View Full Version : Cook going at end of season?

Shiba
06/10/2007, 6:26 PM
Heard from a source within the club that Cooke and commitee at loggerheads and that Cooke leaving at end of season.

sligo23
06/10/2007, 6:47 PM
Heard from a source within the club that Cooke and commitee at loggerheads and that Cooke leaving at end of season.

how relilable is this source????

Shiba
06/10/2007, 7:14 PM
how relilable is this source????

Too reliable for my liking.Most things he has told has come to pass

sligo23
06/10/2007, 7:16 PM
Too reliable for my liking.Most things he has told has come to pass

lets just hope for once hes wrong:(:(:(

kkontour
06/10/2007, 7:35 PM
<insert manager here> and commitee at loggerheads
Sounds familiar:rolleyes:

sligo23
06/10/2007, 7:41 PM
Sounds familiar

:eek:are you implying that the commitee could be at fault!!!!:D:p

red arrow
06/10/2007, 8:00 PM
i heard similar talk during week. now lets get things clear here. firstly unless some investor or the business community come on board (now) for next season the club is on a slippery slope to financial ruin. i have said it before it takes e1m to run a club in the premier divison of the l..O.I therfore that means a bigger squod and a good manager. we have a very good manager and a squod that are giving 100%. the manager is getting frustrated cause he needs finance to bring the club forward. the committe are doing their best but they are limited to the amount of finance that they can bring in. the general public (especially in sligo town (im from the town) are not supporting sligo rovers in numbers) we need 2500 people at every home game and more to have some sort of chance of competing. paul cooke is as good as you will get the trouble is he is beginning to see the club and all its limitiations as damaging his cv. sean connors saw the same thing but he is not as nice a guy as cooke nor as good a manager. we are at a crisis if we want to keep the manager we need to gurantee him support and finance to bring the club forward. this is almost like looking for a miracle but miracles can happen if a number of things take place. we need to restructure the club we need to bring in immediate finance . we need to start fundraising immediately for next season. we need to find a way so that the 13 acres of land in the showgrounds can generate some form of an income. i could go on and on. we need fresh new blood (no disrespect to the present committe) we need enthusiastic people with business acumen. we need people that will die for the club to come forward to start raising finance. we need those that will die for the club to tread in high places where finance is accesible. we ned leaders and more leaders. i am supportinf rovers all my life i have done my bit and will continue to do so but i dont have the financial clout that is nesessary but i am always willing to help and have done so. lets return to the 60000 raised by the syndicate and measure it against the last month we have forked out 4 weeks wages E15000 per week and got e 6500 return from ucd game. do the math and see what is nesessary to keep the club afloat. also i believe that 18 clubs of the 22 competing voted for a return to winter football. the fai/league are doing nothing constructive to support the clubs . the statement that numbers are up by 15% is b********. drogheda who are at the top are getting ave 2000 at games. these are the facts. the idea of clubs being supported by selling there grounds as collateral is a load of cods wollop. rovers and many other long established clubs (st pats example) have played there football on long established ground should be shown as a shining example . clubs with a great tradition but seemingly there is no room at the top tables for romance and tradition. if this is so the game here is on its last legs as the incompetency of those who are running it will bring it down. i know i am going on and on (my apologies) but i also know ther are others out there who feel the same way as i do. i also know that sentiment is but a part of the emotional make up of everybody but if we dont have a passion for something the life is not worth living. there are those of us who have a passion for sligo rovers (we are but a small band ) there are some who would love to see rovers fold (they are few but they exist). the biggest problem in modern society is that people do not want to come out of their comfort zone. we as a nation have lost our hunger in many ways we have lost the way of how to enjoy the simple things in life (ie live football) we prefer to support teams across the pond. this drives me crazy. we can experience the passion on our own doorstep yet we refuse to recognise it. this will come back to haunt us. we have one last chance now to move the bit o red forward and keep the cookie monster. its up to the people of sligo and the business community.

Rovers fan
06/10/2007, 8:59 PM
i heard similar talk during week. now lets get things clear here. firstly unless some investor or the business community come on board (now) for next season the club is on a slippery slope to financial ruin. i have said it before it takes e1m to run a club in the premier divison of the l..O.I therfore that means a bigger squod and a good manager. we have a very good manager and a squod that are giving 100%. the manager is getting frustrated cause he needs finance to bring the club forward. the committe are doing their best but they are limited to the amount of finance that they can bring in. the general public (especially in sligo town (im from the town) are not supporting sligo rovers in numbers) we need 2500 people at every home game and more to have some sort of chance of competing. paul cooke is as good as you will get the trouble is he is beginning to see the club and all its limitiations as damaging his cv. sean connors saw the same thing but he is not as nice a guy as cooke nor as good a manager. we are at a crisis if we want to keep the manager we need to gurantee him support and finance to bring the club forward. this is almost like looking for a miracle but miracles can happen if a number of things take place. we need to restructure the club we need to bring in immediate finance . we need to start fundraising immediately for next season. we need to find a way so that the 13 acres of land in the showgrounds can generate some form of an income. i could go on and on. we need fresh new blood (no disrespect to the present committe) we need enthusiastic people with business acumen. we need people that will die for the club to come forward to start raising finance. we need those that will die for the club to tread in high places where finance is accesible. we ned leaders and more leaders. i am supportinf rovers all my life i have done my bit and will continue to do so but i dont have the financial clout that is nesessary but i am always willing to help and have done so. lets return to the 60000 raised by the syndicate and measure it against the last month we have forked out 4 weeks wages E15000 per week and got e 6500 return from ucd game. do the math and see what is nesessary to keep the club afloat. also i believe that 18 clubs of the 22 competing voted for a return to winter football. the fai/league are doing nothing constructive to support the clubs . the statement that numbers are up by 15% is b********. drogheda who are at the top are getting ave 2000 at games. these are the facts. the idea of clubs being supported by selling there grounds as collateral is a load of cods wollop. rovers and many other long established clubs (st pats example) have played there football on long established ground should be shown as a shining example . clubs with a great tradition but seemingly there is no room at the top tables for romance and tradition. if this is so the game here is on its last legs as the incompetency of those who are running it will bring it down. i know i am going on and on (my apologies) but i also know ther are others out there who feel the same way as i do. i also know that sentiment is but a part of the emotional make up of everybody but if we dont have a passion for something the life is not worth living. there are those of us who have a passion for sligo rovers (we are but a small band ) there are some who would love to see rovers fold (they are few but they exist). the biggest problem in modern society is that people do not want to come out of their comfort zone. we as a nation have lost our hunger in many ways we have lost the way of how to enjoy the simple things in life (ie live football) we prefer to support teams across the pond. this drives me crazy. we can experience the passion on our own doorstep yet we refuse to recognise it. this will come back to haunt us. we have one last chance now to move the bit o red forward and keep the cookie monster. its up to the people of sligo and the business community.

great post.

I hope to god cookie doesn't leave. Investment is vital as are attendances!

06/10/2007, 9:22 PM
good post red arrow.

no businesses will be reading this forum though, maybe its time we as supporters start something, a campaign of sort, and approach the business ourselves. organise some sort of booklet thing to show what sligo rovers means to the people of sligo, and what advantages they would have in investing in the club?

06/10/2007, 9:22 PM
i have said it before it takes e1m to run a club in the premier divison of the l..O.I
No it doesn't. This decade, UCD have reached nine Cup quarters, four Cup semis, two Cup Finals, been promoted, qualified for Europe through the league, finished top half last season, and all on a budget of E500k. Work smarter, not harder, and all that. More money won't do any harm but a club can also improve through better use of its money. Don't really know the ins and outs of other clubs, but the fact that we can compete as much as has been noted on one of the smallest budgets in the league shows me that there's plenty of room for improvement at other clubs.

Also, paragraphs and capitals, PLEASE!! That post was almost impossible to read.

06/10/2007, 9:30 PM
Yes but Stu you can offer something we can not a degree from one of the top universities in the country !
So offer something similar. Is there not a college in Sligo (genuinely don't know)? Our scholarship scheme isn't necessarily unique to us.

06/10/2007, 9:32 PM
well, as im only 18, i doubt ther'd be much space on the MC for me.

but it'd be great if a good supporter went forward for it, or a coulpe of supporters. someone who's been at the showgrounds a long time and followed rovers all over the country and knows what its like to be a fan.

Rovers fan
06/10/2007, 9:37 PM
what about getting sponsershp for the name of the stadum? e.g The(company name)showgrounds

06/10/2007, 9:41 PM
The league is f uck ed if there isn't a return to winter football. The FAI don't seem to have any idea the effect of competing with the GAA is having on provincial clubs. To give you an example, Finn Harps recently played Cobh in the game of the year at Finn Park. They had a 'bumper' crowd of 2000. The following day, there was 6500 at the GAA county final across the road from Finn Park. How many of our supporters are actually playing GAA matches when our home games are on? We are losing our country support and the crowds we have had this year would be amongst the highest in the country for summer soccer.
However, Stu is right - you can run a club properly on affordable levels and I personally feel that the present MC is determined not to go the boom/bust road again and I'm happy to go with that, picking up the odd cup here and there and laughing at Bohs.
Paul Cooke said when he came that he believed in keeping contracts so I expect he will do that. Any rumble out there is merely to signal to Pats that he could be bought out of his contract. McDonnell is a dead man walking but Fenlon looks like the man for there.

06/10/2007, 10:06 PM
Ok but you just can't let any half wit in either you need actually you need Vicent Nally in there let him run it as he likes, answers questions only at the agm other than that we are F**KED

yeah he'd be good. he's done alot for rovers through the years! we need more people like him though, he himself cant help raise sufficent money to run the club.
and i wouldnt like the sound of 'the Tohers showgrounds' for example.

06/10/2007, 10:15 PM
Something has got to be done. The amount of business's in town and not many of them probably know Rovers even exist as a sponsorship/investment opportunity. As has been said, we need the likes of Vincent Nally on the board. I think Michael Toolan has brought the club as far as he can as chairman and we need some fresh blood on board.

We should be looking at a good fundraiser too, only short-term I know but it's still something. Like, when the season is over, some concert with all Sligo musicians or something. Tabby, Dervish, Westlife[headline act;)] etc. with most of the proceeds going to the club. These are simple, but probably worthwhile, things the club should be arranging because if Cook goes, all the good work done in the last while will be undone, we're back at square one again.
Also, paragraphs and capitals, PLEASE!! That post was almost impossible to read.If it affects you that much, stick with you're own forum where everything is typed perfectly.

06/10/2007, 10:23 PM
does all the money we get on the gate just go straight back into paying the wages every week?

06/10/2007, 10:26 PM
who'd be interested in going to some sort of dinner dance style evening when the seasons over, like the night after the bray game, get it well advertised, have raffles and an auction or something on the night, something that the fans can go to and have a bit of craic with the players and people involved with the club

clubman
06/10/2007, 10:52 PM
who'd be interested in going to some sort of dinner dance style evening when the seasons over, like the night after the bray game, get it well advertised, have raffles and an auction or something on the night, something that the fans can go to and have a bit of craic with the players and people involved with the club

Yea, lets have an auld knees up hit the razz, enjoy ourselves for the night, make much needed revenue for the club and then we've done our bit. Hand the money over to the auld fogies on the committee and let them get on with the daunting task of running a senior football club. :rolleyes:

Let's get real here. Members of the management committee are only supporters like ourselves. Supporters that have gone the extra yard to help the club they love with a passion. As already been said in this thread the call went out prior to the AGM for new people to get involved on the committee - FACT. How many put their names forward - one - FACT.
It's all very well playing the blame game and pointing the finger at the people that have stepped forward to work in the interest of the club when the rest just sit back and wait for them to make mistakes. Running a senior football club successfully takes more than a love for the club. Football is now a business and no business is run by a group of volunteers. SRFC has to be dragged into the 21st centuary. The club needs new direction, new leadership, new hope. People coming on here pointing the finger at the present group of people that have been brave enough to take the poison challace should really think before they make wild statements regarding the running of our club.
Ideas are plentiful but will they work? Talk of people like Westlife doing a 'free' concert for the love of the Rovers when these guys have more interest in the GAA is not worth the paper the idea is written on. One 'big' fundraiser is not going to solve the longterm problem of Sligo Rovers. The club needs a huge shake-up. A public meeting needs to be called and before a word is spoken stock would need to be taken of whose present. People with a vision and the will and ability to carry it through would need to be making themselves available. If they are not out there then the best we can do is what we have. Talk is very cheap. Everyone has a plan not everyone can make the plan work.

06/10/2007, 10:58 PM
One 'big' fundraiser is not going to solve the longterm problem of Sligo Rovers.If you read it again you'll see I said it was only a "short-term" idea.

clubman
06/10/2007, 11:11 PM
If you read it again you'll see I said it was only a "short-term" idea.
Sligoman - please don't take that one to heart. I've heard the Westlife gig mentioned loads of time in various conversations this past few years and I wasn't in any way quoteing you when I mentioned it in my post.

06/10/2007, 11:12 PM
two of them have sponsored the youth teams before and got no thanks for it. but maybe they could be approached anyway again

07/10/2007, 11:19 AM
Yea, lets have an auld knees up hit the razz, enjoy ourselves for the night, make much needed revenue for the club and then we've done our bit. Hand the money over to the auld fogies on the committee and let them get on with the daunting task of running a senior football club. :rolleyes:
UCD and Galway are two clubs that have something similar every year and it's a great way of getting revenue.

DonalE
07/10/2007, 11:48 AM

Something like this is being organized at the minute afaik.

Da Real Rover
07/10/2007, 11:55 AM
There is so much doom and gloom, and there are plenty of reasons to be depressed about the current state of affairs. But for as long as I can remeber Rovers have always been a season away from going bust, its just the way its always been. But we have survived and percervered and we are now in a strong position. Granted we could easily lose all that has been achieved in a season but I dont believe the situation is that bad. The primary thing we need is more people through the gates, more money through gates and then there is merchandise and an aray of spin offs etc. We cannot market our football as better than on the telly or of a higher standard, but we can market what we have compared to watching it on the telly. Like being part of the atmosphere, watching local lads play for there local team, etc. If we are to succeed we must market our strenghts instead of constantly trying to turn the showgies into a premiership style occasion because we will never come near it.

Claret Murph
07/10/2007, 12:06 PM
Top post from Red Arrow
It's all about money in the end we all need a suger daddy with deep pockets I hope that things don't turn sour in Sligo and you manage to keep Mr Cooke with the club . Yes he has done a good job in a short time as at the start of the season it was laughable at Sligo and a lot of people had them tipped to drop this season . Now up until a month or so ago you could have looked like you may have finished in a Euro spot but it faded .
Lets hope you can figure out your problems as more clubs in the west in the premier the better .

red arrow
07/10/2007, 12:09 PM
you are correct of course my phrasing of my sentences and spacing of paragraphs leaves a lot to be desired. i am not as well educated as you bit then again i am far from the era of computers and computer language but i do my best. i quote from shakespeare CORIOLANUS (DON;T KNOW THE ACT NOR THE SCENE) BUT THIS QUOTE IS VERY RELEVANT TO TODAYS SOCIETY
"the abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power" hopefully your educated mind will absorb this message and carry it for the rest of your life. because if you follow the content within you will be a very humble person.
getting back to the cost of running an eircom league club to be in a challeging position it costs about e1m. the big advantage that ucd has like all other colleges that a lot of students are on grants (taxpayers money) and they have first class facilities and coaching. they (ucd ) also get the cream of the crop. please dont get me wrong i dont begrudge students getting grants (as long as they are entitled to them) but overall yee have a huge advantage because yee in effect are backed by the state wheather directly or indirectly funds are always available. and the point is totally proven cause the gates that yee get wouldnt help to run an ice cream shop. so how come yee find it so hard to get big crowds with a population of (how many students) 20000 . my point is if yee struggle it dosent really matter cause there will always be assistance for ucd from the state.

red arrow
07/10/2007, 12:25 PM
i hear that a big dinner dance event is being organised for end of season and fair play to those who are involved but we need to stretch much further that this at the most it would bring in 20g .we need to pump in 100 g before start of next season. what is possibly needed is a forum to the business community and high net worth individuals. i have attended the last few open forums and to be honest those in attendance including myself wouldnt have the financial clout to what is needed. no disrespect to anybody who was there over the last few years let these people carry on getting funds for the club as some of them are great supporters but the net needs to be spread much wider even across both sides of the pond to get some big fish involved.we should all try and remain positive. i am always of the opinion that if sligo rovers were on top of the league (or in top three) over the course of the season that they would bring in the crowds but we need to promote game in mayo leitrim roscommon ets.

07/10/2007, 12:49 PM
i am not as well educated as you bit then again i am far from the era of computers and computer language
Didn't know basic grammar was invented with computers. :confused:

Your points on UCD are, sadly, utterly misinformed. I really don't know how we're ever going to get people over this misconception that we're state funded. I almost think people want to believe it as it explains how such a small club can do so well and is easier to accept than the real reason, which is that we're just much better run.

To put it in plain English once again - UCD are not state funded. Our players are not on grants. They are on scholarships, which are paid by the club. Your point is not proven by our gates, because (a) our gates aren't actually a million miles off other eL clubs, (b) gate income makes up only a small fraction of a club's income and (c) our small gates are reflected in our small budget, which is still enough to achieve the success we have had.

07/10/2007, 9:20 PM
what about getting sponsershp for the name of the stadum? e.g The(company name)showgrounds

afaik Rovers looked into this, and noone was interested

07/10/2007, 10:33 PM
If not surely sponsorship of the stadium , then surely sponsorship of the new stand , if we are'nt going to name it after someone closely associated with Rovers , defintely shouldnt just be called "the new stand"

Bravo
08/10/2007, 10:26 AM
Lads the harsh reality is that with the league, its current structure & the modern day costs involved, the County of Sligo can not support a top Premier league outfit. The club needs to be self sufficient to survive in the long term & unfortunately despite the dedication & generosity of some its not.
The questions we have to ask is are we boxing above our weight?