View Full Version : Four Pats substitutions

Claret Murph
30/09/2007, 5:37 AM
Now I have called a couple of people on Friday night but was just me or did anyone else spot that Pats made Four subtitutions on friday or am I seeing things , here gos .

1/ When the right back was injured after about 15 minutes in the first half they made a change .

2/ Into the second half they made a double subtitution around the hour mark .

3/ And last player to come on was at the death .

Now that's makes four .

An other interesting thing happened at the game that the four suspended players decided to sit right behind me for most of the game and it was interresting hearing what they had to say about the game and the important things in life . They started out taking bets as to who would score then one of them was trying to sort out the night out on the lash , but fair play to one who only said that he would only go out for a few . I was upset as one of then slagged off Barry for sh$tting out as he put it on a challenge ( his words not mine ) and then had a go at Barry or Keane for not doing as he has been told by what I take would be what TC has told them to do .
One of them said on the that he would be happy with a point and the score was 0-0 at the time and here's me thinking that we could take all 3 . They decided to cut out with about 10 minutes to go , as you see I have decided not to name names as I am sure some of the players and staff read the boards but I am sure most on here could figure out who said what .

corbyeire
30/09/2007, 9:30 AM
its a pity to hear that about the players in the stand

but i do remember thinking that about pats last one! - i knew they had put 2 on before in a double substition - but had forgotten about your man in the first half

30/09/2007, 9:40 AM
hopefully the club will look into this asap.

30/09/2007, 11:29 AM
1/ When the right back was injured after about 15 minutes in the first half they made a change .

Now that's makes four .

1) We started 3-5-2 with

---------Ryan----------
---Rogers-Brennan-Paisley----
Fahey-Ndo-Gibson-Keane-Kirby
----Quigley---O'Neill

Fahey got clattered early on and Michael Foley warmed up but didn't come on. We then switched to 4-4-2 with Gibson at right back and Fahey wide right. Fahey ended up providing the cross for the goal.

The other subs are right. I guarentee you we only made 3

The team that ended was
---------Ryan----------
Gibson-Rogers-Paisley-Brennan
Guy-Fahey-Ndo-O'Connor
----Fitzpatrick--O'Neill

pixiehead
30/09/2007, 2:47 PM
Now I have called a couple of people on Friday night but was just me or did anyone else spot that Pats made Four subtitutions on friday or am I seeing things , here gos .

Now that's makes four .

An other interesting thing happened at the game that the four suspended players decided to sit right behind me for most of the game and it was interresting hearing what they had to say about the game and the important things in life . They started out taking bets as to who would score then one of them was trying to sort out the night out on the lash , but fair play to one who only said that he would only go out for a few . I was upset as one of then slagged off Barry for sh$tting out as he put it on a challenge ( his words not mine ) and then had a go at Barry or Keane for not doing as he has been told by what I take would be what TC has told them to do .
One of them said on the that he would be happy with a point and the score was 0-0 at the time and here's me thinking that we could take all 3 . They decided to cut out with about 10 minutes to go , as you see I have decided not to name names as I am sure some of the players and staff read the boards but I am sure most on here could figure out who said what .

Why are you protecting them??? So your just gonna let them away with being *****s. I think you should name them. Would you even consider sending me a PM of who said what if you dont want to be the barer of bad news ;)

galwaygirl
30/09/2007, 3:38 PM

Why are you protecting them??? So your just gonna let them away with being *****s. I think you should name them. Would you even consider sending me a PM of who said what if you dont want to be the barer of bad news ;)

Claret clearly said in his post "four suspended players" & then at the end says he cant name them. He is in no way protecting them. I was over in the old stand and therefore didnt hear the conversation but i am good friends with one of them and he rang me today about what had been said on this about him and the others. I can safely say that none of the said 4 were out that nite "on the lash" after the game. As for takin bets, this wasnt mentioned to me but does every1 not do that from time to time . Claret where you stated they "decided to cut out with 10 mins to go", as always they have to be back in the dressing room before the end of the game, it has been this way all season with players that are either injured/suspended.

30/09/2007, 7:17 PM
There is too much rumours and heresay being posted on here and the GUST forum without one shred of truth to back it up.Some of it has been nothing short of slanderous and certain players are always singled out for abuse.

A little bit of fair play would go a long way and naming the team on the internet the day before a match is not exactly the brightest either as I am sure other teams fans will cop on and satrt informing their own managers.

gordongekko
30/09/2007, 9:43 PM
A little bit of fair play would go a long way and naming the team on the internet the day before a match is not exactly the brightest either as I am sure other teams fans will cop on and satrt informing their own managers.

Ah lord we had only about 16 fit players and 2 of them are out on loan any fecking idiot would have got at least 9 of the 11 correct.

Claret Murph
01/10/2007, 6:44 AM
Claret clearly said in his post "four suspended players" & then at the end says he cant name them. He is in no way protecting them. I was over in the old stand and therefore didnt hear the conversation but i am good friends with one of them and he rang me today about what had been said on this about him and the others. I can safely say that none of the said 4 were out that nite "on the lash" after the game. As for takin bets, this wasnt mentioned to me but does every1 not do that from time to time . Claret where you stated they "decided to cut out with 10 mins to go", as always they have to be back in the dressing room before the end of the game, it has been this way all season with players that are either injured/suspended.

GG i stand by everything that I have printed and as I see you omitted from your reply certain things that I said ,at least your friend ( which we all know who he is ) must have said that certain people have said something .

galwaygirl
01/10/2007, 8:29 AM
GG i stand by everything that I have printed and as I see you omitted from your reply certain things that I said ,at least your friend ( which we all know who he is ) must have said that certain people have said something .
Fair enough, every1 has the right to free speech, but i dont think this is the place to be criticising our own players. If you were put out by it that much why didnt you turn around and say something

01/10/2007, 9:43 AM
I have to agree with GG. I have no problem (and never have had) telling the players themselves in person what I feel, why dont everyone else try it? You will find that they are nearly all open to constructive criticism if done in the correct manner !

Claret Murph
01/10/2007, 9:49 AM
Fair enough, every1 has the right to free speech, but i dont think this is the place to be criticising our own players. If you were put out by it that much why didnt you turn around and say something

Without a shadow of a doubt people on this forum know a lot more what's going on behind the closed doors of Terryland than I will ever know .Now as for turning around and saying something well the pen is mightier than the sword . At the end of the season a lot of players will leave the club and you like most of us on this forum will still be going up to Terryland long after these players have gone .

Now as for criticsing our own players I am not a team mate of the player who said that Barry sh$t out on a challenge am i , i am only stating what was said these guys are professional and should conduct themsleves in a professional manner . What go's on in the dressing rooms is fine by me , but what is said in the stands in front of the Joe public leaves the person who said that open .

Tir Oilean
01/10/2007, 9:53 AM
The lads that were suspended can not be criticised for not giving 100% to the team in each game they have played (some people may question me on that) . I dont see the problem with them going on the beer on a Sarturday night when Sunday is a day off. I work Mon-Fri and if I go out its on a Friday or Saturday. Its only a problem is if they are at it during the week at which stage im pretty sure they would be disciplined by Goughie or TC.

01/10/2007, 10:05 AM
exactly Terry its very easy for people to post stuff on here accusing the manager and players of all sorts without a shred of truth to back it up. Between this forum and the GUST one its the only thing that matters to some posters.

01/10/2007, 10:10 AM
Seems to me like you're saying that Claret Murph is making stuff up there gufct, which is a pretty weighty allegation.

I don't think anything the players are reported to have said is really too bad- but they certainly should be careful what is said in public, they are well paid to represent their club on and off the field.

01/10/2007, 10:45 AM
No its not actually Claret im talking about its other posters who tend to blow things out of proportion Mr A. Great result friday hopefully we will both be in the Premier next season.

Eire06
01/10/2007, 1:45 PM
1) We started 3-5-2 with

Fahey got clattered early on and Michael Foley warmed up but didn't come on. We then switched to 4-4-2 with Gibson at right back and Fahey wide right. Fahey ended up providing the cross for the goal.

The other subs are right. I guarentee you we only made 3

Dodge is right, Fahey requested to be taken off when he first went down but then decided he was ok and Foley was sent back to the bench.

galwayhoop
01/10/2007, 3:12 PM
They started out taking bets as to who would score.
Not really a hanging offence as most men in their twenties/thirties would have the odd flutter. i presume they were betting with each other.
of course it would be a different story if they were down the bookies backing the opposition before a game they were involved in but this is clearly not the case.

then one of them was trying to sort out the night out on the lash , but fair play to one who only said that he would only go out for a few.
so what. going out for a few pints when you have no work in the morning is nothing special. even players in the top leagues in the world are allowed out you know! they don't have to be monks just because they play football!!! as long as it has no ill effect on their perfoirmance then it is a non-issue.

I was upset as one of then slagged off Barry for sh$tting out as he put it on a challenge ( his words not mine )
does that not show that they are dissapointed by a lack of effort by a team mate to the cause!!! footballers, unlike some people here (not necessarily you claret), have an excellent grasp on what is required in terms of effort/ability.

and then had a go at Barry or Keane for not doing as he has been told by what I take would be what TC has told them to do.
again dissapointed that a player isn't following the gameplan

One of them said on the that he would be happy with a point and the score was 0-0 at the time and here's me thinking that we could take all 3.
at half time I would have been glad with a point aswell. it's hardly treason FFS. a decimated squad fighting relegation playing a team who are 3rd in the league sure of course you'd take a point, yes you may love all 3 but you'd surely take one. one more than we got btw!

Grow up Claret, you are making a story out of nothing! They said féck all out of the way. In fact I can understand and even agree with most things they said.

Tir Oilean
01/10/2007, 3:39 PM
That's it in a big nut shell Galwayhoop. Good post.

Claret Murph
01/10/2007, 3:39 PM
As I will say Hoop , you can read into it which ever way you want too I have no problem with anyone's comments as I am just stating what was said . Again the the only thing that upset me was a player having a go at Barry while in the stands i class this as unprofessional .............

galwayhoop
01/10/2007, 3:45 PM
imo if you sat listening to any group of 4 lads in their 20's/30's talking for an hour and a half you would usually have more cause for concern than what you outlined above ;)

01/10/2007, 7:24 PM
I have been involved for well over 20 years and players that arent playing are always finding fault with those who are.Its at every level of soccer from juvenille to the top level.