View Full Version : Were Irish fans right to "boo" last night?

Pages : 1 [2]

Paddy Garcia
20/10/2007, 9:37 PM
Another thing that annoys me is the level of abuse that people hurl at Stan forgetting how much he gave to Ireland over the years,winning over 100 caps, and like anyone,understandably said yes to an opportunity to manage his country, but now a 'fu cken arsehole'. Dislike his managing techniques, style, job performance etc, but theres no need to attack him as a person. Hes just a man who wasnt that good at his job,not a criminal.

The problem is that Stan has put his own position ahead of the team (& country). If he had any dignity he would have walked after the last Cyprus game. I regret that his commitment to Ireland as a player will be overshadowed by his commitment to himself at Ireland's expense.

Unless he is the stupidest man on earth , he must have know he was not up to the job. Even most of the eejits on this site saw it a year ago.

20/10/2007, 9:48 PM
I was actually annoyed with the Irish fans for cheering when Finnan equalised.

Ditto. And i was at the game.

I didn't even clap let alone stand up.

Saint Tom
21/10/2007, 9:24 AM
Agree with the sentiments about Stan. A great servant of his country and wore the green shirt with pride. I feel some of the personal criticism he is getting is unfair. I think he was offered a dream job which he should never have been given. He was always going to take it. His legacy has already been tarnished I'm afraid. It's time for him to be removed from that job now and MORE importantly for Irish football John Delaney must walk.

RogerMilla
22/10/2007, 11:09 AM
i think the people who didnt turn up made a bigger statement than the boo boys , they are the people who will make the FAI sack stan due to the prospect of an empty ground for the forthcoming friendlies.

BaZmO*
22/10/2007, 11:13 AM
The reason why there was booing on Wednesday was simple, it was to get the point across to the FAI. They are renowned for their absolute contempt for Irish fans by spinning situations to their own advantage. Delaney saying that the fans stayed back to cheer Stan after the San Marino for example.

I was there on Wednesday and felt that the only way the FAI would listen and take notice was to boo at the end. I wasn't booing the players, I was booing the ineptness of Stan while he has been in charge and Delaney for choosing him. And as the tickets had been paid for already staying at home wasn't an option, and I'm sure the FAI would have put the spin of us being out of the running and it being a Wednesday as an excuse for fans not turning up.
Also, not buying tickets for future games is not an option as I would lose my place on the blockbooking scheme.

So therefore booing was the only option and by the looks of it it has worked.

Schlooooomp
22/10/2007, 3:03 PM
Agree with the sentiments about Stan. A great servant of his country and wore the green shirt with pride. I feel some of the personal criticism he is getting is unfair. I think he was offered a dream job which he should never have been given. He was always going to take it. His legacy has already been tarnished I'm afraid. It's time for him to be removed from that job now and MORE importantly for Irish football John Delaney must walk.

Fair play to you Tom, I seen/heard you trying to get a chant going at the Hill end of the lower Hogan callng for Delaney's removal (I pretty sure it was you). I was a bit farther up the stand and tried to get people chanting around me but to no avail. That section of the ground is like a funeral parlour and I will be trying to get tickets for a different section come the next campaign.

Beavis
22/10/2007, 5:22 PM
The problem is that Stan has put his own position ahead of the team (& country). If he had any dignity he would have walked after the last Cyprus game. I regret that his commitment to Ireland as a player will be overshadowed by his commitment to himself at Ireland's expense.

Unless he is the stupidest man on earth , he must have know he was not up to the job. Even most of the eejits on this site saw it a year ago.

Nah that doesnt wash at all.If you think reasonably about it I'm sure you dont believe that you,in a similar position would resign after 2 competitive games in charge. Everyone naturally thinks they can do better. If every manager had that outlook, managers would change as often as the wind.

How about Greece boss Otto Rehaggel, what if he'd resigned after his opening 2 defeats of the Euro qualifiers for Portugal 2004? I'm sure everyone thought he was an eejit at that time.

Saint Tom
23/10/2007, 7:03 PM
Fair play to you Tom, I seen/heard you trying to get a chant going at the Hill end of the lower Hogan callng for Delaney's removal (I pretty sure it was you). I was a bit farther up the stand and tried to get people chanting around me but to no avail. That section of the ground is like a funeral parlour and I will be trying to get tickets for a different section come the next campaign.

Yeah was there for the Germany game after everybody's favourite Irish governing body of football fooked up with our allocation on the Canal end. We take 104 off them for every game and when i rang up the week of the match to arrange collection they told me that my tickets were there but I owe them an extra €20 per ticket for the privilige of sitting in the worst seats in the house as there was a mixup and my tickets were ahem, reallocated. In hindsight I should have told them to stuff it. They gave us our "normal" tickets for wednesday. All of them stuck together on a ream of tickets and not two of the tickets in seats beside each other.

I will have a homemade effort with me in Cardiff.

Schlooooomp
23/10/2007, 10:31 PM
Yeah was there for the Germany game after everybody's favourite Irish governing body of football fooked up with our allocation on the Canal end. We take 104 off them for every game and when i rang up the week of the match to arrange collection they told me that my tickets were there but I owe them an extra €20 per ticket for the privilige of sitting in the worst seats in the house as there was a mixup and my tickets were ahem, reallocated. In hindsight I should have told them to stuff it. They gave us our "normal" tickets for wednesday. All of them stuck together on a ream of tickets and not two of the tickets in seats beside each other.

I will have a homemade effort with me in Cardiff.

Another piece of professional administration from Delaney and his cohorts.

SuperDave
24/10/2007, 12:04 PM
I'm going to cardiff. I'll go to a t-shirt shop today and get a quote on the ten t shirts for the -D-E-L-A-N-E-Y- -O-U-T- protest. Or i could just buy a small bucket of paint and do it myself...

Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 12:47 PM
I'm going to cardiff. I'll go to a t-shirt shop today and get a quote on the ten t shirts for the -D-E-L-A-N-E-Y- -O-U-T- protest. Or i could just buy a small bucket of paint and do it myself...

Bucket of paint sounds good. Lets follow the FAI's example of amateurism :D

Sligo Hornet
24/10/2007, 12:58 PM
Bucket of paint sounds good. Lets follow the FAI's example of amateurism :D

Yeah.......but wouldn't you need a brush as well:p

Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 1:03 PM
Yeah.......but wouldn't you need a brush as well:p

Now you are being a little too professional there Hornet. We will smear it on with our hands. :D

Saint Tom
25/10/2007, 5:45 PM
you could always smear something else all over merrion square!

Sligo Hornet
25/10/2007, 7:31 PM
you could always smear something else all over merrion square!

Careful "Saint" Tom....I think your halo might be slipping!:D

25/10/2007, 7:35 PM
Careful "Saint" Tom....I think your halo might be slipping!:D
Nah, I hear you can get a papal indulgence for that these days.