View Full Version : Delaney Out!
20/10/2007, 2:56 PM
thanks to Foot.ie ...............ye guys restore my faith in Irish fans..............great idea..............this makes the game in Wales interesting
was planning on going to the welsh game but with all the rubbish and money/time-off work problems cant go now
i would like to donate 50 euro, but can someone PM me and tell me how do i send ye the dosh
viagogo
20/10/2007, 2:59 PM
This might sound stupid but what is the point in getting Delaney out?
Im not a fan of his and I admit he ****ed up with Staunton but he has a signed a six year contract (to the best of my knowledge) so if he leaves he will have to be paid this. Unless he resigns which I dont see happening.
Plus the chances are that he will be replaced by another plonker. Shouldnt we be getting behind the team in Wales rather than orgainising protests.
The most important thing I would think at the moment is to get a coaching team orgainised for the World Cup and then take if from there.
20/10/2007, 4:28 PM
This might sound stupid but what is the point in getting Delaney out?
Im not a fan of his and I admit he ****ed up with Staunton but he has a signed a six year contract (to the best of my knowledge) so if he leaves he will have to be paid this. Unless he resigns which I dont see happening.
Plus the chances are that he will be replaced by another plonker. Shouldnt we be getting behind the team in Wales rather than orgainising protests.
The most important thing I would think at the moment is to get a coaching team orgainised for the World Cup and then take if from there.
That is far too sensible an opinion for this forum! ;)
Lads,
If you are going to get and pay for one or more banners I would suggest :confused:that getting banners for a once off (OK maybe more) game(s) with Delaney Out message might not be good value for money. I know the Bannerman, (a recent signing to foot.ie, but a long standing fan home and away), does banners which can have an original message which can be changed at a later stage; if they were to be done in a tricolour this would allow the message to be changed if and when the muppet disappears :).
If banners are to be got for Wales (4 weeks from today) they will need to be got quickly. If people PM'd the Bannerman I'm sure he would help them out.
Not very big tbh .........................
20 ft x 10 ft I think :confused: makes it the biggest Irish flag :p
Saint07
20/10/2007, 10:54 PM
I'm in for €20! Will pay by paypal or if a collection in wales will give it then.
20 ft x 10 ft I think :confused: makes it the biggest Irish flag :p
I was sorta drunk anytime i've seen the flag but you can see on this that its not small. Good work Aido on promoting the site on the news :cool:
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ry_dNijE4o8
21/10/2007, 1:36 AM
Well i dont give a **** whther you are particularly interested or not but this is a fans forum and i will express my opinion as i wish.
Does no-one actually get this?!
We're not interested in your opinion for once; we're interested in you doing something. Saying you'll support someone else who does something is not doing something.
Do something yourself!!!
Brady Bhoy
21/10/2007, 1:50 AM
Got a good reception when walking down O'Connell st. with the Delaney Out Banner!
Also the picture of the banner was in the Headline of the back page of the Herald. It said "CLEAR OUT!" "Delaney must walk the plank with Stan"
back of the net
21/10/2007, 11:56 AM
after wednesday nights debacle - i believe its time for action
according to reports stan will be fired today/this wk - so thats that problem hopefully dealt with
whereas i didnt agreeing with the booing of stan on wed - i can understand it
at the end of the day there is no point in the fans arguing with each other over it - we all have the same goal - irelands success
we have bigger fish to fry than stan - the fai chief exec and his pedigree chums - to do this we must all work together
if we stan is fired then i believe we must all give our full support to the team in cardiff and roar them on to victory - hence giving the new manager a better seeding to work with and a better chance of getting the green army the success we as fans deserve
so imo that leaves us with one option - we need to organise a mass protest outside fai headquarters
the time for talk is over - its time for action i believe
as i have said b4 stan cared for irish football - the problem was that he could not manage
but delaney and co are guilty of crimes against the team and most of all the fans
can we organise something and end the amateurs reign in fai headquarters
??????????
what are we gonna do about it???
21/10/2007, 1:03 PM
.......so imo that leaves us with one option - we need to organise a mass protest outside fai headquarters
the time for talk is over - its time for action i believe
as i have said b4 stan cared for irish football - the problem was that he could not manage
but delaney and co are guilty of crimes against the team and most of all the fans
can we organise something and end the amateurs reign in fai headquarters
??????????
what are we gonna do about it???
FFS grow up!
No matter what spin they put on it, I am sure Delaney and 'co' are well aware of public perception. However, they are also aware they are not answerable to mobs in Merrion Square or protests in the Millenium Stadium. :mad:
What are you planning to do? Storm the building, tell UEFA and FIFA the FAI is now being run by 'people who care for Irish football'? ;)
There is process in place within Irish football to remove Delaney and 'co' or anyone else who 'has committed a crime against Irish football' That process starts with the clubs and the various leagues who make up the FAI National Council. If you want to protest and put pressure on then your energies would be better spent lobbying these repesrentatives than banner waving or jeering in Merrion Square or wherever.
This notion that Delaney will resign if there is enough protest by fans is fairytale stuff. It just won't happen!
21/10/2007, 1:34 PM
FFS grow up!
No matter what spin they put on it, I am sure Delaney and 'co' are well aware of public perception. However, they are also aware they are not answerable to mobs in Merrion Square or protests in the Millenium Stadium. :mad:
What are you planning to do? Storm the building, tell UEFA and FIFA the FAI is now being run by 'people who care for Irish football'? ;)
There is process in place within Irish football to remove Delaney and 'co' or anyone else who 'has committed a crime against Irish football' That process starts with the clubs and the various leagues who make up the FAI National Council. If you want to protest and put pressure on then your energies would be better spent lobbying these repesrentatives than banner waving or jeering in Merrion Square or wherever.
This notion that Delaney will resign if there is enough protest by fans is fairytale stuff. It just won't happen!
Spot on.
I don't expect JD to run quivering from the Millenium Stadium when he sees the banner.
Plus the idea of a mass protest at Merrion Square/Abbotstown is a non-runner. Did you see the Keano one on the Saipan documentary? A number of those in attendance looked a few sandwichs short of a picnic. Knowing this site, 000s would say they were going and ye'd end up with about 20 people actually turning up.
To me the banner is a chance to show that the fans aren't just scapegoating Stan for this. Fans are angry at Delaney for a number of things including; the "world class" appointment, the lies about Prague, incidents in the domestic game.
The banner(s) are a chance to show that there is widespread anger and disenchantment about Teflon John's actions in recent months .
img]http://www.cmgworldwide.com/historic/wilde/images/photogallery/wilde_tbov.jpg[/img]
Comical Genius:
"It is unfortunate that I have been linked to this appointment"
"It would be unfair to disenfranchise nine members of the Board from their opinions" - CLASSIC!!
...or in the words of any plain speaking man "Don't fcukin' blame me"
What a fcukin scheister!
As a shareholder in the Ireland team by way of investment of much of my emotion and quite a chunk of my earnings, I propose a motion of no confidence in John Delaney on the grounds of incompetence, shirking of responsibility and failure to excerise guardianship of FAI monies.....i.e. being a complete fcukin incompetent waster.
Let's hope that any reports of his demise are not exaggerated.
back of the net
21/10/2007, 3:34 PM
FFS grow up!
so what booing in a stadium will ?
i have no intention of storming any building and why you are mentioning "mobs" baffles me
- i have no intention of having a mob protest outside merrion square
as someone - like you and everyone else on this board - i care for the irish football - all i want is answers from the chief exec - which i think we are in our right to demand - we are shareholders if you will
i fully appreciate ur fai council point and agree with ur sentiments - but delaney and his croonies are answerable to the people who invest in irish football - the fans
booing in a stadium will get rid of stan - but for delaney to be removed - bigger action has to be taken- thats all my point was mate
21/10/2007, 5:46 PM
........but for delaney to be removed - bigger action has to be taken......
Perhaps it would help if you would share with us what you mean by 'bigger action' and who you are advocating should be taking this action, because the point I am making is that protests in Merrion Square and the Millenium Stadium (as it being suggested on here), will not result in Delaney resigning or being removed.
SuperDave
21/10/2007, 8:45 PM
posted this on another thread. tv cameras always pick out guys in t shirts, not always banners. each t shirt shouldn't cost more than a tenner:
a big protest at that game would surely attract media coverage here. like ten black t shirts with the letters D-E-L-A-N-E-Y - O-U-T. Though of course you need good seats (although of course the stadium will be nearly empty) and everyones agreement to do it. Plus media might miss it. still, cardiff is the place for a protest. I'll join a protest.
Schlooooomp
22/10/2007, 9:24 AM
posted this on another thread. tv cameras always pick out guys in t shirts, not always banners. each t shirt shouldn't cost more than a tenner:
a big protest at that game would surely attract media coverage here. like ten black t shirts with the letters D-E-L-A-N-E-Y - O-U-T. Though of course you need good seats (although of course the stadium will be nearly empty) and everyones agreement to do it. Plus media might miss it. still, cardiff is the place for a protest. I'll join a protest.
I like that plan SuperDave. Also we could wear cheap t-shirts in protest before the game, take them off at the start of the game and then put em back on afterwards (until we leave the stadium at least). This would force (hopefully) the commentary team to at least acknowledge what we are protesting about. Surely the would comment on the lack of colour.
back of the net
22/10/2007, 9:51 AM
Perhaps it would help if you would share with us what you mean by 'bigger action' and who you are advocating should be taking this action, because the point I am making is that protests in Merrion Square and the Millenium Stadium (as it being suggested on here), will not result in Delaney resigning or being removed.
i would expect the fans who want him removed to participate - sure we can go down the fai council route - but how long is that gonna take??
maybe a protest outside the fai or in the stadium wont work - but i aint willing like the maj of the fans on this board to sit there and take this sh*t off the fai
if nothing else we can try - if u dont believe in protest - fair enough thats your belief - but i believe even if it draws some unwanted media attention to the fai board and their antics then that is something accomplished
its a question of how many will turn up?? - well thats down to the fans who really want him out and are willing to do more than type on online boards and just complain about it
Schlooooomp
22/10/2007, 9:59 AM
It seems to me that quite a lot of the media want to see Delaney gone (Staunton is a foregone conclusion a this stage), I am sure that if we have a big enough event then the media will be only too glad to cover it as it will add to their case against Delaney. Any protest would need to ensure that people realise that Delaney is the target not Staunton. I would be happy to turn up at the FAI offices for a protest.
Schlooooomp
22/10/2007, 11:14 AM
What about a phoenix magazine style cover, somebody head up to the FAI offices with a Christmas tree, hold it up outside the door then take a picture ensuring that it is obvious it is the FAI offices and add a caption with the words "It's a farce!". Send off said picture to the press (tabloids) and see if anybody will publish it.
back of the net
22/10/2007, 11:20 AM
What about a phoenix magazine style cover, somebody head up to the FAI offices with a Christmas tree, hold it up outside the door then take a picture ensuring that it is obvious it is the FAI offices and add a caption with the words "It's a farce!". Send off said picture to the press (tabloids) and see if anybody will publish it.
fair play mate - i like ur thinking
can a protest be organised???
if we dont sort this now - then its gonna go on and on and on ...... we as fans deserve better
other posters - please submit your opinions
22/10/2007, 5:42 PM
Suppose the foot.ie meet up in Cardiff is the best place to start something off?
Who's bringing flags?
Can someone with Paypal organise the flag?
I've got my Delaney Out t-shirt.
back of the net
22/10/2007, 5:57 PM
Suppose the foot.ie meet up in Cardiff is the best place to start something off?
Who's bringing flags?
Can someone with Paypal organise the flag?
I've got my Delaney Out t-shirt.
yeah i suppose if we all met up it could be the start of something hopefully
did i read on another post something about foot members putting cash towards "delaney out" flags and banners-if so then let me know all as i want to make a donation
pineapple stu - do u think also we could organise something outside the merrion sq - i would be very interested to hear foot members views on this - be it yes or no - would like ppls views
does any1 know if don "i dont have a clue" givens is gonna be in charge of the senior game in wales??
doesnt he have an u21 game the nite before?
22/10/2007, 6:49 PM
It's on this thread, but I don't know how to go about arranging it (wasn't my intention at the start).
Won't get a protest at Merrion Square; too much effort involved from people. Cardiff's the best.
inchicore_saint
22/10/2007, 6:52 PM
Delaney Out banner at the Pats vs Rovers match before the stewards took it.
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff288/hill162007/STA70608.jpg
back of the net
22/10/2007, 8:44 PM
It's on this thread, but I don't know how to go about arranging it (wasn't my intention at the start).
Won't get a protest at Merrion Square; too much effort involved from people. Cardiff's the best.
yeah ur prob rite - so a delaney out protest in cardiff
prob is though - how many fans will turn up in cardiff??
SuperDave
22/10/2007, 11:33 PM
yeah ur prob rite - so a delaney out protest in cardiff
prob is though - how many fans will turn up in cardiff??
probably about 3-5k. not the 30-50k there would be if we were on the edge of qualification. but the fai DON'T CARE. Qualification or not doesn't matter to them if we buy up all the tickets for useless displays against cyprus, san marino and their fu king ilk.
the only problem is of course that our money goes to deserving grass roots projects that delaney is pretty good at administrating and if we don't show up for home games we're not taking money from john delaney and co but from people who deserve it and need financial backing.
Schlooooomp
23/10/2007, 4:41 PM
Maybe the more musically/lyrically oriented of you could take this song and modify it in someway to express our current distaste of Delaney.
http://www.traditionalmusic.co.uk/folk-song-lyrics/Delaneys_Donkey.htm
23/10/2007, 4:48 PM
What is the reason for taking the Banner of the people in the League of Ireland grous. They really do not have any grounds to take it do they.
23/10/2007, 5:23 PM
What are you going to do about it though?
So anyone able to sort the banner?
23/10/2007, 5:27 PM
Sorry I just realised my post could have been read another way so I clarified it.
23/10/2007, 5:35 PM
Same answer though.
The club runs the risk of getting fined for it.
viagogo
23/10/2007, 8:28 PM
Spot on. The funnier the better. And if some of them are fit women you are guaranteed to get on TV.
I heard over the weekend from a mate that there is a Page 3 promotion in Cardiff on the match weekend. Maybe you should ask those girls to do it?
SuperDave
24/10/2007, 12:05 PM
I heard over the weekend from a mate that there is a Page 3 promotion in Cardiff on the match weekend. Maybe you should ask those girls to do it?
I'll make sure to get the letters on the very top of the shirts, so they can lift them up and we can "get the message", as it were.
markmc
24/10/2007, 1:33 PM
i reckon if we all send a registered letter to the fai, to be opened by addressee only, i.e. mr delaney, with an application for the managers job.they will have to sign for all these + it will really annoy them. will just cost 3 quid each also, whats yez think?
Mayo_Bhoy
24/10/2007, 1:56 PM
i reckon if we all send a registered letter to the fai, to be opened by addressee only, i.e. mr delaney, with an application for the managers job.they will have to sign for all these + it will really annoy them. will just cost 3 quid each also, whats yez think?
And this will achieve what exactly???:rolleyes:
24/10/2007, 2:05 PM
Achieve a bit of a giggle. Order loads of pizzas for Merrion Square and don't forget the flaming bag of dogsh!t on their doorstep. Crank calls, Christmas cards with a picture of Maxi Dundalk on them, there are many things you can do. I bet the Canal corner kids have lots of great ideas when they're not busy starting Mexican Waves...
markmc
24/10/2007, 4:14 PM
annoy them, **** them off, just as they do to me, got any suggestions yourself?
Punch him square in the face?:D
supasparx
24/10/2007, 4:25 PM
What are you going to do about it though?
So anyone able to sort the banner?
I know that Dahamsta organised the collection of funds for the foot.ie flag through Paypal.
Whetheror not he's willing to help you collect for the banner is another thing.
No harm in asking.
24/10/2007, 7:43 PM
Is there anyone in the media that actually wants Delaney gone? They all seem to think he's a great business man but more importantly, a great man to have a pint with.
25/10/2007, 10:16 AM
Is there anyone in the media that actually wants Delaney gone? They all seem to think he's a great business man but more importantly, a great man to have a pint with.
I don't know about the print media, but the RTE 3 said he should go after the Cyprus game.
Schlooooomp
25/10/2007, 11:09 AM
Roy Curtis of the Sunday World wrote a number of articles last Sunday agitating for the removal of Delaney
inchicore_saint
25/10/2007, 12:38 PM
Good picture of Delaney on the front page of the Sun today.:D
25/10/2007, 5:39 PM
His hair looked better than usual. :D
Schlooooomp
26/10/2007, 9:20 AM
Good picture of Delaney on the front page of the Sun today.:D
I think that it is over the top. Its not really adding anything constructive to the Delaney out campaign.
Sligo Hornet
26/10/2007, 9:37 AM
I think that it is over the top. Its not really adding anything constructive to the Delaney out campaign.
..Good point.....what happened to the proposed collection for a "Delaney Out " banner to display at Cardiff?.....has this idea now been shelved..?:confused:
Mayo_Bhoy
26/10/2007, 4:15 PM
annoy them, **** them off, just as they do to me, got any suggestions yourself?
*** them off eh?? Very mature.
26/10/2007, 4:53 PM
..Good point.....what happened to the proposed collection for a "Delaney Out " banner to display at Cardiff?.....has this idea now been shelved..?:confused:
Never got going really.
My idea was for everyone to do one thing for Cardiff. That's still there. All it takes is for people to do something...
viagogo
29/10/2007, 11:15 AM
John Delaney is walking down a road in Dublin when he sees an old woman struggling with two shopping bags. "Can you manage love" he asks the woman "feck off" she replies "i dont want the fecking job"
29/10/2007, 11:53 AM
In regards to the banner, would the FAI (Delaney) not ask to FAW to put ban on anti-Delaney banners?