View Full Version : Youngest el players

09/10/2007, 1:25 PM
With Emeika Onwubiko scoring for us on Friday at age 17 (I'm not sure how many days), is he the youngest ever scorer in the el?

If not, who is?

Philly
09/10/2007, 1:47 PM
I think a 16 year old scored for Shels v Monaghan earlier in the season - amn't sure though.

09/10/2007, 2:29 PM
Martin Murray played in a cup final at the age of 16 in 1975 for Home Farm. Think he scored a few goals that year.

Battery Rover
09/10/2007, 4:19 PM
I think Michael O'Connor played and scored for Athlone Town at the age of 15/16. Atfconline might be able to clarify this one

biscuit
09/10/2007, 4:39 PM
keith gilroy scored for sligo rovers aged 16 in a 1-4 defeat to shams @ morton stadium. 1999 i think but cant remember the date....:ball:

TheBoss
09/10/2007, 5:12 PM
I think you may find it was 26th September 1999.

Paddyfield
09/10/2007, 7:42 PM
Billy Clery scored on his debut for Galway United in Drogheda in 1993. He was 16.

biscuit
09/10/2007, 7:55 PM
I think you may find it was 26th September 1999.

well in fairness boss it aint bad goin on memory alone!:)

Youths4Ever
09/10/2007, 8:53 PM
I am not sure to be honest we had a lot of young guys score this season and some were 16/17 age group.

09/10/2007, 10:27 PM
Youngest I can think of for us was Ronan Finn, who scored age 17 (and about 11 months) against Rovers at the end of the 2005 season.

Think Damien Kelly was 16 when he made his debut for us; recall him being in fifth year.

10/10/2007, 12:19 AM
CP O'Brien was very young when he broke on to the scene as a CCFC supersub but I remember a Derry player about 15 scoring in the Cross against us after coming on as a sub. It could've been McGlynn.
I think it was a league cup game.

clownboy
10/10/2007, 9:06 AM
Shane Clarke Scored a brace for Limerick 37 last week against Wexford.He is 17

Maynard
10/10/2007, 10:52 AM
James Curran scored away for Shels this year (Cobh?) 16 years of age.

Sonic
10/10/2007, 11:32 AM
Feckin hell one of our players is 18 and another 19 I thought that was young!

10/10/2007, 11:44 AM
Feckin hell one of our players is 18 and another 19 I thought that was young!

Three quarters of the Wexford Youths squad is under 21, but none of the really young lads have scored. We did start at least one game this season with four 17 year old lads on the pitch. Kyle Dempsey would be the youngest scorer he's 17 or 18.

13/10/2007, 2:15 PM
remember adrian murphy was 17 when he scored agaisnt shamrock rovers away four years ago. think he is the youngest ever goalscorer for us!

13/10/2007, 9:43 PM
Harps against Limerick the other night had a fair few underagers. On the Limerick side Ryan (18) White (19/20) Danagher (20) Gregg (16) Hayes (18) Tierney (18) all started while Harrington (20) Clarke (17) came on while Curtin (19) was on the bench.

atfconline
13/10/2007, 9:48 PM
Harps against Limerick the other night had a fair few underagers. On the Limerick side Ryan (18) White (19/20) Danagher (20) Gregg (16) Hayes (18) Tierney (18) all started while Harrington (20) Clarke (17) came on while Curtin (19) was on the bench.

Hayes is more than 18, he was overage for our Under-18's side about two seasons ago.

14/10/2007, 12:17 AM
Hayes is more than 18, he was overage for our Under-18's side about two seasons ago.

that he maybe hes the one non local lad of all the ones i mentioned. This season Danagher, Harrington clarke and Tierney have all scored for the senior side

sfc red
14/10/2007, 12:21 AM
James Curran scored away for Shels this year (Cobh?) 16 years of age.

Graham Curran v L37

cheifo
14/10/2007, 1:54 AM
Limericks young lads all looked very capable(against Harps) as posted in Lims forum.

14/10/2007, 9:18 AM
Well it's good that in these days of telephone number transfer fees and ludicrous wages being paid in football, that clubs can still develop their own talent. Well done to all of the clubs mentioned in this thread for copying our good example.
It is the way forward folks. And if you produce another Kevin Doyle or Roy O'Donovan or a Daryl Murphy for that matter, happy days at the bank could follow.

27/03/2008, 10:51 AM
Just to resurrect this Gareth Wallace came on for the Youths against Cobh in the league cup, he only turned 16 on the 21st of Feb. Must be a contender for youngest player.

27/03/2008, 11:26 AM
Just to resurrect this Gareth Wallace came on for the Youths against Cobh in the league cup, he only turned 16 on the 21st of Feb. Must be a contender for youngest player.

Anything to Mr.Madhead himself?

27/03/2008, 11:28 AM
Anything to Mr.Madhead himself?

Two Wallaces actually came on in the match and I'm almost certain neither is related to Mick. They might be brothers though, I'm not sure.

Mick's sons went to the same secondary school as me and had about zero interest in sport of any kind.

27/03/2008, 11:41 AM
Jonathon Douglas played for Monaghan in the LOI when he was very young. Possibly as young as 15

seand
27/03/2008, 12:02 PM
Colin Finan made his debut for Dundalk, and scored, against Monaghan in the FAI Cup in 2005... he was just gone 16.

nijboyle
27/03/2008, 4:56 PM
Kelly, (Cant remember his first name!) played for Harps in the 70's aged just 15 played in Europe aswell.

TheBoss
03/07/2010, 11:04 PM
Bump !

Salthill Devon played Colm Horgan on Friday on his 16th Birthday.