View Full Version : Carlsberg 'There's Always 'c' ad
17/10/2007, 11:25 AM
Am I the only one who finds this ad feckin annoying :
1) Over the top macho 'boyfriend' character
2) The whole contrived nonesense that the Irish fella has to either stop talking to her or "face the consequences"
3) Irish guy doing rubbish American accent, without getting rumbled.
4) The response the girlfriend gives to the question of "Baby, I didn't know you had a brother" doesn't make any sense (she says "isn't it"). Im not sure if that's meant to be a p!sstake of ther way Irish people talk, or just very poor scripting.
Rubbish ad - makes my blood boil every time I see it.... :mad:
17/10/2007, 11:44 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, steve you overthink too much!
17/10/2007, 11:45 AM
it is a real dodgy american accent...the heineken ads bug me more!
17/10/2007, 11:50 AM
Am I the only one who finds this ad feckin annoying :
1) Over the top macho 'boyfriend' character
2) The whole contrived nonesense that the Irish fella has to either stop talking to her or "face the consequences"
3) Irish guy doing rubbish American accent, without getting rumbled.
4) The response the girlfriend gives to the question of "Baby, I didn't know you had a brother" doesn't make any sense (she says "isn't it"). Im not sure if that's meant to be a p!sstake of ther way Irish people talk, or just very poor scripting.
Rubbish ad - makes my blood boil every time I see it.... :mad:
I hate the ad for all the reasons above (also add that the Irish guy is supposed to be a "character" - "See those good-looking guys there..." - High-larioi-us! :rolleyes:) but the good thing about it is, if you think about it, he's done a great job on breaking up that couple and the blonde was too stupid to realise it. "So whatever happened to that brother of yours that sounds like he's a bit simple...?"
17/10/2007, 11:53 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, steve you overthink too much!
its cos he has so much time on his hands dodge, if you had a big tele like that with nothing to do im sure you would be watching and rewinding adds too.
17/10/2007, 11:56 AM
You misheard. It's:
Boyfriend Baby, you didn't tell me you had a brother.
Girl (quickly) Yes I did.
17/10/2007, 12:00 PM
You misheard. It's:
Boyfriend Baby, you didn't tell me you had a brother.
Girl (quickly) Yes I did.
yeah that's what i thought
17/10/2007, 2:47 PM
I must have seen it about 10 times before I realised she was saying "yes I did" at the end
17/10/2007, 3:02 PM
The add obviously works because you're talking about it. That's the sine qua non of a successful advertisement. It has stuck in your mind.
18/10/2007, 12:43 AM
The add obviously works because you're talking about it. That's the sine qua non of a successful advertisement. It has stuck in your mind.No it's not - we flogged this topic to death about 2 months ago.
The "sine qua" (:o) of a successful ad is that it motivates you to buy the product.
Ad's aren't designed or created for the purposes of mere titilation, or to be the focus of iddle gossip. They're feckin expensive to produce and air, and they're all fundamentally about driving brand purchase in one or other way.
Talking abouts ads is therefore completely feckin pointless and a total 'aside' if you're not buying the product.
And that ad gives me less than zero motiovation to buy Carlsberg (euch)...!
I've said it before and I'll say it again, steve you overthink too much!Nought wrong with being overly cerebral Dodge.... :D
And besides - I asked to work in advertising, and we'd get locked in a room for 2hrs every Friday over a 3 year period to watch endless ads and analyse them to the nth degree. To understand what was good and bad about them and why some worked and others didn't.
By now it's engrained in my brain to scrutinise the bloody things instinctively....! :o
I must have seen it about 10 times before I realised she was saying "yes I did" at the endThat's mad - I've seen it about 15 times now, and didn't pick that up at all either.
I was trying to work out what the boyfriend character was saying instead at the start, in case I'd picked him up wrong. Didn't even think that I'd have got her wrong....!
I'm declaring a fatwa on Carlsberg for this piece of televisual affrontery....
18/10/2007, 12:45 AM
right now i couldn't care what the yank and her carlsberg boyfriend says, i'll leave that discussion to when i am at work tomorrow :D hiccup
what a night :mad:
18/10/2007, 1:01 AM
O8Ds8SAtW8g
You're right, it's brutal!
18/10/2007, 7:27 AM
I'd have taken 'leave now'. You're right i couldnt make out what yank boyfriend was saying at first either!
It is a terrible ad, the "american accent" is shocking!
I didnt even realise it was suppose to be an American accent :o
Ceirtlis
18/10/2007, 12:30 PM
The reason that it is hard to hear the, yes i did, line is because she is supposed to be taken by surprise by the quick thinking irish rogue who is drinking the carlsberg and can do a very good new york accent.
18/10/2007, 12:47 PM
Isn't it supposed to be a bad US accent? meaning he's a lovebale rogue rather than a skilled conman...
18/10/2007, 12:56 PM
And you think Steve thinks about this too much?
18/10/2007, 5:03 PM
The add obviously works because you're talking about it. That's the sine qua non of a successful advertisement. It has stuck in your mind.
Those Steve Davis ads on the radio have been running for ages and I have absolutely no idea what investment fund (or possibly pension) they're trying to sell. Given that the point I take from the ad is that Steve Davis (and by extension the financial product) has performed poorly since 1989, it's probably a good thing I can never remember the company responsible :)
And you think Steve thinks about this too much?
touché
The one plus point in Carlsberg favour is that they produce ads for the Irish market. The worst beer offenders are the imported Heineken & Bud American dross.
:(
Perhaps you are right Dodge, then they failed miserably at both
19/10/2007, 12:22 PM
Carlsberg triggers my gag response. horrible smelly lager.
20/10/2007, 9:57 AM
Carlsberg don't do ... ads were good like the one where Ireland won the World Cup at football. Unfortunately that is as close as we are ever going to get to winning it.
19/11/2007, 11:56 AM
What about the new one, with the lads out foreign speaking Irish in the disco, not bad.
citizenerased
19/11/2007, 12:25 PM
i like that one, very funny...
19/11/2007, 12:29 PM
What about the new one, with the lads out foreign speaking Irish in the disco, not bad.
I hate it. I absolutely despise it.
Multiply steve's anger for the last one by loads and you'll have my anger towards it.
I hate it. I absolutely despise it.Would you like to talk about your anger towards that particular advertisement?
Couldn't quite make out what the lad says at the end to the young lady he is dancing with. Something about a cailin bainne?
19/11/2007, 3:45 PM
Couldn't quite make out what the lad says at the end to the young lady he is dancing with. Something about a cailin bainne?Not fully sure of spelling but it's 'cuinas bothar cailin bainne'
19/11/2007, 6:04 PM
Quiet road girl milk?
19/11/2007, 6:11 PM
Think he means conas.
19/11/2007, 6:12 PM
How road girl milk?
19/11/2007, 6:16 PM
How about the road white girl.
biscuit
19/11/2007, 6:23 PM
how about he road the white girl! :P:D
19/11/2007, 6:25 PM
Céard faoi'n bóthar, a chailín [?]bhán[/?]...?
Sounds stupid anyway. Though most ads are.
Edit - the above's a literal word for word translation, before any Gaeilgóir points that out to me...
19/11/2007, 7:29 PM
I thought he was just randomly choosing words as earlier in the ad.
I'm a bit :confused: over the end of this thread. :D
How could you watch the whole ad and not realise that, as Schumi says, it's just more random Irish, only this time with single words instead of phrases. :)
19/11/2007, 8:11 PM
Haven't seen the ad, obviously...
That answers that then. :D
michaelguineys
19/11/2007, 10:04 PM
i actually love the ad, think its hilarious!
19/11/2007, 10:07 PM
Think he means conas.No I mean ciunas[sp?]/quiet.
Have to say I like the ad myself, stupid funny sort of thing!
Ceirtlis
19/11/2007, 11:39 PM
I hate the ad, absolute ****e. I saw the same thing on fair city one night with leo dowling saying something ridiculous in irish to that russian bird of his. It was ****e than to.
20/11/2007, 9:16 AM
I hate the ad, absolute ****e. I saw the same thing on fair city one night with leo dowling saying something ridiculous in irish to that russian bird of his. It was ****e than to.
that was played as serious (well, as serious as things get on Fair City), I think the ad is very much tongue in cheek.
Ceirtlis
20/11/2007, 11:13 AM
that was played as serious (well, as serious as things get on Fair City), I think the ad is very much tongue in cheek.
Well i hate to over analyse but i find the ad about as funny as the song by Richie kavanagh, aon focail,dha focail, triur focail eile that came out a few years ago. Its unimaginative and a ****take on our language. Im not a gaelgoir either as you would probably note from my irish spelling which i would imagine is wrong here.
20/11/2007, 12:30 PM
By the 20 or so posts about the ad on this thread, I'd say it's a job well done for whoever came up with the idea.
20/11/2007, 12:53 PM
By the 20 or so posts about the ad on this thread, I'd say it's a job well done for whoever came up with the idea.
Maybe so if it was a new product to create brand recognition , But I doubt any of the people giving out about the ad are more likely to drink Carsleberg if they dont already :D
Thats the thing, I usually drink it. I'm boycotting it for 2 weeks though in protest.
20/11/2007, 1:16 PM
Thats the thing, I usually drink it. I'm boycotting it for 2 weeks though in protest.
I'd like to retract my earlier post. The guy who came up with the idea should be fired. Then hung. Then cooked. Then eaten.
I'm never drinking carlsberg again, as this type of crap shows all it's drinkers have a superiority complex.