View Full Version : Robbed again

25/10/2007, 5:42 PM
More money (http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/11368212?view=Eircomnet) for Bertie, Cowen and Co.

So this is why the electorate were rail-roaded into voting for them last May, and also why the tax rate won't drop by 1%, as promised in the next budget. :mad:

25/10/2007, 5:46 PM
Rail roaded?!?! A blind chimp should have had enough sense not to vote Fianna Fail back in, seriously, if you voted for him then tough ****, next time make a more informed choice, and don't listen to what the Sun and the rest of the Bertie brigade tell you :rolleyes: If you didn't then I apologise, but for any of you that did, you disgust me and make me ashamed to be Irish, once again I'm being serious

26/10/2007, 7:02 AM
Rail roaded?!?! A blind chimp should have had enough sense not to vote Fianna Fail back in, seriously, if you voted for him then tough ****, next time make a more informed choice, and don't listen to what the Sun and the rest of the Bertie brigade tell you :rolleyes: If you didn't then I apologise, but for any of you that did, you disgust me and make me ashamed to be Irish, once again I'm being serious
hear hear. 5 years of giving out crap, and then they vote them back in and then the cycle starts again. The people had their chance, and they wasted it.

btw I wonder what modernisation programme, attempts at privatisation and recruitment freezes the TD's and Senior Civil Servants will have to do to get the money?

galwayhoop
26/10/2007, 8:43 AM
Honestly lads i think they deserve figures like this for their jobs. They are charged with running the country yet they earn less than directors of large companies, they are constantly in the public eye, work 15 hours a day 7 days a week, lead a relatively short life at the top of their profession and even an Taoiseach earns less than Stan was on!

If politicians do not command large salaries then the quality of person willing to put themself forward will plummet even further over time.

Still though it is hilarious that they vote themselves whether they get a pay rise or not!!! Imagine coming into work one day to vote on giving yourself a pay-rise, picture the face on the boss!

26/10/2007, 9:49 AM
Honestly lads i think they deserve figures like this for their jobs. They are charged with running the country yet they earn less than directors of large companies
Bertie earns more than British PM or American president

I've no problem with high salaries for ministers etc BUT at a time when preaching fiscal responsibility and talking about economic downturns, its hardly right to award yourself 12-15% increase (with, as macy points out, absolutely no performance clauses in there)

26/10/2007, 12:34 PM
If politicians do not command large salaries then the quality of person willing to put themself forward will plummet even further over time.

God could you imagine that? We might end up with a role playing, cash stealing, lying egotist as our leader....oh wait....

26/10/2007, 1:09 PM
Rail roaded?!?! A blind chimp should have had enough sense not to vote Fianna Fail back in, make a more informed choice

Those of us who were informed did so, but the country was told, that the economy would be ruined if FF were voted out. People can't buy a home, or get a bed in a hospital, or get home without encountering a traffic jam, or afford childcare, or vote in a slick, modern voting format, (€50million of our money wasted btw). People were evicted from their homes against their will, dressed up as "decentralisation", ministers in financial scandals, dressed up as "tribunals", while certain parts of the country have turned into the Wild West. But at the end of the day, the only thing that mattered was the € in the pocket, and that's what decided the election. Fear and Greed.

at a time when preaching fiscal responsibility and talking about economic downturns, its hardly right to award yourself 12-15% increase

Correct.

Ringo
26/10/2007, 4:41 PM
Bertie earns more than British PM or American president

I've no problem with high salaries for ministers etc BUT at a time when preaching fiscal responsibility and talking about economic downturns, its hardly right to award yourself 12-15% increase (with, as macy points out, absolutely no performance clauses in there)

You can't really compare the two, Bush has a large mansion , staff, private jumbo, helicopter etc. Brown has a house,staff etc & both will earn a lot, when their out of office. these wages are for who ever are in these positions, a lot is being said about the government, but it goes accross the board on all High up cilvil servants.

26/10/2007, 8:50 PM
Do you know I haven't met one person that will admit to voting for Fianna Fail since the election. Either Bertie has pulled a Sideshow Bob on us, or people are ashamed of their choice, which begs the question, why vote for him in the first place if you're embarassed about it

27/10/2007, 9:37 AM
i have to say i find this very shocking, a right two fingers upto the rest of the country (and no i would never vote for that shower -or FG)

they say its comparable to the top professions, but isnt there a lot of ex teachers (and some who still are on a teaching salary), in the dail.......why isnt there salaries compared to teachers then?

27/10/2007, 11:51 AM
You can't really compare the two, Bush has a large mansion , staff, private jumbo, helicopter etc. Brown has a house,staff etc & both will earn a lot, when their out of office. these wages are for who ever are in these positions, a lot is being said about the government, but it goes accross the board on all High up cilvil servants.

But Bush and Brown do not have access to the 'brown envelope' and 'dig-out' benefits package! :D

27/10/2007, 1:09 PM
The people get the government they vote for. Most people will complain about but many of them have voted for it.

How many Ministers would get a top job in Corporate Ireland? Wille O'Dea gets paid E240k - where would his level be in the real world? The only reason any of them would be employed as CEOs is due to political connections anyway.

It has also been recommended that salaries be pegged back 15% to allow for the civil service pension bonus so Bertie earns 350k in real world terms.

Review Body Members (http://www.reviewbody.gov.ie/membership-of-the-review-body)
* 2 Labour Court members
* Former TD
* Chairman NRA
* Academic

:mad:

27/10/2007, 1:26 PM
Honestly lads i think they deserve figures like this for their jobs. They are charged with running the country yet they earn less than directors of large companies, they are constantly in the public eye, work 15 hours a day 7 days a week, lead a relatively short life at the top of their profession and even an Taoiseach earns less than Stan was on!

An argument so stupid it actually depresses me a little how much I've heard it

Can you honestly not see the difference?? :rolleyes: :eek:

LMFAO :D

27/10/2007, 1:45 PM
This is why I keep saying that the TDs wages should be linked to the average industrial wage, or the average income of an adult in the state. That whould keep the pension & social welfare reasonable, not to mention putting pressure on them to keep employment high.

27/10/2007, 7:18 PM

America has a population of how much Ringo?
UK has a population of how much?

The most powerful man in the world is paid less than 'our man of the people'?
Sarkozy, Bush, Merkel and Brown all earn less than this bundling backhand-taking joke of a leader we have.

Why cant we be more like the Germans in this way? (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/3430517.stm)

The people of this country confuse me more and more by the day.

Ringo
27/10/2007, 9:46 PM
But Bush and Brown do not have access to the 'brown envelope' and 'dig-out' benefits package! :D

look at what the presidental candidates are getting in donations:eek:

28/10/2007, 4:54 AM
Why cant we be more like the Germans in this way? (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/3430517.stm)

Don't wish to be critical, but erm, that link is nearly 4 years old. :D

look at what the presidental candidates are getting in donations

Who was the last British President?? :confused:

28/10/2007, 9:15 AM
Irish people are dumb

in the same week that we have that silly Telethon thingy, raising money for good local causes...........something that our Government should be doing anyway.................the governement give themselves a huge pay increase for doing absolutely nothing

this Irish charity fascination drives me mad..........people colllecting for hospitals, etc...............then they go and vote for FF
Wonder how many of those striking nurses a while back ended up voting for FF, i would bet a lot

this country is a joke

Ringo
28/10/2007, 1:21 PM
America has a population of how much Ringo?
UK has a population of how much?

The most powerful man in the world is paid less than 'our man of the people'?
Sarkozy, Bush, Merkel and Brown all earn less than this bundling backhand-taking joke of a leader we have.

Stan €400K , delanyt €300K year. were talking about paying the next Ireland manager 1 million. if we leave aside the tabloid $hite and look at all the increases, you are not going to get people to move in the civil service unless you pay the properly. Your asking a Senior council to give up a good practice, to become a judge, you have to pay them properly. This isn't about Bertie, this is an indepenent review group decideing on the appropriate rate for a whole series of positions.

soccerc
28/10/2007, 2:35 PM
You can't really compare the two, Bush has a large mansion , staff, private jumbo, helicopter etc. Brown has a house,staff etc & both will earn a lot, when their out of office.

That's right, Bertie doesn't have access to all of the above.

Wait, he does, apart from an official residence.

28/10/2007, 7:00 PM
Irish people are dumb

people colllecting for hospitals, etc...............then they go and vote for FF

this country is a joke

Ah sure, that's grand ain't it? Hospitals = PD problem. :rolleyes:

29/10/2007, 9:31 AM
Still waiting for that elusive FF voter to swallow his pride and own up around here

29/10/2007, 10:22 AM
Rail roaded?!?! A blind chimp should have had enough sense not to vote Fianna Fail back in,

Its a shame they don't have the vote. :(

Mary Harney said if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
Maybe we should give that a go.

Ringo
29/10/2007, 1:17 PM
Still waiting for that elusive FF voter to swallow his pride and own up around here

Happily admit i voted FF & the reason the i and so many others did, is that there was and is still not a strong alternative, its a simple as that. What will be the alternative the next time?

29/10/2007, 1:20 PM
Wait, he does, apart from an official residence.
And I think it was on the radio during the week that an official residence in the Phoenix Park was done up for him, but he didn't want it.

Ringo
29/10/2007, 1:24 PM
And I think it was on the radio during the week that an official residence in the Phoenix Park was done up for him, but he didn't want it.

It for visiting heads of state

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farmleigh

Farmleigh was formerly one of the Dublin residences of the Guinness brewing family. It is situated on extensive private gardens of 31 hectares (78 acres) to the north-west of the Phoenix Park. It was purchased from the Guinness family in 1999 for €29.2m and, following extensive renovation by the Office of Public Works, is now the official Irish State Guest House. It was opened to the public in July 2001.

Today
In 2006 it was announced by the OPW that the Steward's House which is located in the grounds of Farmleigh has been renovated. It is believed that the house will become the official residence of the Taoiseach (although a spokesperson has said Bertie Ahern has no intention of using it), and any official engagements will be carried out in Farmleigh or Government Buildings.[1]

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ahern-missed-out-by-failing-to-catch-semistate-gravy-train-1206636.html

Ahern missed out by failing to catch semi-state gravy train

Bertie Ahern and the judiciary may have been deluged by criticism after deciding to accept the latest proposed pay increases, but the Taoiseach may be regretting not keeping up with the 'ould bookkeeping courses at the VEC.

30/10/2007, 11:58 AM
Happily admit i voted FF & the reason the i and so many others did, is that there was and is still not a strong alternative, its a simple as that. What will be the alternative the next time?

FG won 20 seats at the election. Think that's an indication of how strong they are at the moment.

Everyone was going to vote for them going into the last week of campaigning, before Bertie turned up on tv, warning us that FG/Lab were going to destroy the economy, so everyone bought it, and voted him in. :o Now, he's taking another big slice of our cash for himself, as a thank you.

30/10/2007, 12:21 PM
I love the "Independent" Review Body. Appointed by the government to decide on government pay. :eek:

500K for the CEO of ESB is insanity. Must be the easiest semi state body to run as no competition so no idea if service good or bad...

30/10/2007, 12:48 PM
500K for the CEO of ESB is insanity. Must be the easiest semi state body to run as no competition so no idea if service good or bad...
Actually, I think it does well internationally winning contracts and actually makes the state money - hence privatisation on the way! Afterall can't be having something making money for the people of the state when it could be making money for shareholders and financial institutions.

30/10/2007, 12:59 PM
Actually, I think it does well internationally winning contracts and actually makes the state money - hence privatisation on the way! Afterall can't be having something making money for the people of the state when it could be making money for shareholders and financial institutions.
Perhaps my favourite Act of Harney was when the PDs insisted that the ESB raise their prices in spite of them already making a healthy profit. The reason: to make the market more attractive for competition. You know, cos that drives down prices, right? :confused::eek:

30/10/2007, 1:04 PM
Perhaps my favourite Act of Harney was when the PDs insisted that the ESB raise their prices in spite of them already making a healthy profit. The reason: to make the market more attractive for competition. You know, cos that drives down prices, right? :confused::eek:
She did the same with Health Insurance - make the VHI build a reserve, which means higher prices, which means BUPA/Quinn and VIVAS can charge more too and be more profitable.

01/11/2007, 7:52 AM

sorry thats not a good excuse
yes you are dead right there inst an alternative, but jeez you could have at least voted for an independent/SF/Socialist party/Looney party or something else...........but to actually vote for FF is a bit embaressing really

FG dont appeal to many, but at least Kenny is making more of a noise now that he did before the election

but isnt it great to know that Labour are on the ball again! On the day of job shortages and less than a week from the obscene pay increases they are banging on (maybe literally) about Gay marriages!!:rolleyes: good to know that they have their priorities in order:rolleyes:

01/11/2007, 8:01 AM
Ah sure, that's grand ain't it? Hospitals = PD problem. :rolleyes:

They've you well drilled in their "plausable deniability" story anyway. 1 PD minister doesn't a policy make ...or certainly not enforce. Suits FF down to the ground to have a PD in Health because it enables their voters to say things like "Hospitals = PD problem" and then put their X next to a FF candidate with it all rationalised away.

01/11/2007, 10:04 AM
but isnt it great to know that Labour are on the ball again! On the day of job shortages and less than a week from the obscene pay increases they are banging on (maybe literally) about Gay marriages!!:rolleyes: good to know that they have their priorities in order:rolleyes:
Yeah, because it's not important to you, it's not important. :rolleyes:

But do you mean they've ditched stuff like...
Action must be taken to prevent job losses
Issued : Wednesday 31 October, 2007
Brian O'Shea TD
Gov plan spells disaster for community childcare facilities
Willie Penrose TD
Government needs to do more for childcare sector
Issued : Tuesday 30 October, 2007
Senator Alex White
Shocking decision to discontinue smear tests will put women at risk
Jan O'Sullivan TD
Labour Bill will put witness programme on statutory footing
Issued : Monday 29 October, 2007
Senator Dominic Hannigan
... this week.

01/11/2007, 10:16 AM
they are banging on (maybe literally) about Gay marriages!!:rolleyes:
Your rolly eyes symbol said more than I ever could. Here's a nother :rolleyes:

02/11/2007, 10:10 AM
Yeah, because it's not important to you, it's not important. :rolleyes:

But do you mean they've ditched stuff like...
Action must be taken to prevent job losses
Brian O'Shea TD
Gov plan spells disaster for community childcare facilities
Willie Penrose TD
Government needs to do more for childcare sector
Senator Alex White
Shocking decision to discontinue smear tests will put women at risk
Jan O'Sullivan TD
Labour Bill will put witness programme on statutory footing
Issued : Monday 29 October, 2007
Senator Dominic Hannigan
... this week.

so you are a member of "new labour" then:rolleyes:, good lad as there is very few of ye guys left in the country

02/11/2007, 10:11 AM
Your rolly eyes symbol said more than I ever could. Here's a nother :rolleyes:

ha ha funny:rolleyes: (and another)

by the way you are not as clever as you think, it was a clear reference to a Lab Td (and no not Stagg!)

02/11/2007, 11:04 AM
by the way you are not as clever as you think, it was a clear reference to a Lab Td (and no not Stagg!)

So that makes a terrible terrible pun about gay sex OK?

03/11/2007, 8:40 AM
So that makes a terrible terrible pun about gay sex OK?

ok? sorry i broke the PC rules, or whatever

the point is the Labour party are useless and are obsessed about these kinds of things, rather than say workers rights................which might just go to explaining why they are in such a sorry state at the moment

and for the record i dont care about the proposed legislation regarding same sex marriages..........since its such a non event to many people anyway.......

03/11/2007, 9:07 AM
and for the record i dont care about the proposed legislation regarding same sex marriages..........since its such a non event to many people anyway.......

But it does matter to some. Which is the ****ing point. Just becasue you don't care about it doesn't mean it doesn't matter

And as pointed out above they made several proposals, its hardly their fault if the media pick on one...

04/11/2007, 8:49 AM
But it does matter to some. Which is the ****ing point. Just becasue you don't care about it doesn't mean it doesn't matter

And as pointed out above they made several proposals, its hardly their fault if the media pick on one...

no you are are wrong, what matters is people losing their jobs, etc.
Like most people (well maybe not students) i work everyday and come home tired, slump in front of the box and watch the news. All week i didnt see or hear Labour talk about the pay rises and nothing about workers losing their jobs. Im sorry but if they want to be taken seriosuly as an opposition they SHOULD be on TV, on prime time tv, tackling these issues. But i do hear them talking about this marriage issue. yeah of course it matters to some, but not to all, and thats the point.
FF have it easy cause there is absolutely no opposition in the country to seriously tackle them when they slip, and by god they slip a lot. And if you want to blame the media then fine, but i blame the opposition for giving up and looking scared of the FF animal

Funny how gay rights can take preference over job losses:rolleyes:

04/11/2007, 10:03 AM
Funny how gay rights can take preference over job losses:rolleyes:

For the last time, stop assuming everybody is like you, and stop assuming they only made one statement last week. Seriously, can you not ****ing read or are you just plain ignorent?

Ringo
04/11/2007, 2:16 PM
You're making an awful lot of assumptions there Ringo. As is standard with you...

I wouldn't be too bothered abotu somebody posting anonymously on the internet about what they have or haven't done.

For the last time, stop assuming everybody is like you, and stop assuming they only made one statement last week. Seriously, can you not ****ing read or are you just plain ignorent?

Maybe you should start attacking the post & not the posters. By all means if you disagree with someone, your entitled to your opinion, but calling someone is ignorant or illiterate is over the top on a discussion forum.

05/11/2007, 8:03 AM
the point is the Labour party are useless and are obsessed about these kinds of things, rather than say workers rights................which might just go to explaining why they are in such a sorry state at the moment
Proof the labour party can't win - every other week it's accused of being run by Liberty Hall. That was the list for the week up to date of posting of the non-civil unions issues the Labour Party was raising. Hardly civil unions only :rolleyes:

It's not a "non issue" to same sex couples being discriminated against by the state. Again, just because it's not important to you doesn't mean it's not important. Would've been a non-issue anyway if the Government had allowed passage to committee stage - instead it'll be lucky to be in this Dáil.

05/11/2007, 9:01 AM
Maybe you should start attacking the post & not the posters. By all means if you disagree with someone, your entitled to your opinion, but calling someone is ignorant or illiterate is over the top on a discussion forum.

Its not a matter of agreeing or disagreeing with him. He's been proven wrong a couple of times but refuses to acknowledge it. He continually talks about "what the people want", and tbh thats a particular pet hate of mine.

Ringo
05/11/2007, 10:36 AM
Its not a matter of agreeing or disagreeing with him. He's been proven wrong a couple of times but refuses to acknowledge it. He continually talks about "what the people want", and tbh thats a particular pet hate of mine.

What bugs me is the people voted & made their decision. Calling people idiots or gullible is ridiculous. At the end of this government, people will again make a choice. That’s the beauty of democracy. I’d also hate people who snipe & give out, but aren’t prepared to join a party and work for what they want.

05/11/2007, 10:50 AM
What bugs me is the people voted & made their decision. Calling people idiots or gullible is ridiculous. At the end of this government, people will again make a choice. That’s the beauty of democracy. I’d also hate people who snipe & give out, but aren’t prepared to join a party and work for what they want.

Don't see how that relates to me (and it was me to whom you were replying) but as it happens I agree with you.

Ringo
05/11/2007, 11:22 AM
Don't see how that relates to me (and it was me to whom you were replying) but as it happens I agree with you.

I was qouteing you and agreeing with you at the same time!!
If people don't like the set up of the government, then do something about it.

05/11/2007, 11:37 AM
What bugs me is the people voted & made their decision.
Fair enough.

Calling people idiots or gullible is ridiculous.
Not if they're now going around complaining about the decisions and behaviour of the Government they voted for! They are idiots if they're now complaining about health cuts, poor economic outlook and what looks like a cut back budget when the exact same thing happened after the last election. People who are complaining who voted FF/PD are idiots imo.

At the end of this government, people will again make a choice.
Yes, and the gullible idiots have to be constantly reminded as they obviously have a short memory.

I’d also hate people who snipe & give out, but aren’t prepared to join a party and work for what they want.
Not necessarily through party politics though if they have a specific issues, but am coming round to this view point (and have actually done it post election).

05/11/2007, 12:34 PM
I am not suggesting that Labour do not care about this issue but I am sure the fact the Green Party voted with this issue the last time it raised has a lot to do with it being raised so early in the current Dail. The Green Party better get used to this as I am sure the opposition have a number of other issues like this to embarrass them into explaining u-turns.