View Full Version : fans in premium watch rugby

16/10/2007, 11:24 AM
did ye hear this on the radio the fans in the premium seats stayed inside and drank and watched the bloody rugby. why do irish people have an obsession with watching england. i cant imagine any other nation doing the same. For those who didnt hear it was on ray foley.

16/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Its the nature of the people who get most of the Premium tickets. They were probably rugby fans to begin with. I hope they choked on their prawn sandwiches.

16/10/2007, 12:27 PM
Didn't realise Irish people had an obsession with watching England, I didn't watch the Estonia game, I didn't watch the rugby (although I was getting updates on the score during the radio commentary) and I certainly wouldn't miss an Ireland game to watch any England game.
If there is an "obsession" it's probably because we're force fed build up to every England game through Sky Sports and BBC, whereas they only display any interest in the Irish team if they're showing the match

Mayo_Bhoy
16/10/2007, 3:34 PM
A mate of mine was in the GAA's own box and he said they were all out watching it as well.:confused:

whiteshorts
16/10/2007, 4:16 PM
Most premium tickets would be sold to corporates who would invite different clients whether they were interested in soccer or not.
The fact that they watched the rugby just means they prefered the "prawn sandwiches and beer" inside to what was on show outside.
FAI don't care they still get paid their dosh.

citizenerased
16/10/2007, 5:09 PM
joke..this is what its become..

16/10/2007, 5:24 PM
I was in the Canal End & if I had a TV near me I would have watched the rugby. Lansdowne Road was much better whereas seats so far from the pitch at Croke Park might as well be watching on TV.

citizenerased
16/10/2007, 5:26 PM
I was in the Canal End & if I had a TV near me I would have watched the rugby. Lansdowne Road was much better whereas seats so far from the pitch at Croke Park might as well be watching on TV.

maybe you should have watched it so and gave ur ticket to a genuine fan

16/10/2007, 5:28 PM

No rugby tomorrow but will probably watch the football on TV instead. Can't give the tickets away... :(

16/10/2007, 5:36 PM
at least we know yer not a proper fan anyway pete.

16/10/2007, 5:37 PM
Can't give the tickets away... :(

Indeed, strange how all the genuine fans only want to go to the Germany game.

16/10/2007, 6:44 PM
Really? I think the view at Croker is fantastic, everywhere.

16/10/2007, 7:07 PM
Really? I think the view at Croker is fantastic, everywhere.
Hmm, my sarcasm detector is at home, but while it's a good stadium for gaelic games, it's a bit long for a soccer pitch. I imagine the lowest seats in the Davin are practically worthless for a view.

viagogo
16/10/2007, 8:02 PM
I know some people who always laugh about the fact that I go to watch Ireland matches all the time. These guys watch England matches when we are playing at the same time. And what a surprise they spend all there time watching Premiership games on the telly.

Also if Ireland qualify for a World/Euros again you just know those Corporate muppets will have tickets for every game.

16/10/2007, 8:53 PM
Hmm, my sarcasm detector is at home, but while it's a good stadium for gaelic games, it's a bit long for a soccer pitch. I imagine the lowest seats in the Davin are practically worthless for a view.
The vast majority of play is in the middle of the pitch so it doesn't really make much difference.

reder
17/10/2007, 7:56 AM
The vast majority of play is in the middle of the pitch so it doesn't really make much difference.

I sit half way up the lower davin and the view when play is down the other end of ground is very poor. Chose that section as I was under the impression that the hardcore fans were going there (singing section etc).

The guy who sits beside me left at half time along with his mate to go and watch the rugby. He wont be coming tonight as "he is not bothered". Aparently im a sucker for punishment!

I have had to give away tickets for free for tonight. A few people asked me to help them out with tickets but dont want them now so im stuck with them and naturally the bill.

whiteshorts
17/10/2007, 8:18 AM
I have had to give away tickets for free for tonight. A few people asked me to help them out with tickets but dont want them now so im stuck with them and naturally the bill.

Don't worry they'll be back for the Brazil game and I'd know what I'd tell them :mad:

17/10/2007, 10:07 AM
No real fans would have missed out on tickets for last saturday so not too bothered what the prawn sandwich brigade did.

I reckon the tv viewing figures will have been well down for the game though as I've been shocked by the number of people who watched the rugby instead.

Littlest Hobo
17/10/2007, 12:53 PM
interesting this one...
We were in the upper davin 1st half and could see jack ****e. It was dead quiet and we were told to shut up and sit down so many times. Couple of eejits in front were wandering what the rugby score was every five minutes.
Sod that.....so at Half time we made our way to the press box seats in the upper middle hogan, what a view:eek: No one checked our tickets and the journo's couldn't care less. There were plenty of free seats.
Most the irish lads behind us were bantering about the rugby.
Tell you wot, second half Andy Reid was brilliant:D

dublinred
17/10/2007, 1:12 PM
Kind of related to this thread but I noticed something that made me annoyed , not one of the pubs I passed on route to croker had an Ireland flag up outside on saturday, the big tree had loads of GAA flags but not one Ireland flag.

Paddy Garcia
17/10/2007, 7:22 PM
did ye hear this on the radio the fans in the premium seats stayed inside and drank and watched the bloody rugby. why do irish people have an obsession with watching england. i cant imagine any other nation doing the same. For those who didnt hear it was on ray foley.

They sound like good judges to me.

18/10/2007, 1:04 PM
Did anyone notice that when the Ireland rugby team ran out against Argentina the captain was carrying a flag that certainly wasn't the tricolour? Some sorted of banner with four provincial symbols on it. I'm sick to the teeth of this new Ireland and the corporate toss that riddles it.
But I'll still be cheering on my team tonight. I wonder where all the one-off posters have gone now that we're not going to qualify.
They sicken me to the pit of my stomach, but there are plenty on here who defend them.
Er, it's a 32 county team. Why should it play under a 26 county flag?

18/10/2007, 4:22 PM
good man tuff paddy, no reasoning in yer post just pure belief but i still love it.

If we could get rid of these southsiders/ucd type folk we would be a proper country again :p

18/10/2007, 5:37 PM
I knew there would be someone on here who would suggest that Ireland shouldn't play under the tricolour. Bet you like singing Phil Coulter tunes as well? Don't know about you but I'm proud to be Irish.
Yeah, well I don't know about you, but I'm proud not to be a paedophile. Like your strawman, and indeed the bizarre reference to 'corporate toss' in your previous post, that has little to do with the question of what flag an all-Ireland team plays under.

citizenerased
19/10/2007, 10:27 AM

so is the irish olympic team for that matter, and it plays under the tricolour..why shouldnt it...rugby is a rancid sport

bigmac
19/10/2007, 11:29 AM
so is the irish olympic team for that matter, and it plays under the tricolour..why shouldnt it...rugby is a rancid sport

Not exactly - athletes from the North have a choice about whether they want to compete for Ireland (eg Paul McKee) or the UK (James McIlroy). Rugby players don't. McKee amongst others has also competed at the Commonwealth games for Northern Ireland.

citizenerased
19/10/2007, 1:59 PM
they do have a choice...the can foockk right off, thats what they can do, let form their own team...first our national anthem then our flag...if you know anything about the tricolour, the orange represents the orange faction in the north....so in essence it does represent them

Paddy Garcia
19/10/2007, 9:56 PM
rugby is a rancid sport

O yeah, not like the beautiful game we have been playing. My great regret is that I was distracted from the rugby to watch the dross we serve up.

20/10/2007, 2:44 PM

what are you on about:rolleyes:
ireland playing to an irish flag and to an irish anthem................my god who would believe it:rolleyes:

gilberto_eire
21/10/2007, 12:21 PM
Kind of related to this thread but I noticed something that made me annoyed , not one of the pubs I passed on route to croker had an Ireland flag up outside on saturday, the big tree had loads of GAA flags but not one Ireland flag.

you just reminded me about that place they have about 7 county flags outside and they dont have a Galway onE.... but they have a LEITRIM flag :eek:

26/10/2007, 9:55 AM

Well done.