Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

10/10/2007, 1:42 PM
whats the story here? what happened or did it not "happen"?! ;)#

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/1010/hooligans.html

rebs23
10/10/2007, 1:43 PM
http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2007/1010/breaking43.htm

Getting out of hand lads, after last weekend Cork-Rovers and now this serious measures will have to be introduced. Can't understand trouble at a Derry match, the most hospitable and friendly supporters in the country. Whats this about?

kdjaC
10/10/2007, 1:45 PM
It wasnt at the match it was a protestant pub that was attacked nothing to do with football in this country but done by fans of football in this country :confused:

kdjac

rebs23
10/10/2007, 1:47 PM
It wasnt at the match it was a protestant pub that was attacked nothing to do with football in this country but done by fans of football in this country :confused:

kdjac

That nearly makes it worse. Sectarian attacks by (so called) Bohs supporters?

10/10/2007, 1:47 PM
so it had nothing to do with EL fans as usual?

Dont try and differentiate the two, by saying it was people going to the bohs match who aren't "real" football supporters, but sectarians who did it......you can't keep closing your eyes to this, denial is a terrible thing as jim carey says!!

If I have picked you up wrong I apologise

10/10/2007, 1:48 PM
they're scumbags. simple as.

10/10/2007, 1:49 PM
so it had nothing to do with EL fans as usual?

He didn't say that. he said it didn't happen at an EL match (as per thread title)

10/10/2007, 1:58 PM
He didn't say that. he said it didn't happen at an EL match (as per thread title)

Ok, thats being pedantic, as it is related to the EL i.e. its fans, who caused trouble on their way to the match - according to the source.

10/10/2007, 2:04 PM
Ok, thats being pedantic, as it is related to the EL i.e. its fans, who caused trouble on their way to the match -
which kdjac acknowledged

It wasnt at the match it was a protestant pub that was attacked nothing to do with football in this country but done by fans of football in this country
Not going to speak for him but I presume he was answerinf rebs query about why anyone would attack Derry City fans, with the answer being they didn't...

pateen
10/10/2007, 2:04 PM
That nearly makes it worse. Sectarian attacks by (so called) Bohs supporters?

I know there is a ? there rebs23 but was it actually bohs supporters or was it local prodys taunting locals/dubs. Whats the real sceal?

ForzaHoop
10/10/2007, 2:08 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7037422.stm

10/10/2007, 2:14 PM
Was this Bohs fans?

don ramo
10/10/2007, 2:15 PM
thats just c**p, you cant even sit down enjoying a pint without some moron throwning a rock through a window, doesnt matter if there "real" fans, there fans associated with the club and should be monitored by other member of the club, not hard to do, just two people of the lot stand up and tell these idiots to stop acting the b*****ks, never an excuse to throw rock through a window not knowing how many are on the other side of it,

nationwide bans should be put on these people, they should never be allowed enter an eircom league ground again, no point in there club banning them, as theyll just go to away games, there own club is pushing the problem onto another club, i know shels do we had 6 fans that are banned from tolka down in our place trying to start trouble thankfully no body took up there offer, the rest were very friendly and even said they were sick of these morons being assocaiated with there club,

10/10/2007, 2:18 PM
thats just c**p, you cant even sit down enjoying a pint without some moron throwning a rock through a window, doesnt matter if there "real" fans, there fans associated with the club and should be monitored by other member of the club, not hard to do, just two people of the lot stand up and tell these idiots to stop acting the b*****ks, never an excuse to throw rock through a window not knowing how many are on the other side of it

But this was just "southerners" attacking a prodestant pub. How can anyone prove it was related to football? There's no way Bohs can stop (nor shoudl they) anyone with a hint of a criminal record (outside of football) from entering their ground...

lofty9
10/10/2007, 2:28 PM
I wouldn't know what to believe here. I have heard two sides to the story locally. I find it hard to believe that any fans would set out to find this pub looking for bother. I reckon they stumbled upon it looking for the Oakgrove only to be told where to go by the locals, then it probably kicked off.

10/10/2007, 2:30 PM
Did many of them gain entry to the ground?

10/10/2007, 2:33 PM
Unless it is for a pevious football related crime !

Which is why I put it (outside of football) :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

don ramo
10/10/2007, 2:35 PM
But this was just "southerners" attacking a prodestant pub. How can anyone prove it was related to football? There's no way Bohs can stop (nor shoudl they) anyone with a hint of a criminal record (outside of football) from entering their ground...

i didnt say southeners, if they were associated with a club and go to games on a regular basis they should be banned from all grounds, if they were arrested and charged, you cant go to other towns vandalise it and not get punnished, or do it in your locality, there associated with there club and are not being a good supporter by givin there club a bad name, and you cant be unleashing them on other clubs either
if it wasnt football fans fair enough but by the report it was

btid1
10/10/2007, 2:37 PM
thats just c**p, you cant even sit down enjoying a pint without some moron throwning a rock through a window, doesnt matter if there "real" fans, there fans associated with the club and should be monitored by other member of the club, not hard to do, just two people of the lot stand up and tell these idiots to stop acting the b*****ks, never an excuse to throw rock through a window not knowing how many are on the other side of it,

nationwide bans should be put on these people, they should never be allowed enter an eircom league ground again, no point in there club banning them, as theyll just go to away games, there own club is pushing the problem onto another club, i know shels do we had 6 fans that are banned from tolka down in our place trying to start trouble thankfully no body took up there offer, the rest were very friendly and even said they were sick of these morons being assocaiated with there club,

I have never read such unadulterated bull**** in my life.So the gist of what you are saying here is that Bohs members should escort these so called "fans" all over the country everywhere they go making sure they dont get into or cause any bother!!!

This is an issue for the Gardai/PSNI.If what is being claimed did happen how the hell is it anything to do with Bohemian FC.It happened miles from any ground and these people were not wearing club colours.It is an issue of public order not a footballing related incident!

The logic of some people on this board baffles me....

i didnt say southeners

The owner of the bar did. He also said he "heard they were up for the match"

rebelarmyexile
was at the match, didnt seem lik much trouble otherwise. From what i heard was certinly sectarian. The Tavern Pub is only of the only Protestant pubs in Londonderry City centre.

Also, i have noticed a growing numbers of sectarian republican bohs supporters at dalymount recently, noted seeing 4 individuals wearing jackets with Sinn Fein/IRA badges on them and bohs insignia.

don ramo
10/10/2007, 2:40 PM
I have never read such unadulterated bull**** in my life.So the gist of what you are saying here is that Bohs members should escort these so called "fans" all over the country everywhere they go making sure they dont get into or cause any bother!!!

This is an issue for the Gardai/PSNI.If what is being claimed did happen how the hell is it anything to do with Bohemian FC.It happened miles from any ground and these people were not wearing club colours.It is an issue of public order not a footballing related incident!

The logic of some people on this board baffles me....

where did i say bohs or derry :confused::confused:

and why cant others in that grounp who claim to be fans allow others to throw a rock through a window not know whats on the other side, that is totally unaccepable if i could i would never allow these people into my town, neither would you,

Tir Oilean
10/10/2007, 2:42 PM
Last night im pretty sure I read a short piece on the bbc website that there was reports of fans being assaulted near the Londo Street area. Where has this story gone to?

10/10/2007, 2:53 PM
I wouldn't know what to believe here. I have heard two sides to the story locally. I find it hard to believe that any fans would set out to find this pub looking for bother. I reckon they stumbled upon it looking for the Oakgrove only to be told where to go by the locals, then it probably kicked off.
I was texted before the game saying that they were going into the Fountain looking for a row.

This is obviously primarily a policing matter to resolve, but if I was associated with Bohs I'd be worried and looking to do something about it, if purely on reputation grounds. Particularly if these people came up on the subsidised club buses.

Its just something else for the barstoolers to jump on.

10/10/2007, 2:55 PM
I reckon they stumbled upon it looking for the Oakgrove only to be told where to go by the locals, then it probably kicked off.

No chance.

They were drinking at the bar down drom the Oak, on the corner of Bishop Street and Abercorn Road. It was JD's but I think is "Sullivans" or something like that NOW.

Typical casuals, between 30-50 of them, drinking outside. Not a top, scarf or the like to be seen, just the usual hoolie wear. They had wrecked their bus on the way up,and the driver had dropped them and headed straight back to Dublin.

They headed down the direction of the Fountain and putting hoods up and the like it was obvious they were looking for bother. The Tavern is the first bar you'd come to in the Fountain when coming that direction, so they probably just decided to have a whack at it.

Gerry Conway's "defence" of the incident on local radio today was ridiculous.

dcfc_dee
10/10/2007, 3:06 PM
4 of the 7 arrested have been sent toprison for 3 months for riotous behaviour. Was headline on the Radio Foyle News at 4 oclock

bohs til i die
10/10/2007, 3:13 PM

Can you elaborate on this bit please ........

This is obviously primarily a policing matter to resolve, but if I was associated with Bohs I'd be worried and looking to do something about it, if purely on reputation grounds. Particularly if these people came up on the subsidised club buses.

They didnt, they organised their own bus and when they smashed up the toilet door on the bus the driver dropped them off in Derry had then went home, leaving them stranded.

10/10/2007, 3:18 PM
4 of the 7 arrested have been sent toprison for 3 months for riotous behaviour. Was headline on the Radio Foyle News at 4 oclock

Delighted to hear this. Can't imagine that happening on this side of the border.

10/10/2007, 3:21 PM
They didnt, they organised their own bus and when they smashed up the toilet door on the bus the driver dropped them off in Derry had then went home, leaving them stranded.
Fair enough so. Sounds like they got what they deserved.

bohs til i die
10/10/2007, 3:22 PM
Fair enough so. Sounds like they got what they deserved.

No arguments on that score, just a pity there wasnt a few more.

Has anyone got any links to local news sites for the Derry area with any confirmation of this?

ForzaHoop
10/10/2007, 3:24 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1010/derry.html

Four Dublin football fans jailed in Derry

Four Dublin football supporters who travelled to Derry on Tuesday night for the eircom League Cup final between Derry City and Bohemians, were today jailed for three months when they admitted their involvement in disturbances outside a city centre pub an hour before the cup final started.

Jailing the four, Resident Magistrate Barney McElholm described their actions as "outrageous thuggery".

Those jailed for three months were Evan Kane (20), a student from 205, Upper Dorset Street, Dublin, Francis O'Reilly (29), a local authority employee from 4 Clonturk Park, Dublin, Gavin James Hanly (22), a security company employee from 86, McKee Park, Dublin and Brian Shannon (20), of 7, Ventry Drive, Cabra.

All four pleaded guilty to a charge of riotous behaviour at the Tavern Bar, situated on the edge of the loyalist Fountain Estate. O'Reilly, Hanly and Shannon also pleaded guilty to a charge of causing up to £3,000 of criminal damage to the bar.

The four, who declined legal representation when they appeared in court, were among seven men arrested following the disturbances. Three other men were all released unconditionally having stayed Tuesday night in the cells in Derry's police headquarters at Strand Road.
A Public Prosecution Service solicitor told the court that the four had earlier been drinking in another bar before they entered the Tavern Bar. Once inside the premises, they shouted "Up The Ra" and smashed three windows, damaged items of furniture and assaulted two women.
"The incidents outside the bar were recorded by a nearby CCTV.device and, after it was examined by the police, the defendants were identified and arrested by the police after the match", he said.

All four declined to address the court before they were sentenced. The Magistrate said he was told that they chanted sectarian slogans during the disturbances.

He said: "This must have been a very frightening experience for the customers and staff. I view this as an extremely serious offence. We, for a long time in this part of the country, have had to put up with violence and now, just at a time when we at

last seem to be dragging ourselves out of it, you four arrive from Dublin.

"This bar in London Street on the cityside has unfortunately been attacked in the past for sectarian reasons. The courts are obliged to protect all of the people of this city. I sentence each of you to three months imprisonment because this sort of behaviour demands an immediate custodial sentence," he said.

When the sentences were passed, two of the four defendants wept in the dock. All four then asked to instead be allowed to pay compensation and restitution to the bar owner, Kingsley Curry, who was in court for the hearing.

The Resident Magistrate then asked Mr. Curry if he wanted a chance to recover money from the four or did he want the punishment already imposed.

"Punishment, I will take the loss", Mr. Curry replied.

The Magistrate then replied: "That is fair enough, the sentences stand".

dcfc_dee
10/10/2007, 3:24 PM
No arguments on that score, just a pity there wasnt a few more.

Has anyone got any links to local news sites for the Derry area with any confirmation of this?

not at the minute tho im sre as soon as it is on the BBC website it should be put up

dcfc_dee
10/10/2007, 3:27 PM
"http://www.derryjournal.com/journal/Four-Dublin-football-fans-jailed.3366846.jp"

lofty9
No chance.

They were drinking at the bar down drom the Oak, on the corner of Bishop Street and Abercorn Road. It was JD's but I think is "Sullivans" or something like that NOW.

Typical casuals, between 30-50 of them, drinking outside. Not a top, scarf or the like to be seen, just the usual hoolie wear. They had wrecked their bus on the way up,and the driver had dropped them and headed straight back to Dublin.

They headed down the direction of the Fountain and putting hoods up and the like it was obvious they were looking for bother. The Tavern is the first bar you'd come to in the Fountain when coming that direction, so they probably just decided to have a whack at it.

Fair enough, spotted that crowd at Sullivans at 5 O Clock. Not a club colour on them. Scumbags to actually go into that area, and look for a row. Thought it was a seperate crowd coming from the town that I met earlier, who I gave directions to the Oak!

Basically claimed that those involved didn't know what they were doing.

I'll try and find the link on the Radio Foyle website.

ForzaHoop
10/10/2007, 3:31 PM
Its a Secterian Hate crime, they have different laws in the North and take no prisoners especially when lads from the South try to cause secterian s***e.

btid1
10/10/2007, 3:33 PM
Its a Secterian Hate crime, they have different laws in the North and take no prisoners especially when lads from the South try to cause secterian s***e.

And they are dead right not to take any ****e from them.My only gripe would be that they would be associated with Bohemian FC when they are just thugs who have no interest in the fortunes of the club and are just out to cause trouble!

10/10/2007, 3:35 PM
Another victory for the CCI CCTV network in Derry.

Swift justice indeed. Well done Barney.

ForzaHoop
10/10/2007, 3:36 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1010/derry.html

It is official, maybe this will scare the BSC lads and Stop them from this Hooligan s***e they carry on with, attacking innocent people and bars.

biscuit
10/10/2007, 3:37 PM

exactly what i thought lofty...yer man (curry) the owner said that there was 2 tourists there among the 5 customers,....now with my (limited) knowledge of derry,It wouldnt strike me as a spot where tourists would have a pint....seemed he was just making it a whiter than white story....still ********s for thrashin the place, but id say as lofty says there is more to the story!

10/10/2007, 3:40 PM
man thats some quick trialling

dcfc_1928
10/10/2007, 3:40 PM
Its in one of the most historic parts of the city - inside the city walls and very very close to St Columb's Cathedral.

Its entirely possible that tourists could have been in the bar.

exactly what i thought lofty...yer man (curry) the owner said that there was 2 tourists there among the 5 customers,....now with my (limited) knowledge of derry,It wouldnt strike me as a spot where tourists would have a pint....seemed he was just making it a whiter than white story....still ********s for thrashin the place, but id say as lofty says there is more to the story!

10/10/2007, 3:45 PM
Sligwegians

Everyone on foot.ie should use this word at least once a day.

ForzaHoop
10/10/2007, 3:45 PM
Neither here nor there who was in the Pub, they attacked a Pub for no other reason than it is Protestant.
To be honest these lads thing they are SINN FEIN/IRA lads and they wouldn't know the 1st thing about it, only people from the North and surrounding counties really understand.

10/10/2007, 3:48 PM
was listening to a report on the radio there, fair play to the derry police, got the CCTV footage very quickly and waited for the thugs after the match with photos of them.
apparantly the judge asked the pub owner did he want compensation for the damage caused (£3000) or for the sentence of jail to be kept. he said he'd pay for the damages himself and to lock them up

sonofstan
10/10/2007, 3:48 PM
man thats some quick trialling

Impressive alright....
Part of me feels like sh!t because i know this will be all over the news tonight and the papers tomorrow and an association between Bohs and sectarian idiocy will be forged in the public mind; the other part of me feels weirdly grateful to the PSNI and the judge for doing what cops here should have done years ago........ and I'm normally on the bleeding heart liberal wing of things.

..... I'd also worry about the safety of Bohs people travelling through Sion Mills and New Buildings next week.......

10/10/2007, 3:50 PM
what might happen when if bohs are away in northern ireland next season in the setanta

10/10/2007, 3:56 PM
what might happen when if bohs are away in northern ireland next season in the setanta

Luckily, they won't be in it. League Winners (Drogs), Cup Winners (prob Cork), League Cup winners (derry) and obligatory Pats team (pats)

10/10/2007, 3:57 PM
..... I'd also worry about the safety of Bohs people travelling through Sion Mills and New Buildings next week.......Newbuildings easy to avoid, go via Lifford, quicker to the Brandywell anyway.

Sion less so, but its a mixed village.

10/10/2007, 3:59 PM
Luckily, they won't be in it. League Winners (Drogs), Cup Winners (prob Cork), League Cup winners (derry) and obligatory Pats team (pats)

suppose they could win the FAI cup though, could be a major problem if they do