View Full Version : Tonight's Latest
26/10/2007, 11:34 PM
How can UCD be safe and we arent :o .The arrogance is unbelievable are ye going to win yere last 2 games.if waterford win their last 2 and ye lose both of yours then its the playoff for UCD.
In fairness T i think Pineapple Stu is out on his own on alot of those views,from reading their forum aswell.
Any rational UCD fan knows they're not safe yet.
26/10/2007, 11:51 PM
Very nervous after tonight, Was very confident earlier in the week but didn't know Derry had loads of players injured. Not inconceivable that we'll get 0 points and Galway 6 but if we play our best we have 3 points in Terryland.
26/10/2007, 11:56 PM
Wouldn't say that.
We've actually won 3 out of our last 5 games in Terryland now.....with one draw and a loss.
It depends really.If we're safe there'll only be around 2000 there and it will be a pretty mundane game,unless ye have to win it.
But if we need a point there'll be 3000+ there with a huge vocal contingent and the home advantage would probably be a big aid in getting us that point.
Can't see us losing though-Cousins needs results to keep his job.
26/10/2007, 11:58 PM
Can't see us losing though-Cousins needs results to keep his job.
But you think Cousins is ****e?;)
27/10/2007, 12:00 AM
But you think Cousins is ****e?;)
Touche.
To be honest i'd be surprised if either team ended up in the playoff now....but both of us are by no means 100% safe,despite Stu's overwhelming confidence.
27/10/2007, 12:02 AM
Fair dues to Cork, players and fans. You were brilliant.
Great rendition of De Banks: had me consoling my kids by reminding them that their great granddad was a Corkie.
Fair dues to Cork, players and fans. You were brilliant.
Great rendition of De Banks: had me consoling my kids by reminding them that their great granddad was a Corkie.
Great to see a post like that on here rather than the usual slagging and my club is bigger than yours bull****.
The Man Himself
27/10/2007, 8:50 AM
I love this.We're ahead of ye in the table and you're certain ye're safe and we're not.:D
Simple for UTD-1 point against Waterford and we're staying up.
you wont get anything from waterford, not if they keep playing the way their playing.
brilliant against drogheda last night and should have won it.
GUFCT, Do you honestly think if they'd won they wouldn't be on here in droves slagging? Anyway, out of retirement for one post just to thank a couple of Cork buddies for making me feel welcome supporting them tonight in our old Hoops shed. Great craic. Once again Cork proved their still the best footballing side in the league by a mile, unlike the 'hoof it up to Mansaram' tactics employed by the small club. Btw Bohs fans, most of us were under the impression the disgrace that is the initials on the back of the jersies would be taken off?
The Man Himself
27/10/2007, 9:31 AM
. Once again Cork proved their still the best footballing side in the league by a mile, ?:eek:
no way are cork better then Drogheda.
Pablo Escobar
27/10/2007, 9:48 AM
As a footballing side, as he said, by a mile.
Drogheda are what I'd call an efficient side, and they're very good at that.
27/10/2007, 10:24 AM
he didnt say they were better than Drogheda but I would agree with him they are the best footballing side on their day by a long country mile.Drogheda would put you to sleep sometimes.But Hoopy why did you have to descend to the infantile bigger club than yours slagging match again.
CharlesThompson
27/10/2007, 10:37 AM
But Hoopy why did you have to descend to the infantile bigger club than yours slagging match again.
Because he's a shams fan.
On the match last night. Big congratulations to Cork. Created a good atmosphere from the shed and their team taught us a few lessons last night. Not least - if you're playing in the semi final of the cup it's better to have a plan.
27/10/2007, 10:45 AM
Great to see a post like that on here rather than the usual slagging and my club is bigger than yours bull****.
Love the way that statement and it's good intentions triggered a mini bout of mine is bigger than yours slagging on straight after it was posted. We really are a funny shower :D
It depends really.If we're safe there'll only be around 2000 there and it will be a pretty mundane game,unless ye have to win it.
But if we need a point there'll be 3000+ there with a huge vocal contingent and the home advantage would probably be a big aid in getting us that point.
Anyone else that that statement is a whole bag of wrong? Especially the part I've put in bold? I wouldn't class this huge vocal contingent as proper fans Conor if they stay quiet, or stay away, for the last home game of the season
Sonic
27/10/2007, 10:53 AM
Thanks drogheda for nothing!!
27/10/2007, 11:45 AM
How can UCD be safe and we arent :o .The arrogance is unbelievable are ye going to win yere last 2 games.if waterford win their last 2 and ye lose both of yours then its the playoff for UCD.
Actually, it's sarcasm which seems to have flown over your little head again.
If Galway are safe, as you maintain, then we are as well, as we're only a goal behind you.
But we're not safe, therefore you're not.
The arrogance is in fact coming from youz thinking yourselves safe when you've still got to travel to Waterford.
27/10/2007, 12:22 PM
The only thing for certain now is that GUFC and UCD cannot come last.
Another win from the remaining 2 games will secure safety for both clubs from the playoff.
A point in Waterford will do it for UTD.It's a playoff in everything bar title in Wahurford next week.
27/10/2007, 12:53 PM
When did we last lose against Cobh?
1993...?
Still got an awful record though. ;) Even in the promotion season, they and Harps were the only sides we didn't beat at least twice.
Poor show by Drogs dropping i think 7 players from last weeks team. Not very fair on Longford in particular.
27/10/2007, 1:00 PM
Poor show by Drogs dropping i think 7 players from last weeks team. Not very fair on Longford in particular.
It's their prerogative. They pay a lot of money to their players and can protect their key assets or bring in other players from their large squad as they see fit. Not the first time this has happened in football and it won't be the last.
27/10/2007, 1:04 PM
Why should Drogheda care about Longford?
It's their prerogative. They pay a lot of money to their players and can protect their key assets or bring in other players from their large squad as they see fit. Not the first time this has happened in football and it won't be the last.
I know it is not the first time. I suppose it is the luck of the draw. If they were playing a mid table would not be an issue obviously.
27/10/2007, 1:51 PM
You know anyone would think you've a chip on your shoulder about Drogheda or something
27/10/2007, 1:53 PM
Galway in dodgy match/lights fixing scandal to stay up?!?! Expect myself, LtiD and the Dundalk crowd to descend on the FAI headquarters tomorrow!
Actually, barring any further nonsense, I think I'm going to have the wage cap as my ridiculous FAI nonsense to be angry about in this close season :)
27/10/2007, 1:54 PM
Actually, it's sarcasm which seems to have flown over your little head again.Worst sarcasm ever!
Still got an awful record though. ;) Even in the promotion season, they and Harps were the only sides we didn't beat at least twice.Kildare too.
We're not 100% safe yet but probably only need one result to go our way to secure it. We've bigger fish to fry at the moment anyway, the league can wait for a while.
Protecting their key players for what exactly?? No other games of signifigance left for them. They dont have to care about Longford but for the sake of everyone who are down their fighting for their lives they are duty bound to do all they can. They have a duty as professionals to go out every game and perform to their utmost. Simple as that!
27/10/2007, 2:28 PM
Protecting their key players for what exactly??
Serious injury. I know UCD have had players pick up serious injury around this part of the season and miss the start of the next.
michaelguineys
27/10/2007, 2:33 PM
Sorry but did i mention that we are the Cup Final!!!!!????
:):):)
sonofstan
27/10/2007, 2:57 PM
Much better to watch (not much consolation, that)
27/10/2007, 5:07 PM
Kildare too.
Quiet you.
We've bigger fish to fry at the moment anyway, the league can wait for a while.
Arrogance!!!!!!!! You're at it too!
Celdrog
27/10/2007, 6:29 PM
Sorry but did i mention that we are the Cup Final!!!!!????:):)
Cork have a good chance of winning it this time - after all its not against the Drogs:D
michaelguineys
28/10/2007, 11:20 AM
Cork have a good chance of winning it this time - after all its not against the Drogs:D
Ya coz after all ye did get knocked out about 3 rounds ago, by the team who we beat 2 - 0 on Friday night:D:D
28/10/2007, 1:11 PM
This stuff about Drogheda having to put out their strongest team is bull. Doolin is the man in charge there, he decides who plays, nobody else, simple as that. It's Longford's own fault they're not further up the table, nobody's else's and while they've done well to keep themselves in contention this far, it's not Drogheda's fault if they get relegated.
The Man Himself
28/10/2007, 1:39 PM
hope they all get rabies off the pitch at the horse ground:D
28/10/2007, 3:07 PM
This stuff about Drogheda having to put out their strongest team is bull. Doolin is the man in charge there, he decides who plays, nobody else, simple as that. It's Longford's own fault they're not further up the table, nobody's else's and while they've done well to keep themselves in contention this far, it's not Drogheda's fault if they get relegated.
Well said.
Drogheda let themselves and the other teams at the foot of the Table down by playing a weakened team something that very rarelly happens in el soccer in games that affect either relegation/promotion at the end of the season. They wont do the same next friday against Bray Frank you can be sure of that.
28/10/2007, 4:06 PM
Today's cup result:
UCDD 0-1 Longford Town.
Cork Vs. Town in the cup final:)
28/10/2007, 4:27 PM
Drogheda let themselves and the other teams at the foot of the Table down by playing a weakened team something that very rarelly happens in el soccer in games that affect either relegation/promotion at the end of the season. They wont do the same next friday against Bray Frank you can be sure of that.
May as well get rid of the squad system then and just have 16 players signed up at each club.
Doolin well within his rights to play whatever team he bloody well likes
he might have put out a weakened team, but he still, in his own mind, put out a team that he felt had a good chance of winning the match !
28/10/2007, 6:08 PM
I don't care what team they put out against us. We still have to beat them whoever they put out.
28/10/2007, 8:05 PM
Doolin well within his rights to play whatever team he bloody well likes
Except for the bit in the rules which says you can't.
Celdrog
28/10/2007, 8:47 PM
I didn't see anybody clambering for us to have our games postponed when we had a horrendous injury list in the first half of the season.
Remember when Connor, Gavin, Gartland, Byrne, Fabio, Barrett, Cahill, Baker, Webb, Keegan all were unavailable, some for weeks, some for months. I think we played a lot of the teams at the bottom during that stage. The main reason some many changes were made in Waterford was to get players over the required number of games to get a league medal. Fabio will be on the bench next Friday and will "play" the last few minutes so that he can lift the trophy - anything wrong with that?
FFS its not like we played the U-17s when we did against Rovers in the league cup.
Also if you think its a weakened team they why will 4 or 5 of the players that played on Friday night be playing for different teams (in their starting 11) next season);)
FFS its not like we played the U-17s when we did against Rovers in the league cup.
We may need them any chance of them playing that day or will you be out to beat us as a marker for next season :D
kdjac
Also if you think its a weakened team they why will 4 or 5 of the players that played on Friday night be playing for different teams (in their starting 11) next season);)
Surely it is a weakened team if youre talking about leaving 4 or 5 of them go next season. Hardly key players.....
Dont see much wrong with it tbh
28/10/2007, 9:31 PM
Except for the bit in the rules which says you can't.
It's a fairly simplistic "rule". Who's to say on current from, fitness levels, frame of mind, etc. that wasn't the best team he was able to put out on Friday night?
It's a pointless rule. Impossible to enforce and forever open to debate.
EDIT: For reference, here's (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=802349&postcount=10) the rule.
onephillyhughes
29/10/2007, 5:35 PM
Well done Longford, have nothing but respect for your squad and manager after the start you had. Great turnaround in the league (just hope its not too late), you deserve your Cup Final.