View Full Version : Can you do better than Stevie Staunton?

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 7:47 AM
Unsure if this is the right forum to put this in but what the heck...

The challenge - start Footballl Manager 2008 and try to do what Steve Staunton couldn't and get us into the European Championships or at least gain some respect for the national team with a glorious failure.

Keep the forum up to date with your progress!

nedder
26/10/2007, 7:51 AM
[QUOTE=McGeady10;801200]Unsure if this is the right forum to put this in but what the heck...QUOTE]

I think there is a games forum somewhere........

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 7:54 AM
I think there is a games forum somewhere........

There is but I think this will spark more lively debate in this forum with peoples squad selections, tactics and results :D

Sligo Hornet
26/10/2007, 8:19 AM
There is but I think this will spark more lively debate in this forum with peoples squad selections, tactics and results :D

Sorry but this is zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:(

26/10/2007, 9:43 AM
Dont pick McGeady away to Slovakia and Czech Rep and Cyprus is a good start anyway.

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 10:22 AM
Squad to take with me to Bratislava and Prague!

Real lack of defenders...

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/2505/squadforslovakiaandczecwa4.th.jpg (http://img205.imageshack.us/my.php?image=squadforslovakiaandczecwa4.jpg)

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 10:26 AM
Made Shay my captain... Got to be a Donegal man :D

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/2427/givencaptainaf8.th.jpg (http://img152.imageshack.us/my.php?image=givencaptainaf8.jpg)

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 10:30 AM
Come on ye bhoys in Green... Picked my team v Slovakia. Left out Doyle cause I've gone 4-5-1...

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/2233/teamvslovakiaoi8.th.jpg (http://img155.imageshack.us/my.php?image=teamvslovakiaoi8.jpg)

26/10/2007, 10:33 AM
I only played the demo of this but I put McGeady behind the strikers for Celtic. He averaged more than a goal a game and got motm in 80% of games. :D

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 10:41 AM
Oh dear oh dear...

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/851/slovakia41irelandyc7.th.jpg (http://img153.imageshack.us/my.php?image=slovakia41irelandyc7.jpg)

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/3072/ratingsqx4.th.jpg (http://img153.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ratingsqx4.jpg)

Dearie me... I blame Lee Carsley (he has kicked his last ball in an Irish shirt as far as I'm concerned...) who got sent off for an elbow on Vittek.

Meanwhile on RTE Liam Brady has braned the Irish manager "tactically naive" whilst Dunphy has blamed the FAI and a lack of leadership. :D

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 10:45 AM
Kilbane has been recalled for the Czechs.. Same team with KK in at left back and O'Shea in midfield. Carsley sent home in disgrace.

http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/736/teamvczechpj5.th.jpg (http://img507.imageshack.us/my.php?image=teamvczechpj5.jpg)

26/10/2007, 10:51 AM
Oh dear oh dear...

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/851/slovakia41irelandyc7.th.jpg (http://img153.imageshack.us/my.php?image=slovakia41irelandyc7.jpg)

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/3072/ratingsqx4.th.jpg (http://img153.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ratingsqx4.jpg)

Dearie me... I blame Lee Carsley (he has kicked his last ball in an Irish shirt as far as I'm concerned...) who got sent off for an elbow on Vittek.

Meanwhile on RTE Liam Brady has braned the Irish manager "tactically naive" whilst Dunphy has blamed the FAI and a lack of leadership. :D

Once again backing my point that Carsley is muck - even virtual Carsley isn't up to it.

McGeady10
26/10/2007, 11:01 AM
Doesn't look like virtual me is up to it either :( Went hell for leather in Prague... "Do it for the fans, lets get at these Commy feckers" was my pre-match team talk :D

Match result : - http://img528.imageshack.us/my.php?image=czech53irelandtt8.jpg

Player ratings : -
http://img156.imageshack.us/my.php?image=czechratingsfb1.jpg

Didn't work... No well and truely out the race to qualify and my newly picked captain has shifted 9 goals in two games and Andy Reid picked up a booking so he's suspended now too :(

26/10/2007, 11:10 AM
5-3 what formation did you play? Can't believe you dropped Doyler!!!!

26/10/2007, 12:45 PM
Been doing something similar over the past few days:

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/3774/squadem2.jpg

Hunt is captain, O.Heary vice-captain

kdjaC
26/10/2007, 1:30 PM
Been doing something similar over the past few days:

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/3774/squadem2.jpg

Hunt is captain, O.Heary vice-captain

nationality counts for nowt with your selections :D

kdjac

26/10/2007, 2:54 PM
Hunt has declared for the nation in my game - had to ask him to specially do a job for me.

Love the feature where you can pick which game you can go and watch each week

26/10/2007, 8:10 PM

You do realise you brought on a goalkeeper to play outfield in the 69th minute? :D

27/10/2007, 12:13 AM
You do realise you brought on a goalkeeper to play outfield in the 69th minute? :D
And he thinks he's better than Stan?:D;)

27/10/2007, 1:28 AM
My team to play the Slovaks
http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/826/ireland1qj4.th.jpg (http://img523.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ireland1qj4.jpg)

No Dunne or Finnan so could be in trouble
http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/4472/ireland2fu2.th.jpg (http://img523.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ireland2fu2.jpg)

3-1 victory sets me up nicely for the Czech game !

27/10/2007, 2:02 AM
Lost 1-0 to Czech Rep , still in the frame though if we can beat Germany http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/6324/ireland3rf1.th.jpg (http://img524.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ireland3rf1.jpg)

27/10/2007, 12:33 PM
A 3-2 defeat at home to the Germans and a 1-0 victory over the Cypriots leaves me very unlikely to qualify, so No I couldnt do better than Stan

onephillyhughes
27/10/2007, 1:12 PM
Lads select LOI and start the game in January 07, then you can try and better our masterful 2-1 win over San Mourinho as Dick Delaney would say.

30/10/2007, 11:00 PM
Lost 3-0 to Slovakia,
Beat Czech's 1-0,
Lost 3-0 to Germany,
Beat Cyprus 3-0,
Beat Wales so I've qualified in 2nd place, 1 point ahead of Czechs. I'm now in a group with Holland, Austria and Croatia in the Euro Championships. I'm better than you Staunton:p.

nui-harp
10/11/2007, 7:30 PM
http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/6466/resultsbz4.png

My cv is in the post :p

onephillyhughes
12/11/2007, 12:13 PM
I didn't qualify but I breezed my World Cup qualifying group and finished third in South Africa.

Moral of the story - Shouldn't have sacked him :D :D