View Full Version : Gufc V Ltfc
Tir Oilean
01/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Another home game on Friday and to be quite honest I wish it was an away game. Id like to be positive about this one but I'm a long way from that. Unless their main man is out injured or suspended I think were goin to drop more points here. Then it will be squeaky bum time for sure. The team played well on Fri but there was no killer instinct and they didnt chase the ball down every back pass was left unpressurised.
Claret Murph
01/10/2007, 11:51 AM
I hate to say this but I see us getting beat in this one and putting in another of those shockers , I say 2-0 to Longford . I just hope I have got this one wrong .
01/10/2007, 11:56 AM
well they have 3 out Jamie Duffy,David Freeman and Kevin Doherty. Terryland has to be bouncing this friday there wasnt one flag up last week and the drummers forgot about leaving the drumsticks behind while they were away. Lets make an extra effort on friday loads of colour and noise and encourage all the Section A's to get as many people as possible in the old stand .If we win on friday we will have one foot in the premier for next season.
Lets all stay positive this week and leave the negative stuff out until the season is over.
I think Longford have lost a bit of momentum and GU could well get a result here. That said, my money would be on a draw.
Sonic
01/10/2007, 12:43 PM
This is way more important for us. I can see ye staying up regardless youl pick up a win here or there but its a must for us or we are fooked!
corbyeire
01/10/2007, 1:21 PM
ive a feeling longford will want it more, its true they have lost momentum - but they have to win
it seems everytime united might get into serious trouble the other teams involved make it easy by losing themselves
i think united playing to their ability should win comfortably 2-0 - but they just dont seem capable of that - the way the heads dropped after the goal on friday shows their confidence is paper thin
also is regi suspended for this one?
Yes but we will have at least 4 players back.
galwaygooner
01/10/2007, 2:24 PM
well they have 3 out Jamie Duffy,David Freeman and Kevin Doherty. Terryland has to be bouncing this friday there wasnt one flag up last week and the drummers forgot about leaving the drumsticks behind while they were away. Lets make an extra effort on friday loads of colour and noise and encourage all the Section A's to get as many people as possible in the old stand .If we win on friday we will have one foot in the premier for next season.
Lets all stay positive this week and leave the negative stuff out until the season is over.
Why do you want people in the old stand... every body should fill the new stand first
01/10/2007, 2:41 PM
Why do you want people in the old stand... every body should fill the new stand first
Because the new stand doesn't encourage the team on vocally at all.
Don't see why people couldn't have made noise on Friday without the drums.:confused:
As for the match-think Longford will be more up fot it myself.A win though and we'll be a long way to securing Premier League football in Terryland again next year.
galwaygooner
01/10/2007, 8:44 PM
Because the new stand doesn't encourage the team on vocally at all.
Don't see why people couldn't have made noise on Friday without the drums.:confused:
As for the match-think Longford will be more up fot it myself.A win though and we'll be a long way to securing Premier League football in Terryland again next year.
I sit in the new stand every home game and i think it can generate more noise than the old stand,also people will be able to watch the game from a better position and will be able to give a true reflection on how the game went.last friday night you could see barry time after time not tracking back and you just knew a goal was going to be tapped in from his side of the pitch, yet some people from the old stand thought he had a good game...
Tir Oilean
01/10/2007, 8:54 PM
yet some people from the old stand thought he had a good game...
Correction ..... some people from the old stand thought he had a good game by his standards.
The crowd on that side of the pitch just gives a bit of a roar if the team is on an attack or knock in a goal there is never any singing over there. It is impressive to hear it but its all too quiet when our backs are against the wall.
eamo1
01/10/2007, 10:51 PM
whoever said we are going to lose 2-0 at home to the bottom club is incredibly negative.where is the optimism from supposedly great supporters???(i know whos going to reply to that comment).
C'mon lads lets just think that the players realise how big fridays game is and will raise their performances,lets remember we have at least 4 regulars back and lets also remember the lads need our support through thick and thin.
my prediction 2-0 to us.
Claret Murph
02/10/2007, 6:44 AM
whoever said we are going to lose 2-0 at home to the bottom club is incredibly negative.where is the optimism from supposedly great supporters???(i know whos going to reply to that comment).
C'mon lads lets just think that the players realise how big fridays game is and will raise their performances,lets remember we have at least 4 regulars back and lets also remember the lads need our support through thick and thin.
my prediction 2-0 to us.
Negative or not , in the cold light of day if i was going to the bookies with 1000 Euro of my money i am sorry to say i would put the money on Longford to win as simple as that .
Now if you want me to be positive well
NEW WORLD RECORD
Galway United beat Longford town 83-1 , the top scorer was Barry Moran who bagged 57 goals .
HAPPY NOW ??????????????
corbyeire
02/10/2007, 9:19 AM
pure entertainment, claret!
the old stand new stand debate is a bit flat - it just reeks of infighting
im the better supporter cause i sit in a certain stand - rubbish
youve made a conscoius decision to either have a better view of the game in one - or be part of a vocal support in the other
now leave it
galwayhoop
02/10/2007, 9:28 AM
youve made a conscoius decision to either have a better view of the game in one - or be part of a vocal support in the other
didn't hear too much (any) vocal support from the Old Stand last Friday.
except of course for Pats doing their Bounce thingy.....
Tir Oilean
02/10/2007, 9:46 AM
Hardly infighting Corby I was only giving my viewpoint as I have been in both stands this season. I dont care where people sit and its all the better if there is plenty of noise from both stands it ups the atmosphere no end. The old stand was pretty empty on Friday alright Hoop. It seems that there were alot of youngsters gone into the new stand for some reason.
I interviewed Daryl Robson for Friday nights programme. This guy is genuinely ambitious and is certainly one who wants to succeed with United. Nothing less than a win will do for him against LTFC even though I dont know if he'll be playing. Read about his reaction (positive) as he came off towards the end of the Sligo game in Terryland.
corbyeire
02/10/2007, 9:57 AM
in fairness pats sang solidly for the 23mins + stoppage after their goal
a very coordinated sort of thing, impressive
Tir Oilean
02/10/2007, 10:05 AM
Ya they were bloody loud! I reckon there was over 100 of them in that corner and they had plenty of drums too. Fair play to them for making the journey. But back on track now with the LTFC game. Any Longford fans able to put a number on yere travelling support and how ye'll do?
Tir Oilean
02/10/2007, 9:19 PM
Fridays game is now even more important after Bray beat Shams tonight. The league is pretty much over at the top so all eyes are on the bottom now. This is goin to be the clubs most important stretch ever IMO.
To all the players that read this forum go out on friday night and make it count wipe the floor with them!
corbyeire
03/10/2007, 9:41 AM
yep the bray win could be the kick in the arse required for friday night!
heres hoping!
come on GUFC
Sumac
03/10/2007, 10:13 AM
Bray result has put a lot of pressure on Utd. Unfortunately after the debacle last friday I am not confident of getting anything out of this game. But of course will head down to Terryland hoping I'm wrong
Tir Oilean
03/10/2007, 10:36 AM
Paddy Power
Galway United 11/10
Draw 2/1
Longford 9/4
Trainee
03/10/2007, 4:08 PM
Friday night game is massive
we haved showed that when the players peform we can beat any team (so stop being negitive)
lets all be positive till after the game and gets behind the lads and see utd win
tell everyone u know about the game so we can ensure a large crowd in terryland for such an important game
Spot on trainee we need terryland hopping so make sure Dom gets his drumsticks sorted.
inthestand99
04/10/2007, 9:38 AM
:ball:Whats with the negative stuff. Lets fill the place and get the three points that will put us 9 clear of Longford. Plenty of selection options with nearly everybody back.
Ronnie
04/10/2007, 9:53 AM
With Brays win this game is huge for both clubs. If you win your safe from automatic relegation and probably safe from any play off worries. For us, we can't afford to lose although if Waterford lose to Derry at home it will just make the game with Waterford even bigger than it already is. Come on De Town!
Tribesman
04/10/2007, 9:54 AM
It would be great to a have a bit of an atmosphere in the ground before the game. Lets get up there early and create some noise.
The Pats fans were great last week.
Bunny Kelly
04/10/2007, 5:57 PM
where did you see Duffy is out?
in tuesdays sun and star.
WoodquayBoy
04/10/2007, 10:26 PM
Stephen O'Flynn is doing an Anne Heche impression. He's in, he's out, he's in, he's out. Just about to return from suspension last week and what happens? Gets slapped with another 1-game ban for reaching four penalty points, so he is missing tomorrow night along with Reggi.
Paddyfield
04/10/2007, 10:28 PM
The Pats fans were great last week.........
......after they scored!
galwayhoop
05/10/2007, 8:25 AM
Stephen O'Flynn is doing an Anne Heche impression.
classic :D
Flynny is out .Took a long while to find it http://www.soccerscene.ie/p2583.html .Looks like Vinny and Derek up front.
Tir Oilean
05/10/2007, 9:42 AM
I know he has his critics but he did work well with Glynn and I thought that tonight might be the opportunity for them to click again as they did earlier on. Alas its not to be. We are now very light up front. We need Murphs to go up front, we have enough cover in the centre of the field and if Daryl can start all the better.
corbyeire
05/10/2007, 11:46 AM
agree murph up front - he was up for it definitely the last night - let him run himself into the groudn and then replace him (straight away this time) with faherty
Its our 2nd/3rd last home game isnt it?I cant believe how fast this season has gone,just flown by.
I really hope with those 2 up front we dont just knock long high balls up there all night.Hopefully with robson and o.halloran in midfield they will put a bit more thought into it and get it down and pass it around.
prediction 2-1 to utd,(even though im actually putting a few quid on the draw in boylesports at 2/1):).
05/10/2007, 10:25 PM
you should hve pu tyour money on the score eamo !!! I did the draw myself !
JC_GUFC
06/10/2007, 4:38 PM
prediction 2-1 to utd,(even though im actually putting a few quid on the draw in boylesports at 2/1):).
Hey, give your money to Paddy Power! ;)
GuisaSaigon
08/10/2007, 9:07 AM
A mate of mine had €50 on a 2-1 United win at 15/2.
Tir Oilean
08/10/2007, 9:57 AM
Nice one! Its not too often thats happened this season id say. The draw is the most common one and is nearly always 2/1!