View Full Version : Ireland vs Germany - Pre-match thread
risteard55
12/10/2007, 2:35 PM
are there many spare tickets floating about for both home games at Croke Park?
12/10/2007, 3:05 PM
are there many spare tickets floating about for both home games at Croke Park?
Think there is a thread in the fans forum for tickets
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=68527
Dr. Ogba
12/10/2007, 3:24 PM
I don't know whether this has been mentioned yet, but Darren Potter has been ruled out of Saturday's game. The squad is looking extremely thin at the moment.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7041759.stm
oh deary me, would have pencilled Potter in for a start aswell. Think the team will look a little like this
--------------------Given-------------------------
Finnan-------O'Shea---------Dunne-------Kilbane--
McGeady-----Carsley--------Miller---Reid (if fit)
----------Doyle------------Keane------------------
That midfield has serious potential to give the ball away (McGeady and Miller being particular exponents of this fine artform) but at least there's a bit of a balance I suppose plus its a suitably attacking formation for the home team...
12/10/2007, 3:40 PM
Stan will do his level best not to have to play Miller.
I heard Andy Reid trained in Croker today. O'Shea is still doing very light training or maybe it's just hard to tell the difference between O'Shea fired up and taking life easy.
I hope McGeady is catching up on his motivational tapes, he might benefit from Finnan playing behind him.
ofjames
13/10/2007, 1:29 PM
Anyone read Brian Kerrs piece in the times today? i thought it was a really good commentary on the current state of affairs
13/10/2007, 1:31 PM
Lots of hints in it but not mentioning of names. I wish he would be more specfic when he makes these types of attacks. Other than Stephen Ireland he did not mention anybody.
Noelys Guitar
13/10/2007, 1:45 PM
Lots of hints in it but not mentioning of names. I wish he would be more specfic when he makes these types of attacks. Other than Stephen Ireland he did not mention anybody.
Can anyobdy please post the article on here
13/10/2007, 2:52 PM
Anyone notice that Kerr's accent is getting thicker.
Brian Kerr: Players may need to hurt more
Part One:
One of the greatest frustrations I experienced as senior manager was the reactions of players after a disappointing result. Everyone seems to be hurting except them.
There is a terrible silence in the immediate aftermath on the bus, returning to the hotel and having the late meal. The majority of players would then slip off to bed, exhausted from the effort, but the desire of a few to party into the early hours after a bad night's work was exasperating for me. Players should celebrate and enjoy the people's admiration when they are winning but otherwise a low-key response should be adhered to.
A few days later they are ensconced back into the bubble of club life. The performances motivated by a wage rather than an act of patriotism.
After our defeat to France at Lansdowne Road, or the late goal in Israel, I sensed the feeling of disappointment quickly disappear from the collective consciousness (Of course some of them do hurt). Maybe that is natural if you don't live among the community and have been away from home for such a long time. It becomes difficult to relate to the frustration and annoyance of the football loving public who put so much faith and hope in the player's commitment.
Or maybe it was because I lived in Dublin but the public reaction inspired me to my upmost not to let them down.
As I watched players leave hotels and airports after what I considered a devastating result, I suspected their hurt was minimal as they returned to the clubs, the money, the fancy cars, the agents and the protected environment that ensured safety and isolation from the adoring fans.
I would attend matches in England a few days later and they all seemed in grand form. I understand the best way to recover from a disappointment is to focus the mind elsewhere but I couldn't help thinking, as they laughed and joked in the lobby or airport, does it really bother them? Is it just another game? Irish players love coming home from their British clubs to represent their country but worryingly Stephen Ireland, amongst others, seems to be bucking that trend.
Ireland is going through a difficult period in relation to his international commitment but that has been consistently evident throughout his fledgling career. His tremendous ability makes him the bell of the ball in Sven's garden but I hope his attitude is not contagious. It would be a shame to see more young players sideline a blossoming international career in the interest of the easy life that comes from the financial benefits of focusing solely on club commitments.
From personal experience, I found Stephen Ireland's commitment to the under-17 team left a lot to be desired.
A strong policy on commitment to the national cause should be introduced by the FAI as soon as players come into the underage set-up. Ireland is not an isolated case. There have been other incidents of players not turning up for underage teams.
13/10/2007, 2:54 PM
WAKE UP, there's more
Part 2:
I think under-21 manager Don Givens handled the Anthony Stokes situation well. It seems to have been nipped in the bud.
When a player fails to report for duty he should experience a period in the wilderness to think about where his aspirations lie. When players are living in England since adolescence they tend to forget how important it is for the average supporter back home.
There should also be a greater system in place to assist players undergoing personal difficulties.
Having said all that, I expect the attitude of the players to be positive tonight.
There is always motivation to perform for a home international, particularly, when a country of Germany's stature comes a calling. I heard a few of them this week talking about how an outside chance of qualification still exists. They are aware that an extraordinary set of results is required but the motivation is to finish as high in the table as possible to get a better draw in the World Cup qualifiers.
So have we a chance? Yes. The Germans have the group almost won and maybe a little casual in their approach.
Stephen Staunton and his medical staff have had a difficult week dealing with Manchester United, amongst others, who are the most protective of clubs when players carry the slightest of injuries.
The loss of Andy O'Brien, Stephen Carr, the long-term absentees Damien Duff and Stephen Reid ensures the team on show this evening remains some way short of Staunton's ideal starting XI. Confidence within the squad will have been affected by the late goal against Slovakia, defeat in Prague and the Stephen Ireland episode.
The actual starting team should include Liam Miller alongside Lee Carsley with Aiden McGeady afforded another opportunity to prove his worth at this level after some inconsistent contributions. Andy Reid's presence ensures a creative spark. Miller and Reid will ensure retention of possession in a busy midfield area.
Kevin Doyle and Robbie Keane up front can cause the Germans plenty of problems.
A back four of John O'Shea, Steve Finnan, Richard Dunne and Kevin Kilbane has a decent look about it although O'Shea, if fit, has lacked the ruthlessness and physicality at centre half necessary at this level, and the same can be said of O'Shea's likely replacements, Alex Bruce and Stephen Kelly.
The preparation seems too disruptive to produce the coherent tactical performance necessary to beat Germany. Considering the scattered build-up, a draw would be a good result.
13/10/2007, 2:59 PM
Andy Reid and John O'Shea having fitness tests before the game.
Noelys Guitar
13/10/2007, 4:02 PM
Cheers Geysir
German_Tim
13/10/2007, 4:26 PM
What a shame I didn't manage to come to Dublin for this party:
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2492
Thanx very much for the hospitality, dear Irish friends!
Let's hope for a good & fair match in a fantastic atmosphere at Croke Park, although your qualifying chances are minimal. Pity that you gave away both games in Bratislava & Prague...
neville neville
13/10/2007, 6:01 PM
Oshea failed his fitness test according to ssn
Fergie's Son
13/10/2007, 6:23 PM
Any notion on the starting XI?
McGeady10
13/10/2007, 6:26 PM
Any notion on the starting XI?
Given
Kelly Dunne O'Brien Finnan
Keogh Carsley Reid Kilbane
Keane Doyle
cavan_fan
13/10/2007, 6:30 PM
With Cyprus winning 3-1 vs Wales, how confident shoudl the Czechs be that they can pick up 3 points from their remaining games.
Are they going to get them vs Germans?, vs their close neighbours the Slovaks or against the Cypriots in Nicosia (who are unbeaten vs Germans, us and Wales at home)
A win tonight and I'd start to have a glimmer of hope.
By the way is Finnan playing LB or RB?
nui-harp
13/10/2007, 6:31 PM
The stadium is only half full and 15 mins to kick off......could people be trying to say something and not going to the game? Here's hoping....
McGeady10
13/10/2007, 6:33 PM
The stadium is only half full and 15 mins to kick off......could people be trying to say something and not going to the game? Here's hoping....
My mate text me to say he decided to stay in the pub when he heard Keogh was playing.
nui-harp
13/10/2007, 6:37 PM
Dont think even he know's that:rolleyes:
13/10/2007, 6:38 PM
He's starting RB.
Fergie's Son
13/10/2007, 6:38 PM
Given
Kelly Dunne O'Brien Finnan
Keogh Carsley Reid Kilbane
Keane Doyle
Oh my.
Why, why. This man is a $(@#)@# idiot.
Unreal. What a plank.
Not even going to bother going down to the pub to watch this ****e.
13/10/2007, 6:41 PM
i'll be watching England vs France instead
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 6:43 PM
Lehmann keeps his glove on to shake hands with the dignitaries. What a w-nker
cavan_fan
13/10/2007, 7:14 PM
Oh my.
Why, why. This man is a $(@#)@# idiot.
Unreal. What a plank.
Not even going to bother going down to the pub to watch this ****e.
what would you have done diferently?
Fergie's Son
13/10/2007, 7:20 PM
what would you have done diferently?
Mcgeady instead of Keogh. Kilbane at CB or LB with Kelly at CB.
Now O'Brien is currently playing well but in honesty that is what I have would have played.
cavan_fan
13/10/2007, 7:24 PM
Mcgeady instead of Keogh. Kilbane at CB or LB with Kelly at CB.
Now O'Brien is currently playing well but in honesty that is what I have would have played.
So he's a plank for noticing what everyone else noticed namely that McGeady is useless, Keogh is playing well and offers some aerial threat.
O'Brien is a good footballer, this is a choice most people would agree with.
I'm afraid Stan can do no right.
13/10/2007, 7:35 PM
I personally think Keogh is badly struggling.
Fergie's Son
13/10/2007, 7:37 PM
So he's a plank for noticing what everyone else noticed namely that McGeady is useless, Keogh is playing well and offers some aerial threat.
O'Brien is a good footballer, this is a choice most people would agree with.
I'm afraid Stan can do no right.
From the radio, Keogh is not playing very well. Maybe you're seeing something different on the TV.
As I said, this is what I would have done before the game.
Germany are slowly turning the screw from what I can hear.
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 7:38 PM
I would have picked McGeady too but he's been ****e for Ireland recently and in fairness Keogh is playing well down the right flank. His hand was forced into selecting Andy O'Brien at the centre of defence because McShane and O'Shea are both injured.
Andy Reid looks fat as usual but he doesn't need to run, his passes are great, so far he's had one big pass down the left flank and a good one down the right to Keogh in the corner as well.
Stephen Kelly looks lost, surely Ian Harte would have been better?
13/10/2007, 7:40 PM
We look like the away team! Germans in total control.
Sorry but Keogh is having a howler.
Marked Man
13/10/2007, 7:41 PM
Keogh looks good to me. He's been involved in a few good moves, and has done some good tracking back.
cavan_fan
13/10/2007, 7:42 PM
We look like the away team! Germans in total control.
Sorry but Keogh is having a howler.
Dont forget we're comparing to McGeady.
The only player who has disappointed so far is Doyle, he just isnt right at the mo. Think Finnan is our best player.
Fergie's Son
13/10/2007, 7:43 PM
Keogh looks good to me. He's been involved in a few good moves, and has done some good tracking back.
Uniformly panning Keogh on the radio. All of them saying he needs to be removed.
nui-harp
13/10/2007, 7:43 PM
Keogh is playin desperate....he's a striker and its showing as when he has the ball he's kicking it ahead of himself and trying to run through the full back! At least Mc Geady would have a bit of imagination. Finnan could even play better at right mid.
13/10/2007, 7:46 PM
Yeah McGeady hasn't done well in recent matches but he is a right winger. Keogh isn't.
But in all honestly I don't think it makes much of a difference. As I said already Germans are in total control.
Doyle has rarely touch the ball so far.
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 7:51 PM
Yep, the Germans in total control. Keogh started well as did the rest of the team, but not playing great to finish the half.
13/10/2007, 7:52 PM
Off-topic:
Poland - Kazakhstan abandoned due to foodlight failure. Kazakhstan were 1-0 up. ;)
cavan_fan
13/10/2007, 7:56 PM
oh robbie robbie
nui-harp
13/10/2007, 7:56 PM
**** Sake Robbie!!!!
13/10/2007, 7:57 PM
That was our chance
cavan_fan
13/10/2007, 7:58 PM
no that was our chance
13/10/2007, 8:00 PM
Yes McGeady would have done better there ;)
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 8:01 PM
he was miles offside lads
frings should have been off for that on keogh
13/10/2007, 8:01 PM
Well done Keogh
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 8:03 PM
we looks just as good as them in the second half
i'm just waiting for carsely to destroy a german in the midfield with a big challenge
13/10/2007, 8:08 PM
Yep were looking much better second half (famous last words?)
Yet again Keane ain't delivering for Ireland - why should he when he's always the first name on the sheet anyway.
13/10/2007, 8:10 PM
Polodski on.
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 8:11 PM
Kelly at LB is complete rubbish. Matter of time before he gets exploited for a goal.
Andy Reid is having the greatest game of his life. Every pass is getting to the intended target square at their feet.
Colbert Report
13/10/2007, 8:12 PM
Time for Keogh to come off. Reid keeps sending him through and he keeps messing it up.