John Delaney and U-21 manager, Don Givens, formed the Irish delegation. The meeting was chaired by FAI President, Milo Corcoran.

Paulie
03/01/2008, 2:04 PM
16th January.

I think it was changed to the 14th.

04/01/2008, 11:42 AM
I think it was changed to the 14th.

According to FAI website here (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2751) the fixtures meeting is on 15th January.

Paulie
04/01/2008, 11:58 AM
According to FAI website here (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2751) the fixtures meeting is on 15th January.

Good man. Thanks for clearing that up.

Greenforever
07/01/2008, 8:24 PM
Most of the fixtures are probably already agreed ahead of the fixtures meeting, given we will bring the biggest travelling support of any of the countries that gives us a bit of clout with the likes of Cyprus, Montenego and Georgia who probably will be desperate to sell tickets, and will take the dates the fai offer them. Given the ticket prices in Cyprus the last time the cypriot fa probably took more in gate receipts from the irish game then the rest of their home matches combined with the possible exception of the German game. The last fixtures meting was over so quick it was obvious that a load of the dates were pre agreed between the various countries.

My own choice would be
Sept (Sat) Georgia away
Oct Bulgaria and Montenegro home
Nov Cyprus away even though its designated a friendly date and not a wcq date
Mar 09 Italy away and Cyprus Home
Sept Bulgaria and Montenegro away
Oct Sat Italy home and finish up with Georgia at home.

p_o_r
07/01/2008, 10:23 PM
My own choice would be
Sept (Sat) Georgia away
Oct Bulgaria and Montenegro home
Nov Cyprus away even though its designated a friendly date and not a wcq date
Mar 09 Italy away and Cyprus Home
Sept Bulgaria and Montenegro away
Oct Sat Italy home and finish up with Georgia at home.

Does anyone know the exact dates set aside for fixtures by UEFA or FIFA ?, I want to do some pre-fixture meeting flight resaerch so I prepared for fast bookings

07/01/2008, 10:34 PM
Check out the fans forum thread international dates.

08/01/2008, 1:01 AM
Sometimes, the meeting is over quickly, others go on all day/night, others are not agreed upon, making UEFA/FIFA step in.

I think with all our conditions attached, it will be very difficult to agree to a list. There are 5 other countries in it, and not all of them will bend their backsides to cater for us, especially Italy and Bulgaria. How many countries want to travel to Dublin in Oct '09? How many will allow us to have 2 away games at the start of the qualifiers? Will someone have to play all their games before the last day?

It may have to go to FIFA, and if it does, as third seeds, we may end up getting the raw deal from it.

p_o_r
08/01/2008, 7:57 AM
Check out the fans forum thread international dates.

Thanks

Greenforever
08/01/2008, 8:10 AM
Sometimes, the meeting is over quickly, others go on all day/night, others are not agreed upon, making UEFA/FIFA step in.

I think with all our conditions attached, it will be very difficult to agree to a list. There are 5 other countries in it, and not all of them will bend their backsides to cater for us, especially Italy and Bulgaria. How many countries want to travel to Dublin in Oct '09? How many will allow us to have 2 away games at the start of the qualifiers? Will someone have to play all their games before the last day?

It may have to go to FIFA, and if it does, as third seeds, we may end up getting the raw deal from it.

I agree Italy and Bulgaria may not be very accomodating but I would imagine the others will. It also depends on when Italy want to play us, remember they finished with an away game in Glasgow in the Euros, they will probably expect to have qualified after Sept 09's games.

13/01/2008, 4:36 AM
Forecast fixtures:

Italy (a) Sep. '08
Cyprus (a) Sep. '08
Georgia (h) Oct. '08
Montenegro (h) Oct. '08
Georgia (a) Nov. '09
Italy (h) Mar. '09
Cyprus (h) Mar. '09
Montenegro (a) Sep. '09
Bulgaria (a) Sep. '09
Bulgaria (h) Oct. '09

I think the delegates will once again go for the big gun away early, so that will probably mean Italy away first, look for away games back-to-back then, and look for 7 games to be played by March. Most countries hate playing in June, so I guess we'll look to avoid it as well. The joker in the pack could be the last game back-to-back with the Bulgars. In most cases, the host of the meeting gets to choose their last fixture, but with our conditions this time, and with the FAI probably looking to finish with a big game at home, I think we'll finish at home to Bulgaria in October 2009, similiar to how we finished the Euro'88 campaign. And we know what happened then, don't we?

Wonder how many Mystic Mypost will get right? :)