View Full Version : Congrats Longford and Matthews for Manager of the year

28/10/2007, 4:18 PM
Great to see the Town win hopefully ye will stay up now as well. Alan Matthews walks on Water id say lads.:ball:

28/10/2007, 4:43 PM
Great game! Couldnt make the game, had to make do with watching it in a London 'Irish' pub with no commentary cos Arsenal v Liverpool on. But delighted, it'll be the icing on the cake if we stay up! I'd actually rather stay up rather than Europe. But happy days!

Da Real Rover
28/10/2007, 6:08 PM
Delighted UCD didnt make the final, fair play to Longford.

28/10/2007, 6:10 PM
Well at least Longford will bring a support to the Cup Final.

They'll probably win it at this stage,although they've had an extremely easy ride all the way to the Final.

28/10/2007, 6:14 PM
Well done to Longford.

I don't mean to rain on the parade but why is everyone backing Matthews for manager of the year?

The 6 point gap is one thing (which they haven't recovered yet) and the cup final is the only other thing I can think of. They seem to be playing well at the moment but why couldn't Matthews get that out of them earlier on in the season?

28/10/2007, 7:13 PM
Such a great feeling, fair play to the lads. Not the prettiest of games but I'll take it!! :p

28/10/2007, 8:03 PM
Congratulations to Longford. Ground out the result, showed good character and experience and resolute defending. Well taken goal by Martin.

Philly
28/10/2007, 10:58 PM
So with Cork looking good for 2nd place in the league, if they win does the UEFA Cup spot go to 3rd place in the League; or will we have a Division One side in Longford playing in Europe next season? Last time that happened (Dundalk) it was embarrassing.

28/10/2007, 10:59 PM
It would go to third in the league, which would then push the intertoto spot down to fourth.

28/10/2007, 11:16 PM
There is no way he should get manager of the year. I hate saying but it would be farcical if he were to get it, and devalue all other previous selections.

forza
28/10/2007, 11:34 PM
So with Cork looking good for 2nd place in the league, if they win does the UEFA Cup spot go to 3rd place in the League; or will we have a Division One side in Longford playing in Europe next season? Last time that happened (Dundalk) it was embarrassing.

Cork are mid table :D

Celdrog
28/10/2007, 11:34 PM
So with Cork looking good for 2nd place in the league, if they win does the UEFA Cup spot go to 3rd place in the League; :confused:
Cork are 5 points off second place with two games left. Pats (or Bohs)will get second and UEFA. Cup winners will get UEFA and third (or fourth) depending on where Cork finish will get the intertoto.

The UEFA spot for the cup is a higher value than the league spot and stays with the cup. The only way the cup losers go into the UEFA is if the winners are in the CL. In 2005 the Drogs were in the UEFA cup before the cup final either way as Cork were in the CL.

29/10/2007, 12:01 AM
No way should Matthews get Manager of the year.

Gill at Dundalk would have a better shout for it...... :eek:

The Lilywhites
29/10/2007, 12:19 AM
1. Scully
2. Henderson
3. Hegarty or Mathews

29/10/2007, 1:28 AM
So basically, if Longford fail to beat Cork in the final then they can't get into Europe next season yes?

29/10/2007, 2:00 AM
Scully certainly shouldn't get manager of the year under any circumstances.

Finn Harps or Cobh's season merits their managers more credit than most I'd hazard a guess.

Longford should be thankful for Sammon playing upfront today for their win. Good goal though.

Celdrog
29/10/2007, 4:15 AM
Anybody that thinks Matthews deserves manager of the year needs there head examined, Scully is the obvious winner.
There is no actual award for manager of the year though???
Matthews is looking at being relegated. Scully is looking at blowing 2nd and finishing 5th. McDonnell loooks like second but the Pats fans want him out. Connor won nothing and looks like third. Rico may get the cup but he's brought Cork from champions to 4th / 5th in 2 seasons. Gill had the biggest budget in the first division but came third and a long way back.

Only one manager has managed to win two trophies and they are both the most valuable.;) Like him or not but Doolin has delivered this year.

JC_GUFC
29/10/2007, 7:32 AM
Agree Celdrog, at the end of the season only one manager has delivered the Premier Division title to their club adding to the Setanta Cup earlier in the season.

Scully was in with a shout but the last few games have been a disaster and they won't even qualify for Europe now.

Matthews has done exceptionally well in the second half of the season but on the field only 2 teams have picked up fewer points than them.

Stato
29/10/2007, 7:49 AM
So basically, if Longford fail to beat Cork in the final then they can't get into Europe next season yes?

That's what everyone said about Pats last season!!! Cork to get second in the league and Drogheda to "do a Shelbourne"? What odds?

29/10/2007, 9:43 AM
Great to see the Town win hopefully ye will stay up now as well. Alan Matthews walks on Water id say lads.:ball:

Apparantly this guy doesn't realise that Longford staying up could mean his own club going down. Love all the UCD naysayers congratulating a team for playing some of the worst football I've seen all year (and I've been to watch Limerick, Wexford, Kilkenny, Kildare and Cobh in that time) :rolleyes: Then again obsessions are hard to come by, and even harder to let go of

29/10/2007, 9:54 AM
On the subject, I know a few weeks back in Scotland they introduced a new ruling whereby the cup runner-up will not get a European spot if the cup winner has already qualified for Europe. The European place goes to the next spot in the league which, iirc, would be 4th or 5th. It was brought in because of how poorly Gretna, Dundee United and Dunfermline performed in the UEFA Cup.

AFAIK, there isn't something like that over here. Do others think something similar should be brought in? Considering there are only 22 league teams, it is quite possible that a "weak" side can qualify for Europe by finishing runners up. I'm sure the coefficient obsessed would be shivering in their socks at the prospect of Monaghan United taking on Kairat Almaty in the UEFA Cup.

Personally, I feel the runner-up should get the European place. It's some consolation for losing a cup final, which is very tough to take, against a big side.

29/10/2007, 10:15 AM
Apparantly this guy doesn't realise that Longford staying up could mean his own club going down. Love all the UCD naysayers congratulating a team for playing some of the worst football I've seen all year (and I've been to watch Limerick, Wexford, Kilkenny, Kildare and Cobh in that time) :rolleyes: Then again obsessions are hard to come by, and even harder to let go of

If you checked the table you would see Lonford cant actually catch us and as for obsessions you surely have one massive one with Galway.

29/10/2007, 10:23 AM
On the subject, I know a few weeks back in Scotland they introduced a new ruling whereby the cup runner-up will not get a European spot if the cup winner has already qualified for Europe. The European place goes to the next spot in the league which, iirc, would be 4th or 5th. It was brought in because of how poorly Gretna, Dundee United and Dunfermline performed in the UEFA Cup.

AFAIK, there isn't something like that over here. Do others think something similar should be brought in? Considering there are only 22 league teams, it is quite possible that a "weak" side can qualify for Europe by finishing runners up. I'm sure the coefficient obsessed would be shivering in their socks at the prospect of Monaghan United taking on Kairat Almaty in the UEFA Cup.

Personally, I feel the runner-up should get the European place. It's some consolation for losing a cup final, which is very tough to take, against a big side.

We don't have the huge imbalance that Scottish football has (even if this season is looking more balanced than usual there results-wise), so I don't think we need to go down that route re Cup runners-up.

29/10/2007, 10:48 AM
We don't have the huge imbalance that Scottish football has (even if this season is looking more balanced than usual there results-wise), so I don't think we need to go down that route re Cup runners-up.
Look at the clubs that have done well in Europe in recent years. Bohs, Shels, Cork, Derry and Drogs. All full-time top of the table outfits.

29/10/2007, 10:51 AM
If you checked the table you would see Lonford cant actually catch us and as for obsessions you surely have one massive one with Galway.

Yes keep saying that whilst you rock back and forth alternating between whispering to yourself about how UCD and Limerick are out to get you

29/10/2007, 12:07 PM
think Scully should get it. to come from the first div. and take a club to a possible top 5 in the premier div. is quite a task.
I know he wont get it but our own Paul Cook has done very well too with one of the smallest squads and also getting the best out of of Dick Brush,Faz,Judge and Hughes.

stann
29/10/2007, 12:43 PM

Maybe you should check that table again and then pray those words don't come back to haunt ya! :D

29/10/2007, 12:46 PM
Longford can't finish ahead of Galway because of goal difference.

29/10/2007, 1:30 PM
Maybe you should check that table again and then pray those words don't come back to haunt ya! :D

Its you my friend who need to check the table.Roll on Friday night we owe ye one.

29/10/2007, 1:34 PM
Longford can't finish ahead of Galway because of goal difference.
Couple of freak results and that can be overturned.

Unlikely, but not impossible.

29/10/2007, 1:39 PM
Couple of freak results and that can be overturned.

Unlikely, but not impossible.

29/10/2007, 1:40 PM
What? True, isn't it?

stann
29/10/2007, 2:03 PM
Its you my friend who need to check the table.Roll on Friday night we owe ye one.

We'd prefer three thanks. ;)

Oh, and not to labour the point, but your very words to Jebus: 'if you checked the table you would see Longford can't actually catch us'
6 points behind, 9 goals worse off on GD, with two games left to play means it's extremely unlikely Longford will catch you, but in no way means it's impossible.
Go check again! :D

30/10/2007, 5:09 PM
There is no Manager Of The Year anyhow so its irrelevant. Mathews has though done a magnificent job with what he's had to work with and put up with this year. We didn't even have 7 fit subs yesterday AFAIK

WoodquayBoy
01/11/2007, 8:42 AM
We'd prefer three thanks. ;)

Oh, and not to labour the point, but your very words to Jebus: 'if you checked the table you would see Longford can't actually catch us'
6 points behind, 9 goals worse off on GD, with two games left to play means it's extremely unlikely Longford will catch you, but in no way means it's impossible.
Go check again! :D

If I was you buddy I'd be worried worried about Longford catching you lot than them catching us. And as for the lemon from Limerick, when you have something worthy of being called a club, then we'll enter a debate.

01/11/2007, 9:48 AM
There is no Manager Of The Year anyhow so its irrelevant. Mathews has though done a magnificent job with what he's had to work with and put up with this year. We didn't even have 7 fit subs yesterday AFAIK

He should've signed more. Matthews out!

Scully was a shoo-in until he kicked lads off the bus on the way to Waterford and let players go on loan (with worse cover in his "retained" squad).

Doolin will suffer from the "sure they had to win it, they had twice the squad every one else did" syndrome (which is true, all he had to do was not **** up)

At the start of the year most were predictating mid table for Pats and we're going to finish 2nd or 3rd, so McDonnell has exceeded most expectations.

Of the others I think Tony Cousins can be happy enough with his season (provided they stay out of play off) and the others either had standard seasons or poor (Mahon with UCD and Connors with Bohs IMO)

As for FAI Cup. I strongly beliefe that the losers should get the UEFA spot if beaten by the champs. I couldn't care less about the fecking co-efficient prefering to see the spread of wealth not confined to top 3/4 clubs every year

stann
01/11/2007, 11:55 AM
If I was you buddy I'd be worried worried about Longford catching you lot than them catching us. And as for the lemon from Limerick, when you have something worthy of being called a club, then we'll enter a debate.

I'm not worried about Longford catching you. Why would that worry me? It'd be more likely to make me laugh meself sick to be honest. :)
And, I'm not that worried about Longford catching us either, not yet, though they're resisting relegation fiercely, and very impressively to be fair. We'll see what happens after tomorrow night, they're the two key matches that will determine whether or how we should worry about the final outcome.
And I'm not your buddy either. :p ;)

WoodquayBoy
01/11/2007, 1:02 PM
And I'm not your buddy either. :p ;)
That hurts ;0)

01/11/2007, 2:11 PM

:D:D Says the man who supports the First Division side masquerading as a Premier club. The club whos fans expect a pat on the back for every Mars bar they sell in their club shop. The same club who have won what in their glorious history? One cup of note? The same club who turns a blind eye to the mess Leeson made of so many peoples lives just as long as he produces nice shiny DVDs to paper over the large crack that is their club's trophy cabinet?

I'll take it you're one of the Galway fans who has come on board in the last year and a half and so is ignorant of your clubs not so great history then Woodie

WoodquayBoy
01/11/2007, 3:16 PM
No, I'm well aware of the history, I have been going to Terryland since the late 70s, thanks. How about yourself, how long have you been supporting Limerick 37?

01/11/2007, 3:40 PM
No, I'm well aware of the history, I have been going to Terryland since the late 70s, thanks. How about yourself, how long have you been supporting Limerick 37?

Is this a trick question? Hoping I'll say a number of years so you can jump in with your insightful Galway wit about how we've only been around for one year? Why is it that Galway people always resort to the easy quips? Must be something in the water :eek:

Good comeback though to the lack of a glorious history I mentioned in regards to your club, and the Leeson conundrum. It really sat well as part two of your brainteaser of when exactly Limerick will be worthy enough of entering a debate with neverhavebeens

WoodquayBoy
01/11/2007, 5:29 PM
No, it was sarcasm, not a trick question. As for Leeson, ye got a second chance at soccer in that sport, sorry, rugby mad city of yours. Is he not entitled to a second chance as well? Anyway, no point in having this collapse into a slanging match, so I'll leave it at that