View Full Version : Pubs for Saturday

aidz1
07/10/2007, 1:47 PM
considering the ko time for saturdays game, i reckon considerable beers will be had prior to the game.
i myself will be heading down south by bus about lunchtime.
going to give the fanfest a miss as location unsuitable for me. for the last games i hit the red parrot but wasnt much craic about. ended up in some local in summerhill after the slovakia game and had a good time. dunno the name of it, but is near the canal on the town side of the street.
any suggestions for good venues in the vicinity of drumcondra?
fancy a few songs to get in the mood for the game...:D

07/10/2007, 5:54 PM
going to give the fanfest a miss as location unsuitable for me.

why is it unsuitable? I'll be going to connolly station and plan to get a taxi up (as its only a couple of minutes away by taxi :rolleyes:).

Tbh since moving to croker ive abolutely hated it for prematch! Its absolute sh!te! Cant even have a can in peace with teh amount of guards crawling across the area :rolleyes: - cant wait to get back to lansdowne and out of that biggot stadium!!

citizenerased
08/10/2007, 10:12 AM
why is it unsuitable? I'll be going to connolly station and plan to get a taxi up (as its only a couple of minutes away by taxi :rolleyes:).

Tbh since moving to croker ive abolutely hated it for prematch! Its absolute sh!te! Cant even have a can in peace with teh amount of guards crawling across the area :rolleyes: - cant wait to get back to lansdowne and out of that biggot stadium!!

Biggot stadium!! im sure your a man who knows his history..

AidoM
08/10/2007, 11:00 AM
Great idea of soccerc for Ireland Germany Fan Fest. I will try to make it to it and meet with the Germans; the fans and the German people really treated us well last year in Stuttgart.

I think one of the reasons that there is a better atmosphere with Irish fans at away matches is that there are usually places such as squares etc to meet in the cities before matches - recent matches such as Stuttgart, Bratislava and Prague come to mind very easily but they have been in other cities.

Unfortunately there are no such places in Dublin where Irish fans can get together :( and generate a bit of pre match atmosphere which usually on the away matches carries on on the way to the stadiums and into the ground. There was no such place when Lansdowne Road was in use and none with Croker now. There's no place for away fans to get together either.

Can you imagine if, as away fans :confused:, the Irish supporters came to Dublin and there was no place for a meet up :eek:. All we have to go to are pubs spread out over a large area and with small groups making their way to the ground.

ParkLife
08/10/2007, 12:08 PM
Can someone tell me what exactly the FanFest is, and where it's on. There's 6 of us travelling up and wouldn't mind meeting up for drinks with ze Germans. And showing them a good sing song or two.

Reddladd
08/10/2007, 12:23 PM
Can you imagine if, as away fans :confused:, the Irish supporters came to Dublin and there was no place for a meet up :eek:. All we have to go to are pubs spread out over a large area and with small groups making their way to the ground.

I would have thought that Temple bar would be the place that fans would meet up. You have a square, albeit small, right in the middle of Temple Bar with a multitude of pubs all within staggering distance of each other. If the Irish were the 'away' fans in Dublin there's no doubt we would all congregate there.

AidoM
08/10/2007, 1:11 PM
I would have thought that Temple bar would be the place that fans would meet up. You have a square, albeit small, right in the middle of Temple Bar with a multitude of pubs all within staggering distance of each other. If the Irish were the 'away' fans in Dublin there's no doubt we would all congregate there.

Can't imagine 3-5,000 fans congregating in Temple Bar Square :eek: there wouldn't be room to swing your leg at a football there :ball: :D

08/10/2007, 2:07 PM
This country was not rich enough years ago to build big squares. I blame the British on this.

08/10/2007, 6:19 PM
Biggot stadium!! im sure your a man who knows his history..

Did i offend ye dear :)

Parklife see the following thread for info on the fansfest http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=71176

Beavis
08/10/2007, 7:56 PM
This country was not rich enough years ago to build big squares. I blame the British on this.

Dublin would be brutal for away fans. No central meeting point and bad public transport. Certainly not a money thing as regards squares though, more a cultural thing and, while I'm in favour of blaming them for everything from the famine to the dodgy pint I had last Saturday, you cant blame the Brits. They were generally the only ones to build squares in towns in Ireland ie Westport,Birr etc.

Bluechip
09/10/2007, 9:56 AM
Kickabout in Stephens Green then. If we don't have squares we can do a park!

reder
11/10/2007, 10:22 AM
How many Germans are travelling? The fanfest is a great idea. Baggot St and Jury had a good buzz about them on matchday. CP area has been pathetic for pre-match drinks. Cant wait to get away from the place.

11/10/2007, 10:27 AM
CP area has been pathetic for pre-match drinks. Cant wait to get away from the place.

Dont let your anti all things GAA and croke park get in the way. Pre match pints up round that way are way better, ye have loads all so close to eachother and the stadium....

11/10/2007, 11:49 AM
Dont let your anti all things GAA and croke park get in the way. Pre match pints up round that way are way better, ye have loads all so close to eachother and the stadium....

Much better than rubbing shoulders with those D4 oiks with their Pimms and their Chardonnay! :D

KildareRed
11/10/2007, 12:48 PM
I miss cans at the spar shop near lansdowne

citizenerased
11/10/2007, 12:52 PM
jurys croker is grand and handy for the game, good beer garden aswell

jmurphyc
11/10/2007, 2:53 PM
jurys croker is grand and handy for the game, good beer garden aswell

A tad bit expensive though, if I recall correctly.

michaelguineys
11/10/2007, 7:56 PM
I miss cans at the spar shop near lansdowne

And bottles of fat frogs!
happy days!

onceahoop
11/10/2007, 8:15 PM

1988, The Plaza outside the Cathedral in Cologne. The Friday before we played Holland and the Danes were revving up for their match with Italy that night. Couple of thousand Paddies and Danes belting it out

"jawohl, jawohl, jawohl, we'll drink the alcohol. We couldn't drink the vaser so we'll drink the alcohol, jawohl, jawohl, jawohl." At it for hours and on the tram to their game that night.

Just thought I'd throw that in. I'm sure all of us who've travelled will know what we're missing in Dublin pre match.

Torn-Ado
14/10/2007, 10:29 PM

Isn't it awful. You can't sit on your bench and drink your 1euro can of Dutch gold in peace. That pesky bigoted stadium. The bain of your life.

15/10/2007, 6:45 PM
Isn't it awful. You can't sit on your bench and drink your 1euro can of Dutch gold in peace. That pesky bigoted stadium. The bain of your life.

100% correct. How did you guess i drank dutchy anyway? :)

Torn-Ado
16/10/2007, 2:12 AM
100% correct. How did you guess i drank dutchy anyway? :)

You seem like a Dutchy kind of guy.

18/10/2007, 2:32 PM
Were any of the Irish fans in the Flowing Tide before the match last night?

aidz1
19/10/2007, 11:03 AM
i went to mcgraths on drumcondra road before the game on wed night.
grand spot it is.. think i'll make it my regular beofre the games