View Full Version : Thugs And Scum Is All "youse" Are

05/05/2003, 3:57 PM
Emotions aside, football aside, yesterday was the day i realised shamrock rovers and their fans should be banned from the civilised world.

1. 40-50 vocal city fans, looking to enjoy the same banter as with other fans, no incitement on our part, unless you count chanting as a reason for violence.
2. Second half 200-300 rovers fans spent most of the 45 mins gesturing and throwing things at us, without even watching the game.
3. A number of large stones were thrown from in side AND outside the ground- what kind of "fan" watches his team from outside the ground................
4. An empty glass bottle was flung in our direction, luckily it hit the roof of the toilets and broke before it killed anyone.
5. a number of "casuals" strutted into the city section and sat waving at their counterparts in the shed before attempt ing to sing and cause trouble, then were removed by the stewards- why? No city fans made any attempt to "take " the rovers end. No city fans touched any of these "invaders", we will not react- give it up.
6.As was already mentioned, a knife was dropped on the pitch bya rovers fan.
7. The gardaí had to drive you lot out of the ground like a herd of demented cattle, while we were thanked for our behaviour and wished a safe journey home.

i have defended rovers in the past, saying the majority of their fans were decent people. Not any more. No decent human being would carry on paying money into a club that does nothing to combat vermin such as those yesterday. It wasn't an isolated few, it was a large group of over 200. Probably the same scum who i heard roaring "you black monkey" at rutherford last week in dalymount.

Shamrock Rovers have consistently refused to make any attempt to deal with this element in their "support". Other clubs have repeatedly made them aware of this issue, and ...........nothing. Forget the "we can't deal with it until we have our own ground." If rovers want to they can- they obviously don't care. If they won't sort it out, then the FAI will have to ban rovers from travelling, or maybe even have them play behind closed doors.

SCUM

05/05/2003, 4:30 PM
I wouldn't over react lads ... it should be deslt with in the proper way, through the porper channels (to put an end to it) , us name calling on the internet is not going to help things by any means. And there are alot of Rovers fans out there who want the same as us ... they hate this element as much as the rest of us and will be only too happy to lend a hand in support.

With a unified effort we can rid this sort of thing from the eL.

05/05/2003, 5:43 PM
Éanna, do you not recognise the irony and hypocrisy of what you're doing here? Can you not see that you've just performed the electronic equivalent of the very accusations you make in your post? And do you not think that it's even worse when you carry that title next to your name? Isn't it very much like a Garda wading into the crowd and calling them all scumbags?

TommyT
05/05/2003, 8:04 PM
Colm called for Rovers fans to be banned from Cork in a thread started by Eanna with a c'n'ped post. Here's my reply

Colm if what went on yesterday was reason enough to ban people from travelling to other clubs grounds then City would have been banned from Dublin years ago.

Stone throwing inside and outside the ground ?
A hundred plus people waiting around to attack travelling fans afterwards ?
Home fans giving 'come on' gestures to the visitors ?
Home fans also entering the 'away' section purely to wind up the visitors ?
Police escort outside (well only when they can be bothered) ?

Doesn't that remind anyone else of a trip to the Cross ?

Also I posted later

EANNA NO-ONE ELSE HEARD CHANTS OF YOU BLACK MONKEY AT RUTHERFORD LAST WEEK GIVE IT UP.

Remember the time you mocked a post I left on foot.ie about the Cross being the worst ground for trouble in the League ? You had to eat your words several monthss later when a Bohs fan posted saying he agreed with it. No-one was hurt stop being so hysterical and before you post again try leaving emotions aside for real.

eoinh
05/05/2003, 9:19 PM
Originally posted by TommyT

Remember the time you mocked a post I left on foot.ie about the Cross being the worst ground for trouble in the League ? You had to eat your words several monthss later when a Bohs fan posted saying he agreed with it.

TommyT you should know me from here and the eircom league board and i regard myself as very fair but that statement is ridiculous.

I agree with Vetinari above about the way using the term scum is being used. Its just tarring everybody with the same brush which isnt on. The way language is used is important and needs to be thought about. The vast majority of people who go to football matchs in this country are decent.

I wasnt at the match BTW.

Rovers though need to deal with this problem though having said that.

TommyT
05/05/2003, 11:08 PM
Both of those statements are factually correct. The first is based on conversations with fans of the other 3 'big' Dublin clubs while the second can be proven by doing a search under my or Eanna's name.

eoinh
05/05/2003, 11:21 PM
After matchs in Turners cross you have fans from both teams milling around the place and there isnt a hint of trouble.
You have families and young kids. I dont know where youre getting this from

06/05/2003, 12:27 AM
Nightdub's response on the eLmb is pretty on target too.

06/05/2003, 1:11 PM
I can't comment for any goings on after the match although i did manage to walk away without drawing any attention. Sometimes its hard to know when the rovers fans end & Inchicore locals begin.

With regard "taking the city end" i thought it was fairly good hearted by Richmond Park standards & seemed to be just a game as no trouble was started.

Not trying to make excuses for any behaviour but does no one ever stop to think about some of the city "chats" & that home fans may be offended some some of them? Clearly that not an excuse for behaviour but may explain some of it? Ever wonder if the Longford welcome would be so nice if chanted the samer things at Flancare?

06/05/2003, 2:01 PM
Originally posted by Vetinari
Nightdub's response on the eLmb is pretty on target too.

Except for the stab city bit! :mad:

06/05/2003, 8:50 PM
THE HORSESHOE SHOULD BE PRETTY INTERESTING NEXT GAME

RECKON IF SOMETHING HAPPENS,EVEN THE INNOCENT OF CITY FANS WONT CONDONE IT

THEY WILL JUST KEEP QUIET AND PRETEND NOTHING HAPPENED

06/05/2003, 9:26 PM
EANNA NO-ONE ELSE HEARD CHANTS OF YOU BLACK MONKEY AT RUTHERFORD LAST WEEK GIVE IT UP.

Give it up? That was the first time i said anything about it, and there were other city fans there with me, one of whom commented on it to me.

06/05/2003, 9:29 PM
Éanna, do you not recognise the irony and hypocrisy of what you're doing here? Can you not see that you've just performed the electronic equivalent of the very accusations you make in your post? And do you not think that it's even worse when you carry that title next to your name? Isn't it very much like a Garda wading into the crowd and calling them all scumbags?

Adam, I was very slow to post what I did. I gave it a lot of thought, but as i made clear in the post I've had it with rovers. they've been given enough chances. I don't want to see any more violence any retribution or anything, I want Rovers to put an immediate stop to this or face the consequences. The sooner they are punished the sooner this problem will go away. and as I said, those who are not involved are doing nothing to stop it and therefore just as guilty.

06/05/2003, 9:31 PM
Originally posted by pete
Ever wonder if the Longford welcome would be so nice if chanted the samer things at Flancare? There were some pretty offensive chants swapped in longford, but they actually know how to take a joke there. The same songs are sung against rovers as against other dublin teams, and there is not the same reaction.............. conclusion is fairly obvious.

06/05/2003, 9:31 PM
We dont want it going that way either.

I am actually proud that there is little to no trouble at the cross. 2-3 incidences a year max. and i would like to keep it that way.

If it doesn't ..... and something makes the papers then 3,000 fans will go on the missing list.

And lads ...... that is for sure.

The best way around this is to not get involved .... we are having a great buzz so far this year. I say carry on the way we are.

06/05/2003, 9:36 PM
Remember the time you mocked a post I left on foot.ie about the Cross being the worst ground for trouble in the League ? You had to eat your words several monthss later when a Bohs fan posted saying he agreed with it. No-one was hurt stop being so hysterical and before you post again try leaving emotions aside for real. I don't remember mocking it, I remeber not believing it, and then being proven wrong, and then admitting that- pity rovers won't hold their hands up like i did. that no-one was hurt was a miracle, and instead of lmaking light of it- do something about it.

As for using the word scum, I meant it. As i said, no decent human being would pay money in to a club that allows this to happen without trying to stop it. Rovers have made clear by their inaction that they tolerate and accept this kind of behaviour, and rovers fans obviously do too. They never accept they have a problem, and never attempt to deal with it- in my book scum is a pretty good description of that kind of people.
As for what face said about the proper channels, I fully agree- the FAI should be informed about this and the complaint taken further.

06/05/2003, 9:38 PM
Originally posted by thecorner

I reckon comments like that are geared to cause trouble and shouldn't be made. Leave the threats and insinuations to the scumbags, thats not the way to do it. This has to be done properly through the league, the FAI and the gradaí if necessary.

06/05/2003, 9:53 PM
The replies on this and other boards say everything about Rovers. Instead of acknowleding the problem, all there is to be seen are counter-claims and downright denials of things I saw with my own two eyes. I'm still willing to be proved wrong on the "cut-throat" gestures, I said I didn't see them I didn't say they didn't happen.

Face up to your problems and maybe then someone will respect you. By denying the problem, ALL of you are exacerbating it.

06/05/2003, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
Adam, I was very slow to post what I did.Which makes it all the worse. You had time to think about it, but failed to recognise the hypocrisy of digitally replicating the minority "scumbag" element by coming in here and shouting and roaring and stereotyping every Rovers fan, by assigning blame across the board even though it's not the fan's responsibility to sort out the problems you mention. They have as much a right as you to go to a game of football, and you have absolutely no right to lecture them on their decision to go to games /in spite/ of the problems.

Your little temper tantrums can be very tiresome Éanna, and they lead to things that /really/ annoy me, like your starting a new thread on this topic. You should know better than to get on my wick with this childishness. I'm moving this thread to Off Topic, where it belongs. By rights it should be in the bin, but I'm not in the mood for the predictable melodramatic cries of censorship at the moment.

07/05/2003, 8:08 AM
I'm not in the mood for the predictable melodramatic cries of censorship at the moment.

I'll be quiet :o

07/05/2003, 11:52 AM
Which makes it all the worse. You had time to think about it, but failed to recognise the hypocrisy of digitally replicating the minority "scumbag" element by coming in here and shouting and roaring and stereotyping every Rovers fan, by assigning blame across the board even though it's not the fan's responsibility to sort out the problems you mention. They have as much a right as you to go to a game of football, and you have absolutely no right to lecture them on their decision to go to games /in spite/ of the problems.

Your little temper tantrums can be very tiresome Éanna, and they lead to things that /really/ annoy me, like your starting a new thread on this topic. You should know better than to get on my wick with this childishness. I'm moving this thread to Off Topic, where it belongs. By rights it should be in the bin, but I'm not in the mood for the predictable melodramatic cries of censorship at the moment.

I've pmed you re this adam.

07/05/2003, 12:37 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
Adam, I was very slow to post what I did. I gave it a lot of thought, but as i made clear in the post I've had it with rovers. they've been given enough chances. I don't want to see any more violence any retribution or anything, I want Rovers to put an immediate stop to this or face the consequences. The sooner they are punished the sooner this problem will go away. and as I said, those who are not involved are doing nothing to stop it and therefore just as guilty.

Eanna, I've spent two days reading your slurs against the club I love and my fellow supporters and I've had enough. NOTHING HAPPENED ON SUNDAY.

Yes, there was an intimidatory atmosphere but so what - it's football. Your comments on this board and your fellow Cork fans rubbish on our board are both inflammatory and an incitement to violence. Please stop.

I'm sick to death of people having a go at Rovers, especially when nothing happened. Don't forget, one of our lads was slashed in the face last time we were in the Cross. How many Cork fans were hospitalised on Sunday? How many were physically attacked?

We had the same rubbish after the Pats/Cork game in Richmond. 10 Rovers fans arrested etc. We got on to the cops to confirm that this was yet more paranoid anti-Rovers rubbish.

The day is coming very soon when Rovers as a club will sue over these lies. So, Eanna give it a rest.

07/05/2003, 12:49 PM
Nothing happened? With my own eyes I saw a bottle and a number of stones being thrown. As for suing? DOn't make me laugh, you lot might believe each others lies, the courts won't. you know you can't actually deny something thats right in front of you in court, it's called perjury.

WeAreHomeless
07/05/2003, 1:17 PM
Originally posted by WeAreRovers

Yeah, Keep on Hooping.
I agree with that Sham:
We are Scum. If ya don't like it **** yourself.

Dricky
07/05/2003, 1:24 PM
Eanna, I've spent two days reading your slurs against the club I love and my fellow supporters and I've had enough. NOTHING HAPPENED ON SUNDAY.

Your back up on your highhorse again you still haven't pointed out all these Cork City fans that you claim have been threatening ye on your board your great for jumping up when somebody say something but when challenged re your post you haven't answered you never do and you always jump in on someone else’s thread. If you believe Eanna is so wrong then you better take a look at all your post.

You can say what you want but when you are asked time and time again to back up your statements you never do not on this board and not on network 54.

In saying that your sentiments I'm sure are with good cause nobody likes their team put down, but most people hate violence, Intimidation is part of the game yes, violence isn't.

Rovers need the gate receipts from the away fans just as much as their home fans, so what happens when people stop going to the rovers matches. No club can afford this.

In saying that it is not against the law to video or photograph incidents and report them to the Gardai

07/05/2003, 1:34 PM
NOTHING HAPPENED ON SUNDAY.

I suppose if ya keep saying it eventually you start believeing it.
You are ****in pathetic.

And to think that this guy isin't a spotty little kid just looking for aggro, he actually believes what he is saying, it makes more astounding.

Typical Jackeen.

07/05/2003, 2:20 PM
Originally posted by thecorner

THEY WILL JUST KEEP QUIET AND PRETEND NOTHING HAPPENED Goes to show that scum isn't solely restricted to Rovers.

07/05/2003, 2:47 PM
im not saying there will be trouble

but some fans somewhere are gonna want the rovers fans with the way they r behaving this season again

thats 2 police escorts the city fans had to get outta dublin in a short space of time

Keep Off Herion. thats the only KOH ye should learn

Real ale Madrid
07/05/2003, 4:39 PM
The first time I went to a city game in dublin the taxi driver a Rovers fan spent the 15 mins to Tolka giving out about Cork City fans going around calling people scum and causing trouble. City fans have a bad reputation up in Jackeenland and get little sympathy as a result. Also a friend of mine who is a Dundalk fan dosen't like going to turners cross anymore because he got pelted with stones both times he went there.

Every club has a so called "scum" element it is important not to forget that.

Shamrock Rovers have a particular problem with this though.

07/05/2003, 4:40 PM
Originally posted by Real ale Madrid
a friend of mine who is a Dundalk fan dosen't like going to turners cross anymore because he got pelted with stones both times he went there. Now there's irony for you.

07/05/2003, 4:49 PM

We had the same rubbish after the Pats/Cork game in Richmond. 10 Rovers fans arrested etc. We got on to the cops to confirm that this was yet more paranoid anti-Rovers rubbish.

The day is coming very soon when Rovers as a club will sue over these lies.

Well, why don't you get onto your security company and I'm sure they will confirm that one of the stewards picked up a knife/bottle opener from the pitch after Rovers scored and they will also confirm about the bottle and stone throwing incidents. Ask the Gardai why they felt the need to escort City fans to the train station. You and your buddies seem to be denying what obviously happened and making yourselves look like fools in the process. TommyT appears to be the only one of you that is prepared to admit that what we are saying is true.

As for sueing, well surely someone could take legal action against Rovers for refusing to deal with their troublemakers and thus putting peoples safety in jeporady. It's more likely than what you suggest.

Real ale Madrid
07/05/2003, 4:58 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
Them Dundalk fans are compulsive liars, Real Ale.

And adulterers. Stone 'em, stone 'em. Sharp pointy stones for adulterers.

Anyone remember the Life of Brian sketch?

I can't say anymore. those adulterers and liars will give me a place to rest my drunken head after the drogs game next month.

07/05/2003, 6:06 PM
In Dublin theres isn't half the amount of trouble at a Rover v City game at Tolka that there is at Inchicore. I don't know who does the security at Richmond Park but i appears worse than Tolka or Dalymount.

When rovers visit the cross there is definitely a local element that go just cos its rovers - hard to tell if they looking for a fight or not but obviously doesn't excuse throwing glasses in the Horseshoe.

Its seems strange that probably the friendliest dublin fans (Pats) are based in the least friendly ground.

:(