View Full Version : Todays game

Anto
04/05/2003, 6:18 PM
I'm not having a go, (and I dont care what others say about our support), but where the **** was your support ?

Hardly 80 of yous there, granted abit of noise was made, but with it being a bank holiday and plenty of trains, a pathetic as expected crowd.

2-1

Anto
04/05/2003, 11:16 PM
Were your fans mostly casuals or something, because I barely saw any Corkies, especially when yous scored.

Also, why would a police escort have been needed, were you going to be late for the train and they gave you one to clear the road ?

Muppet
05/05/2003, 8:03 AM
Originally posted by Anto
Were your fans mostly casuals or something, because I barely saw any Corkies, especially when yous scored.

Also, why would a police escort have been needed, were you going to be late for the train and they gave you one to clear the road ?

Hmmm, what game were you watching? I thought there was a poor crowd there alright, Rovers had at the most a thousand fans, what a complete joke, and 997 of them were scangers. We had to get an escort cos your 'fans' are knuckle dragging, soverign ring wearing, tracksuit sporting, joyriding junkie scum. Even the stewards said ye were scum, quelle surprise. The day I take lessons in supporting my team from a Shamrock Rovers scumbag is the day Satan takes up ice skating...now get lost, you toilet:p

Anto
05/05/2003, 10:39 AM
Originally posted by Muppet
Hmmm, what game were you watching? I thought there was a poor crowd there alright, Rovers had at the most a thousand fans, what a complete joke, and 997 of them were scangers. We had to get an escort cos your 'fans' are knuckle dragging, soverign ring wearing, tracksuit sporting, joyriding junkie scum. Even the stewards said ye were scum, quelle surprise. The day I take lessons in supporting my team from a Shamrock Rovers scumbag is the day Satan takes up ice skating...now get lost, you toilet:p

I didn't comment on the game, why are you asking me that question ?

There was a **** crowd, Cork undeniably should of had more, due to the fact it was a bank holiday, a sunday, no school/work/college the following day.

You failed to say [B}why[/B] you had to get an escort, you wern't that late for your train were you ? You said it is because of our fans attire, hardly a reason to get an escort.

Fair play to the stewards, but I shouldl't have to believe typical Corkie crap.

We'll see who is scum on July 11th.

Muppet
05/05/2003, 10:59 AM
I didn't comment on the game, why are you asking me that question ?

There was a **** crowd, Cork undeniably should of had more, due to the fact it was a bank holiday, a sunday, no school/work/college the following day.

You failed to say [B}why you had to get an escort, you wern't that late for your train were you ? You said it is because of our fans attire, hardly a reason to get an escort.

Fair play to the stewards, but I shouldl't have to believe typical Corkie crap.

We'll see who is scum on July 11th. [/B]

Rovers can't seem to get their own crowd, I'd be more worried about that if I were you. The reason we had to get an escort is because Shamrock Rovers fans like to act the west Brit and pretend they're Millwall and threaten the City fans, if the guards weren't there there would have been trouble. The Stewards did say that by the way, it really doesn't bother me whether you believe me or not. By the way they escorted us on foot, hard to get taxis to stop when Rovers are in the area. And we will see who is scum on July 11th, we see it every time we play ye, you were right about one thing anyway. But then, even a stopped clock is right twice a day. I didn't have to get a train, I had to get to the station to meet someone though...I live in Drumcondra (nice area, civil people). And I did not say that we had to get an escort because of the gay apparel of the junkie monkeys, you know full well why the guards would have felt the need to stay with us most of the way to the station. As regards the game itself, just in case you're interested, yes, your team deserved to win, they were the better team but City played within themselves yesterday.

Anto
05/05/2003, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by Muppet
Rovers can't seem to get their own crowd, I'd be more worried about that if I were you. The reason we had to get an escort is because Shamrock Rovers fans like to act the west Brit and pretend they're Millwall and threaten the City fans, if the guards weren't there there would have been trouble. The Stewards did say that by the way, it really doesn't bother me whether you believe me or not. By the way they escorted us on foot, hard to get taxis to stop when Rovers are in the area. And we will see who is scum on July 11th, we see it every time we play ye, you were right about one thing anyway. But then, even a stopped clock is right twice a day. I didn't have to get a train, I had to get to the station to meet someone though...I live in Drumcondra (nice area, civil people). And I did not say that we had to get an escort because of the gay apparel of the junkie monkeys, you know full well why the guards would have felt the need to stay with us most of the way to the station. As regards the game itself, just in case you're interested, yes, your team deserved to win, they were the better team but City played within themselves yesterday.

Well I don't care about our crowds anymore, we will have a sizeable number down in July, so all shall be seen then.

A number of taxi's stopped for Rovers fans to get home and towards the city, why would it be any different for Cork fans.

If you read your posting abobe you clearly said "We had to get an escort cos your 'fans' are knuckle dragging, soverign ring wearing, tracksuit sporting.." there you go.

There was banter on both sides, it is undeniable, it was never going to get out of hand, I enjoyed it, I sure hope you did too.

As regards the game, it was an alright game, Rovers didn't play well up until the equaliser, but I think shaded the win, we wasted ALOT of chances in the game.

Muppet
05/05/2003, 11:33 AM
Agree with you about the game, fair enough. Taxis weren't stopping for us probably because they were afraid of having their windows put in at the lights-Rovers fans are not the most hated in the country for nothing. As for your 'banter' I really couldn't make out what the Rovers hep c munchkins were grunting, I'm sure it was top class banter all the same. I see what you mean about that sentence you were referring to, what i meant of course is that because they are knuckledragging scanger scum they wanted trouble. "It was never going to get out of hand." My hole. If it wasn't for the guards me and the few I was with (including one woman) would have been attacked. They were waiting up the road for us, don't try and deny it either, your west brit wannabe hooligan fans are the ****in pits. It wasn't a classic game but it was entertaining, I'm sure Noel king blew his load in his kaks when he heard the result :eek:

05/05/2003, 11:34 AM
How many City fans made it?
Is that serious about a Garda escort?
Was there a dodgy atmosphere there or what?

Muppet
05/05/2003, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
How many City fans made it?
Is that serious about a Garda escort?
Was there a dodgy atmosphere there or what?

There was a good 250 City fans there, we did indeed get a garda escort on foot about halfway back to the station, there was plenty of banter from both sides but the Rovers fans seemingly wanted a scrap, luckily the guards prevented it from happening. I mean City have a fair few idiots but nothing like the amount R**ers have.

05/05/2003, 11:53 AM
I posted this on the ultras board as well.

Is it any wonder we dont have big numbers to go playing you lot?

There were about 300 City fans yesterday, but only about 50-60 of those were anyway vocal. But what we had to put up with from you scum is unreal and there is a number of letters going to the FAI about your behaviour.

1. A number of stones were thrown from behind the Shed in our direction. As the guy who threw it is probly so inbred he cant see straight it went out onto the pitch.

2. A bottle came flying in our direction from one of your "BURBS".

3. Rather than watch the match, all the 300 or so in the Shed did was shout abuse at us. Fair enough, but you could see that alotof them were just looking for trouble.

4. We were not allowed out of the ground for 10-15 minutes afterwards for our own safety.

5. When yr scored your winner, some fool who looks like he got a lobotomy (probably the most attractive man in tallaght) ran onto the pitch and what fell out of his pocket? A ****ing knife.

All in all, i think that Shamrock rovers "fans" are bigger scum now than what i ever thought before.

other than that, i think ye deserved the victory.

05/05/2003, 12:32 PM
What we witnessed yeasterday from Rovers "fans" was a disgrace.

For the whole second half the 300/400 thugs beside us in the Shed were making kind of "come on, have a go" gestures in our direction. They then started singing 'you're going home in a body bag"!

One foxy knacker (who was in his thirties) decided to prove a point by sitting down amongst the City fans and putting his feet up on one of the flags, he was removed by the Guards and we thought he had been thrown out. However, who did we see invading the pitch when Rovers scored but the same scumbag, he had been merely told to go back to his own end.
Later, two more Rovers fans came into our section and started singing, they were quickly escorted out.

As GWA said, when Rovers scored their winning goal a number of them invaded the pitch and a knife which had fallen out of one of their pockets was picked up by a steward.

Rovers are clearly doing nothing to tackle what appears to be a major problem, sooner or later the FAI will have to intervene.

I always thought Rovers fans were scum but believed the myth that it is just a minority or a bad reputation. Well after yesterday I know that it is a very sizeable majority and the reputation is well justified. I just hope that some of our security officals were paying attention yeaterday and will push to have Rovers fans banned form the Cross in July, if they come down there will be trouble. They should be kept away.

shedite
05/05/2003, 2:38 PM
I was one in that escort. This is what I saw.

The stewards and guards were stopping taxis for those who wanted them at the exit but me and James had bags in Eanna's car so we had to walk that far (about 100 yards). Then when we got the bags those with cars left and six of us were left walking down the street. We got down towards "Horse and Jockey" pub and the guards told us it wasn't safe so we loooked for taxis but none would stop there as it was obvious there were people ready to throw stuff at wahtever we got into. Eventually seven guards had to walk us down to the trainstation but they disappeard about halfway. We thankfully made it there okay.

It's such a disgrace. At every other club in the country we would have been able to go for a pint after with the home fans. Why can't ye just enjoy the sport?

05/05/2003, 3:16 PM
To be honest i hate all this Hooligan crap.

I didn't think it was that bad lads, how did he get into the ground with a knife ??

I'd say that you MUST write a letter to the FAI, at least to let them know exactly what goes on. This is accident waiting ot happen. In a charged atmosphere with trhme carrying knives.

Sorry but that has put me right off. I will never go to a Rovers game ever again. And they wonder why they get treated the way they do.

I know there are some decent Rovers fans ... but i am having no part in this, i am seriously boycotting any Rovers game from now on.

Talk soon lads to see what can be done about this one. We are to blame if we dont act on it.

05/05/2003, 3:38 PM
TV3 have highlighted the Scum element of Rovers in the past, why doesnt some who was at the match email them and describe what they saw, bet they could pick it out of their footage.

Anto
05/05/2003, 5:08 PM
I saw the bloke on the pitch, and it was a bottle opener, and not a knife which fell out of his pocket.

The lad who sat beside yous (what is wrong with that) is in his early twenties. He also sat infront of the two lads who were giving ALL of us Rovers fans the slit throath gesture.

Now Nice.

And you wonder why the garda felt the need for an undeeded escort ?

Would you care to name him or shall I ?

05/05/2003, 6:06 PM
i don't think any city fan is going to deny that there are a few morons who follow city, i've been to many away games where there have been city fans who seem more interested in the pub and the opposing fans than they are in the game.

having said that, rovers have a much larger contingent of idiots which make up a disturbingly high percentage of their support. right through last season rovers were involved in trouble, in cork (and on the train back to dublin) and in dublin where there was trouble after quite a few games.

the threat of violence follows rovers home and away, and the escort the city fans were given might not neccessarily have been due to sundays game, rather due to the troubling recent history of rovers fans.

and to address the knife/bottle opener debate, whether that idiot had a knife or as anto protests only a glass beer bottle (why else bring a bottle opener to a game) the fact remains that he had access to a potentially dangerous weapon, which would worry real fans (the throat slashing mimics they can have).

regardless of the position you take on blame in this topic, i'm sure we can all agree that irish soccer is far better off without these idiots. it's time for the fai to act before this becomes a serious problem. the threat of docking points might encourage real fans to stand up and shout the idiots down.

05/05/2003, 6:15 PM
Were there any actual "incidents" ?
Lads, do you reckon that the Gardai or stewards (were they SR stewards or Richmond Park guys?) will back up your versions of events?
If so, this could be a real chance to do something about the large amount of total scum that follow Rovers.
If they really was a credible threat of violence from scumbags, and the Gardai obviously thought so if they were prepared to escort you, that should be enough to force the FAI to act.

Of course, scum fans will have a different version of things, so was there anything done by City fans which they can use?

05/05/2003, 6:26 PM
Of course, scum fans will have a different version of things, so was there anything done by City fans which they can use?

Not a thing, the worst thing any City fans did was probably shout abuse at Judas Reynolds and sing 'Milltown is a carpark'! The Rovers thugs were out of control, thankfully the stewards and Gardai handled the whole thing surprisingly well and by and large (apart from the 3 thugs that managed to enter our section) segregated both sets of supporters when the Rovers fans were worryingly close to us.

Anto
05/05/2003, 6:42 PM
NOTHING HAPPENED.

NO-BODY HURT.

2-1

GET OVER IT.

05/05/2003, 7:16 PM
Originally posted by Colm
Not a thing, the worst thing any City fans did was probably shout abuse at Judas Reynolds and sing 'Milltown is a carpark'! The Rovers thugs were out of control, thankfully the stewards and Gardai handled the whole thing surprisingly well and by and large (apart from the 3 thugs that managed to enter our section) segregated both sets of supporters when the Rovers fans were worryingly close to us.
As I asked earlier, Colm, do you reckon that the Gardai would back up what you said?
If so, you should get Lennox to demand that the FAI take action.
I think he would really do something.
I would not let my sons go without me, because I was a bit worried about sh*it like this.
I hate being proved right......:(

RedX
05/05/2003, 8:09 PM
Two years ago a Bohs fan pulled a knife on myself and a couple of friends at Dalymount Park.It was one of the scariest moments of my life.I honestly beleive we were lucky to get out of there without anyone getting hurt.I am well able to handle myself without sounding like a hard man but when someone pulls a knife on you its a bit frightening.I have been to a couple of City-Rovers games in Dublin over the last few years also and as many of the lads above describe it is just pure 100% intimidation once you get within the vicinity of there ground.We all love banter but thats not the way it is with these guys at all.Now for any decent Rovers fan reading this dont reply criticising City fans because yes we do know there are PLENTY decent Rovers fans but i am asking you and City fans that travel up to Dublin to do something right now about this.Now Anto in fairness some of your points are good but just because you support Rovers dont defend some scumbags ruining the name of your famous club.We go to Dublin in big numbers and drink and have great banter with Pats fans and Shels fans so lets make our games with you like this.But you asked earlier why wasnt there that many City fans at the game?..well your answer is there isnt it.We are sick of it.Rovers and Bohs fans are a disgrace to the league.God help away fans that travel when you move to Tallaght.There will be people hurt out there.What a shame......

05/05/2003, 9:14 PM
As I asked earlier, Colm, do you reckon that the Gardai would back up what you said?

I honestly don't know, a steward picked up this knife/bottle opener and one of the lads said a steward commented on the bottle and stone throwing incident so they were certainly aware of what was going on. As were the Gardai, who had to remove Rovers fans from our section and had to give the lads getting the train a police escort.
All security/police personnell were fully aware of what was happening, whether they would back up any of our reports now is another matter. Rovers officials seem to prefer to just brush this kind of thing under the carpet. I know some of the lads are writing to the FAI about it, we'll just have to hope they take action.

TommyT
05/05/2003, 11:05 PM
I was at the Inchicore end for most of the Second Half, until I moved cos I had a 'feeling' about a last minute winner so I missed most of the missile throwing however it should be pointed out that the kids throwing stones from behind the shed are likely to be Pats fans. Not passing the buck but people who live around Inchicore are unlikely to follow Rovers.

Lads a Rovers fan was seriously injured at Rovers last game in the Cross, this probably meant that yesterdays game was going to be more 'hair trigger' than any other (non-Bohs) game this year. The idiot making throught slitting gestures at Rovers fans from the front of the City crowd won't have helped.
Maybe some lads were at the game in November and were there yesterday, did they find a change in the atmosphere ?
Thankfully no-one was hurt this time and there's unlikely to be a repeat of the same circumstances.

UCD_4_Life
05/05/2003, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by TommyT
I was at the Inchicore end for most of the Second Half, until I moved cos I had a 'feeling' about a last minute winner so I missed most of the missile throwing however it should be pointed out that the kids throwing stones from behind the shed are likely to be Pats fans. Not passing the buck but people who live around Inchicore are unlikely to follow Rovers.

Probably.

I know two Drogheda fans who were attacked by Pat's fans outside Richmond after the Rovers game a few weeks ago.

05/05/2003, 11:16 PM
They could be fans of Newells Old Boys for all I care.
The fact is, they are at a Shams game so it's up to Shams to make sure they have security sorted to stop these cretins carrying on the way they are.

05/05/2003, 11:43 PM
i agree with tommyt that there was going to be a lot of intimidation after the incident in the greyhound last year, but to be fair, the intimidation when you go to rovers (and bohs) preceeded that incident. it's been going on for a while, but it's getting worse (or at least seems to be as more people come out with stories).

shedite
06/05/2003, 8:56 AM
2 things

1) We were talking to the stewards after the game and they were Pats fans. Also there was one guard who was walking into town with us who said he was waiting for rovers to start something.

2) I found the weird thing about the game to be that normally when you're shouting "homeless" or "you are a jackeen", you're just shouting at a group of fans but on sunday we were so close you could actually look at individuals and the abuse seemed more personal.

NorthoftheLee
06/05/2003, 8:58 AM
Tommy and Anto, why won't ye just admit that there is a sizeable portion of your fans that are scum. At the game on sunday, second half....the actions of some of rovers fans was pathetic...

ye have been going on about the one or two guys doing a slit throat action, well what about the 20-30 rovers fans doing the same throughout the 2nd half...some didnt even look at the game and were more interested in pointing out people and doing the said action to them. even at the end of the game when the rovers "fans" were leaving the shed and the city fans were singing still, they were pointing up and doing the same. Now these included guys who were between 30-40. That in my mind is absolutley pathetic....

As for the guys who came into the city end....Now full praise to city fans here for not reacting. These f*ckwits have about 1 brain cell amognst them...they should have been thrown out for behaviour likely to cause a riot. The second two were completely ****ed.

As for the knife "bottle opener" incident, your man was about 30, seriously a smack head, and invaded the pitch twice. Should have been thrown out after the first time.

If the 3 pitch invasion incidents are reported to the FAI then rovers will face a 1500 euro fine...

"Oh they're all very angry over there over there" just about summed it up.

06/05/2003, 12:50 PM
NOTHING HAPPENED.

NO-BODY HURT.

2-1

GET OVER IT.

Nothing happened because nothing was let happen by the Gardai.
I am a football fan, I don't want trouble when I go to matches. All of Rovers are not scum, but surely you guys acknowledge that there are some tossers among your support.
I doubt most of you want any trouble either, but trying to forget about the problem is not the right way to go either.

dejan
06/05/2003, 1:46 PM
Its up to home fans to intimidate the opposition, team and fans.

It happens EVERYWHERE else in europe, think Milan- Napoli, PSG- Marseille, Bayern-Bremen/hertha/Dortmund etc...

Security is there to prevent it getting nasty and by ALL accounts it worked.

The culmination of the work of a couple of idiots on the ultras board and the serious incidents in the cross last year ensured that it would be high tension. what did you expect??

As for stuff being thrown into the stand from outside, what are rovers supposed to do, its up to the garda to sort public order outside the ground. I am not 100% sure but I think that some pats fans had this happen to them before too, some local kids actinig the boll*x.

The experience of the cross is not dissimilar for us when we go there but we're not up in arms about it, the home fans would not be doing their job if they just sat there.

The intensity though of the rovers crowd can be elevated at times, and thats why i support the hoops, no other club can give the range of emotion provided by the hoops.

If you cant handle the intensity stay at home or go and watch keano in eurpoe next year.

Those who travel, well, welcome to hell in 18 weeks time.

06/05/2003, 2:44 PM
The person injured last year was not hurt in the stadium on their wat to or from the ground. Every club is entitled to make it intimidating.
When two crowds are singing at each other the the whole place benefits, but we should not have to leave the ground looking over our shoulder and wondering if we'll have our heads cracked open.
Some of us have not been stirring **** and like supporting a football team.

06/05/2003, 6:37 PM
Dejan .... i actually though i had the make of you, i got the impression that you were a level headed guy. You are not coming across like that right now.

TommyT
06/05/2003, 9:36 PM
Originally posted by Neil
They could be fans of Newells Old Boys for all I care.
The fact is, they are at a Shams game so it's up to Shams to make sure they have security sorted to stop these cretins carrying on the way they are.

True, don't deny that for a second.

06/05/2003, 9:41 PM
The lad who sat beside yous (what is wrong with that) is in his early twenties. He also sat infront of the two lads who were giving ALL of us Rovers fans the slit throath gesture.
As I said Anto, i was right there and didn't see it. If he was doing that he should have been kicked out- it was inexcusable behaviour.

06/05/2003, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
As I said Anto, i was right there and didn't see it. If he was doing that he should have been kicked out- it was inexcusable behaviour.

Do we know who it was ??

TommyT
07/05/2003, 5:34 PM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
Tommy and Anto, why won't ye just admit that there is a sizeable portion of your fans that are scum.

We're not arguing about that, or about the incidents that took place, we're just wondering what all the fuss is about ?
I've experienced far worse atmosphere's in the Cross and as a visitor to Inchicore, I've even seen Cork treated far worse by Rovers. I also remember hearing about a Cork bus being attackd in Inchicore around the time you were both going for the League head-to-head 2 seasons in a row.

Basically we suspect that at least some of those posting hate Rovers and see this as just another stick to beat us with.

dejan
07/05/2003, 10:59 PM
Yeah noone should be afraid of their head being smashed after any game.

maybe the garda should have herded you lot out before us.

as it is the hoopers all go to the h&j which is just next to the ground, probably the gards just being sensible, remember they read our message boards too so they would have been worried by the kak being posted by certain cork keyboard warriors on the ultras board.

I dont think you have a leg to stand on about intimidation and song singing, its par for the course. get used to it.

it has been repeatedly pointed out that rovers had nothing to do nor could do anything about a few scangers who threw a couple of stones at you, It even happened to pats before, its just bored local junkies.

Dricky
08/05/2003, 7:32 AM
Originally posted by dejan

it has been repeatedly pointed out that rovers had nothing to do nor could do anything about a few scangers who threw a couple of stones at you, It even happened to pats before, its just bored local junkies.

That is true that rovers don't have the responsibility for the scangers throwing stones, I believe Pats do. It is the same as litter laws, injury laws etc, there is an area outside their ground which the are responsible for and if anyone is injured within that area and decides to sue if it wasn't prevented by the land owners they are liable.

So once somebody sues, the premiums will go up and clubs will find it more difficult to cover the insurance because as is the way in Ireland once one person sues everybody wants to fall off the band wagon just to sue.

It's something that needs to be tackled at a club and fan level. every club has or has the potential of having this problem, the FAI should be made by the club and fans deal with this, Rovers have a bad name but I've seen my share of scum over the years at many a match our own included.

Clubs should hand out postcard, printed letters to fans so they can post them in to the FAI to highlight their concern and request action.

But there is no point in fooling ourselves all clubs need to tackle this.

If the time we spent writing on these boards giving out about each other was used to correspond with the clubs and FAI I think you'd find that this element of trouble could be removed from the EL.

IF someone writes stuff about CCFC we are up in arms, most of the rovers fans on this board are the same with their clubs.

Could you imagine beer being sold in bottles at the matches????

Well here they do sell beer at the matches (except for internationals when they swap it for non alcoholic beer I kid you not) you can sit watching your match with a beer or two with no hassles, (granted the footie is awful but stil)

Every club has let this become a problem but the fans need to get them to act.