View Full Version : Relegation?
Keen2win
07/10/2007, 10:22 AM
I hate to say this but it looks like we may get relegated. Can we keep the great escape going? Waterford is now a MUST win game. The Galway game was a big disappointment. The one good thing was that Mooney scored and is now ahead of Roy O Donovon.
07/10/2007, 1:10 PM
I hate to say this but it looks like we may get relegated. Can we keep the great escape going? Waterford is now a MUST win game. The Galway game was a big disappointment. The one good thing was that Mooney scored and is now ahead of Roy O Donovon.
it is looking very dodgy for us . three sending offs in three matches two to daisy and one for kev doherty its just not on all these suspensions are killin us. five points is a huge gap. losin dave freeman in midfield is a massive blow and also losin jamie duffy for the rest of the season. nothing is goin right for us at the moment. I am accepting relegation right now as I cant see our luck changing. losin that two goal lead against cork has being a huge turning point and we have not being the same team since.
Sonic
08/10/2007, 12:05 PM
it is looking very dodgy for us . three sending offs in three matches two to daisy and one for kev doherty its just not on all these suspensions are killin us. five points is a huge gap. losin dave freeman in midfield is a massive blow and also losin jamie duffy for the rest of the season. nothing is goin right for us at the moment. I am accepting relegation right now as I cant see our luck changing. losin that two goal lead against cork has being a huge turning point and we have not being the same team since.
Why the hell is duffy gone for the season. Man we can forget it if thats true:(:mad:
09/10/2007, 3:16 PM
Do ye think ye will still be a club if ye are relegated?........Do ye think ye'll lose alot of players if the club does survive?........Will ye have a decent fanbase if ye are playing First Divison football next season?
Ronnie
09/10/2007, 3:43 PM
Do ye think ye will still be a club if ye are relegated?........Do ye think ye'll lose alot of players if the club does survive?........Will ye have a decent fanbase if ye are playing First Divison football next season?
Of course we will.
If we go down we will lose players.
Who judges that? If we go down and average 400 a game is that good or bad?
09/10/2007, 4:04 PM
average of 400 isn't great. all i wanted to know is do ye think ye'll lose alot of fans purely cause ye aren't playing Premier anymore.
from what ive heard from town fans ye aren't exactly sure if ye will survive as ye have serious debts and aren't bringing in the kind of money needed to pay them off so i was wondering what some more town fans thoughts on this where.....
also i asked if ye think ye will lose alot of players if ye go down...... not if ye will just lose some players...
sligo23
09/10/2007, 8:30 PM
best of luck lads
Sonic
10/10/2007, 11:28 AM
average of 400 isn't great. all i wanted to know is do ye think ye'll lose alot of fans purely cause ye aren't playing Premier anymore.
from what ive heard from town fans ye aren't exactly sure if ye will survive as ye have serious debts and aren't bringing in the kind of money needed to pay them off so i was wondering what some more town fans thoughts on this where.....
also i asked if ye think ye will lose alot of players if ye go down...... not if ye will just lose some players...
There is no doubt that we will lose alot of fans because we are not a premier team. Our budget will at the very least because of this have to be slashed further which will mean a mass exodus again. If three go down next year it will be dodgy for us staying up next year even if we did stay up:( Hard to know if going down this year and trying to get straight back up or staying up would be the best. In any case I cant see us folding unless crowds are really bad! The asset of the ground is a plus for us if worse comes to worsst.
10/10/2007, 11:58 AM
I thought it was the cost of flancare was one of the causes of money problems.....we'll have to discuss this more in person sonic cause as you know yourself i'm very intrested in this :D :D
I thought it was the cost of flancare was one of the causes of money problems.....
The cost of the development work is one of the causes. The actual site was brought with the proceeds of the sale of the club house in the town years ago, so site is an asset available in the worst case scenario. Or possible sites along the road, which is already being looked at.
Ah I remember the good old days at the start of the season and the
League Cup game where the rumours were rife that we would be taking
all yer decent players. Little did we know at the time that we couldnt
afford the players we had, never mind any of yers!!!!! :o
At least if ye get relegated we'll have a darby game to hopefully get
a crowd in! That and a nice short away trip to Longford :)
I thought it was the cost of flancare was one of the causes of money problems.....we'll have to discuss this more in person sonic cause as you know yourself i'm very intrested in this :D
Pints in Limerick at the weekend so:D:D
12/10/2007, 7:47 PM
Pints in Limerick at the weekend so:D:D
i suppose....if you insist :p
13/10/2007, 12:56 PM
Ah I remember the good old days at the start of the season and the
League Cup game where the rumours were rife that we would be taking
all yer decent players. Little did we know at the time that we couldnt
afford the players we had, never mind any of yers!!!!! :o
At least if ye get relegated we'll have a darby game to hopefully get
a crowd in! That and a nice short away trip to Longford :)
how bad is the situation with athlone town fc at the moment ash?:confused:
Battery Rover
17/10/2007, 8:59 AM
how bad is the situation with athlone town fc at the moment ash?:confused:
Situation is being blown out of all proportions. Is is just a total cash flow problem that is getting sorted out slowly. The club itself have no real debt and everything will be fine again by the end of the season.
Nipper
17/10/2007, 2:12 PM
It won't be the end of the world if we go down. Eight seasons in the top flight and all the success we've had is more than we could ever have dreamed of in the bad old days.
Yes, we will lose a rake of players, but we have always lost our best players at the end of a season. Nothing new there.
RockofGibraltar
18/10/2007, 9:08 AM
It won't be the end of the world if we go down
are you serious?the club owes so much money that if we get relegated theres a good chance that the club could fold as an entity..rumours that a lot of players went a good few weeks without pay appear to be true so thats not a good sign..remember dublin city??
lets just hope the boys can turn it around for us against all the odds an start with a win in ucd on fri nite
Nipper
18/10/2007, 2:57 PM
The club won't fold, relax. The ground is worth millions, if the worst comes to the worst.
The crowds are so pathetic it won't make the slightest bit of difference what division we are in. The club is actually working on the assumption that nobody will turn up next year at all.
RockofGibraltar
21/10/2007, 12:09 PM
waterford won :( :( :(
21/10/2007, 12:46 PM
Feckers. :mad:
Rocky77
21/10/2007, 3:30 PM
We need all nine points to have a chance I think.
They need five points from Drogs and Galway at home and Rovers away. Tough on paper but you never know what sort of a mood Drogheda will be in now, or what Rovers will be like on the last day of the season if they're out of the hunt for second place.
What's the craic with Mooney for tomorrow? He didn't look too clever limping off on Friday.
21/10/2007, 5:59 PM
hard to know with mooney at the moment. ever since the interest in mooney escalated mooney is not playin for the team at the moment. he reminds me very much of a certain irish forward...
its still achievable but the bohs match is a tough one to call as bohs are on fire at the moment since they lost the league cup final. all we can do is try to go for three wins and see what happens. first season of the premiership oldham won their last three games and overtook the team below them and they stayed up ... you never know the key is to have no more suspensions and injuries..
21/10/2007, 6:05 PM
3 points agains Bray tomorrow night is a must. What time is kick-off anyone know?
21/10/2007, 6:06 PM
think the kick off is at 7.30 pm but i could be wrong.. there is nothin on the clubs website will know definitely tommorrow..
RiffRaff
22/10/2007, 9:48 AM
Whatever the outcome, i think Alan Matthews and the players have done brilliantly this season. I thought our relegation would have been sealed with about 10 or 12 matches still left to play the way things were going. To keep the season alive this long, not to mention another cup semi, has been some achivement.
RockofGibraltar
22/10/2007, 9:59 AM
will matthews stay on next season?
Rocky77
22/10/2007, 2:47 PM
I'd be amazed. But then I was amazed that he didn't walk when the deduction came in. Most other managers would.
If he does go, Vinny Perth has my vote.
22/10/2007, 4:35 PM
To say im nervous is an understatement. Few swift pints and off to the match.
23/10/2007, 12:09 AM
a very poor game tonight, but 3 points were imperative. and ye got them, well done. ye were under the cosh for the last half hour, although bray only created about 2 real chances. a few half chances aswell, a draw was probably fair, but a good win none the less
Ronnie
23/10/2007, 10:49 AM
Never say die spirit in that team, demonstrated big time in the last 3 games. Still odds very much against us with Bohs away, with 5 wins on the spin, a very big ask. What we'd give to still be in the hunt when Derry come to Town! Really need Drogs and Derry to do us a favour Friday night.
Sonic
23/10/2007, 11:19 AM
You know what happened the last time we asked Derry for a favour!! Also lads Bray are not out of it. If we win both our games and bray lose both theirs we leapfrog them. Thats why they wanted something from last nights game:D
BrayUnknowns
23/10/2007, 12:37 PM
You know what happened the last time we asked Derry for a favour!! Also lads Bray are not out of it. If we win both our games and bray lose both theirs we leapfrog them. Thats why they wanted something from last nights game:D
We are most certianly not out of it yet ! anything from last nights game and we would have been pretty much home and dry. Squeeky bum time :mad:
we should have taken something from the game but scoring has been a real problem for us all season.
We have 2 tough remaining games.
Drogheda - Away
Sligo - Home
A win in either of those games would see us safe, i'd be looking at the Sligo game... but football's a funny old game as we all know. Very tense few weeks coming up.
23/10/2007, 1:16 PM
drogs will want to win that one with the cup being presented that night.
Lets hope Dessie gets on to Ritchie about beating Waterford this Friday!!
We just have to keep winning never mind anyone else. A quick look around the other teams forums show's they're all brickin it, whereas we have nothing to lose at this stage.
23/10/2007, 3:35 PM
playoff.......bohs in a cup final.........hmmmmmmmm, we've been here before, i wish !!!!;)
BrayUnknowns
23/10/2007, 3:38 PM
We just have to keep winning never mind anyone else. A quick look around the other teams forums show's they're all brickin it, whereas we have nothing to lose at this stage.
Wouldn't go that far... that was our only defeat in 6.
Of course you have something to loose... Premier division status, players and probably most importantly, your manager. There's always something to loose
Ronnie
23/10/2007, 3:55 PM
I think Macy means with the season we have had, written off by all and sundry, 6 points deducted, 13 points off the pace, stories of doing a Dublin City etc etc, the fact that with 2 matches to go we still have a chance of staying up is remarkable.
Wouldn't go that far... that was our only defeat in 6.
Wouldn't be wanting to start a run of bad form now...
Of course you have something to loose... Premier division status, players and probably most importantly, your manager. There's always something to loose
Relegation has been on the cards since the points deduction - even if we go down the fight has been a bonus. Sure a significant portion of town fans have been after Matthew's head for feckin years.