Pages : 1 [2] 3

fbtn
24/10/2007, 10:56 PM
...... if you ask me.

THERE!

That is the important bit right there :D

onephillyhughes
24/10/2007, 11:30 PM
No odds to me where it is, we will beat them as usual, can someone come up with the statistics, dont think there is any derby in the world with the win stats we have over Harps, almost guinness book of records stuff if you ask me.

Someone do this, I wasn't aware of this :D

cheifo
25/10/2007, 10:44 AM
Our day will come......soon.:)

25/10/2007, 10:56 AM
Proper derbies are more than 25 years old

25/10/2007, 11:38 AM

ooooohhhhh touchy :D Our derby is more than 25 years, just not always in the LOI :cool:
TBH, we never liked them, so that counts.

fbtn
25/10/2007, 11:38 AM

Source?

AidoP
25/10/2007, 5:09 PM
Sure lets just play it in Croker. That way then there will be at least one decent soccer game that will have been played there this year :)

dortie
25/10/2007, 6:51 PM

Do Pats have one ? Would love to go to that:rolleyes:

25/10/2007, 11:22 PM
No odds to me where it is, we will beat them as usual, can someone come up with the statistics, dont think there is any derby in the world with the win stats we have over Harps, almost guinness book of records stuff if you ask me.

It's only one defeat in c. 43 or 44 competitive games. That's right - we've only lost to Harps once in 22 years - feck knows how they even managed that win - and we play them pretty much every year thanks to the League Cup. I doubt there is any other win statistic in the league for regular competitiors that comes close to that.

I'll be generous and accept your completely arbitrary and nonesensical view here Dodge, as we have only 3 more years to go before we get anointed by your good self. I'm looking forward to the year 2027 when Rovers are in Tallaght and you poor ignored souls can finally have a proper west/south-west Dublin derby for yourselves..... :p

harpskid
26/10/2007, 1:37 AM
It's only one defeat in c. 43 or 44 competitive games. That's right - we've only lost to Harps once in 22 years - feck knows how they even managed that win - and we play them pretty much every year thanks to the League Cup. I doubt there is any other win statistic in the league for regular competitiors that comes close to that.

While our record against Derry is abysmal, at least get the facts right Steve - 'one defeat in c. 43 or 44 competitive games.' even you should know that we've won more than one...

26/10/2007, 10:00 AM
While our record against Derry is abysmal, at least get the facts right Steve - 'one defeat in c. 43 or 44 competitive games.' even you should know that we've won more than one...

How many is it then ?

26/10/2007, 10:01 AM
How many is it then ?

It's a run that has to end some time :)

cheifo
26/10/2007, 10:05 AM
If Harps get promoted the derbies give everyone something to look forward to next year.Good for the bank accounts of both clubs as well.

26/10/2007, 10:05 AM
It's a run that has to end some time :)

Remind me of how big that run is though Mr A - and how many times it's been broken in competitive fixtures......?

26/10/2007, 10:07 AM
If Harps get promoted the derbies give everyone something to look forward to next year.Good for the bank accounts of both clubs as well.

Definitely agree. Good for the league and for North-West football.

Plus, ribbing aside, Harps are my 2nd team, so I want to see yee's do well anyway.

:ball:

26/10/2007, 10:25 AM
Remind me of how big that run is though Mr A - and how many times it's been broken in competitive fixtures......?

Way too big, and not often enough :)

AidoP
26/10/2007, 10:35 AM
I know we definitely beat you in "The Irish News Cup". Do you remember that? Wat a quality competition that was :)

26/10/2007, 11:57 AM
I know we definitely beat you in "The Irish News Cup". Do you remember that? Wat a quality competition that was :)

So that's the one I mentioned.

Any advances on that....? :) Harps Kid....?

harpskid
26/10/2007, 11:58 AM
How many is it then ?

You don't know? Yet you blabber away there about 'one win' when you well know its not correct...:rolleyes:

Derry
26/10/2007, 12:22 PM
Derry City have played Harps 55 times. Harps won 5 times, twice in the Irish News Cup. twice in the League cup and once in the League when they won 1-0 at home.
Pretty abysmal record for Harps.

harps1954
26/10/2007, 1:03 PM
I don't think you can count the annual friendly "Ulster Tyre Cup" as a competitive fixture. We've played competitive fixtures 48 times - the League, FAI Cup, League Cup and Irish News Cup.

Derry
27/10/2007, 2:24 PM
I don't think you can count the annual friendly "Ulster Tyre Cup" as a competitive fixture. We've played competitive fixtures 48 times - the League, FAI Cup, League Cup and Irish News Cup.

You may very well want to have counted the Ulster Tyre Cupe games if you had won any of them.

But just take the three premier competitions

LC you played Derry City 15 times. WINS 0

FAI Cup you played Derry City 3 times. WINS 0

eL you played Derry City 24 times. WINS 1 at home.

No matter how you twist it, it's still a very abysmal record for Harps.

fbtn
27/10/2007, 3:27 PM
You may very well want to have counted the Ulster Tyre Cupe games if you had won any of them.

Maybe I was hallucinating but I remember Nesovic scoring against you in the League Cup in Finn Park to beat you 1-0 and Sammy Johnston scoring a couple against you in the Brandywell to beat you in the same competition. I was at both games so unless it was October and I was off my chops on the magic mushies I stand to be corrected. :p

28/10/2007, 7:17 PM
The graveyard should be kept as far away from TV screens as possible.

29/10/2007, 12:49 AM

42 competitive games and only 1 win.

Apologies Harps fans - I unfairly quoted 43/44 games in a previous quote........ :o

LOLAH.... :D

29/10/2007, 9:16 AM
Anybody think this could be slight advantage to Ramblers, bit of pressure being on tele. Could **** the course if ever like.

Mr_T
29/10/2007, 9:28 AM

Except that you're totally wrong.

2 wins in the LC, including our first ever, with Sammy Johnston, still a legend, stick 2 past yisin the Brandywell.

No Harps fans will deny the record is brutal, but at least get your facts right.

Plus it will be all the sweeter when we knock yis outa the Setanta!! :D

29/10/2007, 11:10 AM
Plus it will be all the sweeter when we knock yis outa the Setanta!! :D

Just like you did at home in the cup.....? :confused:

There's always hope......! :D

fbtn
29/10/2007, 12:33 PM
42 competitive games and only 1 win.

Apologies Harps fans - I unfairly quoted 43/44 games in a previous quote........ :o

LOLAH.... :D

Mr Know it All. Wrong again. LOLAY.

fbtn
29/10/2007, 12:36 PM
Anybody think this could be slight advantage to Ramblers, bit of pressure being on tele. Could **** the course if ever like.

This must be your last straw so keep clutching :D

You don't rate us yet we have went on the best run in the history of the First Division..........

29/10/2007, 12:57 PM
This must be your last straw so keep clutching :D

You don't rate us yet we have went on the best run in the history of the First Division..........

too right its the last straw doing my best to think positive, tbf its not a bad point it is a little bit of added pressure like.

Incorrect bout the second i DIDNT rate ye at home against us that day, and thats when and why i said that. But in harps few weeks ago ye were **** hot, credits where its due, was like a total different team. And the fact ye had 3 and a half thousand supporting or whatever it was.

fbtn
29/10/2007, 1:39 PM
too right its the last straw doing my best to think positive, tbf its not a bad point it is a little bit of added pressure like.

Incorrect bout the second i DIDNT rate ye at home against us that day, and thats when and why i said that. But in harps few weeks ago ye were **** hot, credits where its due, was like a total different team. And the fact ye had 3 and a half thousand supporting or whatever it was.

I know mate, only winding you up. It has been a real ding-dong battle and even though it is a cnut of journey, I really hope both of us go up.

Either side will be no push over in a playoff that's for sure.

29/10/2007, 4:40 PM
Ya think it will be unbelievably unfair if either of us is in first div next year.

cheifo
30/10/2007, 10:21 AM
Have to hold my hands up and say Cobh have been quite incredible.Solid in defence and the ability to score regularly from different players.Harps have had to respond by digging deep and our manager has so far achieved that(thank God).If Cobh go up,which I think they will(via the play offs off course;)) they will suprise a few Premier teams next year.

30/10/2007, 10:28 AM
Maybe cheifo- but if Cobh's wagebill is as low as they say you may see their team being decimated over the close season as offers come in to their players offering better terms. I agree that they look like a good shot for promotion, and that may be what they need to keep their squad together. On the other hand I guess that depends on the ability of the players to move to other parts of the country and how many Waterford and Cork would be interested in signing.

02/11/2007, 9:02 PM
Tonight's game proved exactly why First Division games should not be on TV;)

02/11/2007, 9:07 PM

Are you serious? Gripping until the end. Fair play to Athlone for giving everything with nothing for them at stake.

I can't think of a better game to have been shown tonight.

02/11/2007, 9:10 PM
Are you serious? Gripping until the end. Fair play to Athlone for giving everything with nothing for them at stake.

I can't think of a better game to have been shown tonight.

oh indeed

02/11/2007, 9:11 PM
I can't think of a better game to have been shown tonight.Well you didn't see the other games so that's a stupid thing to say no?

It was a poor game and an even worse atmosphere. Packed crowd but no noise. You say it was gripping til the end, I'd say it was only gripping at the end;).

Paddyfield
02/11/2007, 9:15 PM

You are talking crap. Finn Harps' probably drew the bigest crowd of the weekend and I'm guessing there were more there than in Drogheda for the presentation of the League trophy.

League of Of Ireland football isn't TV friendly but Harps and Athlone put on a reasonably good show.

02/11/2007, 9:17 PM
You are talking crap. Finn Harps' probably drew the bigest crowd of the weekend and I'm guessing there were more there than in Drogheda for the presentation of the League trophy.

League of Of Ireland football isn't TV friendly but Harps and Athlone put on a reasonably good show.I'm aware there was a good crowd there, I did say that if you look but the atmosphere was just not there, apart from Harps fans booing the team at half time:eek:.

harpstilidie
02/11/2007, 9:37 PM
I'm aware there was a good crowd there, I did say that if you look but the atmosphere was just not there, apart from Harps fans booing the team at half time:eek:.

We didn't boo the players at half time! We were booing the ref who gave us nothing!

02/11/2007, 9:39 PM
We didn't boo the players at half time! We were booing the ref who gave us nothing!That's not what it looked like, RTE commentators said it too but I'll take yer word for it.

The Rebel Ram
02/11/2007, 9:51 PM
Oh my God................I'm brickin it..............:eek:
What a result, I was hoping the camera would cause a few nerves and it did.
This title race is far from over though! Can't see us loosing on Sunday but what a last night it's gonna be.
It has to go down to the last night now...........Hopefully with Rams on top.
24years I've been going to Rams, mainly standing in freezing winter winds watching header tennis in the middle of the park, now I know it was all worth while..............This is the time I've been waiting for......
No matter what happens in the next few weeks I hope that both Rams and Harps go up, they both deserve it after such great runs............:D

depor
02/11/2007, 9:51 PM
We didn't boo the players at half time! We were booing the ref who gave us nothing!

gave ye nothing???:confused:
the ref was bad, in the fact he gave ye the decisions.

02/11/2007, 9:56 PM
Parkhouse was lucky not to go.

michaelguineys
02/11/2007, 9:57 PM
Oh my God................I'm brickin it..............:eek:
What a result, I was hoping the camera would cause a few nerves and it did.
This title race is far from over though! Can't see us loosing on Sunday but what a last night it's gonna be.
It has to go down to the last night now...........Hopefully with Rams on top.
24years I've been going to Rams, mainly standing in freezing winter winds watching header tennis in the middle of the park, now I know it was all worth while..............This is the time I've been waiting for......
No matter what happens in the next few weeks I hope that both Rams and Harps go up, they both deserve it after such great runs............:D

Hope ye do it, and im sure every cork city fan feels the same.
Would be great to have ye up and have a proper local derby.
I was shoutin at the telly tonight, hoping to f uck that Harps didnt get the winner, felt like a ramblers fan for 90 mins! :eek:
Best of luck in yer last 2 games, will be down in on sunday cheerin ye on agains monaghan

The Rebel Ram
02/11/2007, 10:20 PM
Hope ye do it, and im sure every cork city fan feels the same.
Would be great to have ye up and have a proper local derby.
I was shoutin at the telly tonight, hoping to f uck that Harps didnt get the winner, felt like a ramblers fan for 90 mins! :eek:
Best of luck in yer last 2 games, will be down in on sunday cheerin ye on agains monaghan

Hope there is a big City support down to cheer us on.
City derby's used to be brilliant, it's the best thing about being in the prem!
Nothing like getting one over on ye in a meaningfull game:D

michaelguineys
02/11/2007, 10:23 PM
Hope there is a big City support down to cheer us on.
City derby's used to be brilliant, it's the best thing about being in the prem!
Nothing like getting one over on ye in a meaningfull game:D

Well i only want ye up really so we're guaranteed 9 points off ye:D:D
Ah seriously though, hope ye do it. Would be great to have ye up!

cheifo
02/11/2007, 10:31 PM
Our lads wait till the cameras come to give their worst performance this season.It was most def the ref that was been booed at h/t but tbh we played so badly that a draw was the most we deserved.Feels awful.The players will have to pick themselves up.:(