View Full Version : Memorable Moment

Pages : 1 [2]

07/10/2007, 1:55 PM
these are my favourite memories from seven years of supportin da town on the road!

1. this season mooneys winner against shamrock rovers in tolka i ran like a headless chicken from the middle of the stand to the front to celebrate with the town players. my moment of the season. crackin atmosphere.

2. comin back from one nil down to winnin two one in the cup final to waterford.

3. shane barrett scorin into an empty net in the cup final against pats the trophy was finally ours!

4. the finn harps game wot a game so many highs and lows in that game! saw da the best town goal scored by eric lavine

07/10/2007, 3:08 PM
Beating Sligo 2-1 in the Cip QF in the Showgrounds.Huge Galway crowd that day and one of the best atmosphere's on the road with UTD i've ever expierienced.

Last years 1-0 win over Rovers in Terryland was great to as we thought we'd the League won that day!

Playoff's were great crack to.

07/10/2007, 6:58 PM
Beating Sligo 2-1 in the Cip QF in the Showgrounds.Huge Galway crowd that day and one of the best atmosphere's on the road with UTD i've ever expierienced.

Last years 1-0 win over Rovers in Terryland was great to as we thought we'd the League won that day!

Playoff's were great crack to.

ye're best away day was when leeson went to merrion square with his laptop :p

adamcarr
07/10/2007, 7:17 PM
1-1 vs DIF in the Rasunda in Stockholm. Pity about the og with 5 mins left but n unforgettable experience and we made it through anyway.

07/10/2007, 7:22 PM
Nope we were 2-0 up they came back and scored 3 and then we eqaulised in the last few minutes i think Lee Chew i think scored the third some result as they had been in the champs league semi final just a couple of monthe before :D:D
Makes me laugh just to think about it.

did we score/concede a penalty in that game? if so i remember being at it, im nearly sure it was that game. its as far back as i can remember being a rovers fan tbh, think i was about 6 at the time

blue til i die
07/10/2007, 7:27 PM
mine has to be beating Shamrock Rovers few seasons ago in dalymount wit pat dolan crying. coming back from 1-0 down to win 2-1 and keep us in the premier division.
and beating Derry City in the Brandywell in the Cup semi's,with Dan Connor scoring a penalty,quality stuff!

Aaron
07/10/2007, 7:28 PM
mine has to be beating Shamrock Rovers few seasons ago in dalymount wit pat dolan crying. coming back from 1-0 down to win 2-1 and keep us in the premier division.
and beating Derry City in the Brandywell in the Cup semi's,with Dan Connor scoring a penalty,quality stuff!

:mad::mad:

blue til i die
07/10/2007, 7:33 PM
:mad::mad:
sorry now,but to me,bein a blues fan,i dont have much to shout about,but that was a great win for us, never forget that night for as long as i live!

07/10/2007, 7:35 PM
sorry now,but to me,bein a blues fan,i dont have much to shout about,but that was a great win for us, never forget that night for as long as i live!

how would the cup replay against us this season rank with ye?

Aaron
07/10/2007, 7:35 PM

Neither will I unfortunately. :mad:

lofty9
07/10/2007, 7:40 PM
Can't choose between :

6 up at half time at home to Cork (7-2)
4-0 Dundalk league Cup final 1989
Swan vs Dalton FAI Cup QF game
Last Years League Cup final
Last Years FAI Cup Final
Last Year in Motherwell
Last Year watching the team in the Parcs Des Princes

Harps playoff was terrible, couldn't go through that again.

blue til i die
07/10/2007, 8:08 PM
how would the cup replay against us this season rank with ye?

i suppose for the club it was a gud result,but i wasnt there myself, i'm just going on games i've been to myself. cork took care of us so lets forget the cup :D

blue til i die
07/10/2007, 8:09 PM
Neither will I unfortunately. :mad:

u have to say, from a blues point of view it was a hugh win?:D

07/10/2007, 8:13 PM
Galway keeper Van Boxtel...

Hero.

Niall
07/10/2007, 10:00 PM
Although somewhat vague memories- the Blues 1980 final win over pats is special, more recent memories include

A Kevin Power later winner back in late 80s over Bray to seal the 1st div title decider in Kilcohen (and our then manager Johneey Mattews dressing up as Superman at end of game and standing on dug out punching the air)

A late equaliser by (big) Dominic Iorfa against Longford in Longford (pre-development) very late 90s to take a cup tie to a replay (which we lost)

Most recently the cup semi win in Derry mentioned earlier

Blues fans....help needed with correct dates for the Power and Iorfa incidents above please ?????

As a neutral seeing Bohs comeback 4-0 down to Rovers to win 5-4 was incredible in the Morton stadium ,still count myself lucky to have been there for that one - surprised this didn't get a mention in previous bohs post

NavanBohs
07/10/2007, 10:10 PM
As a neutral seeing Bohs comeback 4-0 down to Rovers to win 5-4 was incredible in the Morton stadium ,still count myself lucky to have been there for that one - surprised this didn't get a mention in previous bohs post

4-1 down at half-time to win 6-4 ;)

and I wasnt there to witness it :(

blue til i die
07/10/2007, 10:28 PM
A late equaliser by (big) Dominic Iorfa against Longford in Longford (pre-development) very late 90s to take a cup tie to a replay (which we lost)

think that was in 1999

Aaron
07/10/2007, 10:41 PM
u have to say, from a blues point of view it was a hugh win?:D

Yeah it was. Kenny had only taken over a few months before and got us to the Semi's, that was the start of a fabulous era. It was probably bigger for you because you wernt expecting to win

Burny89
07/10/2007, 11:51 PM
Brandywell, 2003. Derry City v Finn Harps promotion/relegation playoff. Kevin McHugh's equaliser for Harps in the 94th minute. We went ****in mental!!

Unfortunately extra-time wasn't so enjoyable:(
hadn't all the Harps fans left the ground by the time McHugh scored:p

08/10/2007, 9:43 AM
hadn't all the Harps fans left the ground by the time McHugh scored:p

Nope not me, always to the bitter end. (and jebus it was bitter end :( ) But it was funny alright, half of our lads were away towards the gate, I nearly got crushed at the wall when the goal went it with the stampeed :p

08/10/2007, 10:08 AM
Nearly getting thrown out of Supermacs near Terryland for standing up for our human rights

Four of us having a whole terrace to ourselves in Sligo.

The 94th minute equaliser in that very game.

One nil away to Drogheda last season.

Theiving Monaghan in the 91st minute in the pi$$ing rain infront of 40 people.

Gatecrashing the most Unionist wedding reception you've ever seen to watch England crash out on penalties on our way to Ballybofey.

Taking a wrong turn out of Tolka Park last season and roaming around Dublin for two hours looking for the car.

Finally scoring in Mels after 81 minutes of playing Athlone off the park

Trying, and failing miserably, to fit a giant advertisment into a Peugot 206 on the way home from Cobh.

Loads more, the odd one is even football related :o

btid1
08/10/2007, 10:50 AM

Jesus dont know how I left that one out......I knew the cold that day had done some damage to my memory!!!

Neso, after our fifth, waving to the Hoops who had been abusing him all game is one of my abiding memories of that day!

08/10/2007, 12:26 PM
Jesus dont know how I left that one out......I knew the cold that day had done some damage to my memory!!!

Neso, after our fifth, waving to the Hoops who had been abusing him all game is one of my abiding memories of that day!

He was a smashin player, where did he end up?

btid1
08/10/2007, 1:22 PM

I've no idea Sam.I presume he went back across the water though.

08/10/2007, 1:37 PM
Winning the league in Athlone in 1980. 1-1 draw nervewracking and a bit jammy but we deserved the title.

Drawing with Southampton at the Dell. (they werea top 6 team then with keegan, Channon, Ball etc)

Beating Bohs in the cup final at a "neutral" Dalymount Park.

Des Kennedy scoring in the Bernabeu.

A late Dave Kirby (ex Waterford) winner in a cup replay in Waterford in 1977 when they absolutely murdered us.

coming from 2 down to beat Harps 3-2 in Ballybofey in 1980

1980 again Leading Waterford 3-1 in the 2nd half to be pegged back to 3-3. Tony morris scoring a superb late winner only for the referee to pull it back for a free in to Limerick. Eoin Hand sticking the free in the top corner.

Beatign Cork city 1-0 in 1993 at Turners Cross to clinch a top 6 spot in the last game before the split.

Beating Cork City 2-1 at turners Cross in 1988 when we looked set to go down.

Winning the league cup in Derry on penalties.

Beating Drogheda away in a cup repaly last year.

A few late winners in monaghan

Paul hogan scoring a late winner at St Mels at Christmas time circa 1990. we were muck and stole it 1-0.

Putting 5 past Rovers at Baldonnel in the league cup.

Colm McGonigle scoring a 93rd minute winner at kilcohan after we led 1-0 should have been 6 and gave away a late equaliser.

A very young Tommy Gaynor sending Mick Smyth sprawling the wrong way before calmly rolling the ball into the corner to win a 1982 cup semi final replay.

Wnning the league cup in Sligo in 1975. (I missed the 4-1 cup win in 1977 )

Beating Galway 5-1 at Terryland.

Sending a reserve team to kilcohan to beat a full Waterford side 2-0 in a shield game. 2 days later we made 11 changes, they made 1 and we had a lucky 1-0 win in the league at the Markets Field.

Beating Rovers 2-1 at Milltown in 1979 the only time I saw Limerick win there in quite a few visits (we did win 4-0 in the mid 70's but I wasn't there).

Joe O'Mahony's last gasp penalty to beat Dundalk at Oriel Park about a minute after saying this will be a great point. Tony Morris's late winner in the cup 6 months before

08/10/2007, 2:00 PM
Beating Cork city 1-0 in 1993 at Turners Cross to clinch a top 6 spot in the last game before the split.

I wasn't there. We went down to Bishopstown but the game was rained off. Couldn't make Turners Cross, which was a Wednesday, I think.

To this day, I think that result was rigged. Cork had chances they just couldn't have missed, but they did. Then a few weeks later they came to Rathbane and we handed them a 1-0 win.

08/10/2007, 2:21 PM
I wasn't there. We went down to Bishopstown but the game was rained off. Couldn't make Turners Cross, which was a Wednesday, I think.

To this day, I think that result was rigged. Cork had chances they just couldn't have missed, but they did. Then a few weeks later they came to Rathbane and we handed them a 1-0 win.

Was already in cork when the sunday game was called off too. I lived in Galway at the time too.

No way was it rigged. Cork had most of the play and great chances. We played really well. They were well ****ed off at losing.

08/10/2007, 3:08 PM
No way was it rigged. Cork had most of the play and great chances. We played really well. They were well ****ed off at losing.

Thats what I meant. They were all over us, from the extended highlights I saw. They couldn't have missed all those chances.

At the time, I thought nothing of it. But they came to Rathbane, won 1-0, I remember Johnny Walsh being through on goal, and deciding to pass to his right, even though there was nobody there.............

I guess it probably wasn't rigged, but its a good story.

09/10/2007, 1:25 PM
Nearly getting thrown out of Supermacs near Terryland for standing up for our human rights

Four of us having a whole terrace to ourselves in Sligo.

The 94th minute equaliser in that very game.

One nil away to Drogheda last season.

Theiving Monaghan in the 91st minute in the pi$$ing rain infront of 40 people.

Gatecrashing the most Unionist wedding reception you've ever seen to watch England crash out on penalties on our way to Ballybofey.

Taking a wrong turn out of Tolka Park last season and roaming around Dublin for two hours looking for the car.

Finally scoring in Mels after 81 minutes of playing Athlone off the park

Trying, and failing miserably, to fit a giant advertisment into a Peugot 206 on the way home from Cobh.

Loads more, the odd one is even football related :o

Allow me to add a few:

Watching Jamie Nolan beat about 48 players by himself in St.Mels before inevitably (and a little tragically) missing his shot.

The toilets in Terryland. Landmark stuff.

Beating Kilkenny 4-1 in their place on our way to the playoffs in front of another 40 odd crowd in the greatest weather in the history of the nation.

The league cup final in Derry. Magic. The female Derry fan who roundly abused us for our team's 'negative tactics', while very much an exception to the warm welcome afforded us, was the cherry on the proverbial cake.

Trying to uh... appropriate a South Korean flag in some town on the way home from Athlone only for Jebus to abandon me and leave me dangling about 10-12 feet above the ground.

Gael353's shameful chastisement of your man Hennessy, the goalkeeper, after a game. An U-21s game at that. In the middle of Tralee. :o

My very first away game against Glebe North. John Whyte exacting retribution on their left-full who had bullied Brian Donnellan for 45 minutes was like something out of a comic book (this was before Donnellan's subsequent metamorphosis into a truculent scrapper in his own right).

And as small as it might seem, the goal when we beat Douglas Hall down in Turner's X this season in our cup replay. A small taste of heaven and I lost it and went mental, running about with no discernable purpose in a manner I've not done in years.

Good times...

Paddyfield
09/10/2007, 10:07 PM
Des Kennedy scoring in the Bernabeu.

Were you in Madrid for that one?
What year was that?
Was that before or after Kennedy joined Galway United?
Where is he now?

Paddyfield
09/10/2007, 10:14 PM
The toilets in Terryland. Landmark stuff.

Ahhhhh, you mean the furry wall. It was a fungus covered wall which was repackaged as a urinal. If you needed to do a number two, well, pardon the pun, but it was tough sh!t. There was no roof, no sink, no toilet bowl, no privacy, no toilet roll; it was just a wall. The only advantage was that you could keep watching the game while you took a leak.

Take a pity on any lady who needed to answer nature's call as there wasn't even a hole in the ground.

09/10/2007, 10:16 PM
Were you in Madrid for that one?
What year was that?
Was that before or after Kennedy joined Galway United?
Where is he now?

Yes I was there. It was 1980. Lucky to have a birthday around the time and managed to pester my Dad to bring me especially after i overheard him mention to my uncle that there was a trip on sale at half price.

We ended up on a family holiday to an aunt in Reading for Southampton the folowing year. My Dad got free trips for both of us to Holland in 1982 after the club screwed a local travel agent and my Dad bailed him out by selling the seats. Unfortunately our next European trip seems a long way away.

I think Des was with Galway Rovers (United came later) in the late 70's but came back to Limerick.

10/10/2007, 1:02 PM

I presume you mean Nesovic? He had a brief spell with us too. Absolute waster is how I rememeber him.

stann
10/10/2007, 1:21 PM
Don't know how 'memorable' some of these are when I've no doubt got the dates and names all wrong, but...

Remember the last day of the last or 2nd last season at Kilcohan when Pascal Keane was head-to-head against Pat Morley (I think, could have been Johnny Caulfield) for the golden boot and he was very put out by a shout of "Ah Pascal, your grand is gone!" from a bloke in the crowd who was listening to the Cork game on a radio.

The first games at the RSC were memorable too, nothing at all but the track around the pitch, and the hill, sadly no more, and one night - can't remember the opponents but there were goals (it might have been the 4-0 against St. Francis or St. James' Gate) - the floodlights went, but the lack of stands meant that cars and vans could drive up to pitchside and use their headlights to illuminate proceedings, and flash the lights and blare the horns when we scored!

Being one of the small, hardy knot of frozen people to christen the stand when the snow was chucking it down and we all said 'f*ck this!' to ourselves and stormed in heedless of Mick Butler's pleas over the PA. Insurance my arse!

Me first trip to Inchicore for the replayed Cup tie in January '98, the one where Paul Osam knocked Frostie spark out with a thump that was seen but ignored by the ref. Trying to square away the grandeur of the phrase 'Stadium of Light' with the lake of p!ss inside and outside the toilets took some doing! :D

A series of moments, the phenomenal run of 22 points from the last 8 games of the '98/'99 season under (but little thanks to) Sheepshead Flanagan, that turned certain relegation into 7th place and 5 points off Shels in the last Euro slot, with 8 clean sheets in a row from Soopah Keepah Mick Devine.

The Battle of Buckley Park, one of the more bad-tempered derby games where our manager Jimmy McGeough, emmm, lead by example in his, emmmm, contretemps with their (and just recently before that our) centre-half David Whittle. :D

That'll do for now.

10/10/2007, 9:30 PM
Ahhhhh, you mean the furry wall.

Not even close

And believe me you don't want to know the horrible seedy truth :eek: :eek: :D

12/10/2007, 11:05 AM
I am yes rumor in the industry it was smaller European firms that were hit badly !

Sweet Buddha RT - one minute you're claiming to be an expert on the tourist industry in Derry city centre, next you apparently have inside information about a supposed Board-busting boycott of the 1994 cup final by City fans, and now you're allegedly a man in the know of the ins and outs of the low-to-medium scale European betting industry.

You're an extremely difficult person to even take half seriously.... :eek:

DvB
12/10/2007, 12:22 PM
Sweet Buddha RT - one minute you're claiming to be an expert on the tourist industry in Derry city centre, next you apparently have inside information about a supposed Board-busting boycott of the 1994 cup final by City fans, and now you're allegedly a man in the know of the ins and outs of the low-to-medium scale European betting industry.

You're an extremely difficult person to even take half seriously.... :eek:

Amazed anyone bothered biting further on this one, its complete and utter fantasy!

Handy in one respect, for future reference all statements from RT can be dismissed IMO :D

an_ceannaire
12/10/2007, 1:01 PM
Shamrock Rovers 3
NewcastleWest 3 in Milltown :)
Lest we forget :)

12/10/2007, 1:05 PM
Handy in one respect, for future reference all statements from RT can be dismissed IMO :D

We should start a database. there's at least 7 on my list...

Lots of Pats fans think it was rigged too. It was between ourselves and Limerick for the last place and the league decided that all games had to be played at the same time. Lo'n'behold and Limerick's game is called off (despite there never been a threat to have it called off all week) and they get to play their game on the Wednesday knowing what they need to get into the top6. Adding to the conspiracy was the fact we were denied only on goal difference despite the league not allowing the championship to be decided on goal difference that year.

The same year Limerick beat us in the league cup final in Harolds Cross. I despised Limerick (particularly Ken de Mange) that season.

Sonic
12/10/2007, 1:29 PM
Let me see too many to mention. The best has got to be the promotion relegation play off final in 2001 versus Finn Harps in Ballybofey when Digger saved Mohans penalty in the shoot out. Honorable mentions to Cobh the day we got promoted, League Cup final 04, Fai cup final 03, Fai cup final 04, Beating Dwogs 5-0 in the then 02 park!!!!

lofty9
12/10/2007, 1:54 PM
Any Bohs fans remember Felix Healy (then manager) going onto the pitch and punching James Coll at half time at the Brandywell - then to be chased the whole way to the changing rooms by Coll? Think it was a Boxing Day/ New years Eve match.

12/10/2007, 6:34 PM
Still remember the first goal i ever saw bohs score, Derek Swan against- I think- Limerick City. A superb Volley from a tight angle. To make it even more memorable Enzo Schifo scored a carbon Copy for Inter the following Sunday and everyone was raving about it for Day's no one would believe I'd seen one just like it a dalier

But the one's that really Stick out are
1. Drinking a cocktail of cheap champagne(or some sparkly wine stuff) Bulmers and lager from the eL trophy in the jodi at about 1am the night we won it in 2001
2. about three hours later bumping into Glen Crowe on the Clonsilla Rd. with aforementioned eL trophy and walking up arm in arm singing "Start Spreading the News..............."
Ah Magic Moments indeed. Lets hope for a few more in the not to distant future

13/10/2007, 5:24 AM
Lots of Pats fans think it was rigged too. It was between ourselves and Limerick for the last place and the league decided that all games had to be played at the same time. Lo'n'behold and Limerick's game is called off (despite there never been a threat to have it called off all week) and they get to play their game on the Wednesday knowing what they need to get into the top6. Adding to the conspiracy was the fact we were denied only on goal difference despite the league not allowing the championship to be decided on goal difference that year.

Yes, that whole system, and they way it was implemented, was a mess.

If I remember correctly, the Bishopstown surface was always especially susceptible to heavy rain, and it rained like hell that Sunday morning. I seem to remember thinking it would be called off as we travelled in the car.

The same year Limerick beat us in the league cup final in Harolds Cross. I despised Limerick (particularly Ken de Mange) that season.

Ah yes, a sweet, sweet moment. A fully deserved win, I thought.

De Mange was a knob, but he had a decent season for us. Limerick lost Peter Mumby at the end of that season, and that killed us. A quality player.

13/10/2007, 12:39 PM
Ah yes, a sweet, sweet moment. A fully deserved win, I thought.

De Mange was a knob, but he had a decent season for us. Limerick lost Peter Mumby at the end of that season, and that killed us. A quality player.
Oh you definitely deserved to eat us in the League Cup. And I only hated De Mange because he seemed to play brilliant against us every time...

Aaron
13/10/2007, 12:45 PM
Any Bohs fans remember Felix Healy (then manager) going onto the pitch and punching James Coll at half time at the Brandywell - then to be chased the whole way to the changing rooms by Coll? Think it was a Boxing Day/ New years Eve match.

That was my first ever City game:)

Coll got away with murder that day, 3 poor tackles and not booked for any of them. Felix came on and hit him, then things got a bit messy. Coll was eventually sent off then Turlough O'Connor decided to go and manhandle the linesman, madness. What a first game, eh?:D

13/10/2007, 1:05 PM
think that was in 1999

that definitley was in early 2000!