View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A Cup 2007/08
abbeyvale
14/05/2008, 7:27 AM
delighted to be in the final...grinded out the result at the weekend which is very promising...early season we'd of lost that game...should be a great game in jackman, only thing was the gloss taken off the victory...lost one of our key players who's been in great form during our recent run...broke his leg during second half of the semi...he'll be hard to replace
who was that?
Dines
14/05/2008, 11:38 AM
who was that?
Ask Gerry Kelly
gerardkelly
14/05/2008, 12:52 PM
Ask Gerry Kelly
Hi Dines in reply to your post i am not proud of what i said to the player while he was on the ground and i did apoligise to him and his father straight after the game. To clear something up some off your players think i said i hope his leg is broken.That is not true. The tackle i cant remember must of it as i think i fell on him. I am gutted of what has happened and i am in the process of trying to make contact with him and his father so i can apoligise in person and not by telephone so if you can help me out i would greatful.
dines08
15/05/2008, 3:47 AM
Hi Dines in reply to your post i am not proud of what i said to the player while he was on the ground and i did apoligise to him and his father straight after the game. To clear something up some off your players think i said i hope his leg is broken.That is not true. The tackle i cant remember must of it as i think i fell on him. I am gutted of what has happened and i am in the process of trying to make contact with him and his father so i can apoligise in person and not by telephone so if you can help me out i would greatful.
to answer abbeyvales question Ian Dore is the player who suffered the injury, and as i said it's very harsh on him as he's been superb in recent games...and to Gerry,
wat happened in the game the other day with the injury is best described as an unfortunate accident, both players tussled for the ball fairly and you fell on him as his leg was in an awkward position, it wasn't a bad tackle or anythin malicious..the only ill feeling that came from the incident was the comment passed as Ian lay injured...personally i don't know exactly wat was said but i know it upset a few people...most importantly tho u apologised to the player after the match and the apology was accepted...as far as everybody was concerned that was the end of it...just because it turned out to be a broken leg doesn't change the fact that u apologised on sunday, lets all just forget bout it and get on with the football...we've another league game against ye to look forward to and a cup final, anythin on this board or the 1a league board has always been in good spirits...lets keep it that way
Ger Lets forget about what happend. I said that because I am gutted for Ian more than any one because I know what it is like to break that bone in you leg I agree with Dines08 we just have to move on and get on with the football and I know you apoligised to Ian but he will come back from this
dines08
16/05/2008, 5:32 AM
Fair play to you Gerry for calling to see how Ian was last night...great gesture and really appreciated, can't have been easy...thanks
Fairplay to you Gerry great gesture and thats from all of A Team and committee at Geraldines.
see's it
16/05/2008, 1:32 PM
whats his father got to do with it,is he the manager
yes he is
Dines
20/05/2008, 10:58 AM
Cup Final on the 2nd June Jackman park 7.30pm
razbar
20/05/2008, 12:16 PM
Cup Final on the 2nd June Jackman park 7.30pm
taught it was tues the 3rd either way thats a bad day to have it on have ye any matches to play before then i see balla are down for two games between now and then
dines08
20/05/2008, 8:18 PM
we've no games before it...we'll train tuesday, thursday, sunday both weeks but it is unfortunate...could lack a bit of sharpness as a result, for now all we're thinkin bout is sundays results...we still need one or two to go our way to guarantee safety
Balbec77
20/05/2008, 8:52 PM
After playin Dines sunday must say they are lookin fresh and must b odds on 2 win hope balla can pull out der slump cause it has the makin of a cracker
taught it was tues the 3rd either way thats a bad day to have it on have ye any matches to play before then i see balla are down for two games between now and then
Sorry ment to say the 3rd
After playin Dines sunday must say they are lookin fresh and must b odds on 2 win hope balla can pull out der slump cause it has the makin of a cracker
we hope we can pull out of our slump too,bit of a crap night to have it,tuesday after a bank holiday weekend but sure nothing we can do about it we'll just give it our best as will the dines
Balbec77
21/05/2008, 8:49 PM
we hope we can pull out of our slump too,bit of a crap night to have it,tuesday after a bank holiday weekend but sure nothing we can do about it we'll just give it our best as will the dinesIF ye do it will b a great game
summervilleman
22/05/2008, 9:13 AM
IF ye do it will b a great game
Should be a good game but the ball keeper is small and dodgy so as long as the defence can prevent the opposition from shooting they have a great chancE
ha ha,you forgot to say slightly over weight too and not very agile,rumour has it he's away that week anyways so we'll put in someone decent:D
summervilleman
22/05/2008, 2:02 PM
ha ha,you forgot to say slightly over weight too and not very agile,rumour has it he's away that week anyways so we'll put in someone decent:D
well i didn't want to add that in as i didn't want to hurt his feelings to much...he he...Yeah he'll be away with work from what hear...Anthony lee is a better keeper if u ask me !!!
without a doubt,andy is made for outfield anyways with that sweet left peg!!
summervilleman
28/05/2008, 4:39 AM
without a doubt,andy is made for outfield anyways with that sweet left peg!!
the only thing he should be LEFT be is in the the dressing rooms he he:)
best of luck...I think ye should start ronan cannon in defence though...Pretty solid in the air and would be good for set pieces going forward but i dont think Ray likes him very much....Poor ould Ray hasn't a clue
agree that canon deserves a shot,our 2 centre halves never miss training though and are good so he's best bet is at full back
see's it
28/05/2008, 8:49 PM
top 4 finish and the cup final for a B team,id hate to see what he could if he had a clue.................
summervilleman
28/05/2008, 11:12 PM
top 4 finish and the cup final for a B team,id hate to see what he could if he had a clue.................
well if they got a good manager then u'd see..But still makes no difference in the end as they can't get promoted!!
Yeah i heard that alright but i don't think cannon is a full back..Hasn't got the pace for it(no offence)....Could they not move one of the center halfs to full back??
razbar
29/05/2008, 9:21 AM
well if they got a good manager then u'd see..But still makes no difference in the end as they can't get promoted!!
Yeah i heard that alright but i don't think cannon is a full back..Hasn't got the pace for it(no offence)....Could they not move one of the center halfs to full back??
so what about the full backs already playing there move them into mid-field then the widemen upfront then the strikers to the bench to accomadate one player thats just crazy talk...
would you move players that are playing well in 1 position to anoyher position to accomodate someone else?
he doesn't know what he is talkin about...after all he is only a player himself and not the best one at that!!..what does he know about managment!!!
he's playing days are behind him,dunno what he knows about management but we finished 4th this year after barely staying up last year and we are also in the cup final,so he's doing a lot better than some other managers
Super Rovers
01/06/2008, 7:38 PM
well considering one of the other full backs has an arse thats fit for a bacon slicer its so big, and has no pace, also a left back than there is no reason canon can't play over his pace.
that left back is o'DONNELL. absolutely shocking he is. shud stick to the rugby and his saturday nites
well considering one of the other full backs has an arse thats fit for a bacon slicer its so big, and has no pace, also a left back than there is no reason canon can't play over his pace.
that left back is o'DONNELL. absolutely shocking he is. shud stick to the rugby and his saturday nites
left full is frank hogan,o donnell has only played a couple of games,sub most of the time,at least he enjoys the saturday nights:D
sure our whole a team defence have arses bigger than that and it didn't do ye any good this year;)
Super Rovers
02/06/2008, 2:06 PM
left full is frank hogan,o donnell has only played a couple of games,sub most of the time,at least he enjoys the saturday nights:D
i was trying to fit you in canon but obviosly your not that excited to be a starter in the cup final. anyway mike has only come back playing soccer, good in his youth but needs to lay off the sunday cakes if he wants to get back to his best.:)
dines08
03/06/2008, 2:37 AM
anyone willing to stick their neck out wit predictions for the final?
jumping jac
03/06/2008, 7:36 AM
Balla to win 2 nil ! ;)
Dallas
03/06/2008, 11:42 AM
I think Dines will win but it will be a tight game only a goal will separate them and with Ger Barron in the form he is at the moment I dont see Balla scoring a whole pile.......:ball:
KevB76
03/06/2008, 12:05 PM
When is this being played, tonight ?
dines08
03/06/2008, 12:59 PM
ya...tonight, jackman at 7.30
Balla 4-1 geraldines!!
it will be a tight game i think between 2 good teams,hopefully we will win but the dines will be well up for it.can't see many goals in it either
KevB76
03/06/2008, 4:32 PM
ya...tonight, jackman at 7.30
Thanks
abbeyvale
03/06/2008, 6:54 PM
Thanks
I'll go for the Dines on peno's...............
abbeyvale
03/06/2008, 9:00 PM
Any result from the final tonight yet????
Balla 2-1 Dines (AET)
Congrats to Balla, and well done to the Dines for securing safety in the league and getting to the final of their divisional cup.
Balbec77
03/06/2008, 9:28 PM
congrats to balla good to see ye get something after a long season congrats to dines on staying up great second half to the season
Congrats to Balla. Delighted ye got something from the season. Hard luck to Dines, fair play for turning the season around. Best of luck to both teams next year.
mulla
04/06/2008, 10:55 AM
]
Yes well done to Balla..They were the favourites going into this but it looks like geraldines didn't make it easy for them.....Any match report on this game>??
very tight game,dines played well,we scored with about a minute to go then got the winner first couple of minutes in extra time,very hard luck on the dines,some very good players but we kept battling and got back into it just about.
its great to get something for all the hard work during the year,now we have to look forward to charleville on saturday evening:(
dines08
04/06/2008, 11:36 AM
congrats to balla after last nights game...think it was a good advert for 1a...tight game but good quality, all players involved had good games...think one or two injury's picked up cost us in the end...we almost held on but as soon as the equaliser went in we were hanging on...the balla subs made a huge difference...majorly disappointin for us as for some of our players it could be their last game for the club...time to regroup and look forward to next season, once again congrats to balla
leather
04/06/2008, 1:13 PM
Watched the 2nd half of the game last night... was not great to watch.. from what i saw the dines had a couple of great chances to win the game but a mixture of good defending/goalkeeping and brutal deciesion making cost them dearly.At 1-0 up and with about 10 mins to go,the dines broke fwd with a 2 on 1 situation. Dont know who the player was who broke fwd on the right side is but he took the ball into the corner flag from about 40 yrds out,trying to waste time, when Mark Healy(best player on the pitch imo) was free in the center with only the keeper to beat. I imagine that every person in the ground was gobsmacked...even the refs watching the match saw this.... Balla equalised about 2 mins later...lucky goal but you need them... left after balla equalised...
Philbert
04/06/2008, 1:53 PM
Any one know the balla team last night?
abbeyvale
04/06/2008, 10:14 PM
congrats to balla after last nights game...think it was a good advert for 1a...tight game but good quality, all players involved had good games...think one or two injury's picked up cost us in the end...we almost held on but as soon as the equaliser went in we were hanging on...the balla subs made a huge difference...majorly disappointin for us as for some of our players it could be their last game for the club...time to regroup and look forward to next season, once again congrats to balla
Why is this????
dines08
05/06/2008, 3:29 AM
for gerry barron more so than any other as he is off to ucd next year...a guy who has played wit geraldines since he was a young guy...not a nice way to finish up, wit one or two other very talented young guys in the squad it'll be hard to hold onto them...bit sad really, we always seem to bring players thru schoolboy and lose them soon afterwards
leather
05/06/2008, 6:13 AM
Barron is a class act and good to see him progressing to ucd, only player imo who could make the jumper to premier would be M.Healy...and not trying to be smart but for how many years have you been having your player bunk off after schoolboys...?fair play for to your club for stiil having a great schoolboy setup.
mulla
05/06/2008, 11:42 AM
Watched the 2nd half of the game last night... was not great to watch.. from what i saw the dines had a couple of great chances to win the game but a mixture of good defending/goalkeeping and brutal deciesion making cost them dearly.At 1-0 up and with about 10 mins to go,the dines broke fwd with a 2 on 1 situation. Dont know who the player was who broke fwd on the right side is but he took the ball into the corner flag from about 40 yrds out,trying to waste time, when Mark Healy(best player on the pitch imo) was free in the center with only the keeper to beat. I imagine that every person in the ground was gobsmacked...even the refs watching the match saw this.... Balla equalised about 2 mins later...lucky goal but you need them... left after balla equalised...
don't think it was a lucky goal,beat his marker and shot and scored from a tight angle,agree with you about the rest though,brininging on kevin nolan changed the game,up until then we never looked like scoring,the same player scored the winner and it was a cracker,gave ger barron no chance,thought the tall centre midfielder was good for dines too and the centre half beside pa koyce,there best player though before he went off injured was there other centre forward,caused us awful problems in the first half,Mark Healy is a fine player,can't see him staying with the dines though.