View Full Version : Steve Staunton

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

TheBoss
18/10/2007, 2:08 PM
Apparently hearing the news on LMFM, The FAI are coming up with a severance package for Staunton.

18/10/2007, 2:12 PM
Please be true

an_ceannaire
Stop teasing you troll!!

onephillyhughes
Feel sorry for him coz he's from the town but it has to be done.

Hibs4Ever
18/10/2007, 2:13 PM
Please be true. But how would LMFM get this before anyone else?

18/10/2007, 2:13 PM
Tony O'Donoghue said the same on RTE I hear

onephillyhughes
18/10/2007, 2:14 PM
Fai spin doctor is from Dundalk!! :D

Dr. Ogba
18/10/2007, 2:17 PM
yeah stop teasing! I don't wan't to see a "Staunton gone?" thread....I want to see a "Staunton gone - heres the link" thread...

hope you're right though!

18/10/2007, 2:17 PM
Hope this is true..

an_ceannaire
18/10/2007, 2:19 PM
any of the coaches here or dodge should kick you out of here for that you creep! Getting our hopes up like that. TROLL:mad:

18/10/2007, 2:20 PM
soccerc will know if this is true I'm sure

Delbertt
18/10/2007, 2:28 PM
Delaney must follow

18/10/2007, 2:28 PM
haven't heard anything

macdermesser
18/10/2007, 2:30 PM
Delaney must follow

he's hardly going to sack himself..

18/10/2007, 2:31 PM
It wouldn't be unlike LMFM to get things wrong..

citizenerased
18/10/2007, 2:34 PM
it was hardly a stab in the dark by the lads in the lmfm newsroom no was it!?

an_ceannaire
18/10/2007, 2:35 PM
was it even on LMFM....really?

Delbertt
18/10/2007, 2:37 PM

Resign then

macdermesser
18/10/2007, 2:38 PM
I think the Irish Star reported it this morning too, that there was some impromptu meeting after the game, where talk of a severance package was mentioned .. so it might be a case of Chinese whispers.

Would be very surprised if this is true. cannot see such a decision being made on the spur of the moment .. more likely that they will dig their heels in and ride it out

18/10/2007, 2:42 PM
I think the Irish Star reported it this morning too, that there was some impromptu meeting after the game, where talk of a severance package was mentioned .. so it might be a case of Chinese whispers.

yup that was in the star alright "apparently a big meeting at the end of the game" :rolleyes:

mackannovic
18/10/2007, 2:45 PM
I'm no legal eagle but if I didn't do my job right I'd be sacked without pay. Surely they could do him for breaching the terms of his contract i.e. Being a angry duracell lookalike instead of managing the national team.

Sligo Hornet
I think the Irish Star reported it this morning too, that there was some impromptu meeting after the game, where talk of a severance package was mentioned .. so it might be a case of Chinese whispers

Christ, Delaney would be over the moon if it only cost him a box of Chinese Chocolate bars to get rid of him!:D

soccerc
I posted this post the Czech game.

Had a call and these are the exact words.

"If Steve decides to go, we [the FAI] will not stand in his way."

That call emanated from Prague and was I suspect the start of the FAi spin process.

I wouldn't doubt there was a meeting in the aftermath of last night as the 10 bodies of the supreme council were all together.

an_ceannaire
18/10/2007, 2:49 PM
So its BS? He aint gone?

Dr. Ogba
18/10/2007, 2:51 PM
I posted this post the Czech game.

Had a call and these are the exact words.

"If Steve decides to go, we [the FAI] will not stand in his way."

That call emanated from Prague and was I suspect the start of the FAi spin process.

I wouldn't doubt there was a meeting in the aftermath of last night as the 10 bodies of the supreme council were all together.

So basically its going to be one big stand-off...Staunton won't go without the golden handshake and the FAI won't admit their mistake and sack him so we're all going to suffer for 2 more years...

Ireland4ever
18/10/2007, 3:09 PM
any of the coaches here or dodge should kick you out of here for that you creep! Getting our hopes up like that. TROLL:mad:

Yeah, why the hell did you get our hopes up like that!! Billybunter got BANNED for less....I miss billy! STAN OUT BILLY IN!!:D

onephillyhughes
18/10/2007, 3:19 PM
Standing up for a Drog goes against everything I believe in but he didn't state it as fact, as the question mark shows!!!:p

Noelys Guitar
18/10/2007, 3:31 PM
The FAI have yet to come out with the "vote of confidence". And the longer Stan stays the greater the risk to Delaney in his position 6 year contract or not. You can be sure someone within the FAI covets Delaneys job. And with the public mood firmly against Delaney that someone might choose this moment to oust both Delaney and get rid of Stan.

18/10/2007, 3:33 PM
THat is very true, People like Delaney are survivors and the best way to survive in the jungle is to kill and he will get rid of Staunton to protect himself.

18/10/2007, 3:34 PM
Rumours from the RTE sports department are that his departure will be announced on the 6 o'clock news.

18/10/2007, 3:39 PM
I agree with some of the posts above- for Delaney to survive he has to get rid of Stan. There's only one way that's going to end. Hopefully anyway.

18/10/2007, 3:39 PM
Bookies lads....and fast!

Ireland4ever
18/10/2007, 3:44 PM
Rumours from the RTE sports department are that his departure will be announced on the 6 o'clock news.

Seriously lads, give sources or dont post, this uncertainty is killing me....arghhhhh

blobbyblob
18/10/2007, 3:45 PM
Theyve stopped taking bets

- Pic of the crowd control from last night before the end -

Cici900
18/10/2007, 3:48 PM
he has to go. its adisgrace what hes doing. he promised a world class management team before he brought staunton in

youngirish
18/10/2007, 4:03 PM
Any updates on this?

Billsthoughts
18/10/2007, 4:08 PM
THat is very true, People like Delaney are survivors and the best way to survive in the jungle is to kill and he will get rid of Staunton to protect himself.

youve been watching too much Im a celebrity......:confused:
If they made 10 million from the germany game alone what would 800,000 to pay off stan be to them?

18/10/2007, 4:08 PM
Whats I am a celebrity

youngirish
18/10/2007, 4:09 PM
I'll eat my own head if this is a wind up.

life long red
18/10/2007, 4:11 PM
Whats I am a celebrity
ask sean conors

18/10/2007, 4:11 PM
- Pic of the crowd control from last night before the end -Bloody hell, I told you it was like living under communism.

18/10/2007, 4:13 PM
ask sean conors

I presume you mean Sean Connor.

18/10/2007, 4:15 PM
no he is on about blackys brother here neil

youngirish
18/10/2007, 4:15 PM
ask sean conors

Who's Sean Connors?

18/10/2007, 4:16 PM
just contacted a good source in the football media and he had no word on this. did say that he heard that some journos "thought they had an inside line" and that they were saying he was on his way out. personally i doubt it would happen so quick

i know he's been a disaster but he hasnt done anything wrong deliberately and speculation like this is unfair no matter what salary he's on

WoodquayBoy
18/10/2007, 4:17 PM
Sean Connors, wasn't he that guy in Terminator? Maybe we're going to get Arnie over the remove Delaney and the suits?

blobbyblob
Billy Connolly? Interviews would be better craic anyway...

SUB of the day
Surely someone has the inside track, the silence from Merrion Sq is deafening, not normally camera shy, is this a good sign?:eek:

18/10/2007, 4:18 PM
just contacted a good source in the football media and he had no word on this. did say that he heard that some journos "thought they had an inside line" and that they were saying he was on his way out. personally i doubt it would happen so quick

i know he's been a disaster but he hasnt done anything wrong deliberately and speculation like this is unfair no matter what salary he's on

I am sick of this stuff its unfair etc blah blah. . I don't usually agree with Dunphy but people are spending lots of money to travel to see this team and they are taking time off work to come up to Dublin and it might cost them a fortune to bring their kids with them and they are watching a shambles. I don't feel sorry for him one bit. He is on good money and he knew the deal before he got the job.

youngirish
18/10/2007, 4:20 PM
I am sick of this stuff its unfair etc blah blah. . I don't usually agree with Dunphy but people are spending lots of money to travel to see this team and they are taking time off work to come up to Dublin and it might cost them a fortune to bring their kids with them and they are watching a shambles. I don't feel sorry for him one bit. He is on good money and he knew the deal before he got the job.

For once I agree with you. People have been executed for less. I have no sympathy for him.